DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding independent claim 1, for an apparatus for cooling a tissue during laser-based procedures, comprising: a gas compressor configured to supply pressurized air and connected to a mixing chamber, a fluid reservoir containing a liquid coolant and connected to the mixing chamber via a volume controlling device; the mixing chamber configured to form a liquid-air mixture by mixing the pressurized air from the gas compressor with the liquid coolant from the fluid reservoir, a chilled chamber connected to the mixing chamber and comprising a thermoelectric cooler (TEC) and a heat sink, the chilled chamber being configured to chill the liquid-air mixture, a single delivery tube connected to the chilled chamber has not been suggested or disclosed in the prior art when combined with the rest of the claim limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazic et al. (US 20190239938) in view of LePivert (US 6551309).
Regarding claim 14, Kazic discloses a method for cooling a tissue during laser irradiation, comprising:
supplying pressurized air 100 to a mixing chamber 7 (Fig. 1, section 0058, quid and delivery means 6 for the gas, wherein these delivery means combine within a spray nozzle 7),
delivering 5 a controlled amount of a liquid coolant 1 to the mixing chamber 7, thereby forming a liquid-air mixture (section 0059),
chilling the liquid-air mixture in a chilled chamber to a temperature within a specified range (sections 0046-0047),
ejecting, through a nozzle 7 having a single outlet 8, the chilled liquid-air mixture as a conical spray onto the tissue (Fig. 3, Section 0072),
wherein the conical spray covers an area of the tissue approximately equivalent to a maximum spot size of a laser beam on the tissue (Section 0072, the area on the tissue surface to which the spray is directed essentially corresponds to the spot size of the laser beam which is emitted from the hand piece).
However, Kazic doesn’t specifically disclose forming a liquid-air mixture within the mixing chamber. LePivert discloses forming a liquid-air mixture within the mixing chamber 15 (column 4 lines 55-58). This allows for more uniform and controlled cooling liquid-air mixture to be delivered. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Kazic by adding forming a liquid-air mixture within the mixing chamber as taught by LePivert in order to facilitate more uniform and controlled cooling liquid-air mixture to be delivered from the nozzle.
Regarding claim 15, Kazic discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein
the chilled liquid-air mixture is ejected at a pressure sufficient to achieve a fine mist of atomized droplets without substantial accumulation of liquid on a surface of the tissue (Fig. 2, Section 0070).
Regarding claim 16, Kazic discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein
a liquid-to-air ratio is controlled to maintain rapid evaporation of the atomized droplets upon contact with the tissue , resulting in efficient evaporative cooling (sections 0037, 0070).
Regarding claim 17, Kazic discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising
positioning a distance gauge between the nozzle and the tissue to ensure optimal spacing for effective spray coverage and cooling of the area of the tissue (section 0073).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796