DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4 recite “a first heat sink” but should instead read “the first heat sink. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: and expansion stage and an evaporation stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zha (US 2018/0187928).
As to claim 1, Zha teaches a heat pump circuit, comprising:
a compressor 110 for compressing working fluid;
an expansion stage 150/165 for expanding the working fluid;
a first heat exchanger 120 arranged downstream of the compressor 110 and upstream of the expansion stage 150/165, wherein the first heat exchanger 120 is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and a first heat sink;
a second heat exchanger 130 arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger and upstream of the expansion stage 150/165, wherein the second heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and a second heat sink; and
an evaporation stage 170 arranged downstream of the expansion stage 150/165, wherein the evaporation stage 170 is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and ambient air.
As to claim 15, Zha discloses using a controller 500 with a processor to control a heat pump system (Fig. 5).
As to claim 17, Zha discloses using carbon dioxide refrigerant (paragraph 14).
As to claim 18, Zha discloses a water-glycol intermediate coolant (paragraph 26).
As to claim 19, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would nec-essarily perform the method claimed then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus the method as claimed would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of Zha.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 13-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha as applied above, and further in view of Ogata (US 2017/0184314).
As to claim 2, Zha teaches a third heat exchanger 140 arranged downstream of the second heat exchanger 130 and upstream of the expansion stage 150/165, wherein the third heat exchanger 140 is configured to exchange heat between the working fluid and a heat sink.
Zha does not explicitly teach the third heat exchanger 140 exchanging heat with the same heat sink as that of exchanger 120. However, Ogata teaches utilizing first and third exchangers 22 & 24 connected to the same heat sink (Figs. 1 and 7). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zha to be configured in the manner as claimed and taught by Ogata because it would increase the heating capability for the system 190 of Zha.
As to claims 3-4, Ogata teaches the third exchanger pre-heating a hot water system of a building in the manner as claimed (Fig. 7).
As to claim 5, Zha teaches the heat sink 190 as a space heating system of the building (paragraph 16).
As to claim 7, Zha teaches the expansion stage comprising a first expansion valve 150, a second expansion valve 165, and a liquid receiver 160 therebetween.
As to claim 8, Zha teaches a bypass line and pressure valve 180 as claimed.
As to claim 9, Zha teaches independent valve control (paragraph 16).
As to claim 10, Zha teaches evaporator(s) 170, but is silent regarding a fan. However, Official Notice is taken that an evaporator fan is a common and typical feature of a refrigeration system that would have been obvious to use in conjunction with the circuit of Zha for the purpose of providing effective heat exchange for air cooling.
As to claims 13-14, the modified apparatus is silent regarding specific second and third temperatures. However, the specific temperatures are recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that certain temperatures provide effective water heating for the user. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the second and third temperatures as claimed.
As to claim 16, Zha discloses hot coolant loop 190 circulating an intermediate coolant for the first heat sink.
As to claim 20, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would nec-essarily perform the method claimed then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus the method as claimed would necessarily result from the normal operation of the modified apparatus of Zha.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art as applied above, and further in view of Takayama (US 2018/0023818).
As to claim 6, Zha does not explicitly teach a fourth exchanger as claimed. However, Takayama teaches using an exchanger 9, which is downstream of exchangers 4-5 which are connected to the same heat sink, that is configured to exchange heat with working fluid after it exits an evaporation stage (Fig. 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zha to incorporate an exchanger as taught by Takayama as a fourth exchanger in the manner as claimed in order to a subcooling function to improve operating efficiency.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the prior art as applied above, and further in view of Radermacher (US 5,207,077).
As to claim 11, Zha does not explicitly teach a series evaporator as claimed. However, Radermacher teaches use of series evaporators (Fig. 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Zha to incorporate a series evaporator as claimed and taught by Radermacher in order to provide a more versatile cooling scheme.
As to claim 12, the modified apparatus is silent in regards to relative fin densities of the evaporators. However, the specific fin density of each evaporator is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that a certain fin density will provide the desired cooling effects. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a second evaporator with a fin density that is greater than that of the first evaporator.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763