DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 16, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (US 2012/0197644 A1) in view of Lample et al. (US 20170169812 A1).
As to claim 1, Nagano et al. (US 2012/0197644 A1) discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform a method for processing audio and visually presenting information [Abstract], the method comprising:
obtaining audio data [“At step S301, FIG. 3, speech data is read from the database.”§0054];
analyzing the audio data to obtain textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition (textual information).” §0054];
analyzing the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers [“At step S302, FIG. 3, part of utterance for the caller and the employee are identified in the speech data and a part of utterance of the employee is specified as an analysis subject.” §0054];
presenting each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition. At the same time, the part of utterance of words and phrases are mapped to speech spectrum regions.” §0054].
Nagano fails to disclose identify a nonverbal sound.
However, Lample et al. (US 20170169812 A1) teaches analyzing the audio data to identify a nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes other types of sound input into a textual document. For example, a sound input may consist of other types of sound besides spoken words.” §0044]; and
generating a textual description of the nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes any of these non-verbal sound inputs into a translated textual document or file.” §0044].
Nagano and Lample are analogous because they are all directed to transcribe sound management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Nagano reference with the teaching of Lample, so that the transcription of sound input would include the non-verbal sound in the transcription of Nagano, would have been combined into a visual of the text from the sound input, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the textual message from a sound input, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 19, Nagano discloses a system [FIG. 1] for processing audio and visually presenting information, the system comprising:
at least one processing unit [120 on FIG. 1] configured to:
obtain audio data [“At step S301, FIG. 3, speech data is read from the database.”§0054];
analyze the audio data to obtain textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition (textual information).” §0054];
analyze the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers [“At step S302, FIG. 3, part of utterance for the caller and the employee are identified in the speech data and a part of utterance of the employee is specified as an analysis subject.” §0054];
present each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition. At the same time, the part of utterance of words and phrases are mapped to speech spectrum regions.” §0054].
Nagano fails to disclose identify a nonverbal sound.
However, Lample teaches analyze the audio data to identify a nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes other types of sound input into a textual document. For example, a sound input may consist of other types of sound besides spoken words.” §0044]; and
generate a textual description of the nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes any of these non-verbal sound inputs into a translated textual document or file.” §0044].
Nagano and Lample are analogous because they are all directed to transcribe sound management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Nagano reference with the teaching of Lample, so that the transcription of sound input would include the non-verbal sound in the transcription of Nagano, would have been combined into a visual of the text from the sound input, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the textual message from a sound input, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 20, Nagano discloses a method for processing audio and visually presenting information [§0002], the method comprising:
obtaining audio data [“At step S301, FIG. 3, speech data is read from the database.”§0054];
analyzing the audio data to obtain textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition (textual information).” §0054];
analyzing the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers [“At step S302, FIG. 3, part of utterance for the caller and the employee are identified in the speech data and a part of utterance of the employee is specified as an analysis subject.” §0054];
presenting each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information [“At step S303, FIG. 3, speech recognition is performed in order to output a word and phrase string as the result of speech recognition. At the same time, the part of utterance of words and phrases are mapped to speech spectrum regions.” §0054].
Nagano fails to disclose identify a nonverbal sound.
However, Lample teaches analyzing the audio data to identify a nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes other types of sound input into a textual document. For example, a sound input may consist of other types of sound besides spoken words.” §0044]; and
generating a textual description of the nonverbal sound [“The transcription manager transcribes any of these non-verbal sound inputs into a translated textual document or file.” §0044].
Nagano and Lample are analogous because they are all directed to transcribe sound management system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Nagano reference with the teaching of Lample, so that the transcription of sound input would include the non-verbal sound in the transcription of Nagano, would have been combined into a visual of the text from the sound input, for the obvious purpose of providing the user the textual message from a sound input, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,342 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one claim of the instant application is being taught by the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Patented claim 1 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium which perform the feature of analyzing the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers.
The pending claim 1 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium, which perform the similar feature of presenting each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information.
Therefore, the patented claim 1 anticipates the pending 1.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform a method for processing audio and visually presenting information, the method comprising: obtaining audio data; analyzing the audio data to obtain textual information; analyzing the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers; presenting each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information; analyzing the audio data to identify a nonverbal sound; and generating a textual description of the nonverbal sound.
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing data and computer implementable instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform a method for processing audio and visually presenting information, the method comprising: obtaining audio data captured by one or more audio sensors from an environment of a wearer of a wearable apparatus; analyzing the audio data to obtain textual information; analyzing the audio data to associate different portions of the textual information with different speakers; determining that a part of the textual information is associated with speech that do not involve the user; avoiding presenting the part of the textual information associated with the speech that do not involve the user; and using a head mounted display system to present each portion of the textual information in a presentation region associated with the speaker associated with the portion of the textual information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Coles et al. (US 7844454 B2) discloses utilizing individual voice recognition units for each speaker in a conference to perform automatic transcription of that speaker's contribution to the conference.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
October 13, 2026