DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12166963. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 15 and 6 of US 12166963 including all limitations that anticipated all limitations that recited by the claims 1 and 10 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1, 10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Bontempi (US 20050073518 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Bontempi teaches a method for determining an operating state of a television, comprising:
receiving, at a meter from a current sensor, a current signal, wherein the current sensor outputs the current signal based on an electric current drawn from a power source by the television, and wherein the current sensor is coupled between the power source and the television (Fig. 1: Current sensor 150 coupled between the Power source 140 and Television 130; Detection Device 120 read on the claimed meter; and also see para [0022]-[0026]);
comparing, at the meter, the current signal to a threshold (para [0027]); and
determining, based on the comparing, the operating state of the television, wherein the operating state of the television is one of: an ON state or an OFF state (para [0027]).
Regarding claims 10 and 15: the method discussed in claim 1 above also supports these corresponding system claims. Also see para [0021].
Regarding claim 13: Bontempi teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the determining, based on the comparing, the operating state of the television comprises determining that the operating state of the television is the OFF state when the current data is less than the threshold (para [0027]).
Regarding claim 14: Bontempi teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the OFF state corresponds to at least one of: in a standby mode, in a sleep mode, or in a powered OFF mode (para [0027] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 16: Bontempi teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the determining, based on the comparing, the operating state of the presentation device comprises determining that the operating state of the presentation device is the OFF state when the current signal is less than the threshold (para [0027]).
Regarding claim 17: Bontempi teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the determining, based on the comparing, the operating state of the presentation device comprises determining that the operating state of the presentation device is the ON state when the current signal is greater than the threshold (para [0027]).
Regarding claim 20: Bontempi teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the current sensor is an alternating current sensor or a current sense transformer, and wherein the presentation device is a television (para [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bontempi (US 20050073518 A1) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claims 2 and 11: Bontempi teaches the method of claim 1 but does not specify the current signal is a digital current signal. However, it is well-known in the art for applications processed by processors and program instructions, input signals commonly being digital signals (Official Notice).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Bontempi in view of Official Notice to have the current signal is a digital current signal. The motivation is to provide proper format data for processing by processors and program instructions.
Conclusion
/DAVID L TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695