Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the moving mechanism" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 11, 15, 16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samac (US 8,469,345).
Samac discloses an adsorbing mechanism comprising:
a base 704, 708, 904;
a plurality of suction cup units 902, 906, 1924 (FIGS. 9, 11, 19) disposed on a base and parallel to each other, each suction cup unit is configured to telescopically move along a first direction, and a plurality of suction cup units further configured for connecting to an external vacuum device 504-512, such that a negative pressure is generated in suction cup units for adsorbing an adsorbing surface of a product; and
a clamping unit disposed on a side of a base along a first direction, a clamping unit comprising a first clamping member 1920 (FIG. 19) and a second clamping member 1922, wherein first and second clamping members are located on opposite sides of suction cup units (1924 in FIG. 19), respectively, along a third direction, a third direction is perpendicular to a first direction,
wherein, under actuation (indicated generally as actuation of driving members 1916, 1918 which move brakes 1920, 1922) by first and second clamping members 1920, 1922 are configured to move close to or away from each other to clamp or release a plurality of suction cup units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samac in view of Hertz (US 6,726,195).
Samac does not disclose one first clamping member and two second clamping member. Hertz discloses one first clamping member 510, 522 and two second clamping member 120/524, 125/526, two second clamping members are parallel to each other, two clamping members are spaced from each other along a first direction, along a third direction, a projection of a first clamping member is between projections of two second clamping members. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Samac to provide discloses one first clamping member and two second clamping members, two second clamping members being parallel to each other, two clamping members spaced from each other along a first direction, along a third direction, a projection of a first clamping member is between projections of two second clamping members, as taught by Hertz, which allows for ease of removal and re-installation of any of the elongated support members.
Claim(s) 10, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samac in view of Habisreitinger (US 2005/0042323).
See the above rejection of claim 1 for rejection of claim 10, lines 1-15. Samac does not disclose a transferring mechanism configured to drive the adsorbing mechanism to move. Habisreitinger discloses a robot 10, e.g. transferring mechanism, configured to drive an adsorbing mechanism 27 to move. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Samac to include a transferring mechanism, as taught by Habisreitinger, thereby allowing transferring articles from a base of shapes potentially not matching the shape of the article to be absorbed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 & 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652