DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, at line 1, recites “to the claim 4” but should instead read “to claim 4”.
Claim 7, at line 2, the phrase “at least” should be deleted and replaced with “first”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an expansion stage, an evaporation stage, and an oil system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reissig (WO 2018/166740, see attached English translation).
As to claim 1, Reissig discloses a heat pump circuit (Fig. 4) comprising:
a compressor 7a-b for compressing a working fluid;
an expansion stage 9a-b for expanding the working fluid;
a first heat exchanger 8 arranged downstream of the compressor 7a-b and upstream of the expansion stage 9a-b, wherein the first heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and a first heat sink 20;
a second heat exchanger 34 arranged downstream of the first exchanger 8 and upstream of the expansion state 9a-b, wherein the second heat exchanger 34 is configured to exchange heat with the working fluid after the working fluid exits an evaporation stage 10 but before the working fluid re-enters the compressor; and
the evaporation stage 10 is arranged downstream of the expansion stage 9a-b and is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and a heat source 4 (and is thus capable of exchanging heat between working fluid and ambient air).
As to claims 2-3, the first heat sink is a fluid that exchanges heat with working fluid at exchanger 8 (Fig. 4), and thus the system is capable of use with a first heat sink that is a hot water system and/or a space heating system of a building.
As to claim 4, the expansion stage comprises a first expansion valve 9a, a second expansion valve 9b, and a liquid receiver 30 therebetween.
As to claim 18, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would nec-essarily perform the method claimed then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus the method as claimed would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of Reissig.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reissig as applied above, and further in view of Zha (US 2018/0187928)..
As to claim 5, Reissig teaches a bypass line 36 for venting to a compressor suction, but does not explicitly teach a pressure valve. However, Zha teaches that it is known to use a pressure valve 180 on such a line. Thus it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to include a pressure valve as claimed and taught by Zha in order to improve flow control capabilities for the system.
As to claim 6, Reissig is silent regarding control of valves 9a-b. However, Zha teaches independently controlling such valves (paragraph 122). Thus it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to independently control valves as claimed and taught by Zha in order to improve flow control capabilities for the system.
As to claim 13, Reissig does not explicitly teach a third exchanger as claimed. However, Zha teaches that it is known to use three such exchangers 120, 130, and 140. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to incorporate a third exchanger as claimed and taught by Zha in order to increase the temperature control capabilities of the system.
As to claim 14, Reissig is silent regarding a controller. However, Zha teaches that it is known to use a controller 500 with a processor to control a heat pump system (Fig. 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to incorporate a controller as claimed to control the compressor and expansion valves because it would provide an automated means of maximizing system efficiency and/or capacity.
As to claim 15, the modified apparatus includes the hot coolant loop 190 of Zha (Fig. 1).
As to claim 16, Zha teaches using carbon dioxide refrigerant (paragraph 14).
As to claim 17, Zha teaches a water-glycol intermediate coolant (paragraph 26).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reissig as applied above, and further in view of Takayama (US 2018/0023818).
As to claim 7, Reissig teaches an evaporator 10 but does not explicitly teach a fan as claimed. However, Takayama teaches that it is known to utilize such an evaporator fan (paragraph 25). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to utilize an evaporator fan as claimed and taught by Takayama in order to provide the capability for effectively cooling air of an interior space.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reissig as applied above, and further in view of Nishida (US 6,230,506).
As to claim 8, Reissig does not explicitly teach an accumulator as claimed. However, Nishida teaches using an accumulator 80 (col. 6, lines 32-43). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to utilize an accumulator as taught by Nishida in order to prevent slugging at the compressor.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reissig as applied above, and further in view of Kiya (US 2023/0251004).
As to claims 9-12, Reissig does not explicitly teach an oil system as claimed. However, Kiya teaches that it is known to use an oil system with an oil separator, reservoir, and oil valve, wherein pressure in the oil reservoir is maintained to be higher than the compressor and oil passes from the separator to the reservoir via a valve when lubricant is detected in the separator (paragraphs 75-76). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Reissig to utilize an oil system as claimed and taught by Kiya in order to maintain proper lubrication of the compressor 7a-b.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763