DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by USPAP 2019/0112733 to Abouraddy or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2019/0112733 to Abouraddy in view of USPN 11,542,636 to Bowles and/or EP 2157221 to Yui.
Claims 1 and 9, Abouraddy discloses an article, comprising: a cloth comprising a first yarn, wherein the first yarn is treated with a thermochromic pigment, and the first yarn has the characteristic of changing from a first color to a second color upon reaching a temperature threshold (see entire document including [0037], [0039], [0045], [0053], [007] and [0080]). In the event that it is shown that the applied prior art does not disclose the claimed embodiment with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because the prior art specifically discloses the claimed constituents.
Claims 2, 10 and 17, the temperature threshold is from about 37° C to about 39° C [0045].
Claims 3, 11 and 18, the temperature threshold is from about 34° C to about 36° C [0045].
Claim 4, 6, 12 and 14, the yarns comprises natural fibers, synthetic fibers, or a combination thereof ([0039], [0053] and [0079]).
Claim 5, the cloth further comprises a second yarn, wherein the second yarn is interwoven with the first yarn ([0053] an [0079]).
Claims 7, 13 and 19, Abouraddy discloses that various weaving and knitting techniques may be used to arrange the color-changing fibers [0080] but does not appear to specifically mention plating stitch. Yui discloses that it is known in the art to construct a plating stitch fabric using different color yarns for the front and back (see entire document including [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the article with any suitable construction, such as the claimed plating stitch, to provide a fabric with different colors surfaces.
Claims 8, 15 and 20, the article is an article of clothing [0036].
Claim 9, Abouraddy discloses that the cloth may comprise a primary layer and at least one additional layer wherein the primary layer comprises the thermochromic yarn [0090]. Plus, Bowles discloses that it is known in the art to construct a multi-layer fabric with thermochromic yarns in one layer (see entire document including column 1, lines 16-49 and column 3, line 53 through column 4, line 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the article with the claimed multi-layer construction, based on the intended application and the desired use.
Claim 16, Abouraddy discloses a method, comprising: interweaving a first yarn and a second yarn together to produce a primary layer of a cloth, wherein the first yarn is treated with a thermochromic pigment and the first yarn changes from a first color to a second color upon reaching a temperature threshold; and interweaving a third yarn to produce at least one additional layer of the cloth (see entire document including [0037], [0039], [0045], [0053], [007] and [0080]).
Conclusion
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to an article comprising a cloth comprising yarns treated with a thermochromic pigment: USPN 4,681,791 to Shibahashi and USPAP 2013/0263352 to Crockett.
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789