DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “a recess”, which should have been “the recess” instead.
Claim 17 recites “a strap”, which should have been “the strap” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-6 and 8-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimoda et al. (US 6,655,540; hereinafter “Shimoda”).
Regarding claim 1, Shimoda discloses a mounting structure (17, Fig. 1), configured to mount a strap (2, 12, Figs. 1-2) on a device body (body of 1, Fig. 1) and comprising:
a structure body (5, 6, Figs. 1-2; see 5-1, 6-1 in Fig. 3), having a first outer surface (such as left outer surface of 5 and 6 in Fig. 2; outer surface of 5-1, 6-1, Fig. 3) and a second outer surface (such as right surface of 5, 6 in Fig. 2; outer surface of 5-1, 6-1, Fig. 3), wherein the first outer surface and the second outer surface are not coplanar (not coplanar as shown in Figs. 1 and 2; note the two outer surfaces forms a corner), the structure body has a through slot (18, Figs. 1, 2), and the through slot penetrates through the first outer surface and the second outer surface (as shown in Figs. 1, 2); and
a restricting portion (5-2, 6-2, Fig. 3), disposed on the structure body (5-2, 6-2 disposed on 5-1, 6-1 as shown in Fig. 3), wherein the restricting portion is a protrusion (protrusion of 5-2, 6-2 in Fig. 3) configured to match with a recess (such as recess formed at 3 and 4 that matches with 5-2, 6-2 as shown in Fig. 3) at a corner of the device body (corner of 1 as shown in Fig. 1), and the through slot penetrates through the first outer surface, the restricting portion and the second outer surface (as shown in Figs. 1-3; can refer to crop Figs. 1 and 3 below).
Regarding claim 3, Shimoda discloses the mounting structure according to claim 1, and Shimoda further discloses further having at least one first fastening hole (holes in 5, 6 for fastener 9).
Regarding claim 4, Shimoda discloses the mounting structure according to claim 3, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the at least one first fastening hole is a through hole located on the restricting portion (at least 6 is through hole as shown in Fig. 3), and extending direction of the at least one first fastening hole is a thickness direction of the device body (as shown in Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 6, Shimoda discloses the mounting structure according to claim 1, and Shimoda further discloses a portable electronic device (1, Fig. 1), comprising: the device body; and the mounting structure according to claim 1, disposed on a corner (four corners as pointed in 17 in Fig. 1) of the device body.
Regarding claim 8, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 6, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the corner of the device body has a limiting portion (portion of 3 and 4 between 5 and 6 in Figs. 1-3), and the restricting portion of the mounting structure is limited by the limiting portion (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 8, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the limiting portion is the recess matching with the protrusion (recess of 3 and 4 matching with protrusion of 5-2, 6-2 as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 6, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the mounting structure has at least one first fastening hole (holes in 5, 6 for fastener 9, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 10, and Shimoda further discloses at least one fastener (9, Fig. 3), wherein the device body has at least one second fastening hole (hole in 8, Fig. 3), and the at least one fastener is fastened into the at least one first fastening hole of the mounting structure and the at least one second fastening hole (9 into hole of 8 as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 11, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the at least one first fastening hole is a through hole located on the restricting portion (at least 6-2 is a through hole as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 12, and Shimoda further discloses wherein an extending direction of the at least one first fastening hole and an extending direction of the at least one second fastening hole are a thickness direction of the device body (thickness direction of the device body as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 6, and Shimoda further discloses the strap (2, 12, Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the strap is disposed through the through slot (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Shimoda discloses the mounting structure according to claim 1, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the structure body further has a first inner surface (such as left inner surface of 5 and 6 in Fig. 2; can refer to Figs. 5 and 8 which shows inner surfaces) and a second inner surface (such as right inner surface of 5 and 6 in Fig. 2), the first inner surface faces away from the first outer surface, the second inner surface faces away from the second outer surface, and the first inner surface and the second inner surface are configured to define two planes intersecting with the through slot, respectively (can refer to Figs. 1 and 2; note that through slot is perpendicular to the inner and outer surfaces, so the two planes at the corner always intersecting the through slot).
Regarding claim 19, Shimoda discloses the portable electronic device according to claim 6, and Shimoda further discloses wherein the structure body further has a first inner surface (such as left inner surface of 5 and 6 in Fig. 2; can refer to Figs. 5 and 8 which shows inner surfaces) and a second inner surface (such as right inner surface of 5 and 6 in Fig. 2), the first inner surface faces away from the first outer surface, the second inner surface faces away from the second outer surface, and the first inner surface and the second inner surface are configured to define two planes intersecting with the through slot, respectively (can refer to Figs. 1 and 2; note that through slot is perpendicular to the inner and outer surfaces, so the two planes at the corner always intersecting the through slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2003/0147023; hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding claim 5, Shimoda teaches the mounting structure according to claim 3. Shimoda does not teach wherein the at least one first fastening hole is located on the first outer surface or the second outer surface. However, Kang teaches a mounting structure (72, Figs. 6a, 6b) comprising at least one first fastening hole (742, Figs. 6a, 6b) is located on a first outer surface or a second outer surface (see two outer surfaces of 72 as shown in Figs. 6a, 6b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first fastening hole is located on the first outer surface or the second outer surface in Shimoda, as taught by Kang, in order to firmly secure the two outer surfaces and prevent any gap.
Regarding claim 13, Shimoda teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 11. Shimoda does not teach wherein the at least one first fastening hole is located on the first outer surface or the second outer surface. However, Kang teaches a mounting structure (72, Figs. 6a, 6b) comprising at least one first fastening hole (742, Figs. 6a, 6b) is located on a first outer surface or a second outer surface (see two outer surfaces of 72 as shown in Figs. 6a, 6b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one first fastening hole is located on the first outer surface or the second outer surface in Shimoda, as taught by Kang, in order to firmly secure the two outer surfaces and prevent any gap.
Regarding claim 15, Shimoda in view of Kang teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 13, and Shimoda further teaches wherein an extending direction of the at least one first fastening hole and an extending direction of the at least one second fastening hole are substantially parallel to a normal direction of an outer surface of the device body (as shown in Fig. 3 of Shimoda).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda in view of Kang, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 11,237,597; hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 16, Shimoda in view of Kang teaches the portable electronic device according to claim 14, and Shimoda further teaches wherein the at least one fastener comprises a head portion (head of 9 in Fig. 3).
Shimoda does not teach a top surface of the head portion facing away from the mounting structure is located farther away from the mounting structure than the outer surface of the device body. However, Yamamoto teaches a top surface of a head portion of a fastener (top head surface of 31, Fig. 6) facing away from a mounting structure (6, Fig. 6) is located farther away from the mounting structure than an outer surface of a device body (body of 2, on outer surface of 2x in Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a top surface of the head portion facing away from the mounting structure is located farther away from the mounting structure than the outer surface of the device body in Shimoda in view of Kang, as taught by Yamamoto, in order to slim down the mounting structure and still protect the corner of the portable electronic device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841