DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Zuijlen et al. (U.S. 2012/0162796).
Regarding claim 1, Van Zuijlen discloses an apparatus for operating a mirror assembly of a vehicle (1, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0023]), comprising:
a fixing member (2, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0023]) fixed to a mirror base of the vehicle (base of vehicle where the fixing member is attached; page 2, para [0023]);
a driving member (6, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0027]) fixed to a mirror housing (3, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0025]) of the vehicle and configured to generate a driving force to rotate the mirror housing with respect to the fixing member (page 2, para [0027]); and
a base elastic member (9, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0028]) disposed between the fixing member (2, Fig. 1) and the driving member (6, Fig. 1) to generate an elastic force that biases the driving member (6, Fig. 1) away from the fixing member (2, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0028]),
wherein a position of the mirror housing (3, Fig. 1) is switchable to a first position in which the mirror housing is unfolded (Fig. 1; page 2, para [0027]) with respect to the mirror base or to a second position in which the mirror housing (3, Fig. 1) is folded with respect to the mirror base (page 2, para [0027]), and
wherein the driving member (6, Fig. 1) is configured to:
decrease a gap between the mirror housing (3, Fig. 1) and the mirror base in response to the mirror housing having been switched to the first position (such as when the mirror housing 3 is unfolded and thus decreasing the gap between the mirror housing 3 and the mirror base of the vehicle, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0024]); and
increase the gap in response to the mirror housing being switched from the first position to the second position (such as when the mirror housing 3 is folded and thus increasing the gap between the mirror housing 3 and the mirror base of the vehicle, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Van Zuijlen discloses an apparatus for operating a mirror assembly of a vehicle with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the base elastic member (9, Fig. 1) includes a wave spring provided in a ring shape (page 2, para [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Van Zuijlen discloses an apparatus for operating a mirror assembly of a vehicle with all the limitations of claim 2 above and further discloses wherein the fixing member (2, Fig. 1) comprises:
a first cylinder (outer cylinder of 2, Fig. 1) having a first diameter (diameter of outer cylinder of 2, Fig. 1); and
a second cylinder (11, Fig. 1; page 3, para [0030]) that has a second diameter (diameter of 11, Fig. 1) smaller than the first diameter (diameter of outer cylinder of 2, Fig. 1) and protrudes from the first cylinder (11 protrudes from outer first cylinder of 2, Fig. 1), and
wherein the base elastic member (9, Fig. 4) is configured to be settled on the first cylinder (outer cylinder of 2, Figs. 1 and 4) by being penetrated by the second cylinder (base elastic member 9 is settled on outer cylinder of 2 by being penetrated by the second cylinder 11, Figs. 1 and 4; page 3, para [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Van Zuijlen discloses an apparatus for operating a mirror assembly of a vehicle with all the limitations of claim 2 above and further discloses wherein the base elastic member (9, Fig. 4) is provided in an open ring shape in which a portion thereof is cut off to allow opposite ends to face each other (open ring shape of 9 allowing opposite ends to face each other, Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the apparatus for operating a mirror assembly of a vehicle of claim 4 (having all the combination of features including an elastic member settling surface on which the base elastic member is configured to be settled; a plurality of fixed guide protrusions formed to protrude along an edge of the elastic member settling surface; and a plurality of fixed guide grooves, each of which is formed between adjacent fixed guide protrusions among the plurality of fixed guide protrusions). Claims 5-14 are objected to as being dependent on claim 4.
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871