DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samson et al. (Samson: Pub. No. 2004/0143312).
Regarding claim 1, Samson discloses a method of operating a medical device, the method comprising: positioning a distal end of a medical device at a target area (vasculature), the medical device including a first lumen 103 or 107 and a second lumen 105, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with a distal end of the medical device (pars. 0009 and 0054: heat exchanging medium/fluid), and wherein a distal portion of the medical device includes side ports 109; supplying fluid through the first lumen (delivery lumen for fluid exchange); and applying suction through the second lumen (return lumen; par. 0096: suction applied).
Regarding claim 2, see claim 8 (laser ablation) as well as par. 0010.
Regarding patentably indistinct claim 12, note the comments above with respect to similarly worded limitations.
Regarding claim 14, see Figs. 1 and 2 (distal end of second lumen), as well as par. 0054 which discloses the recited fluid isolation.
Regarding claim 15, see Fig. 6 showing both a distal front face (the face applied to the targeted tissue) including a plurality of first openings (those plurality of openings allowing fluid flow in direction 90) and a side opening defining fluid flow in direction 84).
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 14, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasson (Pat. No. 5,129,896).
Regarding claim 1, Hasson discloses a method of operating a medical device, the method comprising: positioning a distal end of a medical device at a target area (targeted tissue), the medical device including a first lumen (the lumen created within sleeve 18) and a second lumen 62, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with a distal end of the medical device (see Fig. 1), and wherein a distal portion of the medical device includes side ports 58; supplying fluid through the first lumen (through space 50); and applying suction through the second lumen (vacuum source pulling fluid and debris into opening 64 in direction 66).
Regarding claim 3, Hasson shows the insertion of the laser fiber within a conduit/channel of a laser fiber holder 32 (see Fig. 3). The conduit includes a first proximal hole and a second distal hole opposite the first proximal hole (i.e., the channel/lumen of the holder includes diametrically opposed holes in order to allow the laser fiber to be inserted therethrough). A proximal portion of the holder (male portion 34) extends circumferentially around the conduit/channel/lumen as seen in Fig. 3 to form the first proximal hole. The proximal portion is considered to be removably coupled to a distalmost end of the first lumen by virtue of its threaded connection.
Regarding claim 12, note the comments made above in the rejection of related limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Hasson discloses a method of operating a medical device, comprising: positioning a distal end of a medical device at a target area (targeted tissue), the medical device including a first lumen (the lumen created within sleeve 18) and a second lumen 62, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with a first opening at a distal end of the medical device; inserting a laser fiber 16 in the first lumen and extending the laser fiber through a laser fiber holder 32 and through the first opening (see Fig. 3), and initiating the laser fiber (inherently required for intended therapy).
While it is not explicitly stated that the laser fiber holder is removably coupled to a portion of the medical device defining the first opening, the mechanism is attached through a threaded connector (see text abridging cols. 4 and 5). A threaded connector is considered to inherently permit removable coupling by virtue of the fact that such connectors may be selectively operated in either a tightening or loosening direction.
Regarding claim 20, cup-shaped wall portion 26, which may be considered a part of the laser fiber holder, is considered to be tapered inwardly towards the distal aperture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan ‘896 in view of Kassab et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0160719).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, while Hassan does not disclose the recited recess, Kassab discloses in a related device that injection apertures may be positioned within grooves/recesses to prevent or minimize tissue adhesion and/or contact with one or more of the apertures (par. 0172). Artisans desiring to prevent or minimize tissue adhesion and/or contact with the one or more apertures, would have considered such a feature to be a matter of obvious design.
Regarding claim 10, the first and second lumens are defined by an outer wall of tube 14. The lumens are fluidically isolated from each other along the length of the sleeve 18.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Hassan discloses a plurality of side ports 58 that may be obliquely angled to produce a more random fluid shower (col. 5, lines 44-58). It would have been obvious to angle at least a plurality of the ports toward the distal working end of the medical device in order to better cool the laser and handle the debris nearest the targeted region. Regarding the use of a recess, note the comments above in the rejection of claim 9. Artisans desiring to improve cooling, debris handling and prevent or minimize tissue adhesion and/or contact with the one or more apertures, would have considered such a feature to be a matter of obvious design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, there is no suggestion in the prior art to modify the laser fiber holder of Hassan to include the recited tapered shape.
Regarding claim 5, there is no suggestion in the prior art to include a third hold in the radial surface of the laser holder conduit. A similar comment applies to claim 17.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, there is no teaching in the art of record for the recited transitioning step. Such a feature allows the laser holder to be entirely disposed within the first lumen upon insertion into the patient’s body.
Conclusion
/KENNEDY SCHAETZLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
KJS
June 27, 2026