DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riesing et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0366264 A1) in view of Baun et al (US Pub. No. 2003/0197930 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Riesing et al teaches a satellite tracking device comprising:
a main telescope for aiming at a satellite transmitting an optical signal for optical communication (para [0108]; “The present technology uses an amateur telescope as a portable optical ground station for tracking and communicating with satellites…”);
an auxiliary telescope arranged on one side of the main telescope (para [0109]; “a …telescope calibration approach using a star camera attached to the telescope.”; para [0174]; “FIG. 18A is a schematic diagram that shows Cartesian coordinates in the frames of reference for the telescope 1410, gimbals 1420, and star camera 1430.”);
a telescope mount supporting the main telescope and the auxiliary telescope and controlling a pointing direction of the main telescope and the auxiliary telescope (para [0174]; “These frames of references can be related to each other using images acquired with the telescope and star camera and readings from the (incremental) encoders (not shown) on the gimbal mount. The Y-axis of the gimbal frame is defined as the rotation axis of the azimuth (Azi) motor when the telescope is initialized. Likewise, the X-axis is defined as the rotation axis of the altitude (Alt) motor when initialized. These correspond to zero Azi/Alt angles. The Z-axis of the gimbal frame is defined by the cross product of the X-axis and Y-axis. The telescope frame is initially aligned with the gimbal frame and is fixed to the telescope through Azi/Alt rotation. The Z-axis of the camera frame is defined by the LOS of the star camera and the X and Y axes are the star camera's lateral and vertical directions.”);
a first image processing unit for processing a first image acquired through the auxiliary telescope (para [0176]; “…the star camera makes multiple star sensor measurements at different gimbal angles. In step 1804, the processor determines the star camera alignment with respect to the ECI frame using one or more of the star camera images. By matching the pattern of stars captured by the star camera, the processor can calculate the orientation of the star camera frame with respect to an ECI frame, such as J2000, at the image capture time. By taking multiple images over the sky, it is possible to calculate the alignment between the telescope frame and ECEF frame as well as the alignment between telescope and the star camera.”);
the processing unit for processing a second image acquired through the main telescope (para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”; para [0174]; “FIG. 18A is a schematic diagram that shows Cartesian coordinates in the frames of reference for the telescope 1410, gimbals 1420, and star camera 1430. These frames of references can be related to each other using images acquired with the telescope and star camera and readings from the (incremental) encoders (not shown) on the gimbal mount.”; para [0180]; “To obtain the LOS, another astronomy camera, e.g., the Orion StarShoot USB Eyepiece II, captures an image through the telescope (step 1810). The processor uses this image and a star camera image taken at the same gimbal angles to determine the LOS (step 1812).”); and,
an optical unit (FSM 1450 and Beam Splitter 1460) for relaying the optical signal received from the main telescope to the image processing unit and an optical communication receiving device (APD 1480) for optical communication (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”).
a correction unit for performing a first correction for correcting a satellite tracking error of the telescope mount by controlling the telescope mount based on a result of processing the first image (para [0173]; “The alignment calibration can be divided into two levels: coarse calibration and fine calibration. In coarse alignment calibration, the processor calculates the alignment quaternions without any prior information. The result is used as an initial value for the fine alignment calibration…”), and
a second correction for correcting an optical path of an optical signal transmitted toward the optical communication receiving device by controlling the optical unit based on a result of processing the second image (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 is behind the telescope 1410 and implements fine pointing. The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”).
Riesing et al teaches processor for image processing, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Riesing et al does not specifically teach second processing unit. Baun et al teaches telescope system comprising multiple processor (para [0074]; “The intelligent telescope system controller performs this function by bifurcating the system's processing and control functions into a first sub-system comprising a microprocessor operative for system data processing, and a second microcontroller system, for implementing I/O control.”). Since it is well known in the art to provide multiple processors, therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the satellite system by splitting the processor of Riesing et al into multiple processing unit (second processing unit), as taught by Baun et al, in order to increase throughput, performance, reliability and provide multitasking.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Riesing et al as modified by Baun et al teaches wherein the optical unit comprises:
a beam correction unit for controlling a first direction of the optical signal received from the main telescope; and a beam splitter for splitting the optical signal controlled by the beam correction unit into the second image processing unit and the optical communication receiving device (Riesing et al: para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Riesing et al as modified by Baun et al teaches independently performing first correction and second correction, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach wherein a period for performing the first correction is longer than a period for performing the second correction. However, since Reisling et al teaches performing first correction by controlling the telescope mount and second correction controlling the optical unit (fast-steering mirror), it would have been obvious that the period for performing the first correction is longer than a period for performing the second correction since first correction involve adjusting the gimbal consisting of motors movement to correct alignment.
Regarding claim 7, Riesing et al teaches a satellite optical communication device comprising:
an optical communication receiving module including a main telescope for aiming at a satellite transmitting an optical signal for optical communication (para [0108]; “The present technology uses an amateur telescope as a portable optical ground station for tracking and communicating with satellites…”),
an image processing unit for processing a second image acquired through the main telescope (para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”; para [0174]; “FIG. 18A is a schematic diagram that shows Cartesian coordinates in the frames of reference for the telescope 1410, gimbals 1420, and star camera 1430. These frames of references can be related to each other using images acquired with the telescope and star camera and readings from the (incremental) encoders (not shown) on the gimbal mount.”; para [0180]; “To obtain the LOS, another astronomy camera, e.g., the Orion StarShoot USB Eyepiece II, captures an image through the telescope (step 1810). The processor uses this image and a star camera image taken at the same gimbal angles to determine the LOS (step 1812).”),
an optical unit (FSM 1450 and Beam Splitter 1460) for relaying an optical signal received from the main telescope (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”), and
a laser receiving device (APD 1480) for performing optical communication by receiving and processing the optical signal (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”); and
a satellite tracking module including an auxiliary telescope arranged on one side of the main telescope (para [0109]; “a …telescope calibration approach using a star camera attached to the telescope.”; para [0174]; “FIG. 18A is a schematic diagram that shows Cartesian coordinates in the frames of reference for the telescope 1410, gimbals 1420, and star camera 1430.”),
a telescope mount for supporting the main telescope and the auxiliary telescope and controlling a satellite-oriented directions of the main telescope and the auxiliary telescope (para [0174]; “These frames of references can be related to each other using images acquired with the telescope and star camera and readings from the (incremental) encoders (not shown) on the gimbal mount. The Y-axis of the gimbal frame is defined as the rotation axis of the azimuth (Azi) motor when the telescope is initialized. Likewise, the X-axis is defined as the rotation axis of the altitude (Alt) motor when initialized. These correspond to zero Azi/Alt angles. The Z-axis of the gimbal frame is defined by the cross product of the X-axis and Y-axis. The telescope frame is initially aligned with the gimbal frame and is fixed to the telescope through Azi/Alt rotation. The Z-axis of the camera frame is defined by the LOS of the star camera and the X and Y axes are the star camera's lateral and vertical directions.”), and
a first image processing unit for processing a first image acquired through the auxiliary telescope (para [0176]; “…the star camera makes multiple star sensor measurements at different gimbal angles. In step 1804, the processor determines the star camera alignment with respect to the ECI frame using one or more of the star camera images. By matching the pattern of stars captured by the star camera, the processor can calculate the orientation of the star camera frame with respect to an ECI frame, such as J2000, at the image capture time. By taking multiple images over the sky, it is possible to calculate the alignment between the telescope frame and ECEF frame as well as the alignment between telescope and the star camera.”).
Riesing et al teaches processor for image processing, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Riesing et al does not specifically teach second processing unit. Baun et al teaches telescope system comprising multiple processor (para [0074]; “The intelligent telescope system controller performs this function by bifurcating the system's processing and control functions into a first sub-system comprising a microprocessor operative for system data processing, and a second microcontroller system, for implementing I/O control.”). Since it is well known in the art to provide multiple processors, therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the satellite system by splitting the processor of Riesing et al into multiple processing unit (second processing unit), as taught by Baun et al, in order to increase throughput, performance, reliability and provide multitasking.
Regarding claim 8, Riesing et al teaches a correction unit configured to perform a first correction to correct a satellite tracking error of the telescope mount by controlling the telescope mount based on a processing result of the first image (para [0176]; “…the star camera makes multiple star sensor measurements at different gimbal angles. In step 1804, the processor determines the star camera alignment with respect to the ECI frame using one or more of the star camera images. By matching the pattern of stars captured by the star camera, the processor can calculate the orientation of the star camera frame with respect to an ECI frame, such as J2000, at the image capture time. By taking multiple images over the sky, it is possible to calculate the alignment between the telescope frame and ECEF frame as well as the alignment between telescope and the star camera.”), and a second correction to correct an optical path of an optical signal transmitted toward the laser receiving device by controlling the optical unit based on a processing result of the second image (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 is behind the telescope 1410 and implements fine pointing. The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0180]; “The telescope mount initializes its azimuth (Azi) and Altitude (Alt) angle as zero every time it is turned on, so the actual LOS is unknown to the telescope frame. Therefore, the processor calculates the LOS of the telescope frame every time the ground station is set up. To obtain the LOS, another astronomy camera, e.g., the Orion StarShoot USB Eyepiece II, captures an image through the telescope (step 1810). The processor uses this image and a star camera image taken at the same gimbal angles to determine the LOS (step 1812).”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Reising et al as modified by Baun et al teaches wherein the optical unit includes:
a beam correction unit (FSM 1450) for controlling a first direction of the optical signal received from the main telescope; and a beam splitter (Beam Splitter 1460) which splits the optical signal controlled by the beam correction unit into the second image processing unit and the laser receiving device (APD 1480) (para [0163]; “The receiver assembly 1404 includes a tracking camera 1470 and an avalanche photodiode (APD) receiver 1480 in optical communication with the eyepiece of the telescope 1410 via a fast-steering mirror (FSM) 1450 and a beam splitter 1460. In operation, the processor 1440 provides digital tip/tilt commands, which are converted to analog voltage to drive the FSM 1450. The beam splitter 1460 splits the downlink signal received by the telescope 1410 between the tracking camera 1470 and the APD receiver 1480. Feedback from the tracking camera 1470 is processed by the processor 1440 to provide steering commands to the FSM 1450.”; para [0164]; “The processor 1440 does not necessarily receive communications data. Rather, the processor 1440 uses power measurements from the APD receiver 1480 to align the tracking camera 1470 with the signal source (e.g., a LEO satellite) and ensure the FSM 1450 is steering peak signal onto the APD receiver 1480.”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Riesing et al as modified by Baun et al teaches independently performing first correction and second correction, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach wherein a period for performing the first correction is longer than a period for performing the second correction. However, since Reisling et al teaches performing first correction by controlling the telescope mount and second correction controlling the optical unit (fast-steering mirror), it would have been obvious that the period for performing the first correction is longer than a period for performing the second correction since first correction involve adjusting the gimbal consisting of motors movement to correct alignment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dickson et al (US Pub. No. 2017/0288776 A1) is cited to show free space optical communication tracking with electronic boresight compensation and co-boresighted transmit and receive optics.
Holmes (US Pub. No. 2016/0360096 A1) is cited to show tracking device for portable astrophotography of the night sky.
Whorton (US Pub. No. 2008/0174863 A1) is cited to show star identification and alignment system.
Nykolak et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0409115 A1) is cited to show optical communication terminal for bidirectional communication.
Smith et al (US Pub. No. 2013/0193303 A1) is cited to show multi-functional star tracker with precision focal plane position control for small cubesat-class satellites.
Bloom et al (US Patent No. 5,710,652) is citied to show laser communication transceiver and system.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635