DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-12, and 15-20 are pending. Claims dated 07/08/2026 are being examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the following features are not taught:
“receiving vehicle position information reported by the target vehicle; […] wherein the generating the scene image comprises: determining, based on the road sensor information, first sensor information related to the target vehicle by screening, based on the vehicle position information, the road sensor information, to obtain the first sensor information; and generating, based on the first sensor information, the scene image” (p. 10 of remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hyunsang [0040], [0052] as cited in the Office Action teaches “receiving vehicle position information reported by the target vehicle”, and Hyunsang [0065]-[0066], [0068], [0082], [0106], [0113], and [0115] as cited in this Office Action teaches determining, based on the road sensor information, first sensor information related to the target vehicle by screening, based on the vehicle position information, the road sensor information, to obtain the first sensor information; and generating, based on the first sensor information, the scene image. Further explanation is provided below in view of Applicant’s arguments directed towards Hyunsang.
Applicant alleges that “while Hyunsang may describe reporting location information, Hyunsang is wholly silent on screening road sensor information based on the reporting location information” (p. 11 of remarks).
Applicant’s above argument has been fully considered, but it is not persuasive. The act of selectively displaying information at the reported location is, under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), interpreted as “screening road sensor information based on the reporting location information”.
In Hyunsang, by selection of a particular vehicle ID “based on at least a certain distance” (see Hyunsang [0082]), the system necessarily filters or screens the available location information so that only the position information “shown from various angles, directions, and orientations” (see Hyunsang [0066]-[0068]) associated with the selected vehicle is displayed while the positions of non-selected vehicles are omitted. Thus, the Examiner maintains Hyunsang teaches the above disputed limitations.
Applicant alleges that “additionally, while Hyunsang may describe generating a 3d map based on information received from roadside units, Hyunsang is wholly silent on any screening of sensor information. In fact, in the cited portions Hyunsang only fairly describes that the display of the remote control center may be switched based on vehicle ID, but a vehicle ID is not position information” (p. 11 of remarks).
Applicant’s above argument has been fully considered, but it is not persuasive. Applicant’s contention that a “vehicle ID is not position information” is moot because the rejection does not rely on the vehicle ID itself as disclosing the claimed position information. Rather, the vehicle identifier functions as a selection criterion for retrieving and displaying the position information corresponding to the selected vehicle. Hyunsang expressly associates each vehicle identifier with its corresponding location and displays that location after the identifier is selected. Specifically, Hyunsang’s screening is based on vehicle position information as in order to switch displays, Hyunsang requires vehicle location of the selected vehicle and the surrounding vehicle information, see at least [0068] cited below, emphasis on underlined.
[0068] When a vehicle to be controlled is selected through the above controller, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen from the driving direction of the vehicle to be controlled for the remote controller. In addition, to obtain information necessary for the above screen transition, vehicle information of the controlled vehicle and surrounding vehicle information may be requested and/or received.
Hyunsang describes throughout the disclosure that vehicle information includes vehicle location, see at least [0013] cited below, emphasis on underlined.
[0013] the vehicle information may be characterized by including at least one of a controlled vehicle, driving direction, travel path, location information.
Accordingly, the rejection relies on the selectively displayed location as meeting the claimed position information, not the identifier itself, and the Examiner maintains Hyunsang teaches the above disputed limitations.
Applicant alleges that “furthermore, switching a display based on a vehicle ID does not fairly describe screening sensor information” (p. 11 of remarks).
Applicant’s above argument has been fully considered, but it is not persuasive. The claims recite screening sensor information, but do not define “screening” as requiring a particular processing technique, algorithm, or operation distinct from selectively displaying information. Under BRI, a “screening” encompasses filtering, selecting, or limiting information presented to an operator based on one or more criteria. Because Hyunsang selectively limits the road sensor derived information presented to the remote center based on the selected vehicle, it teaches the claimed screening under BRI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyunsang et al. (KR-20210090314-A) and herein after will be referred to as Hyunsang.
Regarding claim 1, Hyunsang teaches a vehicle control method, performed by a remote control system (FIG. 2 remote control center 620), comprising:
receiving road sensor information transmitted from at least one roadside sensor when a target vehicle is on a road ([0041] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can collect information by establishing communication with the vehicle's surrounding RSU; [0097] Information collection devices may refer to all devices capable of collecting information about the vehicle's surroundings, such as roadside units (RSUs), mobile edge computing (MEC) server devices, cloud server devices, and nearby vehicles);
receiving vehicle position information reported by the target vehicle ([0040] Vehicle ECUs can transmit information such as the vehicle's current location, speed, and direction to a remote control center via the TCU; [0052] The remote control center can request information on the vehicle to be controlled to select the control vehicle as the first vehicle through the server; [0053] Based on the location information of the first vehicle, a vehicle included within a certain distance around the first vehicle can be set as a vehicle subject to control; [0088] According to one embodiment of the present specification, a method for implementing vehicle information in a virtual 3D map can store a pattern of vehicle position and coordinate information),
generating, based on the road sensor information, a scene image depicting a scene in which the target vehicle is located ([0063] The processor can generate a 3D map of the vehicle based on 3D map information and information about the vehicle's surroundings);
displaying the scene image through a display screen corresponding to a driving simulator (FIGS. 3, 7, 8a-8e showing display; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0109] FIG. 7 shows a drawing in which vehicle surrounding information is mapped onto a virtual 3D map and displayed on a display screen according to one embodiment of the present specification; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection; [0117] Referring to FIG. 8a, the display (1260) of the remote control center can display virtual 3D map information mapped with vehicle information of the vehicles to be controlled received from the server (1240));
obtaining driving control operation information generated by the driving simulator in response to a driving control operation, the driving control operation information providing traveling instructions based on the driving control operation information for the target vehicle; and ([0011] a step of selecting a control vehicle among the vehicles subject to control based on the simulator output screen; [0123] The remote control center may include a steering wheel (1290) that generates control commands, a jog controller (1291) that controls the point direction of a display (1260), and a priority guide confirmation button (1293) that provides a ranking of vehicles requiring remote driving in priority among the vehicles under control)
transmitting the driving control operation information to the target vehicle ([0011] a step of transmitting a control command to a vehicle based on the vehicle information; [0043] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can control the vehicle through the information as shown in FIG. 3, by the controller (720) or machine driver (730)),
wherein the generating the scene image comprises: determining, based on the road sensor information, first sensor information related to the target vehicle by screening, based on the vehicle position information, to obtain the first sensor information; and generating, based on the first sensor information, the scene image ([0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle; [0068] When a vehicle to be controlled is selected through the above controller, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen from the driving direction of the vehicle to be controlled for the remote controller. In addition, to obtain information necessary for the above screen transition, vehicle information of the controlled vehicle and surrounding vehicle information may be requested and/or received; [0082] the method by which a remote control center selects the first vehicle may be based on at least one of a certain distance or a certain number of vehicles, and may be a criterion for selecting one of the vehicles belonging to the divided certain distance; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection).
Regarding claim 2, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the road sensor information is based on sensor data comprising at least one of image data or radar point cloud data ([0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230)).
Regarding claim 6, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the generating the scene image comprises: obtaining perspective information; and generating, based on the perspective information and the road sensor information, the scene image from a perspective corresponding to the perspective information ([0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 6.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the perspective corresponds to one from among a plurality of perspectives, wherein the plurality of perspectives comprise at least one of a driver's seat perspective or one or more external perspectives, and wherein the one or more external perspectives comprise at least one of a third-person perspective and a top-down perspective (FIGS. 3, 7, 8a-8e showing display perspectives; [0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 6.
Hyunsang also teaches further comprising: obtaining adjusted perspective information from the driving simulator based on a perspective adjustment operation; and generating, based on the adjusted perspective information and the road sensor information, the scene image from the adjusted perspective ([0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the scene image is a three-dimensional image ([0109] FIG. 7 shows a drawing in which vehicle surrounding information is mapped onto a virtual 3D map and displayed on a display screen according to one embodiment of the present specification; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection; [0117] Referring to FIG. 8a, the display (1260) of the remote control center can display virtual 3D map information mapped with vehicle information of the vehicles to be controlled received from the server (1240)).
Regarding claim 11, Hyunsang teaches a vehicle control apparatus, the vehicle control apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store computer program code; and at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code comprising (FIG. 1 control unit 625 of remote control center 620):
sensor information receiving code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to receive road sensor information transmitted from at least one roadside sensor when a target vehicle is on a road ([0041] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can collect information by establishing communication with the vehicle's surrounding RSU; [0097] Information collection devices may refer to all devices capable of collecting information about the vehicle's surroundings, such as roadside units (RSUs), mobile edge computing (MEC) server devices, cloud server devices, and nearby vehicles);
vehicle position code configured to cause at least one of the processor to receive vehicle position information reported by the target vehicle ([0040] Vehicle ECUs can transmit information such as the vehicle's current location, speed, and direction to a remote control center via the TCU; [0052] The remote control center can request information on the vehicle to be controlled to select the control vehicle as the first vehicle through the server; [0053] Based on the location information of the first vehicle, a vehicle included within a certain distance around the first vehicle can be set as a vehicle subject to control; [0088] According to one embodiment of the present specification, a method for implementing vehicle information in a virtual 3D map can store a pattern of vehicle position and coordinate information),
image generation code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to generate, based on the road sensor information, a scene image depicting a scene in which the target vehicle is located ([0063] The processor can generate a 3D map of the vehicle based on 3D map information and information about the vehicle's surroundings);
image display code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to display the scene image through a display screen corresponding to a driving simulator (FIGS. 3, 7, 8a-8e showing display; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0109] FIG. 7 shows a drawing in which vehicle surrounding information is mapped onto a virtual 3D map and displayed on a display screen according to one embodiment of the present specification; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection; [0117] Referring to FIG. 8a, the display (1260) of the remote control center can display virtual 3D map information mapped with vehicle information of the vehicles to be controlled received from the server (1240));
operation information code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to obtain driving control operation information generated by the driving simulator in response to a driving control operation, the driving control operation information providing traveling instructions based on the driving control operation information for the target vehicle; and ([0011] a step of selecting a control vehicle among the vehicles subject to control based on the simulator output screen; [0123] The remote control center may include a steering wheel (1290) that generates control commands, a jog controller (1291) that controls the point direction of a display (1260), and a priority guide confirmation button (1293) that provides a ranking of vehicles requiring remote driving in priority among the vehicles under control)
transmission code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit the driving control operation information to the target vehicle ([0011] a step of transmitting a control command to a vehicle based on the vehicle information; [0043] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can control the vehicle through the information as shown in FIG. 3, by the controller (720) or machine driver (730)),
wherein the image generation code further comprises target vehicle determination code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to determine, based on the road sensor information, first sensor information related to the target vehicle by screening, based on the vehicle position information, the road sensor information, to obtain the first sensor information, and wherein the image generation code is configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to generate, based on the first sensor information, the scene image ([0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle; [0068] When a vehicle to be controlled is selected through the above controller, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen from the driving direction of the vehicle to be controlled for the remote controller. In addition, to obtain information necessary for the above screen transition, vehicle information of the controlled vehicle and surrounding vehicle information may be requested and/or received; [0082] the method by which a remote control center selects the first vehicle may be based on at least one of a certain distance or a certain number of vehicles, and may be a criterion for selecting one of the vehicles belonging to the divided certain distance; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection).
Regarding claim 12, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 11.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the road sensor information is based on sensor data comprising at least one of image data or radar point cloud data ([0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230)).
Regarding claim 16, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 11.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the image generation code further comprises perspective code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to obtain perspective information, and wherein the image generation code is configured to generate, based on the perspective information and the road sensor information, the scene image from a perspective corresponding to the perspective information ([0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 17, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 16.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the perspective corresponds to one from among a plurality of perspectives, wherein the plurality of perspectives comprise at least one of a driver's seat perspective or one or more external perspectives, and wherein the one or more external perspectives comprise at least one of a third-person perspective and a top-down perspective (FIGS. 3, 7, 8a-8e showing display perspectives; [0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 16.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the image generation code further comprises adjusted perspective code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to obtain adjusted perspective information from the driving simulator based on a perspective adjustment operation, and wherein the image generation code is configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to generate, based on the adjusted perspective information and the road sensor information, the scene image from the adjusted perspective ([0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle).
Regarding claim 19, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 11.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the scene image is a three-dimensional image ([0109] FIG. 7 shows a drawing in which vehicle surrounding information is mapped onto a virtual 3D map and displayed on a display screen according to one embodiment of the present specification; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection; [0117] Referring to FIG. 8a, the display (1260) of the remote control center can display virtual 3D map information mapped with vehicle information of the vehicles to be controlled received from the server (1240)).
Regarding claim 20, Hyunsang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to at least ([0179] The above-described invention can be implemented as computer-readable code on a medium on which a program is recorded):
receive road sensor information transmitted from at least one roadside sensor when a target vehicle is on a road ([0041] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can collect information by establishing communication with the vehicle's surrounding RSU; [0097] Information collection devices may refer to all devices capable of collecting information about the vehicle's surroundings, such as roadside units (RSUs), mobile edge computing (MEC) server devices, cloud server devices, and nearby vehicles);
receive vehicle position information reported by the target vehicle ([0040] Vehicle ECUs can transmit information such as the vehicle's current location, speed, and direction to a remote control center via the TCU; [0052] The remote control center can request information on the vehicle to be controlled to select the control vehicle as the first vehicle through the server; [0053] Based on the location information of the first vehicle, a vehicle included within a certain distance around the first vehicle can be set as a vehicle subject to control; [0088] According to one embodiment of the present specification, a method for implementing vehicle information in a virtual 3D map can store a pattern of vehicle position and coordinate information),
generate, based on the road sensor information, a scene image depicting a scene in which the target vehicle is located ([0063] The processor can generate a 3D map of the vehicle based on 3D map information and information about the vehicle's surroundings);
display the scene image through a display screen corresponding to a driving simulator (FIGS. 3, 7, 8a-8e showing display; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0109] FIG. 7 shows a drawing in which vehicle surrounding information is mapped onto a virtual 3D map and displayed on a display screen according to one embodiment of the present specification; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection; [0117] Referring to FIG. 8a, the display (1260) of the remote control center can display virtual 3D map information mapped with vehicle information of the vehicles to be controlled received from the server (1240));
obtain driving control operation information generated by the driving simulator in response to a driving control operation, the driving control operation information providing traveling instructions based on the driving control operation information for the target vehicle; and ([0011] a step of selecting a control vehicle among the vehicles subject to control based on the simulator output screen; [0123] The remote control center may include a steering wheel (1290) that generates control commands, a jog controller (1291) that controls the point direction of a display (1260), and a priority guide confirmation button (1293) that provides a ranking of vehicles requiring remote driving in priority among the vehicles under control)
transmit the driving control operation information to the target vehicle ([0011] a step of transmitting a control command to a vehicle based on the vehicle information; [0043] The control unit (625) of the remote control center (620) can control the vehicle through the information as shown in FIG. 3, by the controller (720) or machine driver (730)).
wherein the to generate the scene image the at least one processor is further caused to: determine, based on the road sensor information, first sensor information related to the target vehicle by screening, based on the vehicle position information, to obtain the first sensor information; and generate, based on the first sensor information, the scene image ([0065] The vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled can be displayed on the display screen of the remote control center in an activated state so that a direction pointer points to the arbitrary vehicle in the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information is mapped; [0066] Through a controller of a remote control center, it is possible to control the display of image information shown from various angles, directions, and orientations of the arbitrary vehicle, or any one of a 3D map including the vehicle to be controlled, including the arbitrary vehicle; [0068] When a vehicle to be controlled is selected through the above controller, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen from the driving direction of the vehicle to be controlled for the remote controller. In addition, to obtain information necessary for the above screen transition, vehicle information of the controlled vehicle and surrounding vehicle information may be requested and/or received; [0082] the method by which a remote control center selects the first vehicle may be based on at least one of a certain distance or a certain number of vehicles, and may be a criterion for selecting one of the vehicles belonging to the divided certain distance; [0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1; [0113] In addition, CCTV information around the vehicle can be displayed as a 2D image on a virtual 3D map (1230); [0115] That is, location information that cannot be identified from the top view direction of the 3D map where the vehicle information of the vehicle to be controlled (1110) is mapped can be displayed in the form of a 2D image on a virtual 3D map, which is selected by a remote controller from at least one of the sensing information of surrounding vehicles (1120), all RSUs and CCTV information (1230) within the intersection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyunsang, in view of Zhang et al. (CN-114771573-A) and herein after will be referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein […] sensor information comprises identification information of a candidate vehicle supporting remote control within a predetermined range from the at least one roadway sensor, and ([0013] In addition, the vehicle information may be characterized by including at least one of a controlled vehicle, driving direction, travel path, location information, destination information, vehicle identification information; [0099] Table 1: Target Car ID; [0103] Referring to Fig. 6, the vehicle under control can be represented as an object on a 3D map as text information (e.g., ID:1, ID:2, ID:3, ID:4, ID:5, ID:6, ID:7))
wherein the determining, the first sensor information comprises obtaining the first sensor information by screening the […] sensor information for the identification information ([0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1).
As Hyunsang teaches the sensor information comprising identification information is received from the vehicles, Hyunsang does not explicitly teach that the sensor information is the roadway sensor information.
However, Zhang teaches the sensor information comprising identification information is received from the roadway sensor, and the roadway sensor information comprises identification information of a candidate vehicle supporting remote control within a predetermined range from the at least one roadway sensor ([0080] After determining that the vehicle is driving abnormally, the RSCU520 can send the vehicle's status information to the cloud device 530, for example. The status information may include the location information of vehicle 510, the identification information of vehicle 510 (such as license plate number), roadside perception data, and the driving information of vehicle 510. After receiving this status information, cloud device 530 can, for example, remotely control vehicle 510. For example, cloud devices can identify controlled objects, including vehicles, and control information, including driving parameters for remote vehicle control. The cloud device can encapsulate the vehicle's identification information and driving parameters into instruction information and send it to the RSCU 520. The RSCU 520 can then send the driving parameters to the vehicle 510, thereby enabling the cloud device to remotely control the vehicle 510.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify how the remote control center receives the identification information to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include the remote control center receives the identification information from the roadway sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of being capable of utilizing a larger detection range (Zhang [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control apparatus according to claim 11.
Hyunsang also teaches wherein the […] sensor information comprises identification information of a candidate vehicle supporting remote control within a predetermined range from the at least one roadside sensor, and ([0013] In addition, the vehicle information may be characterized by including at least one of a controlled vehicle, driving direction, travel path, location information, destination information, vehicle identification information; [0099] Table 1: Target Car ID; [0103] Referring to Fig. 6, the vehicle under control can be represented as an object on a 3D map as text information (e.g., ID:1, ID:2, ID:3, ID:4, ID:5, ID:6, ID:7))
wherein the target vehicle determination code is configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to obtain the first sensor information by screening the […] sensor information for the identification information ([0106] When the activated vehicle ID:1 is selected, the screen can be switched to display a simulator-based image seen in the driving direction of vehicle ID:1).
As Hyunsang teaches the sensor information comprising identification information is received from the vehicles, Hyunsang does not explicitly teach that the sensor information is the roadway sensor information.
However, Zhang teaches the sensor information comprising identification information is received from the roadway sensor, and the roadway sensor information comprises identification information of a candidate vehicle supporting remote control within a predetermined range from the at least one roadway sensor ([0080] After determining that the vehicle is driving abnormally, the RSCU520 can send the vehicle's status information to the cloud device 530, for example. The status information may include the location information of vehicle 510, the identification information of vehicle 510 (such as license plate number), roadside perception data, and the driving information of vehicle 510. After receiving this status information, cloud device 530 can, for example, remotely control vehicle 510. For example, cloud devices can identify controlled objects, including vehicles, and control information, including driving parameters for remote vehicle control. The cloud device can encapsulate the vehicle's identification information and driving parameters into instruction information and send it to the RSCU 520. The RSCU 520 can then send the driving parameters to the vehicle 510, thereby enabling the cloud device to remotely control the vehicle 510.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify how the remote control center receives the identification information to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to include the remote control center receives the identification information from the roadway sensor, with a reasonable expectation of success since doing so would have achieved the benefit of being capable of utilizing a larger detection range (Zhang [0036]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyunsang.
Regarding claim 10, Hyunsang teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Hyunsang does not explicitly teach wherein the target vehicle is taxi, a truck, a mining truck, an excavator, or a gantry crane.
However, Hyunsang teaches the target vehicle (FIG. 1 vehicle 10), “is defined as a means of transport that travels on a road or a track” and encompasses “automobiles, trains, and motorcycles” ([0035]).
As Hyunsang teaches the interchangeability of different types of vehicles to be remote controlled, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the target vehicle in Hyunsang to substitute a target vehicle that is taxi, a truck, a mining truck, an excavator, or a gantry crane because it has been held that the substitution of one known element for another would have been obvious if the substitution yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In this case, the substitution of a different type of vehicle merely involves the use of another well-known vehicle capable of performing the same function - being remotely controlled – yielding no more than predictable results. As support, Applicant’s specification [0192] broadly discloses that remote control can be applied to “various vehicles” with no preference or critical differences between any of the claimed types of vehicles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Application No. 18/494, 269 and 19/004,940 by the same assignee are relevant to this invention and the prior arts cited by these Examiners are considered to be relevant to the remote controlling aspect of the invention
CN113607184A Lin does not disclose a roadside sensor but discloses a display module 503 configured to display the simulation scene at the remote driving end so that the remote driver at the remote driving end controls the vehicle to run based on the simulation scene
CN112037553A: Lei by same applicant and assignee with publication date 2020-12-04, is relevant to remote controlling and vehicle identification acquisition, specifically relevant portions describing the following:
The digital twin entity 40 is used to virtually present information such as the road conditions of the vehicle, other surrounding vehicles, and the VRU to assist the decision-making of the remote driving entity 10. For example, information such as the road conditions of the vehicle, other surrounding vehicles, and the VRU is displayed on a plurality of display screens arranged side by side in an arc shape for the reference of the operator (remote driver) of the remote driving entity 10 […] The roadside perception entity 60 is used to collect traditional vehicle information and VRU information on the road; the remote driving entity 10 is used to obtain at least one of traditional vehicle information and VRU information in the area where the vehicle is located from the roadside perception entity 60 . […] In one example, the remote driving entity 10 sends a roadside acquisition request to the roadside perception entity, where the roadside acquisition request carries at least one of an identification of the vehicle and a driving position of the vehicle.
CN113581211A: Liu discloses the roadside sensing device may be specifically implemented by at least one of a video camera, a laser radar, a millimeter wave radar, a microwave radar, and the like […] In an emergency, a manager can remotely take over operation of the automatic driving vehicle with the fault through the digital twin simulation unit.
US20220105926A1: Zhang discloses FIG. 1 sensing device 107 on the road sensing vehicles 130-1 to 130-3 and a remote device 120
CN112513951A: Zhu while not disclosing the remote control aspect discloses scene generation using road end (road side) acquisition device 30.
US20230121051A1: Wang discloses aspects of roadside sensing
KR102112684B1: Jang discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting control information for remote driving in an automated vehicle & highway systems and that collected information of the roadside device may be transmitted to the remote control device through the mobile edge computing server device
CN111634234A: He does not disclose a roadside sensor but is relevant to scene information acquisition
CN114973736A: Zhao discloses the vehicle-mounted internet terminal sends the unique identity ID to the roadside intelligent device through a V2X wireless communication mode to establish connection, a remote driver sends a remote driving demand to the roadside intelligent terminal
CN113805509A: Zhang alternatively reads on these portions claim 1, where regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a vehicle control method, performed by a remote control system ([0019] Preferably, the remote cockpit includes a server, a vehicle control signal acquisition device, a cockpit with 6 degrees of freedom, and a display, wherein the server is used to receive network signals and perform video decoding), comprising:
receiving road sensor information transmitted from at least one roadside sensor when a target vehicle is on a road ([0027] Step 4: The on-board OBU terminal sends the packaged vehicle-side environmental data to the roadside RSU device via V2X at a relatively short time interval; [0028] Step 5: The RSU device receives the vehicle-side environmental data sent by the on-board OBU terminal and converts it into a network signal; [0029] Step six: The RSU device transmits the vehicle-side environmental data to the remote cockpit);
generating, based on the road sensor information, a scene image depicting a scene in which the target vehicle is located ([0030] Step 7: The remote cockpit server restores the received network signal into video and vehicle driving information…);
displaying the scene image through a display screen corresponding to a driving simulator ([0030] …decodes the video using H264/H265 decoding format, and then displays it on the remote cockpit display interface);
obtaining driving control operation information generated by the driving simulator in response to a driving control operation, the driving control operation information providing traveling instructions based on the driving control operation information for the target vehicle; and ([0031] Step 8: The operator performs operations such as shifting gears, engaging the electronic parking brake, pressing the accelerator, pressing the brake, and turning the steering wheel in the 6-DOF cockpit according to the information displayed on the monitor; the vehicle control signal acquisition device collects the operator's driving operations via serial port, and then converts them into network signals to be transmitted to the server)
transmitting the driving control operation information to the target vehicle ([0032] Step nine: The server converts the vehicle control data into a network signal and transmits it to the roadside RSU device; [0033] Step 10: The roadside RSU device transmits network signals to the vehicle-mounted OBU terminal via V2X. The vehicle-mounted OBU terminal writes vehicle control data to the vehicle control device via vehicle Ethernet to complete real-time vehicle control; [0034] Preferably, in the vehicle control device, the power control system performs accelerator pedal operation and energy recovery operation; EPS performs steering operation; EPB performs electronic parking brake operation; and Ebooster and ESC perform braking operation).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVIN SEOL/Examiner, Art Unit 3662