Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the element "lubricant supply lines". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret this element to be a plurality of the previously defined “a supply line” defined in claim 3, upon which claim 4 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schauer as part of US 20220018090 A1, hereinafter referred to as Schauer, in view of Moore as part of US 20180135800 A1, hereinafter referred to as Moore.
Regarding Claim 1: Schauer teaches of a rotary and/or swivel unit for attachment to a construction machine (Schauer: Paragraph 14, quick changer 1 comprises a rotary device to couple an implement to a construction machine), which contains
a connection part and a support arranged movable on the connection part for a tool or a quick changer for coupling a tool or attachment (Schauer: Fig. 1, connection part 2; support 22 is arranged movably on connection part 2 of quick changer 1),
in which the support is arranged on the connection part so as to be rotatable by a motor around an axis of rotation by means of a rotary drive (Schauer: Fig. 1; Paragraph 14, support 22 is rotatable by rotary drive 3, by means of drive motor 9, about axis of rotation 5) and/or tiltable around a pivot axis by means of a pivot drive (Schauer: Fig. 2, connection part 2 is pivotable about a pivot axis 11 via a pivot drive, formed by two operating cylinders 12).
Schauer does not teach of a lubricant system as part of the rotary and/or swivel unit.
Moore teaches of a lubricant system as part of a construction machine (Moore: Fig. 1; Paragraph 2-3, the invention is directed towards a lubricant supply for a hydraulically operated tool, such as an excavator, hydraulic hammer, or other type of machine),
wherein a central lubricant supply with an automatically actuated lubricant pump is provided with a lubricant reservoir for delivering a lubricant to different lubricating points of the tool of the construction machine (Moore: Paragraph 20; Fig 3, lubrication system 300 comprises primer pumps 320, which maintain a desired volume and pressure of lubricant, further comprising one or more lubricant reservoirs in the form of cartridges 310 and 312, which supply lubricant to the hydraulically operated tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Schauer to include a lubrication system, such as that which is taught by Moore, to reduce friction between bearing surfaces of moving parts (Moore: Paragraph 3, lubrication supply systems reduce friction between moving parts, such as between the tool and bushings used to align said tool). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of reducing friction in a swivel/rotary tool via an onboard lubrication system.
Regarding Claim 2: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Schauer further teaches wherein a housing part is arranged on the connection part (Schauer: Fig. 1, housing 4 is arranged on connection part 2),
which is mounted so as to be pivotable around the pivot axis and tiltable by the pivot drive (Schauer: Fig. 2, housing 4 is pivotable about a pivot axis 11 via a pivot drive, formed by two operating cylinders 12)
in which the support is rotatably mounted around an axis of rotation orthogonal to the pivot axis, and which can be rotated by a motor by means of the rotary drive (Schauer: Fig. 2, support 22 is rotatably mounted about axis of rotation 5, which can be rotated by motor 9 via rotary device 9, which is orthogonal to pivot axis 11).
Regarding Claim 3: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Moore further teaches wherein the lubricant pump is connected via a supply line to a distributor unit to distribute the lubricant delivered by the lubricant pump to the different lubricating points (Moore: Paragraph 20-22; Fig. 3, pumps 320 are connected to lubricant supply manifolds 314 via one or more fluid passageways; one way check valves 315 and 316 distribute lubricant through supply line 317 to supply line 360, which leads to the hydraulic actuated tool).
Regarding Claim 4: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 3.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Moore further teaches wherein the lubricant supply lines leading to the different lubricating points are connected to the distributor unit (Moore: Paragraph 20, lubricant manifold 314, supply line 317, and supply line 360 are connected to one way check valves 315 and 316).
Regarding Claim 5: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Moore further teaches wherein a lubricant amount regulation device is arranged on the lubricant pump for adjusting the amount of lubricant delivered by the lubricant pump when the lubricant pump is activated (Moore: Fig. 3;Paragraph 21, biasing members 324 are arranged as part of primer pumps 320, and apply a force to the piston portion 322 of each pump 320 in response to the pressure of the hydraulic fluid in manifold 314, ensuring a continuous flow of lubricant is entering the system when the pumps 320 are activated and there is lubricant in the cartridges 310 or 312).
Regarding Claim 6: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 2.
While Schauer in view of Moore does not explicitly teach of the lubrication pump being arranged on the housing of the connection part, in light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Moore does teach wherein the lubricant pump is arranged on the rotary and/or swivel unit (Moore: Paragraph 3, the lubrication system may be mounted directly on the tool). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to rearrange the generic placement of the lubrication system on the work tool, as taught by Moore, to be placed on the housing specifically, as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to make plural parts unitary as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockart, 90 USPQ 214 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding Claim 7: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 1, Moore further teaches wherein the lubricant pump is designed as a hydraulically operated lubricant pump with a hydraulically operated pump piston (Moore: Paragraph 21. the primer pumps 320 are hydraulically operated, comprising a piston member including a piston portion 322, on which pressurized hydraulic fluid acts on the end face thereof).
Regarding Claim 12: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Schauer further teaches wherein a quick changer designed for connecting a tool or attachment is arranged on the support (Schauer: Paragraph 17, quick changer 1 comprises locking elements 26, which are disposed on support 22, to engage and lock an adapter or attachment to the quick changer 1).
Regarding Claim 13: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Schauer further teaches wherein the connection part contains two spaced-apart pin-like coupling elements for coupling the connection part to a quick changer (Schauer: Fig. 1, spaced apart pins 15 couple connection part 2 to quick changer 1).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson as part of US 3877743 A, hereinafter referred to as Johnson.
Regarding Claim 8: Schauer in view of Moore teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Schauer in view of Moore does not teach explicitly wherein the lubricant pump is activated by controlling the pivot drive or by controlling the rotary drive.
Johnson teaches of a swiveling construction tool comprising a lubrication system (Johnson: Col. 1, line 26-43, the invention is directed towards a swivel structure, powered by pressurized fluid, comprising portions of the swivel structure that are present with fluid that provides lubrication),
wherein the lubricant is pumped via the control of a hydraulic actuation drive (Johnson: Col. 1, line 54-57, the lubricant is said to be the fluid transmitted to and from grapple operating linear actuators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Schauer in view of Moore to supply lubricant via a hydraulic actuation of a separate hydraulic system, such as is taught by Johnson, as it is known in prior art to utilize the fluid of a separate actuator system to supply fluid to be used as lubricant for mechanical systems (Johnson: Col. 1, line 54-57, the lubricant is said to be the fluid transmitted to and from grapple operating linear actuators). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of utilizing hydraulic fluid from a hydraulic actuator as lubricant for a mechanical swivel system.
Regarding Claim 9: Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson, teaches of the apparatus described in claim 8.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 8, Johnson further teaches wherein the lubricant pump is connected via a bypass line to a pivot drive hydraulic circuit for controlling the pivot drive, a rotary hydraulic circuit for controlling the rotary drive or another hydraulic circuit (Johnson: Col. 1, line 54-57, the lubricant is said to be the fluid transmitted to and from grapple operating linear actuators).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson, further in view of Yamashita as part of US 20210002853 A1, hereinafter referred to as Yamashita.
Regarding Claim 10: Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson, teaches of the apparatus described in claim 9.
Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson does not explicitly teach of the rotary drive includes a hydraulic motor that can be controlled by the rotary drive hydraulic circuit.
Yamashita teaches of a construction machine comprising a rotary unit, which rotates around an axis of rotation by means of a rotary drive, and is tiltable around a pivot axis by a pivot drive (Yamashita: Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 74, construction machine 1 comprises arm 20, which is capable of rotational movement via rotating motor 35 and of tilting via tilt cylinders 36),
wherein the rotary drive includes a hydraulic motor that can be controlled by a rotary drive hydraulic circuit (Yamashita: Fig. 2; Paragraph 30, rotating motor 35 is a hydraulic motor, which acts to rotate the bucket 30 about axis C1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified rotary drive unit taught by Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson with the specific hydraulic motor taught by Yamashita, as it was known at the time the invention was properly filed to utilize a hydraulic motor, and therefore an operative hydraulic circuit, to operate the rotational movement of the rotary and/or swivel unit. Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of using a hydraulic motor as the rotary drive (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 11: Schauer in view of Moore, further in view of Johnson, teaches of the apparatus described in claim 9.
Schauer further teaches wherein the pivot drive is formed by two double-acting actuating cylinders movable in opposite directions and controllable by the pivot drive hydraulic circuit (Schauer: Fig. 2, connection part 2 is pivotable about a pivot axis 11 via a pivot drive, formed by two operating cylinders 12; Paragraph 16, corresponding extension and retraction of the piston rods 19 of cylinders 12 cause a tilt motion about pivot axis 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jonnson as part of WO 2020151876 A1 teaches of a rotary and/or swivel unit, comprising a connection part, a support arranged movable on the connection part for a tool or quick changer for coupling a tool or attachment, the support arranged on the connection part to be rotatable by a motor around an axis of rotation by a rotary means, and tiltable around a pivot axis by means of a pivot drive, and a lubrication system for delivering lubricant to lubricating points of the rotary and/or swivel unit.
/EVAN A BREGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671