Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear what is meant by the limitation “interwoven by knitting”. Knitting is a process of interlooping yarns while weaving it a process of interlacing yarns. It is not clear how a structure can be interwoven, (interlaced) by knitting, (interlooping).
Also in claim 1, it is not clear what is meant by “sheet-like”. In particular, it is not clear how the textile fabric is the same as and/or different from a sheet.
Also in claim 1, lines 7-8, there is no antecedent basis for “the warp or weft direction”. Also in claim 8, there is no antecedent basis for “the fabric”, (there is antecedent basis for “the textile fabric”). There is no antecedent basis for “the adjacent protrusions” in line 10. There is no antecedent basis for “the side of the textile fabric” or for “the surface of the multiple yarns” in line 12.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rose et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0318266.
Rose discloses a knit fabric having a ribbed knit structure. The ribbed structure provides for protrusions and recesses and can have various patterns. See paragraph 0031. The ribbed structure is formed by knitting one or more yarns. See paragraph 0023-0024. The yarns can have different colors. See paragraph 0016-0018. Suitable colors include red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet, white, black and shades thereof. See paragraph 0027. The yarns can be polyester. See paragraph 0020. In addition to the colored yarns, different areas may be dyed or otherwise colored to provide different designs and appearances to the fabric. See paragraph 0032. The yarns and fabric may be colored or patterned so that the fabric looks different from different angles. See paragraph 0036-0037. The knit fabric can be used to make a shoe component. See paragraph 0050. Dyes which include copper ions can be added to the yarns and/or fabric. See paragraph 0055.
Claim(s) 2-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0318266 in view of Bailey et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0055117.
Rose discloses a knit fabric having a ribbed knit structure. The ribbed structure provides for protrusions and recesses and can have various patterns. See paragraph 0031. The ribbed structure is formed by knitting one or more yarns. See paragraph 0023-0024. The yarns can have different colors. See paragraph 0016-0018. Suitable colors include red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet, white, black and shades thereof. See paragraph 0027. The yarns can be polyester. See paragraph 0020. In addition to the colored yarns, different areas may be dyed or otherwise colored to provide different designs and appearances to the fabric. See paragraph 0032. The yarns and fabric may be colored or patterned so that the fabric looks different from different angles. See paragraph 0036-0037. The knit fabric can be used to make a shoe component. See paragraph 0050. Dyes which include copper ions can be added to the yarns and/or fabric which would result in yarns which included copper ions. See paragraph 0055. The fabric of Rose is capable of being used to form shoes. With regard to the orientation of the protrusions, one of ordinary skill would have been able to situate the protrusion relative to the shoe structure to provide the most comfortable and functional shoe.
Rose differs from the claimed invention because it does not clearly teach that the fabric has two sides with the first yarn on the first side and the second yarn on the second side and does not clearly teach incorporating a third yarn.
However, Bailey teaches incorporating first, second and third yarns into a knit fabric in order to form different properties and appearances on the front, middle and back sides. See paragraph 0035.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed additional yarns as taught by Bailey in order to provide a knit fabric having different properties and a different appearance on difference faces of the fabric.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pearce, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0254003. Pearce discloses a knit fabric. See abstract. The knit fabric can include a graphic feature integrally knitted into the knit fabric. See paragraph 0004. The graphic forms a protrusion on the fabric. Pearce does not clearly teach a plurality of protrusions, the recesses or multiple types of yarns.
Blore et al, U.S. Patent No. 3,808,843 teaches a double knit fabric with different colored yarns wherein both faces have a different appearance. Blore does not clearly teach the protrusions.
Balcombe, U.S. Patent No. 3,937,041. Balcombe teaches a textured double knit fabric including bulked and/or unbulked yarns. Balcombe does not clearly teach the first, second and third yarns.
Sytz, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0144221. Sytz teaches a three dimensional knitted fabric having protrusions on one face and corresponding recesses on the other side. The yarns can be polyester. Sytz does not clearly teach using two types of yarns.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789