DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napolitano (US 20110038230 A1) in view of Melvin (US 20120243375 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Napolitano teaches an underwater positioning method, applied to an underwater, the method comprising: when a positioning request sent by a positioning base station (base station 8) is received, acquiring a first time stamp when the positioning request is received (precisely measure the arrival time differences between the acoustic signals (f.sub.1, f.sub.2, f.sub.3, f.sub.4) transmitted by the different transmitters (d.sub.1, d.sub.2, d.sub.3, d.sub.4) of the base station 8 and also to measure the phase differences of those signals (f.sub.1, f.sub.2, f.sub.3, f.sub.4) relative to each other), and sending a positioning response, in response to the positioning request, to the positioning base station (transmitting respectively an acoustic signal (f.sub.1, f.sub.2, f.sub.3, f.sub.4) in a synchronous manner). (Paragraphs 45-46, 70, 72, Fig.3)
Napolitano also teaches receiving at least one second time stamp when the positioning response is received by the positioning base station, wherein the at least one second time stamp comprises a third time stamp when at least one hydrophone receives the positioning response and a fourth time stamp when an underwater acoustic communication receives the positioning response (The acoustic receiver 4 permits in particular to precisely measure the arrival time differences between the acoustic signals (f.sub.1, f.sub.2, f.sub.3, f.sub.4) transmitted by the different transmitters (d.sub.1, d.sub.2, d.sub.3, d.sub.4) of the base station 8). (Paragraph 46, 48, 69, Claim 8)
Napolitano also teaches determining spacing distances of the underwater device with respect to the hydrophone and the underwater acoustic communication (the computer calculates the distances between each of the seafloor beacons and the underwater apparatus to be positioned) according to the first time stamp and the second time stamp (previously calculated travel times), wherein the spacing distances comprise a first spacing distance which is a distance between the underwater device to the underwater acoustic communication; and a second spacing distance which is a distance between the underwater device to the hydrophone (From the knowledge of the surface ship position and orientation, of the distance and the relative direction between the underwater apparatus to be positioned and the system on board the surface ship, the computer calculates the position of the underwater apparatus to be positioned.). (Paragraphs 3-4)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module and updating positioning information of the underwater robot according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot (100) and an underwater acoustic communication module (126) and updating positioning information of the underwater robot according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station (updated position may be used to calibrate or update (e.g., continuously, periodically, upon occurrence of an event, etc.) a position determined by the INS of the vehicle). (Paragraphs 26, 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module and updating positioning information of the underwater robot according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 2, Napolitano teaches before determining spacing distances of the underwater device with respect to the hydrophone and the underwater acoustic communication according to the first time stamp and the second time stamp, the method further comprising: acquiring a preset underwater acoustic wave signal propagation speed and a preset redundant time duration; wherein determining spacing distances of the underwater device with respect to the hydrophone and the underwater acoustic communication according to the first time stamp and the second time stamp comprises: determining a time difference between the first time stamp and the second time stamp, wherein the time difference comprises a first time difference from the positioning response to the underwater acoustic communication and a second time difference from the positioning response to the hydrophone; and calculating the spacing distances according to the underwater acoustic wave signal propagation speed, the redundant time duration and the time difference. (Paragraphs 4-5, 69)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module. (Paragraphs 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 3, Napolitano teaches wherein calculating the spacing distances according to the underwater acoustic wave signal propagation speed, the redundant time duration and the time difference comprises: performing difference operation on the first time difference and the redundant time duration, determining a first signal propagation duration between the underwater acoustic communication and the underwater device, performing product operation on the first signal propagation duration and the underwater acoustic wave signal propagation speed, determining a first signal propagation distance value, and taking half of the first signal propagation distance value as a first spacing distance of the spacing distances; and performing difference operation on the second time difference and the redundant time duration, determining a second signal propagation duration between the hydrophone and the underwater device, performing product operation on the second signal propagation duration and the underwater acoustic wave signal propagation speed, determining a second signal propagation distance value, and taking half of the signal propagation distance value as a second spacing distance of the spacing distances. (Paragraphs 4-5, 67, 69, Claims 3-4)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module. (Paragraphs 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 4, Napolitano teaches wherein the hydrophone comprises a first hydrophone and a second hydrophone, and according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station, the method further comprises: constructing a first circle with the first spacing distance as a radius and a position of the underwater acoustic communication as a circle center, constructing a second circle with the second spacing distance as a radius and a position of the first hydrophone as a circle center, or constructing a third circle with a third spacing distance which is a distance from the underwater device to the second hydrophone as a radius and a position of the second hydrophone as a circle center; and determining the position information of the positioning base station according to coordinates of an intersection point between two circles of the first circle and the second circle or the third circle. (Paragraphs 76-78, Figs.7-9)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module.
Melvin teaches updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module. (Paragraphs 26, 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 5, Napolitano teaches wherein determining the position information of the positioning base station according to coordinates of intersection points of two circles of the first circle, the second circle or the third circle comprises: when there is more than one coordinate of the intersection points of the two circles, acquiring positioning coordinates of the underwater device determined in a previous time period; and selecting target coordinates of an intersection point of two circles which have a minimum coordinate offsets from the positioning coordinates from coordinates of intersection points of two circles, and determining the position information of the positioning base station according to the target coordinates of the intersection point of two circles. (Paragraphs 76-78, Figs.7-9)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot and acquiring historical positioning coordinates.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot and acquiring historical positioning coordinates. (Paragraphs 29-30, 41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot and acquiring historical positioning coordinates as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 6, Napolitano teaches wherein the hydrophone comprises a first hydrophone and a second hydrophone, and according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station, the method further comprises: constructing a first circle with the first spacing distance as a radius and a position of the underwater acoustic communication as a circle center, constructing a second circle with the second spacing distance as a radius and a position of the first hydrophone as a circle center, and constructing a third circle with a third spacing which is a distance from the underwater device to the second hydrophone as a radius and a position of the second hydrophone as a circle center; and determining the position information of the positioning base station according to coordinates of intersection points among three circles of the first circle, the second circle and the third circle. (Paragraphs 76-78, Figs.7-9)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module.
Melvin teaches updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module. (Paragraphs 26, 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate updating positioning information of the underwater robot and the underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 8, Napolitano teaches an underwater device positioning method, applied to a positioning base station, the positioning base station comprising an underwater acoustic communication and a hydrophone, the underwater acoustic communication and the hydrophone being used to establish a communication session with an underwater device. (Paragraphs 45-46, 69-70, 72, Claim 8, Fig.3)
Napolitano also teaches the method comprising: sending a positioning request to the underwater device. (Paragraphs 45-46, 70, Fig.3)
Napolitano also teaches when a positioning response fed back by the underwater device according to the positioning request is received, acquiring a positioning response receiving moment for receiving the positioning response, wherein the positioning response receiving moment comprises a moment when at least one hydrophone receives the positioning response and a moment when an underwater acoustic communication receives the positioning response; and sending the positioning response receiving moment to the underwater robot. (Paragraph 3-4, 46, 48, 69, Claim 8)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module. (Paragraphs 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot and an underwater acoustic communication module as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Regarding claim 9, Napolitano teaches an underwater positioning system comprising: an underwater device, a base station, a non-transitory memory storage, a processor and an underwater robot positioning program stored on the non-transitory memory storage and operable on the processor, wherein when the underwater robot positioning program is executed by the processor, the underwater device is caused to execute the underwater device positioning method according to claim 1. (Paragraph 8 detailed above of this action and Paragraph 47 of Napolitano)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach an underwater robot.
Melvin teaches an underwater robot. (Paragraphs 29-30)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate an underwater robot as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napolitano in view of Melvin and Liu (CN 110730415 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 7, Napolitano teaches according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station, the method further comprising: acquiring a traveling speed and a traveling direction, and current positioning information of the underwater device. (Paragraphs 45-46, 70, 72, Fig.3)
Napolitano does not explicitly teach updating positioning information of the underwater robot and calculating expected positioning information of the underwater robot at a next time point according to the traveling speed and the traveling direction according to the current positioning information, and wherein: updating positioning information of the underwater robot according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station comprises: determining sonar positioning information of the underwater robot according to the spacing distances and the position information; and determining an error value between the sonar positioning information and the expected positioning information; and when the error value is less than or equal to a preset error threshold, updating the positioning information according to the sonar positioning information; and when the error value is greater than the error threshold, adjusting the sonar positioning information based on the error value, and updating the positioning information according to the updated sonar positioning information.
Melvin teaches the underwater robot and updating positioning information of the underwater robot. (Paragraphs 26, 29-30)
Liu teaches calculating expected positioning information of the underwater device at a next time point according to the traveling speed and the traveling direction according to the current positioning information and wherein: updating positioning information of the underwater device according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station comprises: determining sonar positioning information of the underwater device according to the spacing distances and the position information; and determining an error value between the sonar positioning information and the expected positioning information; and when the error value is less than or equal to a preset error threshold, updating the positioning information according to the sonar positioning information; and when the error value is greater than the error threshold, adjusting the sonar positioning information based on the error value, and updating the positioning information according to the updated sonar positioning information. (Pages.3, 7, Claims 1-2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Napolitano to incorporate the underwater robot and updating positioning information of the underwater robot as taught by Melvin in order to maintain an accurate position throughout a mission or survey and further modify Napolitano to incorporate calculating expected positioning information of the underwater device at a next time point according to the traveling speed and the traveling direction according to the current positioning information and wherein: updating positioning information of the underwater device according to the spacing distances and position information of the positioning base station comprises: determining sonar positioning information of the underwater device according to the spacing distances and the position information; and determining an error value between the sonar positioning information and the expected positioning information; and when the error value is less than or equal to a preset error threshold, updating the positioning information according to the sonar positioning information; and when the error value is greater than the error threshold, adjusting the sonar positioning information based on the error value, and updating the positioning information according to the updated sonar positioning information as taught by Liu in order to be able to more accurately simulate the actual situation of the underwater and improves the node locating precision.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645