DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after January 16, 2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants claimed invention filed on 01/16/2025 in the matter of Application N° 19/023,849. Said documents are entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Thus, claims 1-12 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20190224371A1) in view of Guo et al. (Lithium-incorporated deproteinized bovine bone substitute improves osteogenesis in critical-sized bone defect repair, May 2018), and He et al. (“preparation and characterization of novel lithium magnesium phosphate bioceramic scaffolds facilitating bone generation, May 4, 2022), as evidenced by Yoo et al. (Lithium doped biphasic calcium phosphate: structural analysis and osteo/odontogenic potential in vitro, Nov8, 2022), and further in view of Maurath et al. (3D printing of open-porous cellular ceramics with high specific strength), and Lu et al. Li-doped calcium phosphate cement for accelerated bone regeneration of osteoporotic bone defect, 2022, and Li et al. (WO2017219654A1), and Ke et al. (“Doped tricalcium phosphate bone tissue engineering scaffolds using sucrose as template and microwave sintering: enhancement of mechanical and biological properties” 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. discloses a degradable magnesium containing calcium phosphate-calcium sulfate porous composite biological scaffold prepared from calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral (See Abstract).
Specifically, Li et al. disclose a modified biological bone mineral porous scaffold obtained by treating a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold with a composite solution containing a magnesium source, a sulfur source, and a phosphorus source, followed by hydrothermal reaction, drying, and high-temperature calcination (See Abstract).
Li et al. further disclose that the calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold is prepared by cleaning and drying bovine cancellous bone, followed by calcination at 900-1200°C for 8-12 hours (See paragraph 0032).
Li et al. disclose immersing the calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold in a composite solution containing magnesium hydrogen phosphate, sulfuric acid, sodium sulfate, and phosphoric acid. The composite solution contains 0.1 mol/L magnesium hydrogen phosphate and 1.7 wt% phosphoric acid (See claim 7, paragraph 0021, and 0065).
Li et al. further discloses subjecting the immersed scaffold to hydrothermal treatment at 70°C for 20 hours, drying at 80°C for 24 hours, and calcining at 750°C for 6 hours (See paragraph 0065).
Li et al. disclose that the resulting scaffold contains magnesium-substituted calcium phosphate, including ca2.89Mg0.11(PO4)2, and ns a three-dimensional interconnected porous structure suitable for bone tissue engineering and bone defect repair (See paragraph 0066).
However, Li et al. do not expressly disclose incorporating lithium into the magnesium containing calcium phosphate scaffold to obtain a lithium-magnesium-phosphate-modified biological bone mineral scaffold.
Guo et al. disclose lithium-incorporated deproteinized bovine bone substitutes prepared through hydrothermal treatment (See Abstract).
Guo et al. further disclose that hydrothermal lithium incorporation produces a nanostructured surface layer and enhances osteoblast proliferation, calcium deposition, and new bone formation compared with unmodified deproteinized bovine bone (See Abstract).
He et al. discloses lithium magnesium phosphate bioceramic materials and scaffolds comprising lithium, magnesium and phosphate, including Li0-5Mg2.75(PO4)2, and Li2Mg2(po4)2 (See Abstract).
He et al. further discloses that lithium magnesium phosphate bioceramics exhibit improved compressive strength, cellular proliferation, osteogenic differentiation, and proangiogenic activity compared with lithium free magnesium phosphate bioceramics. He et al. additionally reports enhanced bone regeneration using lithium magnesium phosphate scaffolds (See Abstract, and page 4046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date of the of the instant invention, to modify the magnesium containing calcium phosphate-calcium sulfate biological bone scaffold of Li et al. by incorporating lithium, as taught by Guo et al., in view of the beneficial properties of lithium magnesium phosphate bioceramics disclosed by He et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to enhance the osteogenic activity, cellular proliferation, bone regeneration, and mechanical properties of the scaffold.
Li et al. recognize the importance of incorporating biologically active ions into animal-derived bone mineral scaffolds to improve bone repair performance. Guo et al. further demonstrates that lithium incorporation into bovine bone through hydrothermal treatment improves osteogenesis and new bone formation.
He et al. additionally establishes that lithium magnesium phosphate bioceramics provide advantageous biological and mechanical properties for bone tissue engineering.
Accordingly, the cited references collectively provide an articulated reason for incorporating lithium into the magnesium-and phosphate containing scaffold of Li et al. to obtain improved bone-regenerative properties.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully incorporating lithium into the magnesium-and phosphate-containing biological bone mineral scaffold of Li et al.
Li et al. demonstrate that magnesium and phosphorus can be incorporated into calcined bovine cancellous bone through hydrothermal treatment followed by high-temperature calcination.
Guo et al. demonstrates that lithium can be incorporated into deproteinized bovine bone through hydrothermal treatment.
Furthermore, Yoo et al. (2022) disclose lithium doped biphasic calcium phosphate ceramics prepared by coprecipitation and calcination at 1,000°C for 2 hours (See Methods and 2.1 and Results 3.1).
Yoo et al. report that lithium remains incorporated in the calcined calcium phosphate material, as demonstrated by X-ray diffraction analysis and elemental measurements (See Figure 1 and Table 1).
Thus, the teachings of Li et al., Guo et al., He et al., and Yoo et al. collectively provide a technical basis for expecting that lithium can be incorporated into a magnesium-and phosphate-containing bone mineral scaffold and retained following thermal processing.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to modify the scaffold of Li et al. in view of Guo et al. and He et al., with a reasonable expectation of obtaining a lithium-containing magnesium/calcium phosphate biological bone scaffold exhibiting improved properties for bone tissue engineering and bone defect repair.
Regarding claim 2, Li et al., Guo et al., and He et al. disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Li et al. further discloses preparing a magnesium-containing calcium phosphate-calcium sulfate porous biological scaffold by immersing a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold into a magnesium containing solution, followed by microwave drying and subsequent immersion into a phosphorus-containing composite solution for hydrothermal reaction (See Li et al., General implementation solution 2 and Embodiments 9-12).
Li et al. disclose the use of magnesium sulfate as a magnesium-ion source and a phosphorus containing composite solution comprising phosphoric acid and diammonium hydrogen phosphate.
Li et al. further discloses hydrothermal processing, subsequent drying, and high temperature calcination to obtain a modified porous biological bone mineral scaffold.
Li et al. therefore discloses the sequential metal ion impregnation, microwave drying, and subsequent phosphorus-source hydrothermal treatment recited in claim 2.
However, Li et al. do not expressly disclose incorporating white granulated sugar into the metal-ion source solution or baking and drying the scaffold at 96°C to 198°C before immersion into the phosphorus-source composite solution.
Maurath and Willenbacher discuss the use of sugar solutions as organic binders with porous calcium phosphate granules in the fabrication of bone tissue engineering scaffolds (See Introduction, and page 4834).
Ke et al. discloses employing sucrose as a sacrificial template during preparation of magnesium and-zinc-containing calcium phosphate bone tissue engineering scaffolds (See Abstract).
This reference demonstrates that sucrose was a known processing additive for modifying the porous structure of calcium phosphate-based bone scaffolds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention, seeking to modify the pore structure of Li et al.’s porous calcium phosphate scaffold would have had reason to consider sucrose as a processing additive in view of Ke et al.
one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that temporary organic binders were useful during ceramic scaffold fabrication and would have had reason to investigate their use to assist in retaining deposited materials during intermediate drying and subsequent processing.
The proposed modification would have been directed toward facilitating handling and processing of the impregnated scaffold while maintaining its porous ceramic structure.
Li et al. demonstrate that calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral scaffolds can undergo sequential metal-ion impregnation, microwave drying, phosphorus-source hydrothermal treatment, and high-temperature calcination.
Maurath et al. further establish that sugar solutions had been used as organic binders during the fabrication of porous calcium phosphate materials.
These teachings provide a basis for considering sugar-containing solution as compatible processing additives in calcium phosphate scaffold fabrication.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to modify the metal-ion impregnation process of Li et al. by incorporating an aqueous sugar solution in view of the teachings discussed by Maurath et al. because sugar solutions were known organic binders used in the fabrication of porous calcium phosphate scaffolds.
The skilled artisan would have recognized the potential benefit of employing a temporary organic binder during intermediate scaffold processing to facilitate retention and handling of deposited materials before subsequent hydrothermal treatment and calcination.
Regarding claim 3, Li et al., Guo et al., He et al., and Maurath et al. disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claims 1 and 2, subject to the reasons for combination previously set forth.
Li et al. further disclose that the hydrothermal reaction is carried out using a constant temperature hydrothermal method, wherein the temperature is maintained at 70°C to 90°C for 8 to 36 hours (See Li et al., claim 3 and Detailed Description).
Specifically, Li et al. disclose in Embodiment 11 that a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold is initially immersed in a magnesium sulfate solution, subjected to microwave drying, and subsequently immersed in a phosphorus-containing composite solution for hydrothermal treatment at a constant temperature of 90°C for 36 hours.
Thus, Li et al. expressly discloses hydrothermal reaction conditions falling within the presently claimed temperature range of 60°C to 100°C and reaction time of 24 to 48 hours.
The additional hydrothermal temperature and reaction-time limitations recited in claim 3 are expressly taught by Li et al. and do not, by themselves, distinguish the claimed subject matter from the cited prior art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ the constant-temperature hydrothermal conditions disclosed by Li et al. when preparing the modified biological bone mineral scaffold because Li et al. demonstrate that hydrothermal treatment at 90°C for 36 hours successfully produces a magnesium containing calcium phosphate composite scaffold while maintaining its porous structure.
Furthermore, Li et al.’s successful preparation of the scaffold under these conditions provides a reasonable expectation that the disclosed temperature and reaction time would be suitable for hydrothermal processing of a modified bovine cancellous bone mineral scaffold.
Regarding claim 4, Li et al., in view of Guo et al., He et al., and Maurath et al., disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claims 1-3.
Li et al. further disclose that, in the sequential impregnation method, the solid-to-liquid ratio of the calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold to the magnesium source solution is 10 g:50-200 mL, and the solid-to-liquid ratio of the scaffold to the sulfur-source and phosphorus-source composite solution is 10 g:50-200 mL (See claim 4 and Detailed Description, solution 1).
When normalized to 100 mL, each disclosed ratio corresponds to 5-20 g:100 mL.
Thus, Li et al. disclose material-to-liquid ratios overlapping the presently claimed ranges of 15-50 g:100 mL for both the metal-ion source solution and the phosphorus-source composite solution.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the instant effective filing date of the claimed invention to select material-to-liquid ratios within the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because Li et al. expressly identifies those ratios as suitable for sequential impregnation and hydrothermal processing of calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral scaffolds.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in selecting ratios within the disclosed overlapping ranges because Li et al. teach their suitability for preparing magnesium-containing calcium phosphate porous biological scaffolds. The additional material-to-liquid ratio limitations of claim 4 would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Li et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the material-to-liquid ratios disclosed by Li et al. when preparing the modified biological bone mineral scaffold because Li et al. expressly identify these ratios as suitable for sequential impregnation of calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral scaffolds with magnesium-containing and phosphorus-containing solutions.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected successful scaffold preparation using material-to-liquid ratios within the overlapping ranges because Li et al. disclosed their use in the preparation of porous calcium phosphate-based biological scaffolds.
The motivation for incorporating lithium and considering an aqueous sugar-containing processing additive remains as discussed regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 5, Li et al., in view of Guo et al., He et al., Maurath et al, and further in view of Lu et al. (2022), disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claims 1-4, subject to the reasons for combination previously set forth.
Li et al., further disclose that the magnesium source is magnesium sulfate or magnesium hydrogen phosphate, and that the phosphorus source comprises phosphoric acid and a soluble phosphate selected from diammonium hydrogen phosphate, ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, magnesium hydrogen phosphate, and specified combinations thereof (See Detailed Description and Examples).
Thus, Li et al. expressly discloses the magnesium sources and phosphorus-source binary system encompassed by claim 5.
However, Li et al. do not expressly disclose lithium chloride as the lithium source.
Guo et al. disclose lithium incorporation into deproteinized bovine bone by hydrothermal treatment, resulting in improved osteogenic activity and bone formation (See Abstract).
Lu et al. further discloses using lithium chloride dissolved in deionized water to prepare lithium-doped calcium phosphate cement for bone regeneration (See Lu et al., Methods, preparation of Li-doped CPC).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to select lithium chloride as a lithium-ion source when modifying the calcium phosphate based biological scaffold of Li et al., in view of Guo et al. and Lu et al.
Guo et al. provides a reason to incorporate lithium into bovine bone-derived scaffolds to improve osteogenic activity, while Lu et al. demonstrates that aqueous lithium chloride is a suitable source of lithium for preparing lithium modified calcium phosphate bone-repair materials.
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to introduce lithium ions into Li et al.’s calcium phosphate-based scaffold would have considered aqueous lithium chloride as a known lithium precursor for achieving lithium modification.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected lithium chloride to supply lithium ions in an aqueous processing solution because Lu et al. expressly demonstrates its use in preparing lithium-doped calcium phosphate materials.
Regarding claim 6, Li et al., in view of Guo et al., He et al., Maurath et al., and Lu et al., disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claims 1-5, subject to the reasons for combination previously set forth.
Li et al. further discloses preparing magnesium containing calcium phosphate porous biological scaffolds using magnesium sulfate solutions having concentrations including 0.05 mol/L, 0.10 mol/L, and 0.15 mol/L, as well as phosphorus-containing solutions comprising phosphoric acid and soluble phosphates, including diammonium hydrogen phosphate at concentrations of 0.20 mol/L and 0.40 mol/L (See Li et al., WO2017219654A1, and Examples).
These concentrations fall within the numerical ranges of 0.05—0.20 mol/L for magnesium ions and 0.06-0.60 mol/L for soluble phosphate recited in claim 6, although the final concentrations in the combined reaction system require verification.
Guo et al. and He et al. further establish the desirability of incorporating lithium into calcium phosphate-based bone-repair materials to improve osteogenic activity.
However, the presently identified references do not expressly establish the claimed final lithium concentration of 0.06-0.60 mol/L or the white granulated sugar concentration of 0.03-0.20 mol/L in the specified reaction system.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to select magnesium and phosphate precursor concentrations within the ranges disclosed by Li et al. because Li et al. demonstrate that these concentrations are suitable for preparing magnesium-containing calcium phosphate porous biological scaffolds.
Furthermore, in view of Guo et al. and He et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to introduce lithium into the scaffold to obtain the known osteogenic benefits associated with lithium-containing calcium phosphate materials.
The selection of suitable precursor concentrations would have involved consideration of the desired ionic composition and the resulting scaffold properties.
Regarding claims 7, and 8, Li et al., in view of Guo et al. and He et al., disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claim 1, subject to the reasons for combination previously set forth.
Li et al further disclose that, following hydrothermal reaction, the calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold is removed from the reaction solution and placed in a constant-temperature drying oven, wherein drying is performed at 80°C to 90°C for 20 to 48 hours (See Li et al., US 20190224371A1, Detailed Description, General Implementation solutions 1 and 2).
Li et al. further discloses examples wherein the hydrothermally treated scaffold is dried at 100°C for 24 hours before subsequently high temperature calcination.
Thus, Li et al. expressly discloses constant temperature drying following hydrothermal reaction at temperatures falling within the presently claimed range of 75°C to 198°C.
Claim 7 depends from claim 1, whereas claim 8 depends from claim 2. The additional limitations inherited from their respective parent claims are addressed as discussed above regarding claims 1 and 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ the constant-temperature drying conditions disclosed by Li et al. following hydrothermal treatment because Li et al. demonstrate that such drying conditions are suitable for removing residual liquid from the treated porous biological bone mineral scaffold before subsequent high-temperature calcination.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected successful drying under these conditions because Li et al. expressly demonstrated their use in preparing magnesium-containing calcium phosphate-based porous biological scaffolds.
Regarding claims 9, and 10, Li et al., in view of Guo et al. and He et al., disclose or suggest the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Li et al., further disclose that the high temperature calcination is performed at a temperature of 750° C to 900° C for 2 to 9 hours (See Li et al., US20190224371A1, Detailed Description).
Specifically, Li et al. disclose examples wherein the hydrothermally treated bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold is dried and subsequently calcined at 750°C for 6 hours or at 900°C for 8 hours.
Thus, Li et al. expressly discloses high temperature calcination conditions falling within the presently claimed temperature range of 750°C to 1200°C and duration of 6 to 24 hours.
The additional calcination temperature and duration limitations recited in claims 9 and 10 are expressly taught by Li et al. claim 9 depends from claim 1, whereas claim 10 depends from claim 2. The additional limitations inherited from their respective parent claims are addressed as discussed above regarding claims 1 and 2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ the high-temperature calcination conditions disclosed by Li et al. in preparing the modified biological bone mineral scaffold because Li et al. demonstrate that calcination at 750°C for 6 hours or 900°C for 8 hours is suitable for producing magnesium containing calcium phosphate-based porous biological scaffolds.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected successful scaffold preparation under these conditions because Li et al. expressly demonstrated their use in the preparation of porous biological bone mineral scaffolds.
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. disclosed a degradable magnesium containing calcium phosphate-calcium sulfate porous composite biological scaffold prepared from calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffolds (See Detailed Description, Examples 1-3 and General implementation solutions 1 and 2).
Li et al. disclose that the calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold is immersed in a magnesium-containing and phosphorus-containing composite solution and subjected to hydrothermal reaction, followed by drying and high-temperature calcination, thereby obtaining a modified porous biological scaffold (See Abstract and claim 1, scheme 1 and 2).
As discussed regarding claim 1, Guo et al. disclose hydrothermal incorporation of lithium into deproteinized bovine bone and report improvements in osteogenic activity and bone formation.
He et al. further discloses lithium-magnesium phosphate bioceramic scaffolds and report favorable mechanical and biological properties for bone regeneration.
The reasons for combining the teachings of Li et al., Guo et al., and He et al., together with the reasonable expectation of success, are as previously discussed regarding claim 1.
Li et al. further discloses preparing a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold from bovine femoral condyle cancellous bone. Li et al. disclose cutting bovine cancellous bone into bone strips having a thickness of 0.8 cm. Li et al. further disclose placing the bone strips in distilled water and cooking them in a pressure cooker for 50 minutes, followed by washing the bone strips with water at 50°C, wherein the washing procedure is repeated five times. Li et al. additionally disclose drying the processed bone strips in a constant temperature drying oven at 100°C for 18 hours, followed by calcination at 1000°C for 10 hours and cooling in the calcination furnace to obtain a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold (See Example 3, steps 1-3).
The disclosed bone-strip thickness of 0.8 cm falls within the claimed range of 0.5-5 cm. The disclosed pressure-cooking duration of 50 minutes falls within the claimed range of 36-60 minutes. The disclosed washing temperature of 50°C and five washing repetitions fall within the claimed ranges of 50-75°C and five to six repetitions, respectively. The disclosed drying temperature of 100°C and drying duration of 18 hours fall within the claimed ranges of 80-120°C and 12-24 hours, respectively. The disclosed calcination temperature of 1000°C and calcination duration of 10 hours fall within the claimed ranges of 900-1200°C and 6-12 hours, respectively.
Li et al. further discloses cooling the calcined bone material in the calcination furnace, consistent with the claimed slow-cooling procedure.
With respect to the additional bone-preparation conditions recited in claim 11, no modification of Li et al.’s disclosed preparation procedure would have been necessary because Li et al.’s Example 3 expressly teaches those conditions.
With respect to the lithium-containing modification incorporated through claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to incorporate lithium into Li et al.’s magnesium-containing bovine bone-derived scaffold in view of Guo et al.’s teaching that lithium incorporation improves osteogenic activity and bone formation, and He et al.’s teaching that lithium-magnesium-phosphate bioceramics exhibit favorable properties for bone regeneration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected lithium incorporation into a bovine bone-derived scaffold to be feasible because Guo et al. demonstrate hydrothermal lithium incorporation into deproteinized bovine bone, while Li et al. demonstrate hydrothermal modification of calcined bovine cancellous bone using magnesium and phosphorus containing solutions.
The teachings of He et al. further support the known suitability of lithium-magnesium phosphate materials for bone-regeneration applications.
The prior art provides an articulated reason to incorporate lithium into Li et al.’s magnesium-containing bone-derived scaffold, while Li et al. expressly discloses the additional numerical bone-preparation conditions recited in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 2 and incorporates the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Li et al., in view of Guo et al., He et al., and Ke et al., disclose or suggest certain aspects of the modified biological bone mineral scaffold as discussed regarding claims 1 and 2.
Li et al. further discloses preparing a calcined bovine cancellous bone mineral porous scaffold from bovine femoral condyle cancellous bone (See Example 3, steps 1-3).
Specifically, Li et al. disclose cutting bovine cancellous bone into strips having a thickness of 0.8 cm, placing the strips in distilled water and pressure cooking for 50 minutes, washing with water at 50°C five times, drying at 100°C for 18 hours, calcining at 1000°C for 10 hours, and cooling in the calcination furnace (See Example 3, steps 1-3).
The disclosed strip thickness, pressure cooking duration, washing conditions, drying conditions, and calcination conditions fall within the corresponding ranges recited in claim 12. Li et al. expressly discloses the numerical processing conditions associated with the strip-shaped bovine cancellous bone preparation alternative recited in claim 12.
With respect to the limitations incorporated from claim 2, Li et al. disclose sequential metal ion impregnation, microwave drying, and subsequent hydrothermal treatment in a phosphors-containing solution. Ke et al. provides evidence of the known use of sucrose as a processing additive in calcium phosphate scaffold fabrication.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KIMBERLY BARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615