DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanism to rotate the cylinder” in claim 5, 11, and 12.
The specification discloses in [0042] “the instrument 250 may include a mechanism to provide for controlled rotation of the cylinder 254, such as a mechanical lever or electronic switch coupled to the cylinder 254 via the shaft and located on a proximal handle of the instrument 250”. Therefore, a mechanical lever, electronic switch, or any structural equivalent will be interpreted as meeting the limitation of the mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pugsley et al. (US 2004/0225247).
Regarding claim 1, Pugsley et al. discloses a medical system (30, FIGs 5A-5B and 9-11C), comprising: a patch comprising a biocompatible material (10 or110, FIG 2-3, [0051, 0063]); and an instrument (remainder of delivery system in FIG 5A, [0057]) configured to be introduced into a working channel of an endoscope (The catheter system is at least sized and shaped to be inserted into a large enough working channel of an endoscope. [0066] discloses use of an endoscope within the procedure), the instrument comprising: a shaft (30), and a cylinder (33) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (FIG 5A-5B), wherein the patch is configured to be coupled to the cylinder ([0063, 0065-0067] in the delivery configuration, the path 110 is in direct contact with the cylinder and therefore is coupled), and wherein the cylinder is rotatable relative to the shaft (33 is not attached or constrained to shaft 30 and can be retracted or rotated freely relative thereto).
Regarding claim 2, Pugsley et al. disclose a cross-sectional size of the cylinder is greater than a cross-sectional size of the shaft (FIG 9 and 11A).
Regarding claim 7, Pugsley et al. disclose the patch further comprises an adhesive disposed on at least one surface of the patch ([0012, 0062, 0065, 0067]).
Regarding claim 10, Pugsley et al. disclose the patch is releasable from the cylinder ([0065-0067]).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Widomski et al. (US 2005/0288706).
Regarding claim 1, Widomski et al. discloses a medical system (30, FIGs 5A-5F), comprising: a patch comprising a biocompatible material (occluder 10 forms a biocompatible patch 12 because it is made of a biocompatible material, [0042-0046], and acts as a patch by covering and closing a defect wall by being adhesively attached thereto, [0013, 0054-0055]); and an instrument (remainder of delivery system in FIG 5A ) configured to be introduced into a working channel of an endoscope (The catheter system is at least sized and shaped to be inserted into a large enough working channel of an endoscope), the instrument comprising: a shaft (34), and a cylinder (38, [0059]; the threaded coupling mechanism at the distal end of 36 is interpreted as a cylinder because it comprises a cylinder as a base underneath the threads) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (FIG 5A-5B), wherein the patch is configured to be coupled to the cylinder (via proximal coupling 20 of the patch, FIGs 5A-5E show the coupled and uncoupled stated, [0059 and 0064]), and wherein the cylinder is rotatable relative to the shaft (36 is rotated to rotated 38 out of threaded engagement with 20, [0064]. This occurs while 34 remains stationary).
Regarding claim 3-4, Widomski et al. discloses the cylinder comprises a raised surface at a proximal end of the cylinder (the external threads of 38 are interpreted as raised surface on the cylinder) wherein the raised surface is configured to maintain a position of the patch on the cylinder (The threads maintain the position of the patch on the cylinder by engaging with the female threaded coupler of the patch).
Regarding claim 5-6, Widomski et al. discloses a mechanism (41) coupled to the shaft ([0060], FIG 5A) and disposed on a proximal handle (37) of the instrument, wherein the mechanism is configured to rotate the cylinder relative to the shaft ([0067]; “The occluder 10 is released from the catheter 36 as shown in FIG. 6G, e.g., by actuating button a 41 on the handle 37 to transition the coupling mechanism 38 into an open or disengaged position to disconnect the coupling mechanism 38 from the occluder 10”. Since the coupling mechanism can be a threaded engagement, it is understood that decoupling requires rotation of the cylinder), wherein the mechanism comprises one of a mechanical lever or an electronic switch (41 is disclosed as an actuator button, [0060], which is understood to have an electronic switch to act as a button that causes rotation).
Regarding claim 1, Widomski et al. discloses in an alternative interpretation a medical system (30, FIGs 5A-5F), comprising: a patch comprising a biocompatible material (occluder 10 forms a biocompatible patch 12 because it is made of a biocompatible material, [0042-0046], and acts as a patch by covering and closing a defect wall by being adhesively attached thereto, [0013, 0054-0055]); and an instrument (remainder of delivery system in FIG 5A ) configured to be introduced into a working channel of an endoscope (The catheter system is at least sized and shaped to be inserted into a large enough working channel of an endoscope), the instrument comprising: a shaft (36), and a cylinder (20, FIG 4 and 5A-5E) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (FIG 5A), wherein the patch is configured to be coupled to the cylinder (FIG 4, the patch 12 is coupled to port 20, [0034-0040]), and wherein the cylinder is rotatable relative to the shaft (20 is rotated relative to 36 to couple or decouple the threaded engagement therebetween, [0040,0059, 0064]).
Regarding claim 8-9, Widomski et al. discloses in the alternative interpretation a catheter disposed (34) about an outer surface of the shaft (FIG 5A), wherein the catheter is configured to surround the patch (FIG 5A).
Regarding claim 11, Widomski et al. discloses a medical system (30, FIGs 5A-5F), comprising: a patch comprising a biocompatible material (occluder 10 forms a biocompatible patch 12 because it is made of a biocompatible material, [0042-0046], and acts as a patch by covering and closing a defect wall by being adhesively attached thereto, [0013, 0054-0055]); and an instrument (remainder of delivery system in FIG 5A ) comprising: a shaft (34); a cylinder (38, [0059]; the threaded coupling mechanism at the distal end of 36 is interpreted as a cylinder because it comprises a cylinder as a base underneath the threads) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (FIG 5A-5B); and a mechanism (41) configured to rotate the cylinder relative to the shaft ([0067]; “The occluder 10 is released from the catheter 36 as shown in FIG. 6G, e.g., by actuating button a 41 on the handle 37 to transition the coupling mechanism 38 into an open or disengaged position to disconnect the coupling mechanism 38 from the occluder 10”. Since the coupling mechanism can be a threaded engagement, it is understood that decoupling requires rotation of the cylinder); wherein the patch is coupled to (FIG 5A) and releasable from (FIG 5E) the cylinder).
Regarding claim 12, Widomski et al. discloses the instrument further comprises a handle (37), and wherein the mechanism is disposed on the handle (FIG 5A, [0059-0060]).
Regarding claim 13, Widomski et al. discloses a proximal end of the cylinder comprises a raised surface (the external threads of 38 are interpreted as raised surface on the cylinder), and wherein the raised surface is configured to prevent proximal movement of the patch relative to the cylinder (The threads maintain the position of the patch relative to the cylinder by engaging with the female threaded coupler of the patch and preventing translational movement between the two until the threads are disengaged).
Regarding claim 14, Widomski et al. discloses the raised surface has an outer diameter greater than an outer diameter of a portion of the cylinder adjacent to the raised surface (The external threads of 38 have a greater diameter than the base which they are formed upon).
Regarding claim 15, Widomski et al. discloses the instrument is configured to be introduced into a working channel of an endoscope (The catheter system is at least sized and shaped to be inserted into a large enough working channel of an endoscope).
Regarding claim 16, Widomski et al. discloses the patch is disposed on an outer surface of the cylinder (20 of the patch surrounds the cylinder, FIG 5A and is disposed on an outer surface of the cylinder because it is in direct engagement with the threads thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pugsley et al. (US 2004/0225247) in view of Levy (US 2012/0065674).
Regarding claim 17-20, Pugsley et al. discloses a medical system (30, FIGs 5A-5B and 9-11C), comprising: a patch comprising a biocompatible material (10 or 110, FIG 2-3, [0051, 0053]); and an instrument (remainder of delivery system in FIG 5A, [0057]),the instrument comprising: a shaft (30), and a cylinder (33,35 and 40) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (FIG 5A-5B), wherein the patch is configured to be coupled to the cylinder ([0063, 0065-0067] in the delivery configuration, the patch 110 is in direct contact with the cylinder and therefore is coupled) and releasable from the cylinder ([0065-0067]; 110 is deployed from both 33 and 35), wherein the cylinder comprises a raised surface (at least 35 is interpreted as a raised surface, FIG 5B and 9-11C), and the patch is disposed on a surface of the cylinder distal to the raised surface (FIG 5B shows at least some portion of the patch is distal to a portion of 35), wherein a surface of the patch comprises an adhesive ([0012, 0062, 0065, 0067]) configured to secure the patch to the surface of the cylinder ([0012, 0062, 0065, 0067]), and wherein the cylinder is rotatable relative to the shaft (33 is not attached or constrained to shaft 30 and can be retracted or rotated freely relative thereto).
Pugsley further discloses in [0066] use of an endoscope within the procedure, but fails to disclose the instrument being disposed within a working channel of the endoscope.
However, Levy teaches in the same field of endeavor of delivering a patch (18) releasably attached to an instrument (14, FIG 1, [0030]) to an incision (26) of a tissue (24) accessed via the esophagus ([0028, FIG 10), wherein the instrument is disposed within a working channel of an endoscope (12, FIG 1A and 10, [0030, 0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the instrument of Pugsley to be disposed within the working channel of an endoscope, as taught by Levy, for the purpose of delivering to the instrument to the target treatment site using a known mechanism in the art with the added benefit of being able to visualize the treatment site using the endoscope.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771