DETAILED ACTION
The response dated 09/25/2025 has been considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki et al. (US 6,746,993)
In regards to claims 1 – 6, Yuki teaches viscosity index improver (VII) and lube oil containing the same (title). The composition comprises VII polymer A0 or A1 (column 1 lines 40 – 45). Polymer A0 comprises at least one C20-40 alkyl (meth)acrylate and at least one other alkyl methacrylate, and both polymers have a weight average molecular weight of from 5,000 to 2000,000 (column 1 lines 65 – column 2 lines 5). Since Mw of the polymer is from 5,000 to 200,000, the Mn would be expected to similarly overlap the claimed range. Polymer A1 contains monomer (a0) is C20-40 alkyl (meth) acrylate, (a1) is C16-19 alkyl (meth) acrylate, (a2) is C1-4 alkyl (meth) acrylate, (a3) is C8-15 alkyl (meth) acrylate, (a4) is C16-18 alkyl (meth) acrylate etc. such as n-hexadecyl, n-octadecyl (meth)acrylate which are straight chain alkyls etc. (column 3 lines 45 – column 4 lines 46). Monomeric units a0 and/or a1 are present at from 5 to 90%, a2 at 0 to 85% or preferably from 10 to 70%, a3 and/or a4 at 0 to 20% etc. in polymer A1 (column 8 lines 36 – 45).
In the polymer A1, when (a0) is 0%, (a1) is 5 to 90% (i.e., equivalent to monomer (b) of the claim), a2 is 0 to 85% (i.e., equivalent to monomer (a) of the claim), a3 is 0%, and a4 is 0 to 20% (i.e., equivalent to monomer c) of the claim), the consisting language limitation for the polyalkyl methacrylate polymer B of the claim is met. Polymer A1 will be expected to have an average carbon number overlapping the claimed ranges since the C1-C4 alkyl (meth)acrylates are present at from about 0 to about 80% or preferably from 10 to 70%. The alkyl groups are at least one straight chain or branched alkyl group of the claim, thus providing the claimed limitations.
Yuki teaches the composition can optionally (i.e., at 0% or higher) comprise an additional polyalkyl (meth)acrylate copolymer (B) or (B1) having Mw of from 5,000 to 1,000,000 or from 10,000-250,000 and comprising monomers a2 at 0-40%, a3 and a4 at 60 to 100% and which provides average carbon number of from 12.2-12.6 within the claimed range for the polymer C of the claim (column 13 lines 17 – 54). Since Mw of the polymer is from 5,000 to 1,000,000, the Mn would be expected to similarly overlap the claimed range.
Yuki teaches lubricating oil composition having the base oil, VII polymer A and polymer B and further additives in the claimed amounts. The base oil comprises polymer A in amounts of from 0.5 to 30%, while an additive concentrate can contain the polymer A in oil such as mineral oil (i.e., Group I to III) having Kv100 of from 1 to 15 mm2/s in amounts of from 10 to 90% (column 12 lines 37 – 67). The lubricant composition has Kv100 of from 1 to 10 mm2/s (column 13, Table).
Polymer A and Polymer B are present at ratios of from 1 to 99 to 99 to 1 in the composition thus providing polymer B in amounts overlapping the claimed range (column 13 lines 65 – 67). Additives are optional and present in amounts of from 0 to 20% (column 14 lines 33 – 42).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,234,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches lubricating oil comprising the claimed copolymer while the instant claims are drawn to an additive composition having the copolymer. While the patent does not particularly recite the amounts of the polymer in an additive concentrate, nor particularly recite the type of base oil or the kinematic viscosity, Yuki et al. (US 6,746,993) teaches similar copolymers and their amounts in the oil and the kinematic viscosity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present additives are the same additives present in the parent composition (16/814,663) that was previously allowed for demonstrating unexpected results and thus possesses similar unexpectedly improved property which makes the claims allowable. The argument is erroneous.
The inventive examples and claims are not commensurate in scope.
The claims allow for use of the additive in any suitable composition or in any suitable oil in large amounts which does not support the embodiments considered for demonstrating unexpected results that were drawn to use of additives at very minor amounts of from 1 to 3% of the polymethacrylates in base oil. No examples were provided for demonstrating unexpected results for the polyacrylates over the prior art when used in large amounts of from 20 to 40% in oil, or when used in any other non-base oil containing composition as the instant claims would allow.
Thus, applicant fails to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the present claims and sufficient to demonstrate unexpected results to rebut the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771