DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 4/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Since the election is made without traverse, the restriction is deemed as proper and therefore made FINAL. Claim 15 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6-7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 contains the limitation “painkillers such as lidocaine, a laxative, etc.,”. The limitation “such as” is confusing because it is unclear whether the limitations following “such as” are required by the claim or if they are merely optional.
Claims 6-7 and 13 contain the term “preferably” which is unclear for substantially the same reasons stated immediately above regarding claim 3.
Claim 4 contains the limitation “the vacuum is adjusted to…” then lists pressures that include values that are above atmospheric pressure (~0.1 MPa). This is confusing because it is unclear if a vacuum exists at these higher pressures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grossman US 2016/0095816.
Per claim 1, Grossman teaches a method of vacuum assisted liquid transfer infusion of liquid agent into a porous toothpick comprising the steps of: placing one or more porous (see Grossman claim 41) toothpicks (abstract, [0056]) vertically into a first container [0074], filling the first container with the liquid agent to be transferred to the toothpick such that the toothpicks are partially immersed [0074], placing the first container in a vacuum chamber [0075], and applying and maintaining a vacuum to the first container until a desired quantity of liquid agent is transferred by capillary force to the toothpick [0075].
Per claim 2, Grossman teaches that the first container is air sealable and under vacuum the lid close the air sealable first container in an airtight manner [0075] (thus forming the vacuum).
Per claim 3, Grossman teaches the substance to be nicotine [0074].
Per claim 5, Grossman teaches sealing and vacuuming in the container for 2-7 days [0075], which falls within the claimed range.
Per claim 6, Grossman teaches that the liquid is transferred to the entirety of the toothpick (saturated) [0075].
Per claim 7, Grossman teaches a glass jar [0074] (mason jar).
Per claim 8, Grossman teaches a wooden toothpick (abstract).
Per claim 9, Grossman teaches 32 mg/ml of nicotine, which falls within the claimed range [0074].
Per claim 10, Grossman teaches an artificial sweetener flavor or mint flavor [0056].
Per claim 11, Grossman teaches glycerin (Table 1).
Per claim 12, Grossman teaches glycerin present in an amount of 59.5-61.8%, which falls within the claimed range (see claim 36).
Per claim 14, Grossman teaches a nicotine concentration of 3-3.9% which falls within the claimed range (see claim 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman US 2016/0095816.
Per claim 4, Grossman is silent regarding the claimed vacuum pressure. However, Grossman teaches that vacuum infusion is the preferred method to open up wood pores and push viscous solution into the pores [0056] and as such, the degree of vacuum would therefore control how much the wood pores would open up. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled and optimized the vacuum pressure with a reasonable expectation for success to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Per claim 13, Grossman is silent regarding the precooled temperature. However, Grossman teaches that the liquid may be held at lower temperatures to slow degradation of nicotine and other compounds in solution [0046]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled and optimized the cooling temperature with a reasonable expectation for success to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718