Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1, 2, 3, 5, 8a and 9 have two distinct illustrates or sections of the invention, each illustration or image should include its own figure number. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, line 5 states “an insulating layer” and it is unclear if this is meant to be the same layer as set forth in claim 1 or if this is intended to define a second and distinct layer? Based on the disclosure as a whole it is believed that the “an” in line 4 should be - -the- -.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said groove" and “the axial flange” in lines 2, 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 5 depends directly from claim 1, however the groove is first recited in claim 2 and the axial flange is first recited by claims 3 or 4.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. In this case “preferably” is functioning in a similar manner as “for example” or “such as”, see MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 8 and 9 recites the limitation "the axial groove", “the corner groove, “the outer radial groove” and “the beveled portion” in line 2 of claim 8 and lines 2 and 4 of claim 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claims 8 and 9 depend from claim 3 however the items above are introduced in different claims that are not dependent on claim 3.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the axial flange" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 depends directly from claim 1, however the flange is first recited by claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizutani, USP 5,375,933.
Regarding claim 1, Mizutani discloses an insulated bearing (insulated against electric corrosion) comprising: an outer ring (3); an inner ring (2); and rolling elements (10) arranged between the outer ring and the inner ring; at least one of the outer ring or the inner ring is provided as an insulated ring (covering the ring with 6 or 7 makes the outer ring or inner an “insulated ring” just like applying 6 in the instant applicant forms an insulated ring) having a body (main ring part 2 or 3), the body comprising: a raceway (curved surface contacting ball 10); an axial end face (left or right sides in figure 1); a radial outer circumferential face disposed radially away from the raceway (outer surface 3 or inner surface of 2, these surfaces are radially outward/away from the raceway); and a surface having a material removal portion (the axial ends of each ring, the outer surface of the outer ring 3 and the bore in inner ring 2 all have grooves 4 and 5 which are material removal portions); the insulated ring having an insulating layer (6 or 7) overmolded on the body and molded into the material removal portion (molded and overmolded are product by process recitations, see MPEP 2113, the only distinguishing structure that might be implied would be a bonding between the materials, however the processes disclosed includes processes that would bond or fix the parts together that resists separation, see column 3, lines 4-16).
Regarding claim 2, Mizutani discloses that the surface of the body comprises a groove (4 or 5) as said material removal portion, and the insulating layer is overmolded on the body and embedded in the groove (the layers 6 and 7 include projections 8 and 9 that are embedded in the grooves).
Regarding claim 4, Mizutani discloses that the body comprises an axial flange projecting axially outward with respect to the axial end face and further comprising an axial groove as said groove provided on an axial outer end face thereof, and the insulation layer is embedded in said axial groove; or the body includes an axial groove (grooves 4 and 5, specifically the ones in the axial ends of the rings) as said groove provided on the axial end face, and the insulating layer is embedded in the axial groove (the projections 8 and 9 of the insulating layers are embedded in the end face grooves).
Regarding claim 6, Mizutani discloses that the radial outer circumferential face further comprises an outer radial groove as said groove (grooves 5 on the outer surface of the outer ring or grooves 4 in the bore of the inner ring), and the insulating layer (6 or 7) is embedded in said outer radial groove; preferably, the outer radial groove is arranged offset along the axial direction relative to the raceway symmetry plane (the grooves are offset from the center of the bearing which defines the symmetry plane).
Regarding claim 11, Mizutani discloses that the material of the insulating layer comprises one of: polyetheretherketone, polyphenylene sulfide [PPS], or polyimide (see column 2, lines 64-65 disclosing PPS).
Regarding claim 12, Mizutani discloses the insulating layer includes reinforcing fibers added to the material of the insulating layer to enhance the strength of the insulating layer (see column 2, lines 64-66 disclosing the use of glass fibers, the introduction of fibers to a base resin material is to improve some form of a strength property).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnault, US PGPub 2023/0220882.
Regarding claim 1, Arnault discloses an insulated bearing comprising: an outer ring (14); an inner ring (12); and rolling elements (16) arranged between the outer ring and the inner ring; at least one of the outer ring or the inner ring is provided as an insulated ring (14/22) having a body (main ring part 14), the body comprising: a raceway (20); an axial end face (14c/14d); a radial outer circumferential face disposed radially away from the raceway (14a); and a surface having a material removal portion (14a/14c/14d have a corner removed at 28/30 or material removed to form 36/38); the insulated ring having an insulating layer (26) overmolded on the body (see paragraph 0046) and molded into the material removal portion (28/30).
Regarding claim 2, Arnault discloses that the surface of the body comprises a groove (28/30) as said material removal portion (“groove” is not limited to any specific length each notch 28/30 is a groove), and the insulating layer is overmolded on the body and embedded in the groove.
Regarding claim 5, Arnault discloses that the body further comprises a corner groove as said groove provided at an intersection part between the radial outer circumferential face and the axial flange, and the insulating layer is embedded in the corner groove; or the body further comprises a corner groove as said groove provided at the intersection part between the radial outer circumferential face and the axial end face, and the insulating layer is embedded in the corner groove (28/30 are at the intersection of the outer circumferential face 14a and the axial ends 14c and 14d).
Regarding claim 6, Arnault discloses that the radial outer circumferential face further comprises an outer radial groove as said groove (28/30 are grooves as explained above), and the insulating layer (26) is embedded in said outer radial groove; preferably, the outer radial groove is arranged offset along the axial direction relative to the raceway symmetry plane (the grooves 28/30 are on the corners of the outer this is offset from the center of the bearing which defines the symmetry plane).
Regarding claim 10, Arnault discloses that at least one of the radial outer circumferential face, an axial outer end face of the axial flange and the axial end face comprises a knurling structure, and the insulating layer is further embedded in the notches of the knurling structure (36/38).
Regarding claim 11, Arnault discloses that the material of the insulating layer comprises one of: polyetheretherketone, polyphenylene sulfide, or polyimide (see paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 13, Arnault discloses that the insulated bearing further comprising an outer metal ring (24, see paragraph 0043) connected to and covering at least a radial outer face (26a) of said insulating layer.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnault, US PGPub 2023/0223813 (Arnault813).
Regarding claim 1, Arnault813 discloses an insulated bearing comprising: an outer ring (14); an inner ring (12); and rolling elements (16) arranged between the outer ring and the inner ring; at least one of the outer ring or the inner ring is provided as an insulated ring (14/22) having a body (main ring part 14), the body comprising: a raceway (20); an axial end face (14c/14d); a radial outer circumferential face disposed radially away from the raceway (14a); and a surface having a material removal portion (bevel between 14a and 14c/14d); the insulated ring having an insulating layer (26) overmolded on the body (see paragraphs 0043 and 0046) and molded into the material removal portion (covers the bevel similar to figure 9 in the instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Arnault813 discloses the body comprises an axial flange projecting axially outward with respect to said axial end face and having a beveled portion as said material removal portion at the intersection part between said radial outer circumferential face and said axial flange; or the body further comprises a beveled portion as the material removal portion provided at the intersection part between the radial outer circumferential face and the axial end face (the bevel illustrated in figure 1 is between 14a and 14c/14d).
Regarding claim 11, Arnault813 discloses that the material of the insulating layer comprises one of: polyetheretherketone, polyphenylene sulfide, or polyimide (see paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 13, Arnault813 discloses that the insulated bearing further comprising an outer metal ring (24, see paragraph 0032) connected to and covering at least a radial outer face (26a) of said insulating layer.
Regarding claim 14, Arnault813 discloses that the inner surface of the outer metal ring comprises a knurling structure (the series of projections 30 and 32 in the outer 24 in the embodiment shown in figures 2 and 3 can be considered a “knurling structure”), and the insulating layer is further embedded in the notches of the knurling structure of the outer metal ring (the material of the layer 26 extends between and surrounds the knurling structure and is thus embedded in the notches or spaces between adjacent projections).
Regarding claim 15, Arnault813 discloses that the outer metal ring comprises a flange extending radially from its outer circumference, and the flange is embedded in a corner groove of the insulating layer (see the embodiment of figure 5 which includes flanges 44 and 46 that are in a groove of the insulating layer 26).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yabe, USP 5,961,222.
Regarding claim 1, Yabe discloses an insulated bearing (insulated against electric corrosion) comprising: an outer ring (2); an inner ring (1); and rolling elements (3) arranged between the outer ring and the inner ring; the outer ring is provided as an insulated ring (2/5) having a body (main ring part 2), the body comprising: a raceway (curved surface contacting ball 3); an axial end face (left or right sides 2s); a radial outer circumferential face disposed radially away from the raceway (2g); and a surface having a material removal portion (the axial ends of each ring, the outer surface of the outer ring all have grooves 8 which are material removal portions); the insulated ring having an insulating layer (5) overmolded on the body and molded into the material removal portion (molded and overmolded are product by process recitations, see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 2, Yabe discloses that the surface of the body comprises a groove (8) as said material removal portion, and the insulating layer is overmolded on the body and embedded in the groove (the layer 5 includes projections that are embedded in the grooves).
Regarding claim 4, Yabe discloses that the body comprises an axial flange projecting axially outward with respect to the axial end face and further comprising an axial groove as said groove provided on an axial outer end face thereof, and the insulation layer is embedded in said axial groove; or the body includes an axial groove (groove 8, specifically the ones in the axial ends of the rings) as said groove provided on the axial end face (2s), and the insulating layer is embedded in the axial groove.
Regarding claim 6, Yabe discloses that the radial outer circumferential face further comprises an outer radial groove as said groove (grooves 8 on the outer surface of the outer ring), and the insulating layer (5) is embedded in said outer radial groove; preferably, the outer radial groove is arranged offset along the axial direction relative to the raceway symmetry plane (the grooves are offset from the center of the bearing which defines the symmetry plane).
Regarding claim 16, Yabe discloses that a thickness of the insulating layer is set equal to or greater than 0.45mm (at least column 6, lines 15-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani, USP 5,375,933, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of White, USP 9,581,203.
Regarding claim 3, Mizutani does not disclose the body comprises: an axial flange projecting axially outward with respect to the axial end face and having a radial inner circumferential face facing the inside of the bearing, the radial inner circumferential face comprising an inner radial groove as said groove; wherein an [the] insulation layer is overmolded on the radial outer circumferential face and the axial flange, and the insulation layer is embedded in the inner radial groove.
White teaches that in a bearing with an insulating coating/layer that the ring (2) can be provided with an axial flange (narrower projection of 2 that forms axial end faces 46 and 48, this is the same type of flange as 5 in the instant application) projecting axially outward with respect to the axial end face (end face portion radially inside of 42 just like 3 in the instant application) and having a radially inner circumferential face facing the inside of the bearing (at 42/44) comprising an inner radial groove (42/44) and wherein the insulating layer covers the outer circumferential face, the axial flange and is embedded in the groove (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Mizutani and use any previous known ring geometry with a corresponding coating, like that taught by White that includes the axial flange and the radially inner groove in which the insulating coating/member is applied to, since substituting between different known configurations of the inner ring with the corresponding coating provides the same predictable result of attaching the two distinct materials together in a manner that forms a singular unit. Furthermore, changing the configuration of the ring and the location of the engagement groove in Mizutani does not change the overall function of the bearing, in this case it is a matter of simple substituting one known geometry for another which is not inventive.
Regarding claim 9, Mizutani and White both disclose that the grooves, specifically the inner radial groove taught by White is provided as one continuous groove.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani, USP 5,375,933, in view of White, USP 9,581,203, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Han, CN113389813.
Regarding claim 8, Mizutani in view of White, while disclosing the use of the inner radial groove (as taught by White), does not disclose that a knurling structure is provided in the groove and the insulating layer is embedded in the notches of the knurling structure.
Han teaches that a structure used to secure an element (not illustrated in the figures) to the outer ring of a bearing the groove (at 230) is provided with a knurling (230) for the purpose of more firmly securing the parts together (see translation page 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Mizutani in view of White and add knurling to the grooves, as taught by Han, for the purpose of more firmly securing the parts together. NOTE: Han is related to a high speed belt pulley, the “injection” referenced in the translation is the pulley body, the knurling is provided to better secure the pulley body, or coating member for the outer ring, with the outer ring.
Conclusion
/JAMES PILKINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617