DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 95 – 109 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,233,260. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘260 patent claim a first electrode at a nucleus pulposus and a second electrode outside the nucleus pulposus, and a control unit configured to detect a pressure difference in order to drive fluid between the nucleus pulposus and outside the nucleus pulposus by applying a treatment voltage between the first and the second electrodes. The claims differ in that the ‘260 patent contains an extra limitation “by detecting a streaming voltage between the first and the second electrode.” This is further limiting for the ‘260 patent and therefore anticipates the claims of the present application.
.
Claim 95 (present application)
Claims 1 and 2 (‘260 Patent)
Apparatus comprising:
a first electrode, configured to be implanted at a first anatomical site in a nucleus pulposus of an intervertebral disc of a subject;
a second electrode, configured to be implanted at a second anatomical site outside the nucleus pulposus of the disc;
and a control unit, configured to: detect a pressure difference between the first and the second anatomical sites,
and in response to the detected pressure difference, drive fluid between the nucleus pulposus and outside the nucleus pulposus by applying a treatment voltage between the first and the second electrodes,
wherein the apparatus is configured not to apply the treatment voltage while detecting the pressure difference.
Apparatus comprising:
a first electrode, configured to be implanted at a first anatomical site in a nucleus pulposus of an intervertebral disc of a subject;
a second electrode, configured to be implanted at a second anatomical site outside the nucleus pulposus of the disc;
and a control unit, configured to: detect a pressure difference between the first and the second anatomical sites by detecting a streaming voltage between the first and the second electrodes,
and in response to the detected pressure difference, drive fluid between the nucleus pulposus and outside the nucleus pulposus by applying a treatment voltage between the first and the second electrodes,
wherein the apparatus is configured not to apply the treatment voltage while detecting the pressure difference (claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 95 – 109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gross (US PGPUB 2009/0312816 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 95, 102 and 105, Gross discloses an apparatus and method comprising: a first electrode (e.g. 30), configured to be inserted into a nucleus pulposus (e.g. 40) of the disc (e.g. 20), and a second electrode (e.g. 32), configured to be placed outside of the nucleus pulposus (e.g. 40), in a vicinity of the nucleus pulposus (e.g. 40); and a control unit (e.g. 34), configured to: detect a pressure difference and in response to the detected pressure difference, drive fluid between the nucleus pulposus and outside the nucleus by applying a treatment voltage between he electrodes (e.g. ¶ 81). Gross fails to specifically recite that the apparatus is configured not to apply the treatment voltage while detecting the pressure difference.
However, ¶ 81 of Gross teaches that the pressure sensor 50 is coupled to or integrated with first electrode 30 and that the sensor measures the intradisc pressure, and control unit 34 regulates application of the current responsively to the measured pressure. Because the same electrode 30 is used to both sense and deliver the current, and because the delivery is dependent upon the sensing, it is understood that the treatment voltage is not applied while detecting the pressure difference.
In the alternative, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method as taught by Gross with the sensing and treatment timing as claimed, since all patients respond to therapy differently, and finding the optimum ranges and parameters requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 96, 97, 103, and 104, Gross discloses that the control unit may only drive treatment at certain times of day, or only at times of certain activity or patient orientation (e.g. ¶ 82). Therefore, the control unit would be configured to periodically stop applying the treatment voltage (i.e. claims 97, and 104) since it is not necessarily delivered continuously. As discussed above, because the same electrode 30 is used to both sense and deliver the current, and because the delivery is dependent upon the sensing, it is understood that the treatment voltage is not applied while detecting the pressure difference, and it would operate sequentially (i.e. claims 96 and 103).
In the alternative, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and method as taught by Gross with the sensing and treatment timing as claimed, since all patients respond to therapy differently, and finding the optimum ranges and parameters requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 98, 99, 107, and 108, Gross discloses driving fluid both to and from the nucleus pulposus (e.g. ¶ 37 and 38).
Regarding claims 100 and 109, Gross discloses providing a rest period from treatment as described above, and applying an opposite voltage (e.g. ¶ 88).
Regarding claims 101 and 106, Gross discloses the claimed invention but does not specifically recite the capacitive current. Using capacitive currents to apply treatment to tissue is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment as taught by Gross with the capacitive current, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a using a non-invasive treatment that has uniform effects in hydrated tissue
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796