DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to the claims filed on July 31, 2026.
Status of claims: claims 12-20 are withdrawn; claims 1-11 are hereby examined below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I pertaining to claims 1-11 in the reply filed on July 31, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: FIG. 16 – shouldn’t “32” on the right of the figure be deleted or renumbered since that “32” is not pointing to a cover plate? Also, is Fig. 1 a front view and FIG. 2 a rear view? If yes, then perhaps the specification should be amended accordingly.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 6-7 – shouldn’t “a first side surface or a second side surface” be amended to “the first side surface or the second side surface”
Claim 11, line 12 – shouldn’t “spring boxes.” be amended to “connection structures.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5636677 to Liu.
Liu discloses
a wire bundler, wherein the wire bundler is configured to connect a lifting rope of a sun shading apparatus to a lower end of a curtain body of the sun shading apparatus, and the wire bundler comprises:
a wire bundling plate 12; (see FIG. 2 below)
a wire bundling wheel, wherein the wire bundling wheel is pivotally connected to the wire bundling plate, the wire bundling wheel comprises a wheel-shaped body 20, an end of the wheel-shaped body is provided with a pivot shaft 22, the wheel-shaped body is positioned on a side of the wire bundling plate, the wheel-shaped body is defined to be positioned on an inner side of the wire bundling plate, (see FIGS. 2 and 3) and the pivot shaft passes through the wire bundling plate and protrudes to an outer side of the wire bundling plate;
an engaging gear 222, wherein the engaging gear is mounted on the pivot shaft, relative rotation between the engaging gear and the wire bundling wheel is inhibited, and the engaging gear is positioned on the outer side of the wire bundling plate; (see FIGS. 2 and 3) and
an engaging block 162,16, (see FIG. 2 below and FIG. 3) wherein the engaging block is pivotally connected to the outer side of the wire bundling plate, the engaging block is located below the engaging gear, the engaging block comprises an engaging block body, a first engaging tooth and a second engaging tooth (see FIG. 2 below) protrude from an upper side of the engaging block body, and the engaging block pivots relative to the wire bundling plate, allowing one of the first engaging tooth or the second engaging tooth to selectively engage with the engaging gear, such that the engaging gear and the wire bundling wheel are configured to rotate only in one direction.
Note: it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. In other words, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. More specifically, “configured to rotate only in one direction” constitutes an intended use recitation and the Liu engaging gear and wire bundling wheel are certainly capable of rotation “only in one direction,” as recited. (claim 1)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second engaging tooth)][AltContent: textbox (First engaging tooth)][AltContent: arrow]
Liu further discloses wherein when the first engaging tooth engages with the engaging gear, the engaging gear and the wire bundling wheel are configured to rotate only in a first direction, and when the second engaging tooth engages with the engaging gear, the engaging gear and the wire bundling wheel are configured to rotate rotating only in a second direction, the first direction being opposite to the second direction for rotation. (Note: “configured to rotate only in a first direction” constitutes an intended use recitation. See FIG. 2 above) (claim 2)
Liu further discloses wherein the engaging block pivots around a central axis relative to the wire bundling plate, and the first engaging tooth and the second engaging tooth are distributed on two sides of the central axis. (see FIG. 2 above) (claim 3)
Liu further discloses wherein the wire bundling plate comprises a wire bundling plate body, a left side and a right side of the wire bundling plate body are provided with a left widened portion and a right widened portion, respectively, and the wire bundling plate body has a left transition surface and a right transition surface, such that widths of the wire bundling plate body at the left transition surface and the right transition surface increase from top to bottom. (see annotated figure below) (claim 7)
[AltContent: textbox (Right transition portion)][AltContent: textbox (Right widened portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Left transition portion)][AltContent: textbox (Left widened portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Liu further discloses wherein an outer circumferential surface of the wheel-shaped body is provided with a winding groove 201 along a circumferential direction, the winding groove is located in a middle of the wheel-shaped body, and the wheel- shaped body is further provided with a wire fixing hole 202,204 that penetrates a bottom surface of the winding groove. (see FIGS. 2 and 4) (claim 8)
Liu further discloses wherein the wire bundling plate comprises a wire bundling plate body in a shape of a flat plate, and a lower end of the wire bundling plate body is provided with a hook-shaped portion 122. (see FIG. 2) (claim 9)
Liu further discloses a sun shading apparatus (“Venetian blind”; see Abstract), at least comprising the wire bundler according to claim 1. (claim 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20260234991 to Lei et al. (hereinafter “Lei”).
Liu discloses wherein the wire bundler further comprises a rotating member 200, the rotating member is fixedly connected to an end of the pivot shaft, the rotating member is mounted on an outer side of the engaging gear, the rotating member is wheel-shaped, and an outer circumference of the rotating member is provided. Liu fails to disclose the outer circumference of the rotating member is provided with anti-slip teeth.
Lei teaches of an outer circumference 921 of the rotating member is provided with anti-slip teeth. (see FIGS. 1 and 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer circumference of the Liu rotating member with anti-slip teeth, as taught by Lei with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with gripping and rotation of the rotating member. (claim 6)
Liu discloses an upper rail assembly, comprising an upper rail 42 (see FIG. 3), but fails to disclose wherein the sun shading apparatus further comprises a through-axle spring structure, and the through-axle spring structure comprises: a wire retracting module mounted on a bottom surface of the upper rail, and a drive shaft rotatably connected to the wire retracting module; and at least one spring box detachably connected to the bottom surface of the upper rail, wherein the at least one spring box comprises a housing, and a first connection structure and a second connection structure that are connected to the housing, wherein the first connection structure and the second connection structure are correspondingly arranged, and the first connection structure and the second connection structure are configured to be mounted and connected to each other, thus achieving fixed connection between two spring boxes.
Lei teaches of wherein the sun shading apparatus further comprises a through-axle spring structure, and the through-axle spring structure comprises: a wire retracting module 24 mounted on a bottom surface of the upper rail 1, and a drive shaft 22 rotatably connected to the wire retracting module; and at least one spring box 20 detachably connected to the bottom surface of the upper rail, wherein the at least one spring box comprises a housing 201, and a first connection structure and a second connection structure (fasteners and their respective receptacles on the housing; see FIG. 8) that are connected to the housing, wherein the first connection structure and the second connection structure are correspondingly arranged, and the first connection structure and the second connection structure are configured to be mounted and connected to each other, thus achieving fixed connection between two spring boxes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Liu upper rail assembly with the wire retracting module and spring box taught by Lei with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist with at least retraction/opening of the Venetian blind and maintain the position of the Venetian blind. (claim 11)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Marcus Menezes/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634