DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi et al (US Pub 20230318713) in view of Yu et al (US Pub 20140099108).
Regarding Claim 1. Igarashi discloses a method, applied to a first node, wherein the first node comprises a first optical module, the first optical module comprises a first laser, a first connection unit, a first coherent receiver, a first laser modulator, and a second connection unit, the first laser is separately connected to the first laser modulator and the first coherent receiver by the first connection unit, and the first coherent receiver and the first laser modulator are connected to a same optical fiber by the second connection unit (Fig 1, where a first node (2) comprises a first optical module, the first optical module comprises a first laser (24), a first connection unit (25), a first coherent receiver (23), a first laser modulator (26), and a second connection unit (22), the first laser (24) is separately connected to the first laser modulator (26) and the first coherent receiver (23) by the first connection unit (25), and the first coherent receiver (23) and the first laser modulator (26) are connected to a same optical fiber (4) by the second connection unit (22)); and the method comprises:
sending, by the first node, a first optical signal to a second node through the first laser modulator, wherein the first optical signal is obtained by modulating laser light emitted by the first laser (Fig 1, where the first node (2) sends a first optical signal (downlink signal) to a second node (3) through the first laser modulator (26), wherein the first optical signal (downlink signal) is obtained by modulating laser light emitted by the first laser (24)); and
receiving, by the first node, a second optical signal from the second node through the first coherent receiver, wherein the first laser is configured to generate local oscillator light required by the first coherent receiver (Fig 1, where the first node (2) receives a second optical signal (uplink signal) from the second node (3) through the first coherent receiver (23), wherein the first laser (24) is configured to generate local oscillator light required by the first coherent receiver (23)), wherein
a center frequency of the first optical signal is f.sub.1, a center frequency of the second optical signal is f.sub.2, f.sub.1 is different from f.sub.2, and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| is an intermediate frequency (Fig 1, where a center frequency of the first optical signal (downlink signal) is f.sub.1 (f1), a center frequency of the second optical signal (uplink signal) is f.sub.2 (f0), f.sub.1 (f1) is different from f.sub.2 (f0), and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| (|f1-f0|) is an intermediate frequency (fIF)).
Igarashi fails to explicitly disclose the intermediate frequency being less than a first threshold.
However, Yu discloses
an intermediate frequency being less than a first threshold (Fig 2A, Fig 2C, where an intermediate frequency (f IF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the intermediate frequency (fIF) as described in Igarashi, with the teachings of the intermediate frequency (f IF) as described in Yu. The motivation being is that as shown an intermediate frequency (f IF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A) and one of ordinary skilled in the art can implement this concept into the intermediate frequency (fIF) as described in Igarashi and better show and illustrate that the intermediate frequency (fIF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A) i.e. because the intermediate frequency (fIF) has a maximum limit value that it can reach in order to perform proper ADC and DSP processing and where such maximum limit value achieves optimal bandwidth utilization and spectral efficiency and which combination is being made because both systems are similar and have overlapping components (e.g. intermediate frequencies (fIFs)) and which combination is a simple implementation of a known concept of a known intermediate frequency (f IF) into another similar intermediate frequency (fIF), namely, for better clarifying its operation/configuration and which combination yields predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2. Igarashi as modified by Yu also discloses the method, wherein a frequency range of the first optical signal and a frequency range of the second optical signal do not overlap or partially overlap (Igarashi Fig 1, where a frequency range of the first optical signal (downlink signal) and a frequency range of the second optical signal (upstream signal) do not overlap (as shown in Fig 1)).
Regarding Claim 3. Igarashi as modified by Yu also discloses the method, wherein |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| ≥ w1/2 and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| ≥ w2/2, wherein w1 is a maximum frequency band width of the first optical signal, and w2 is a maximum frequency band width of the second optical signal (Igarashi Fig 1, where |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| (|f1-f0|) ≥ w1/2 (2B1/2) and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| (|f1-f0|) ≥ w2/2 (2B0/2), wherein w1 (2B1) is a maximum frequency band width of the first optical signal (downlink signal), and w2 (2B0) is a maximum frequency band width of the second optical signal (uplink signal)).
Regarding Claim 10. Igarashi as modified by Yu also discloses the method, wherein the first node communicates with n nodes through the first optical module, wherein n≥2 (Igarashi Fig 1, where the first node (OLT 2) communicates with n nodes (ONUs 3) through the first optical module, wherein n≥2 (as shown in Fig 13)); and
the second node is a kth node in the n nodes, f1=fAk, and f2=fBk, fAk is a center frequency of an optical signal Ak sent by the first node to the kth node in the n nodes, fBk is a center frequency of an optical signal Bk sent by the kth node to the first node, and k is a positive integer from 1 to n (Igarashi Fig 1, Fig 13, where the second node (ONU 3) is a kth (first) node in the n nodes (ONUs 3), f1 (f1) = fAk, and f2 (f0) = fBk, fAk (f1) is a center frequency of an optical signal Ak (downlink signal) sent by the first node (OLT 2) to the kth (first) node in the n nodes (ONUs 3), fBk (f0) is a center frequency of an optical signal Bk (uplink signal) sent by the kth (first) node (ONU 3) to the first node (OLT 2), and k is a positive integer from 1 to n).
Regarding Claim 11. Igarashi discloses a method, applied to a second node, wherein the second node comprises a second optical module, the second optical module comprises a second laser, a third connection unit, a second coherent receiver, a second laser modulator, and a fourth connection unit, the second laser is separately connected to the second laser modulator and the second coherent receiver by the third connection unit, and the second coherent receiver and the second laser modulator are connected to a same optical fiber by the fourth connection unit (Fig 1, where a second node (3) comprises a second optical module, the second optical module comprises a second laser (34), a third connection unit (35), a second coherent receiver (33), a second laser modulator (36), and a fourth connection unit (32), the second laser (34) is separately connected to the second laser modulator (36) and the second coherent receiver (33) by the third connection unit (35), and the second coherent receiver (33) and the second laser modulator (36) are connected to a same optical fiber (4) by the fourth connection unit (32)); and the method comprises:
sending, by the second node, a second optical signal to a first node through the second laser modulator, wherein the second optical signal is obtained by modulating laser light emitted by the second laser (Fig 1, where the second node (3) sends a second optical signal (uplink signal) to a first node (2) through the second laser modulator (36), wherein the second optical signal (uplink signal) is obtained by modulating laser light emitted by the second laser (34)); and
receiving, by the second node, a first optical signal from the first node through the second coherent receiver, wherein the second laser is configured to generate local oscillator light required by the second coherent receiver (Fig 1, where the second node (3) receives a first optical signal (downlink signal) from the first node (2) through the second coherent receiver (33), wherein the second laser (34) is configured to generate local oscillator light required by the second coherent receiver (33)), wherein
a center frequency of the first optical signal is f.sub.1, a center frequency of the second optical signal is f.sub.2, f.sub.1 is different from f.sub.2, and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| is an intermediate frequency (Fig 1, where a center frequency of the first optical signal (downlink signal) is f.sub.1 (f1), a center frequency of the second optical signal (uplink signal) is f.sub.2 (f0), f.sub.1 (f1) is different from f.sub.2 (f0), and |f.sub.1−f.sub.2| (|f1-f0|) is an intermediate frequency (IIF)).
Igarashi fails to explicitly disclose the intermediate frequency being less than a first threshold.
However, Yu discloses
an intermediate frequency being less than a first threshold (Fig 2A, Fig 2C, where an intermediate frequency (f IF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of the intermediate frequency (fIF) as described in Igarashi, with the teachings of the intermediate frequency (f IF) as described in Yu. The motivation being is that as shown an intermediate frequency (f IF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A) and one of ordinary skilled in the art can implement this concept into the intermediate frequency (fIF) as described in Igarashi and better show and illustrate that the intermediate frequency (fIF) is less than a first threshold (as shown in Fig 2C) so as to prevent signal distortion / cut off (as shown in Fig 2A) i.e. because the intermediate frequency (fIF) has a maximum limit value that it can reach in order to perform proper ADC and DSP processing and where such maximum limit value achieves optimal bandwidth utilization and spectral efficiency and which combination is being made because both systems are similar and have overlapping components (e.g. intermediate frequencies (fIFs)) and which combination is a simple implementation of a known concept of a known intermediate frequency (f IF) into another similar intermediate frequency (fIF), namely, for better clarifying its operation/configuration and which combination yields predictable results.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Igarashi et al (US Pub 20230318713) in view of Yu et al (US Pub 20140099108) in further view of Gao et al (US Pub 20160099792).
Regarding Claim 7. Igarashi as modified by Yu fails to explicitly disclose the method, further comprising: sending, by the first node to the second node, a second parameter for adjusting the second optical signal; receiving, by the first node, fourth indication information from the second node, wherein the fourth indication information indicates that the second node agrees to adjust the second optical signal based on the second parameter; sending, by the first node, fifth indication information to the second node, wherein the fifth indication information indicates the second node to start to adjust the second optical signal; and receiving, by the first node, sixth indication information from the second node, wherein the sixth indication information indicates that the second node has completed adjustment of the second optical signal.
However, Gao discloses
sending, by a first node to a second node, a second parameter for adjusting a second optical signal (Fig 4, where a first node (105) sends to a second node (150) a second parameter for adjusting a second optical signal (upstream signal) (step 410));
receiving, by the first node, fourth indication information from the second node, wherein the fourth indication information indicates that the second node agrees to adjust the second optical signal based on the second parameter (Fig 4, where the first node (105) receives fourth indication information from the second node (150), wherein the fourth indication information indicates that the second node (150) agrees to adjust the second optical signal (upstream signal) based on the second parameter (step 420));
sending, by the first node, fifth indication information to the second node, wherein the fifth indication information indicates the second node to start to adjust the second optical signal (Fig 4, where the first node (105) sends fifth indication information to the second node (150), wherein the fifth indication information indicates the second node (150) to start to adjust the second optical signal (upstream signal) (step 440)); and
receiving, by the first node, sixth indication information from the second node, wherein the sixth indication information indicates that the second node has completed adjustment of the second optical signal (Fig 4, where the first node (105) receives sixth indication information from the second node (150), wherein the sixth indication information indicates that the second node (150) has completed adjustment of the second optical signal (upstream signal) (step 460)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first node (2) and second node (3) as described in Igarashi as modified by Yu, with the teachings of the first node (105) and second node (150) as described in Gao. The motivation being is that as shown a first node (105) and a second node (150) can perform adjustment of a second optical signal (upstream signal) based on power consumption and one of ordinary skilled in the art can implement this concept into the first node (2) and second node (3) as described in Igarashi as modified by Yu and have
the first node (2) and second node (3) perform adjustment of a second optical signal (uplink signal) based on power consumption i.e. as an alternative so as to have the
first node (2) and second node (3) with a known technique of optimally adjusting/tuning uplink signals based on power consumption and which technique optimally reduces power consumption in the system and which modification is being made because both systems are similar and have overlapping components (e.g. OLTs, ONUs,…) and which modification is a simple implementation of a known concept of a known first node (105) and second node (150) into another similar first node (2) and second node (3), namely, for its improvement and for optimization and which modification yields predictable results.
Regarding Claim 14. Claim 14 is similar to claim 1, therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15. Claim 15 is similar to claim 2, therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16. Claim 16 is similar to claim 3, therefore, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 20. Claim 20 is similar to claim 7, therefore, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 12-13 and 17-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye can be reached on 5712723078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DIBSON J SANCHEZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 26