DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma et al. (2016/0257115) (hereinafter Azuma et al.) in view of Fukasawa et al. (2020/0108626) (hereinafter Fukasawa et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Azuma et al. teaches a recording device (see Fig. 1) [Paragraphs 0026-0027], comprising: a recording head (9, Fig. 2) that includes an ejection port (30, Fig. 3) configured to eject ink, and a pressure chamber (321, Fig. 4) filled with ink to be ejected from the ejection port (30), and performs recording operation by ejecting ink from the ejection port [Paragraph 0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, and 0048]; a circulation unit (see Fig. 4) configured to perform circulation operation to circulate ink through a circulation path including the pressure chamber (321) [Paragraph 0048]; and a control unit (100, Fig. 5) wherein the control unit (100) acquires temperature information, which is information on temperature of the recording head (9), in a state where the circulation unit (see Fig. 4) is performing the circulation operation [Paragraphs 0011 and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines a circulation state of the ink in the circulation path, based on the information on the temperature.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines a circulation state of the ink in the circulation path, based on the information on the temperature [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines a circulation state of the ink in the circulation path, based on the information on the temperature as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of adjusting temperature [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 2, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1), wherein the control unit (100) acquires first temperature information, which is the temperature information at a first timing [Abstract, Paragraph 0011], and second temperature information, which is the temperature information at a second timing which is after the first timing [Abstract, Paragraph 0011], in a state where the circulation unit is performing the circulation operation [Paragraphs 0011 and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by comparing a difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information with a threshold.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by comparing a difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information with a threshold [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by comparing a difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information with a threshold as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of adjusting temperature [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 3, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 11, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information is less than the threshold.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information is less than the threshold [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information is less than the threshold as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of determining the ejection state of the print head [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0113].
Regarding Claim 4, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) , wherein in a case where the difference between the first temperature information and the second temperature information is at least the threshold [Abstract, Paragraph 0011].
Azuma et al. fails to teach the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head, or performs notification on the state of the recording head.
Fukasawa et al. teaches the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head, or performs notification on the state of the recording head [Paragraph 0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head, or performs notification on the state of the recording head as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of maintaining a good ink ejection state of the print head [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0106].
Regarding Claim 5, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1), wherein the control unit (100) acquires first temperature information, which is the temperature information at a first timing [Abstract, Paragraph 0011], and second temperature information, which is the temperature information at a second timing which is after the first timing [Abstract, Paragraph 0011], in a state where the circulation unit is performing the circulation operation [Paragraphs 0011 and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by calculating a coefficient to indicate a temperature change per unit time, based on the first temperature information and the second temperature information, and comparing the coefficient with a threshold.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by calculating a coefficient to indicate a temperature change per unit time, based on the first temperature information and the second temperature information, and comparing the coefficient with a threshold [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines the circulation state of the ink in the circulation path by calculating a coefficient to indicate a temperature change per unit time, based on the first temperature information and the second temperature information, and comparing the coefficient with a threshold as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of is for the purposes of adjusting temperature [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 6, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the coefficient is less than the threshold.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the coefficient is less than the threshold [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines that the circulation state is normal in a case where the coefficient is less than the threshold as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of is for the purposes of adjusting temperature [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 7, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein in a case where the coefficient is at least the threshold, the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head or performs notification of the state of the recording head.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein in a case where the coefficient is at least the threshold, the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head or performs notification of the state of the recording head [Paragraph 0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein in a case where the coefficient is at least the threshold, the control unit determines that the circulation state is not normal, and performs recovery processing of the recording head or performs notification of the state of the recording head as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of maintaining a good ink ejection state of the print head [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0106].
Regarding Claim 8, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1), wherein the circulation unit (see Fig. 4) performs the circulation operation to circulate ink through the circulation path (see Fig. 4) at the time of performing of the recording operation [Paragraph 0048].
Azuma et al. fails to teach the control unit determines the circulation state after performing the recording operation using the recording head.
Fukasawa et al. teaches the control unit determines the circulation state after performing the recording operation using the recording head [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control unit determines the circulation state after performing the recording operation using the recording head as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of circulating ink [Fukasawa et al., Abstract].
Regarding Claim 9, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit does not determine the circulation state before a predetermined time elapses after the recording operation.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit does not determine the circulation state before a predetermined time elapses after the recording operation [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit does not determine the circulation state before a predetermined time elapses after the recording operation as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of determining the finishing the circulation process [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0109].
Regarding Claim 10, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines the circulation state after performing recovery processing of the recording head.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines the circulation state after performing recovery processing of the recording head [Paragraph 0106-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines the circulation state after performing recovery processing of the recording head as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of maintaining a good ink ejection state of the print head [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0106].
Regarding Claim 11, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the control unit determines the circulation state before performing the recording operation using the recording head.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines the circulation state before performing the recording operation using the recording head [Paragraphs 0106-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control unit determines the circulation state before performing the recording operation using the recording head as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of maintaining a good ink ejection state of the print head [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0106].
Regarding Claim 12, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1)
[Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach wherein the threshold is a specified value determined in advance.
Fukasawa et al. teaches wherein the threshold is a specified value determined in advance [Paragraph 0102].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the threshold is a specified value determined in advance as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of is for the purposes of adjusting temperature [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 13, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1), wherein the threshold is a value determined based on at least any of environmental temperature of the recording device [Paragraph 0055].
Azuma et al. fails to teach recording time of the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink, and ink applying amount in the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink.
Fukasawa et al. teaches recording time of the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink, and ink applying amount in the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink [Paragraphs 0100-0126].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide recording time of the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink, and ink applying amount in the recording operation immediately before determining the circulation state of the ink as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of determining the ejection state of the print head by temperature detection [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 14, Azuma et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1), wherein the recording head (9) includes a plurality of temperature detection elements (S1-S9, Figs. 3A-3B) on a substrate (10a, 10b, Fig. 3A-3B) in which the ejection port (30) are formed, and the control unit (100) acquires, as the temperature information [Paragraphs 0039-0045].
Azuma et al. fails to teach a maximum value of detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements.
Fukasawa et al. teaches a maximum value of detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements [Paragraphs 0101-0105 and 0112-0124].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a maximum value of detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of determining the ejection state of the print head by temperature detection [Fukasawa et al., Paragraph 0100].
Regarding Claim 15, Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Azuma et al., Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055; Fukasawa et al., Paragraphs 0100-0126].
Azuma et al. further teaches wherein the recording head includes a plurality of temperature detection elements (S1-S9) on a substrate (10a, 10b, Fig. 3A-3B) in which the ejection port (30) are formed, and the control unit (100) acquires, as the temperature information [Paragraphs 0039-0045], a detection value by a temperature detection element (S1-S9) close to the ejection port (30) [Paragraphs 0039-0045], out of the detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements (S1-S9) [Paragraphs 0039-0045].
Fukasawa et al. fails to teach wherein the recording head includes a plurality of temperature detection elements on a substrate in which the ejection port are formed, and the control unit acquires, as the temperature information, a detection value by a temperature detection element close to the ejection port, out of the detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the recording head includes a plurality of temperature detection elements on a substrate in which the ejection port are formed, and the control unit acquires, as the temperature information, a detection value by a temperature detection element close to the ejection port, out of the detection values by the plurality of temperature detection elements as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of detecting the temperature of ink near the ejection ports [Azuma et al., Paragraph 0039].
Regarding Claim 16, Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Azuma et al., Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055; Fukasawa et al., Paragraphs 0100-0126].
Azuma et al. further teaches wherein the circulation unit (see Fig. 4) includes a pump (330, see Fig. 4) that is driven by the control unit (100) [Paragraphs 0048 and 0055].
Fukasawa et al. fails to teach wherein the circulation unit includes a pump that is driven by the control unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the circulation unit includes a pump that is driven by the control unit as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of circulating the ink [Azuma et al., Paragraph 0048].
Regarding Claim 17, Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa teaches the recording device (see Fig. 1) [Azuma et al., Abstract, Paragraphs 0011, 0026-0027, 0034-0035, 0037-0038, 0048, and 0055; Fukasawa et al., Paragraphs 0100-0126].
Azuma et al. further teaches wherein the recording head (9) includes an ejection element (34, Fig. 3B) configured to generate energy for liquid to be ejected from the ejection port (9), and the pressure chamber (32) is an area facing the ejection element (34) [Paragraphs 0038, 0045 and 00458, see also Figs. 3A-3B and 4].
Fukasawa et al. fails to teach wherein the recording head includes an ejection element configured to generate energy for liquid to be ejected from the ejection port, and the pressure chamber is an area facing the ejection element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the recording head includes an ejection element configured to generate energy for liquid to be ejected from the ejection port, the pressure chamber is an area facing the ejection element as taught by Azuma et al. as modified by Fukasawa et al. is for the purposes of discharging ink [Azuma et al., Paragraph 0038].
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853