DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
-a space should be inserted between “carboxamides” and “and” in line 2; and
-the abstract contains numerous grammatic errors, such as “The invention relates to benzodiazepine pyrazolo carboxamides. . .to their use in medicine,” “The compounds of invention,” and “inhibit the activity RSV N-proteins,” and others, that render the abstract unclear.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 10-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claims 1 and 5, the compound of Formula (I) and the species of claim 5 recite the term “abs.” It is not clear what property or structure the term “abs” imparts to the compound. While pg. 39 if the instant Specification references the “absolute stereochemistry” of Enantiomer 1 and 2 in reference to the two compounds recited in instant claim 5, pg. 39 merely recites “The absolute stereochemistry of Enantiomer 1 and Enantiomer 2 were not assigned.” As such, it is not clear from this teaching of “absolute stereochemistry” that “absolute stereochemistry” is “abs.” The acronym or abbreviation “abs” is not further defined in the specification and “abs” is not an art recognized acronym. As such, the term “abs” renders the claims indefinite.
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/008911 to Barrett (published 2022, IDS of 6/12/2025).
Barrett teaches:
(pgs. 139 and 143, #41), which meets the limitations of instant Formula (I) when R1 and R2 are -CH3. Barrett teaches this compound as having an RSV A2 Plaque EC50 (nM) of 29 and a cell cytotoxicity CC50 (nM) of >25,000.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-9,
differs from that of instant Formula (I) in that it does not teach –S(O)2CH2CH3,
.
Barrett additionally teaches that the phenyl ring can be substituted with -SOmR, wherein m can be 2 and R can be a C2 alkyl (pgs. 213, claim 1, the definition of R1 and R2), and exemplifies the following compound:
(pgs. 197-198, # 197). Barrett teaches this compound as having an RSV A2 Plaque EC50 (nM) of 97 and a cell cytotoxicity CC50 (nM) of >25,000.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the H at
, with -S(O)2CH2CH3 to arrive at a compound of instant Formula (I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Barrett teaches that
can be substituted with -SOmR, wherein m can be 2 and R can be a C2 alkyl, and
-Barrett exemplifies a structurally and functionally similar compound with -S(O)2CH2CH3 at this position,
.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Regarding claims 4-5, Barrett differs in that it does not teach the instant R2 position as -CH2OH.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the CH2 group of
with -CH2OH, to arrive at instant claims 4-5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Barrett teaches that its R4 and R5 of (I-1) can be a C1 alkyl or CH2OH (pgs. 213-214, claim 1), and
-Barrett exemplifies compounds substituted with -CH2OH at its R4/R5 position (pgs. 171, 175-176, #’s 110, 128, 130, 134) and teaches these compounds as having RSV A2 Plaque EC50 (nM) values of 51, 41, 350, 83, respectively, and cell cytotoxicity CC50 values (nM) of >25,000.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Regarding the (S) configuration of claims 7-9 and the disastereomers of instant claim 5, Barrett teaches that “The compounds of the invention may contain asymmetric or chiral centres, and therefore exist in different stereoisomeric forms. . .not limited to, diastereomers. . .as well as racemic mixtures. . .The present invention embraces all geometric and positional isomers of compounds of the invention” (pgs. 38, line 14-pg. 39, line 6), and compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.), MPEP 2144.09.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Barrett teaches pharmaceutically acceptable salts of its compound (pgs. 213-214, claim 1; pg. 39, line 29-pg. 40, line 10).
Regarding claims 10-11, Barrett teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds and carriers or diluents (pg. 237, claim 9).
Regarding claim 12 and 17, Barrett teaches a method of treating RSV infection comprising administering to a subject an effective amount of its compounds (pg. 237, claims 11-13).
Regarding claim 13, Barrett teaches combining its compounds with an additional RSV therapeutic agent (pgs. 237-238, claims 14-15).
Regarding claims 18-20, the “for use” recitations are interpreted as intended uses. Since the compounds of Barrett are capable of performing the recited intended uses, the compounds of Barrett meet the limitations of “for use as a medicament,” “for use in the treatment of a RSV infection,” “for the manufacture of a medicament for the treatment of a RSV infection,” as recited in claims 18-20. See MPEP 2111.02. Moreover, as discussed above, Barrett teaches its compounds in the form of pharmaceutical compounds or compositions thereof for the treatment of RSV, and teaches preparing its compounds for such use.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022/008911 to Barrett (published 2022, IDS) as applied to claims 1-13 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Cockerill (Discovery of Sisunatovir (RV521), an Inhibitor of Respiratory Syncytial Virus Fusion, published 2021, PTO-892).
Barrett is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 14-16, Barrett differs in that it does not teach sisunatovir as the additional therapeutic agent.
Cockerill teaches sisunatovir as a potent antiviral in patients with RSV (abstract). Sisunatovir is taught as an inhibitor of RSV fusion that has high oral bioavailability and efficient penetration into lung tissue (pg. 3670, Conclusion.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select sisunatovir as the additional therapeutic agent of Barrett, to arrive at instant claims 14-16. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Barrett teaches administering its compounds with additional therapeutic agents, such as RSV antivirals, and
-Cockerill teaches sisunatovir as an RSV antiviral.
Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a more therapeutically effective method of treating RSV by further inhibiting RSV fusion.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,678,446 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Note: US 12,678,446 is in the same patent family as WO2022/008911 to Barrett, the primary reference relied upon in the above prior art rejections.
‘446 claims
(claim 5), which meets the limitations of instant Formula (I) when R1 and R2 are -CH3.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-9,
differs from that of instant Formula (I) in that it does not claim –S(O)2CH2CH3,
.
‘448 additionally claims that the phenyl ring at its “W” position can be substituted with -SOmR, wherein m can be 2 and R can be a C2 alkyl (claim 1), and exemplifies the following compound:
(claim 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the H at
, with -S(O)2CH2CH3 to arrive at a compound of instant Formula (I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘446 claims that
can be substituted with -SOmR, wherein m can be 2 and R can be a C2 alkyl, and
-‘446 exemplifies a structurally and functionally similar compound with -S(O)2CH2CH3 at this position,
.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Regarding claims 4-5, ‘446 differs in that it does not claim the instant R2 position as -CH2OH.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the CH2 group of
with -CH2OH, to arrive at instant claims 4-5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘446 claims that its R4 and R5 can be a C1 alkyl or a CH2OH (claim 1), and
-‘446 claims compounds substituted with -CH2OH at its R4/R5 position (claim 5).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Regarding the (S) configuration of claims 7-9 and the disastereomers of instant claim 5, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.), MPEP 2144.09.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, ‘446 claims pharmaceutically acceptable salts of its compounds (claim 1).
Regarding claims 10-11, ‘446 claims pharmaceutical compositions comprising its compounds and carriers or diluents (claims 6-7).
Regarding claim 12 and 17, ‘446 claims a method of treating RSV infection by administering to a subject an effective amount of its compounds (claims 8-9).
Regarding claim 13, ‘446 claims combining its compounds with an additional RSV therapeutic agent (pgs. 237-238, claim 9).
Regarding claims 18-20, the “for use” recitations are interpreted as intended uses. Since the compounds of ‘446 are capable of performing the recited intended uses, the compounds of Barrett meet the limitations of “for use as a medicament,” “for use in the treatment of a RSV infection,” “for the manufacture of a medicament for the treatment of a RSV infection,” in claims 18-20. See MPEP 2111.02. Moreover, as discussed above, ‘446 claims its compounds in the form of pharmaceutical compounds or compositions thereof for the treatment of RSV.
Claims 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,678,446 (PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-13 and 17-20 in view of Cockerill (Discovery of Sisunatovir (RV521), an Inhibitor of Respiratory Syncytial Virus Fusion, published 2021, PTO-892).
‘446 is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 14-16, ‘446 differs in that it does not claim sisunatovir as the additional therapeutic agent.
Cockerill teaches sisunatovir as a potent antiviral in patients with RSV (abstract). Sisunatovir is taught as an inhibitor of RSV fusion that has high oral bioavailability and efficient penetration into lung tissue (pg. 3670, Conclusion.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select sisunatovir as the additional therapeutic agent of ‘446, to arrive at instant claims 14-16. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘446 claims administering its compounds with additional therapeutic agents, such as RSV antivirals, and
-Cockerill teaches sisunatovir as an RSV antiviral.
Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a more therapeutically effective method of treating RSV by inhibiting RSV fusion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622