DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The objection to Claim 32 for the limitation “in response to to a user selection of installing the first application in the first running HW environment, configuring the first application in the first running environment and displaying the first icon” is withdrawn in light of the amendment to at least Claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 – 27, 29 – 32, and 36 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0159481).
Regarding Claim 21, You et al. teach a method, applied to an electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) comprises a first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) and a second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92), and the method comprising:
allocating a first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) on the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and allocating a second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) on the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92), wherein the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) are independent of each other (Paragraph 226);
installing a first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47);
displaying a first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), wherein the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226); and
displaying a second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), wherein the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), wherein when the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is simultaneously running in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), display content (Figure 6, Element 627. Paragraphs 119 – 130) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) is independent of display content (Figure 6, Element 629. Paragraphs 119 – 130) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227);
wherein that the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) comprises:
responding to a third operation (Figure 14, Element execution. Paragraph 192) on the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191); and
starting the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155), wherein the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is bound to a first process identifier based on a first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91); and
wherein that the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) comprises:
responding to a fourth operation (Figure 14, Element execution. Paragraph 196) performed on the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196); and
starting the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155), wherein the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is bound to a second process identifier based on a second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91).
Regarding Claim 22, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) is a head unit disposed in a vehicle (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 40), and the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) and the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) are respectively disposed at different positions in the vehicle (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 23, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) is a primary screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) is a secondary screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 24, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein a unified operating system runs on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47), a first desktop (Figure 11, Element 1111. Paragraph 175) on which the first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91) logs in to the unified operating system is used in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), and a second desktop (Figure 13, Element 1311. Paragraph 188) on which the second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91) logs in to the unified operating system is used in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227).
Regarding Claim 25, You et al. teach the method according to claim 24 (See Above), wherein the first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91) is determined based on a display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and the second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91) is determined based on a display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 26, You et al. teach the method according to claim 25 (See Above), wherein the display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) is determined based on a product number (Paragraph 89) of the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), a manufacturer number of the first screen, a size of the first screen, or a resolution of the first screen; and
wherein the display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) is determined based on a product number (Paragraph 89) of the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92), a manufacturer number of the second screen, a size of the second screen, or a resolution of the second screen.
Regarding Claim 29, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein allocating the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) on the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) comprises:
in response to a second operation of turning on (Paragraph 113) the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92), running, by the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47), the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) and displaying the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) on the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 30, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein displaying the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) comprises:
generating a copy (Element Application list. Paragraphs 158 – 171) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) for the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227).
Regarding Claim 31, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), after displaying the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), the method further comprises:
in response to a fifth operation performed on the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191), wherein the fifth operation indicates to install (Paragraph 247) the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), configuring the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227).
Regarding Claim 32, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein the installing the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) comprises:
in response to a sixth operation that the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is downloaded from an application store (Paragraph 247), installing the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47);
in response to a user selection of installing the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), configuring the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and displaying the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191); and
in response to a second user selection of installing the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), configuring the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) and displaying the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196).
Regarding Claim 36, You et al. teach an electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47), comprising:
a memory (Figure 17, Element 1730. Paragraphs 228 - 229), storing instructions executable by one or more processors of the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47); and
at least one processor (Figure 17, Element 1720. Paragraph 226), configured to execute the instructions, causing the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) to perform operations comprising:
allocating a first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) on a first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and allocating a second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) on a second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92), wherein the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) are independent of each other (Paragraph 226);
installing a first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47);
displaying a first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), wherein the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226); and
displaying a second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), wherein the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), wherein when the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is simultaneously running in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), display content (Figure 6, Element 627. Paragraphs 119 – 130) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) is independent of display content (Figure 6, Element 629. Paragraphs 119 – 130) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227);
wherein that the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) comprises:
responding to a third operation (Figure 14, Element execution. Paragraph 192) on the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191); and
starting the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155), wherein the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is bound to a first process identifier based on the first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91); and
wherein that the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) is used to start the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227) comprises:
responding to a fourth operation (Figure 14, Element execution. Paragraph 196) performed on the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196); and
starting the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155), wherein the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) is bound to a second process identifier based on the second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91).
Regarding Claim 37, You et al. teach the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) according to claim 36 (See Above), wherein the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) is a head unit disposed in a vehicle (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 40), and the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) and the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) are respectively disposed at different positions in the vehicle (Figure 1, Element 100. Paragraph 40).
Regarding Claim 38, You et al. teach the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) according to claim 36 (See Above), wherein the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) is a primary screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92) is a secondary screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92).
Regarding Claim 39, You et al. teach the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) according to claim 36 (See Above), wherein a unified operating system runs on the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47), a first desktop (Figure 11, Element 1111. Paragraph 175) on which the first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91) logs in to the unified operating system is used in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), and a second desktop (Figure 13, Element 1311. Paragraph 188) on which the second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91) logs in to the unified operating system is used in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227).
Regarding Claim 40, You et al. teach the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) according to claim 39 (See Above), wherein the first user (Figure 4, Element Driver. Paragraph 91) is determined based on a display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92), and the second user (Figure 4, Element First Passenger. Paragraph 91) is determined based on a display identifier (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraphs 106 - 107) of the second screen (Figure 4, Element 130-4. Paragraph 92).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 33 – 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0159481) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0354332).
Regarding Claim 28, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), wherein allocating the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) to the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47) and displaying the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) on the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92) comprises:
running, by the electronic device (Figure 4, Element 110. Paragraph 47), the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) and displaying the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226) on the first screen (Figure 4, Element 130-1. Paragraph 92).
You et al. is silent with regards to automatically turning on the first screen in response to a first operation of turning on the electronic device.
Kim et al. teach automatically turning on the first screen in response to a first operation of turning on the electronic device (Paragraph 130).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the multi-display device of You et al. with the display controls of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of You et al. with the teachings of Kim et al. it to provide efficiency of power and increase user convenience, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraphs 229 – 231).
Regarding Claim 33, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), after displaying the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), the method further comprises: in response to a seventh operation on the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191).
You et al. is silent with regards to wherein the seventh operation indicates to uninstall the first application, canceling configuration of the first application in the first running environment or the second running environment, deleting the first icon or the second icon, and deleting the first application from the electronic device.
Kim et al. teach wherein the seventh operation indicates to uninstall the first application, canceling configuration of the first application in the first running environment or the second running environment, deleting the first icon or the second icon, and deleting the first application from the electronic device (Paragraph 130. Kim et al. discloses “Additionally or generally, the notification relay application, for example, may manage (e.g., install, delete, or update) at least a portion of functions (e.g., turn on/turn off an external electronic device (or a portion of a constituent part) or control the brightness (or resolution) of a display) of an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 602 or a server 604), an application operating on the external electronic device, or a service (e.g., a communication service or a message service) provided by the external electronic device (Emphasis Added).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the multi-display device of You et al. with the display controls of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of You et al. with the teachings of Kim et al. it to provide efficiency of power and increase user convenience, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraphs 229 – 231).
Regarding Claim 34, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), after displaying the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the first running environment (Figure 17, Element 1721. Paragraph 226), the method further comprises: in response to an eighth operation performed on the first icon (Figure 14, Elements 1413 or 1423, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 191),
You et al. is silent with regards to wherein the eighth operation indicates to uninstall the first application in the first running environment or the second running environment; when a user selection is to uninstall the first application in the first running environment, canceling configuration of the first application in the first running environment and deleting the first icon; and when a user selection is to uninstall the first application in the second running environment, canceling configuration of the first application in the second running environment and deleting the second icon.
Kim et al. teach wherein the eighth operation indicates to uninstall the first application in the first running environment or the second running environment (Paragraph 130);
when a user selection is to uninstall the first application in the first running environment, canceling configuration of the first application in the first running environment and deleting the first icon (Paragraph 130. Kim et al. discloses “For example, a notification relay application may include a function for transferring notification information occurring from another application (e.g., an SMS/MMS application, an e-mail application, a health care application, or an environmental information application) of the electronic device 601 to an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 602 or a server 604). Additionally or generally, the notification relay application, for example, may manage (e.g., install, delete, or update) at least a portion of functions (e.g., turn on/turn off an external electronic device (or a portion of a constituent part) or control the brightness (or resolution) of a display) of an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 602 or a server 604), an application operating on the external electronic device, or a service (e.g., a communication service or a message service) provided by the external electronic device (Emphasis Added).”); and
when a user selection is to uninstall the first application in the second running environment, canceling configuration of the first application in the second running environment and deleting the second icon (Paragraph 130. Kim et al. discloses “Additionally or generally, the notification relay application, for example, may manage (e.g., install, delete, or update) at least a portion of functions (e.g., turn on/turn off an external electronic device (or a portion of a constituent part) or control the brightness (or resolution) of a display) of an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 602 or a server 604), an application operating on the external electronic device, or a service (e.g., a communication service or a message service) provided by the external electronic device (Emphasis Added).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the multi-display device of You et al. with the display controls of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of You et al. with the teachings of Kim et al. it to provide efficiency of power and increase user convenience, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraphs 229 – 231).
Regarding Claim 35, You et al. teach the method according to claim 21 (See Above), after displaying the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196) of the first application (Paragraphs 83 and 154 - 155) in the second running environment (Figure 17, Element 1723. Paragraphs 226 - 227), the method further comprises: in response to a ninth operation performed on the second icon (Figure 14, Element 1431, Sub-Element not labeled, but are the applications icons shown. Paragraph 196).
You et al. is silent with regards to wherein the ninth operation indicates to uninstall the first application, canceling configuration of the first application in the second running environment and deleting the second icon.
Kim et al. teach wherein the ninth operation indicates to uninstall the first application, canceling configuration of the first application in the second running environment and deleting the second icon (Paragraph 130. Kim et al. discloses “Additionally or generally, the notification relay application, for example, may manage (e.g., install, delete, or update) at least a portion of functions (e.g., turn on/turn off an external electronic device (or a portion of a constituent part) or control the brightness (or resolution) of a display) of an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 602 or a server 604), an application operating on the external electronic device, or a service (e.g., a communication service or a message service) provided by the external electronic device (Emphasis Added).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the multi-display device of You et al. with the display controls of Kim et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of You et al. with the teachings of Kim et al. it to provide efficiency of power and increase user convenience, as taught by Kim et al. (Paragraphs 229 – 231).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that You et al. fails to teach that the main processor and the auxiliary processor would be used to independently run the same first application, or that the main processor would be a first display while the auxiliary processor would be a second display; and therefore fail to teach the newly added claim language of at least Claim 21. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion.
You et al. discloses “The hub unit 110 may classify and provide pieces of source information, such as information related to application lists included in a smart phone of the first electronic device 120 based on display configuration information, such as a display ID. A part, such as personal information and security-related application information (personal phone apps), personal privacy-related application information (privacy apps), application information related to the field of IVI and vehicles (driving apps), and entertainment-related application information (entertainment apps), of source information, such as information related to application lists included in a smart phone, of the first electronic device 120 may be provided to a driver display. Another part, such as application information related to the field of IVI and vehicles (driving apps), and entertainment-related application information (entertainment apps)) of source information, such as information on application lists included in a smart phone, of the first electronic device 120 may be provided to a passenger display (Paragraphs 154 – 155. Emphasis Added).” This disclosure of You et al. makes it clear that You et al. is capable of the running the same application on multiple different display devices.
You et al. disclose “In steps 625, 627, and 629, the electronic device 300 may control screens of the first display 130 and the second display 130 based on the respective rights to access the first display 130 and the second display 130. In step 625, the electronic device 300 may generate second source information from the first source information based on the right to access the first display 130. The electronic device 300 may generate third source information from the first source information based on the right to access the second display 130. In step 627, the electronic device 300 may provide the generated second source information to the first display 130 so as to display the second source information on the first display 130. In step 629, the electronic device 300 may provide the generated third source information to the second display 130 so as to display the third source information on the second display 130 (Paragraphs 127 – 130. Emphasis Added).” This disclosure of You et al. teaches that based on the different states of the display devices and the right to access those display devices, display content is sent to the first display device and the second display device.
You et al. further discloses “The processor 1720 may include: a main processor 1721, such as a central processing unit or an application processor, and an auxiliary processor 1723, such as a graphic processing apparatus, an image signal processor, a sensor hub processor, or a communication processor, which can operate independently of or together with the main processor 1721. The auxiliary processor 1723 may control at least some of functions or states associated with at least one element, such as the display apparatus 1760, the sensor module 1776, or the communication module 1790, among the elements of the electronic device 1701…together with the main processor 1721 while the main processor 1721 is in an active state (Paragraphs 226 – 227. Emphasis Added).” This portion of You et al. teaches that both the main processor and the auxiliary processor are capable of operating independently to control functions or states of associated elements, such as displays. Given the above disclosures read in combination by a person of ordinary skill in the art, it is clear that You et al. teaches that the display content of the first application in the first running environment is independent of the display content of the first application running in the second running environment. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the second argument, in which the applicant asserts that You et al. fails to teach that any application is bound to a process identifier based on a user. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. You et al. disclose “Users, such as a driver, a first passenger, a second passenger, and a third passenger, may ride at the respective positions in the vehicle 100, where the multiple displays 130_1 to 130_N, may correspond to the respective positions. The driver display may correspond to the driver seat. A passenger display may correspond to the side seat or a rear seat (Paragraph 91. Emphasis Added).” Therefore, is clear that the first process identifier will be the seat position of the given users. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s assertion and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Won et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0065056) teaches a multi display device that is capable of managing icons and applications, similar to the instant invention.
Park (U.S. PG Pub 2018/0267763) teaches a apparatus that is used to manage a set of displays in a vehicle, similar to the instant invention.
Liu et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0213438) teaches a multi display device that controls applications and icons of both displays, similar to the instant invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625