DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The office action is responsive to the amendment received 01/28/2026.
In the response to the Non-Final Office Action 11/03/2025, the applicant states that claims 1, 6-10, 12, 13, and 18 have been amended and claims 5, 11, and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 12-16, and 18 will be pending.
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, 13, and 18 have been amended and claims 5, 11, and 17 have been cancelled. In summary, Claims 1-4, 6-11, 12-16, and 18 are pending in current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/206 have been fully considered.
Regarding to 35 U.S.C 101 rejection, the amendments have cured the basis of 35 U.S.C 101 rejection. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection of claims 7-12 has been withdrawn.
Regarding to claim 1, the applicant argues that cited arts fail to teach or suggest in response to detecting a change in an orientation of the electronic device: selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions based on correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data associated with the plurality of partitions over time; replacing display of the portion of the associated type of wellness data with a graph representation of the wellness data over time for the subset of the plurality of partitions; and displaying the subset of the plurality of partitions.” as recited in claim 1. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Nagayama discloses “in response to detecting a change in an orientation of the electronic device”. For example, in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0092], Nagayama teaches a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Nagayama further teaches the apparatus motion detecting unit 11 in FIG. 1 detects a change in the orientation of the portable information apparatus from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0099], Nagayama teaches determining whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Nagayama further teaches if a motion in which the apparatus main body is rotated to be changed from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode is detected;
. In Fig. 5B, Fig. 5C, and paragraph [0104], Nagayama teaches determining whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Nagayama further teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected. In Fig. 8B, Fig. 8D, and paragraph [0114], Nagayama teaches determining whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Nagayama further teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, display as illustrated in Fig. 8D.
.
Nagayama further discloses “selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions”. For example, in Fig. 6E and paragraph [0106], Nagayama teaches a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus, as shown in FIG. 6E. In Fig. 8B, Fig. 8D and paragraph [0114], Nagayama teaches when the cursor is positioned on the access point to access to the access point, a Web site of an artist who is doing a concert is accessed and selected to display a variety of information about the artist, as shown in FIG. 8D;
.
Nagayama further more discloses “replacing display of the portion of the associated type of data with a graph representation of the data for the subset of the plurality of partitions”. For example, in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0093], Nagayama teaches after detecting a motion of the apparatus main body (4), display an image in the apparatus main body. In Fig. 4B, Fig. 4D, and paragraph [0099], Nagayama teaches if a motion in which the apparatus main body is rotated to be changed from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode is detected, replace and display information about a tune in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
. In Fig. 5B, Fig. 5D, and paragraph [0104], Nagayama teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected (YES in Step S23), in Step S24, a destination search screen is displayed in the image display unit in the apparatus main body. In Fig. 6B-6E and paragraph [0106], Nagayama teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
; Nagayama further teaches a map including information about the recommended point is a graph; Nagayama further more teaches a map includes multiple type of data as illustrated in Fig. 6E. In Fig. 8B-8E and paragraph [0114], Nagayama teaches determining whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Nagayama further teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, display and replace images as illustrated in Fig. 8D.
. In Fig. 7A-7E and paragraph [0111], Nagayama teaches displaying the traffic jam information on the map, i.e. a graph.
.
In addition, Nagayama suggests “displaying the subset of the plurality of partitions”. For example, in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0093], Nagayama teaches displaying an image after detecting a motion of the apparatus main body (4), among the apparatus-main-body display images in the table in FIG. 2. In Fig. 4D and paragraph [0099], Nagayama teaches displaying information about a tune in the image display unit in the external apparatus. In Fig. 5C, Fig. 5E, and paragraph [0104], Nagayama teaches the display of the map image is kept in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
. In Fig. 6B-6E and paragraph [0106], Nagayama teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
. In Fig. 7B-7E and paragraph [0111], Nagayama teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, display an image in VICS Level 3 in which the traffic jam information is displayed on the map;
. In Fig. 6B-6E and paragraph [0106], Nagayama teaches if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
.
Benjamin discloses “selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions based on correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data associated with the plurality of partitions over time”. For example, in Fig. 2 and paragraph [0037], Benjamin teaches selecting, evaluating and analyzing medical information such as glucose readings over time.
. In paragraph [0042], Benjamin teaches selecting and providing medical information concerning a patient over time, i.e. from 12:00 am to 12:00 pm as illustrated in Fig. 2;
. In Fig. 3 and paragraph [0047], Benjamin teaches the window 320 is selected; Benjamin further teaches the window provides additional medical information pertaining to a normal food bolus. In Fig. 4 and paragraph [0056], Benjamin teaches selecting and providing more detailed information related to the "extended correction" bolus event;
. In Fig. 7 and paragraph [0064], Benjamin teaches visual information elements 250, 255 or 260, a tool-tip or pop-up provide more detailed information related to glucose level.
Benjamin further discloses “wellness data over time”. For example, in paragraph [0006], Benjamin teaches a patient's condition, e.g., blood glucose levels, over a period of time. In Fig. 1 and paragraph [0019], Benjamin teaches laptop, portable or handheld device. In paragraph [0030], Benjamin teaches client database 118 directly store medical data from medical device. In paragraph [0033], Benjamin teaches glucose and blood-sugar levels. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0042], Benjamin teaches selecting and providing medical information concerning a patient over time, i.e. from 12:00 am to 12:00 pm as illustrated in Fig. 2;
. In Fig. 2 and paragraph [0044], Benjamin teaches glucose reading sources. In Fig. 3, Fig. 7, paragraph [0047] and paragraph [0064], Benjamin teaches visual information elements 250, 255 or 260, a tool-tip or pop-up provide more detailed information related to glucose level.
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 are not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 12 and claim 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the languages “of claim 5’ in claim 6, “of claim 11” in claim 12 and “The method of claim 17” in claim 18 are not correct. Claims 5, 11 and 17 are cancelled in current amendment. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagayama (US 20110306389 A1) and in view of Benjamin (US 20100305965 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 (Currently Amended), Nagayama discloses an electronic device ([0022]: software; the portable information apparatus is activating by executing a software; [0024]: perform a specific function of the portable information apparatus that is laterally arranged; Fig. 1; [0062]: a smart phone, a highly functional mobile phone, and a PDA; the portable information apparatus; Fig. 3; [0093]: perform the image processing after a motion of the apparatus main body is detected) comprising:
a display ([0064]: displays the image in an image display unit 31; [0065]: displays a certain image in the apparatus-main-body image display unit; Fig. 4B; [0098]: a jacket picture is displayed in the apparatus main body);
displaying a plurality of partitions including an identifier of an associated type of data and a portion of the associated type of data (Fig. 3; [0091]: display an image among the external apparatus display images in the table in FIG. 2 in the external apparatus; Fig. 4B; [0098]: displays a jacket picture of a tune; Fig. 4C; [0099]: display an image with multiple partitions in the external apparatus as illustrated in Fig. 4C; Fig. 5B; FIG. 5C; [0103]: arrows are identifiers;
; display multiple partitions as illustrated in Fig. 5B and Fig. 5C;
; Fig. 6C; [0106]: a destination search main image is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus, as shown in FIG. 6C;
), wherein each partition of the plurality of partitions is associated with a type of data of a plurality of types of data (FIG. 5B; FIG. 5C; Fig. 5D; [0103]: display partitions of signs, arrows, and texture information as illustrated in Fig. 5B-D;
; Fig. 6C; [0106]: a destination search main image is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus, as shown in FIG. 6C;
); and
in response to detecting a change in an orientation of the electronic device (Fig. 3; [0092]: a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; the apparatus motion detecting unit 11 in FIG. 1 detects a change in the orientation of the portable information apparatus from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode; Fig. 4; [0099]: determine whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; if a motion in which the apparatus main body is rotated to be changed from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode is detected;
; Fig. 5B; Fig. 5C; [0104]: determine whether a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected; Fig. 8B; Fig. 8D; [0114]):
selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions (Nagayama; Fig. 6E; [0106]: a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus, as shown in FIG. 6E; Fig. 8B; Fig. 8D; [0114]: when the cursor is positioned on the access point to access to the access point, a Web site of an artist who is doing a concert is accessed and selected to display a variety of information about the artist, as shown in FIG. 8D;
);
replacing display of the portion of the associated type of data with a graph representation of the data for the subset of the plurality of partitions (Fig. 3; [0093]: after detecting a motion of the apparatus main body (4), display an image in the apparatus main body; Fig. 4B; Fig. 4D; [0099]: if a motion in which the apparatus main body is rotated to be changed from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode is detected, replace and display information about a tune in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
; Fig. 5B; Fig. 5D; [0104]: If it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected (YES in Step S23), in Step S24, a destination search screen is displayed in the image display unit in the apparatus main body; Fig. 6B-6E; [0106]: If it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
; Fig. 8B-8E; [0114]); and
displaying the subset of the plurality of partitions (Fig. 3; [0093]: an image after detecting a motion of the apparatus main body (4), among the apparatus-main-body display images in the table in FIG. 2, is displayed in the apparatus main body; Fig. 4D; [0099]: display information about a tune in the image display unit in the external apparatus; Fig. 5C; Fig. 5E; [0104]: the display of the map image is kept in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
; Fig. 6B-6E; [0106]: If it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
; Fig. 7B-7E; [0111]: if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, display an image in VICS Level 3 in which the traffic jam information is displayed on the map;
; Fig. 8B-8E; [0114]: Fig. 6B-6E; [0106]: if it is determined that a motion of the apparatus main body is detected, a map including information about the recommended point is displayed in the image display unit in the external apparatus;
).
Nagayama fails to explicitly disclose:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
based on correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data associated with the plurality of partitions over time;
wellness data over time.
In same field of endeavor, Benjamin teaches:
one or more processors (Fig. 1; [0019]: laptop, portable or handheld device; [0021]: one or more processors); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (Fig. 1; [0021]: additional web-based application software and other client software are stored in a memory 132 and are executed by one or more processors 134 of client component 110; [0026]):
selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions based on correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data associated with the plurality of partitions over time (Benjamin; [0042]: provide medical information concerning a patient over time, i.e. from 12:00 am to 12:00 pm as illustrated in Fig. 2;
; Fig. 3; [0047]: the window 320 is selected; the window provides additional medical information pertaining to a normal food bolus; Fig. 4; [0056]: provide more detailed information related to the "extended correction" bolus event;
; Fig. 7; [0064]: visual information elements 250, 255 or 260, a tool-tip or pop-up provide more detailed information related to glucose level);
wellness data over time ([0006]: a patient's condition, e.g., blood glucose levels, over a period of time; Fig. 1; [0019]: laptop, portable or handheld device; [0030]: client database 118 directly store medical data from medical device; [0033]: glucose and blood-sugar levels; Fig. 2; [0042]: provide medical information concerning a patient over time, i.e. from 12:00 am to 12:00 pm as illustrated in Fig. 2;
; Fig. 2; [0044]: glucose reading sources; Fig. 3; [0047]; Fig. 7; [0064]: visual information elements 250, 255 or 260, a tool-tip or pop-up provide more detailed information related to glucose level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nagayama to include one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions based on correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data associated with the plurality of partitions over time; wellness data over time as taught by Benjamin. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine glucose or blood-sugar levels, and prepare graphical or other representations of the medical data; to provide graphs and other software tools for people with diabetes and their healthcare professionals/providers to evaluate and analyze medical information such as glucose readings; to provide more detailed information related to glucose level in display windows as taught by Benjamin in paragraphs [0033], [0037], and [0064].
Regarding to claim 2 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the change in orientation of the electronic device is detected based on data from at least one of a gyroscope of the electronic device, an accelerometer of the electronic device, or a combination thereof (Nagayama; Fig. 3; [0092]: the user picks up the portable information apparatus with a gyroscope provided in the apparatus; [0105]: a speed pulse function or a gyro function).
Regarding to claim 3 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein detecting the change in the orientation of the electronic device comprises detecting a threshold amount of change in the orientation of the electronic device (Nagayama; [0022]: the portable information apparatus is sometimes viewed in a lateral mode in which the screen is horizontally long and is sometimes viewed in a longitudinal mode in which the screen is vertically long; Fig. 3; [0092]: the apparatus motion detecting unit 11 in FIG. 1 detects a change in the orientation of the portable information apparatus from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode; the detected threshold amount of change is 90 degrees; Fig. 4; [0099]: the apparatus main body is rotated to be changed from the lateral mode to the longitudinal mode is detected; Fig. 5B-5D; [0104]).
Regarding to claim 4 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the displayed subset of the plurality of partitions comprises a graph representation of at least a portion of the associated type of wellness data displayed therewith (Benjamin; Fig. 2; [0045]: display graphs 210, 211, and 212 near the center of GUI 200; Fig. 3; [0047]: a pop-up or tool-tip window 320 is viewable to the user; Fig. 7; [0064]: visual information elements 250, 255 or 260, a tool-tip or pop-up provide more detailed information related to glucose level).
Same motivation of claim is applied here.
Regarding to claim 6 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein selecting a subset of the plurality of partitions (same as rejected in claim 1) comprises:
identifying correlations between the plurality of types of wellness data (Benjamin; Fig. 2; [0045]: Graphs 210, 211, and 212, displayed near the center of GUI 200, respectively provide information related to glucose level, bolus units, and basal units; Fig. 3; [0047]; [0051]: substantive relationship between different types of data).
Same motivation of claim 1 is applied here.
Regarding to claim 7 (Currently Amended), Nagayama discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs ([0022]: software; the portable information apparatus is currently activating by executing a software; [0024]: perform a specific function of the portable information apparatus that is laterally arranged; Fig. 1; [0062]: a smart phone, a highly functional mobile phone, and a PDA; the portable information apparatus; Fig. 3; [0093]: perform the image processing after a motion of the apparatus main body is detected).
In same field of endeavor, Benjamin teaches:
configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display, the one or more programs including instructions for (Fig. 1; [0021]: additional web-based application software and other client software are stored in a memory 132 and are executed by one or more processors 134 of client component 110; [0026]):
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 7.
Regarding to claim 8 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 8.
Regarding to claim 9 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 9.
Regarding to claim 10 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 7,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 10.
Regarding to claim 12 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 12.
Regarding to claim 13 (Currently Amended), Nagayama discloses a method ([0022]: software; the portable information apparatus is currently activating by executing a software; [0024]: perform a specific function of the portable information apparatus that is laterally arranged; Fig. 1; [0062]: a smart phone, a highly functional mobile phone, and a PDA; the portable information apparatus; Fig. 3; [0093]: perform the image processing after a motion of the apparatus main body is detected) comprising:
at an electronic device that includes a display ([0064]: displays the image in an image display unit 31; [0065]: displays a certain image in the apparatus-main-body image display unit):
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 14 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the method of claim 13,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 2 is also used to reject claim 14.
Regarding to claim 15 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the method of claim 13,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 3 is also used to reject claim 15.
Regarding to claim 16 (Original), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the method of claim 13,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 16.
Regarding to claim 18 (Currently Amended), Nagayama in view of Benjamin discloses the method of claim 17,
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616