DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Wang et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2019/0228759).
In regards to claims 1 and 5, Wang discloses an active sound effect generating device (e.g., active sound effect generating device 10) and active sound effect generating method for causing a speaker to output a sound effect into a cabin of a vehicle driven by a driving source (See [0066] – [0067]), the active sound effect generating device comprising: one or more processors that execute computer-executable instructions stored in a memory, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the active sound effect generating device (See [0070]) to: determine, when an operation for activating launch control that enhances acceleration performance during vehicle startup is received, whether the launch control is in preparation (See [0117] – [0118] and [0121] – [0122]); generate a sound effect signal that causes the speaker to output a first sound effect having a component of a first frequency as a principal component when it is determined that the launch control is in preparation; and output to the speaker the sound effect signal that has been generated (See [0066] – [0067]).
In regards to claim 2, Wang discloses the active sound effect generating device, wherein the one or more processors causes the active sound effect generating device further to: determine whether preparation of the launch control is completed; and generate, when it is determined that the preparation of the launch control is completed, the sound effect signal that causes the speaker to output a second sound effect having, as a principal component, a component of a second frequency higher than the first frequency (See [0082] and [0123]).
In regards to claim 3, Wang discloses the active sound effect generating device, wherein the one or more processors causes the active sound effect generating device further to: determine whether the launch control is in operation; and generate, when it is determined that the launch control is in operation, the sound effect signal that causes the speaker to output a third sound effect having, as a principal component, a component of a third frequency different from any of the first frequency and the second frequency (See [0123]).
In regards to claim 4, Wang discloses the active sound effect generating device, wherein the one or more processors causes the active sound effect generating device further to: determine whether the launch control is in operation; and generate, when it is determined that the launch control is in operation, the sound effect signal that causes the speaker to output a fifth sound effect acquired by synthesizing a third sound effect having, as a principal component, a component of a third frequency different from any of the first frequency and the second frequency, and a fourth sound effect that changes according to a rotational speed of the driving source (See [0123] and [0146] – [0148]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tani et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2023/0098125 A1) teaches a vehicle approach notification system and vehicle approach notification method. Liao (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2023/0406116 A1) teaches an electronic gear-shifting system with sound effects and display. Kobayashi et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2007/0234879 A1) teach an vehicular sound effect generating apparatus. Sakamoto et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2007/0223728 A1) teach a vehicular active sound control system.
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693