DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as originally filed does not support the fabrication of a “rigid mold while simultaneously filling said mold with a heat curable polymer”. No portion of the original specification discloses the mold as “rigid”. Additionally, the claim now requires the fabrication of the mold while simultaneously filling said mold. The original specification only required the fabrication of a portion of rigid mold while simultaneously filling. The specification is limited to filling while fabrication a portion of the mold, rather than the mold.
In claim 6, there is no support for the limitation reciting “filling of said rigid mold is performed using a heated polymer-delivery nozzle”. The specification only supports “heating said heat curable polymer” (original step (c)) with the heated polymer-delivery nozzle.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites fabricating “a rigid mold while simultaneously filling said mold with a heat curable polymer”. It is not clear how simultaneous filling can occur when the mold is fabricated. Because the applicant has removed the previously required iterative steps (previously claimed step (d)), it’s unclear how simultaneously filling while manufacturing is performed.
Claim 3 recites “medical grade silicone”. The limitation is unclear because neither the claim nor the specification provide objective boundaries for determining what constitutes “medical grade”. For the purposes of this examination, any heat curable polymer that is capable of being used in any medical context meets the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto (US 2015/0190964).
As to claim 1, Okamoto discloses a method of fabricating an object 10 comprising: (a) using additive manufacturing to fabricate a rigid (para 71-75) mold 12 (para 60-66) while simultaneously filling said mold with a heat curable polymer 11 (figs 1a-h, para 56, 81, para 136, 233-235); ; (b) heating said heat curable polymer (para 76) during and/or following (a) thereby fabricating the object (para 52-136, 233-235, figs 1a-g),
As to claim 4, Okamoto discloses the object is a medical implant (para 313)
As to claim 6, Okamoto discloses filling of said rigid mold is performed using a heated polymer-delivery nozzle (para 113-116, fig 3)
As to claim 8, Okamoto disclose said mold is manufactured from a dissolvable material (para 85-86)
As to claim 9, Okamoto disclose said dissolvable material can be High Impact Polystyrene (HIPS) or Polyvinyl Alcohol (PVA) or any other dissolvable element (para 85-86, 260)
As to claim 10, Okamoto discloses the methos wherein said additive manufacturing and filling are performed using side-by-side print nozzles (para 11-120, fig 3, both discharge unit same structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 2015/0190964).
Okamoto discloses the heat curable polymer is silicone (para 235)
Okamoto does not expressly disclose the heat curable polymer is capable of use in a medical device. However, Okamoto discloses the object can be a medical implant (para 313). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the silicone heat curable polymer to be medical grade, wherein said heat curable polymer is still capable of medical use after curing and fabricating the object as such is required by the design incentives and market forces for success of the medical implant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts Okamoto prints and cures the object and mold (referred to by applicant as the shell) at each step. P. 5 Remarks. Applicant then asserts that Okamoto does not meet the amended claims because said claims require formation of the rigid mold into which the curable polymer is cast and separately cured. Applicant further asserts the claims exclude co-curing and co-printing as disclosed by Okamoto. These arguments are not persuasive for several reasons. First, the arguments are not commensurate with the scope of claims. The claims do not require separately printing (i.e. not co-printing) and separately curing the mold and the polymer. Rather, the claims require fabricating the rigid mold “while simultaneously filling said mold with a heat curable polymer”. This is a co-printing because the fabricating and printing occur simultaneously.
Applicant asserts claim 1 clarifies “the printed mold is rigid, i.e., it is printed using a molten (at the nozzle) material (e.g., claim 9) that self-rigidifies at the printing bed and as such, the mold is not co-cured with the object as is the case with Okamoto.” These asserts are not commensurate with scope of claims. The claims do not recite any of the following: a molten material; self-rigidifying; a printing bed; and “not co-curing”. Applicant does not have support to claim “rigid”. Contrary to applicant’s assertion on p. 5, the claims do not recite “bubble evacuation”. Applicant then asserts the claimed invention requires that the ”mold is gradually printed and filled”. This argument is contrary to the previous arguments that the mold is separately fabricated then filled. Finally, applicant’s assertion that the “claimed invention enables the use of multiple materials or multiple densities of a single material” is not commensurate with the scope of the claims as the claims do not require such.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746