Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramoto (JP 2018047584 A) in view of Kato et al. (US 20230091544 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiramoto discloses an image forming system (Figure 1 displays the “inkjet recording apparatus 1” described in paragraph [0026].), comprising:
a sheet conveying portion (Figure 1 displays the “conveyance unit 10” described in paragraph [0027]) which conveys a sheet (Paragraph [0027] describes how the recording “medium P” placed on the transport surface is moved in the conveying direction.);
a plurality of nozzles (Paragraph [0028] describes each “head units 21” include “nozzles”.) arranged along a width direction orthogonal to a conveying direction of the sheet by the sheet conveying portion (The plurality of nozzle openings of the “eight recording heads 211” are arranged in the width direction, as described in paragraph [0031], that is “perpendicular” to the transport direction, as described in paragraph [0028].);
discharge elements (Figure displays the “head units 21” described in paragraph [0028].) which are respectively provided in correspondence with the nozzles (Paragraph [0031] describes how the “head units 21” include a “plurality of nozzle openings”) and cause ink (Paragraph [0028] describes how “yellow, magenta, cyan and black inks (plural colors)” are ejected.) to be discharged from the nozzles in accordance with an application of a driving voltage (Paragraph [0040] describes how the “recording head 211” discharges ink based on the “drive signals” from the “drive unit 27”.);
an image forming processing portion (Figure 3 displays the “image forming unit 20” described in paragraph [0035].) which forms, using a plurality of the discharge elements (Figure 1 displays the “head units 21” described in paragraph [0028].), an adjustment image that is based on predetermined adjustment image data on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying portion (Paragraph [0036] describes how the “control unit 40” also performs adjustments related to ink ejection based on the “test image” formed by the “image forming unit 20”.);
a reading processing portion (Figure 3 displays the “image reading unit 30” described in paragraph [0035].) which reads the adjustment image formed on the sheet (Paragraph [0032] describes how an image formed on the recording surface of the “recording medium P” is captured and read.); and
an adjustment processing portion (Figure 3 displays the “control unit 40” described in paragraph [0035].) which adjusts the driving voltage (Paragraph [0040] describes a “drive signal”) for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements (Paragraph [0040] describes how the “dive signals” are output in parallel to each “head unit 21”.)
Hiramoto fails to teach an adjustment processing portion which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion.
However, Kato teaches an adjustment processing portion (Figure 7 displays a “Setting adjusting step S40” where the “drive voltage of the drive element 111” is adjusted described in paragraph [0064]. In order for this step to be performed, the “printing apparatus 1” necessarily includes the hardware, software, circuitry, or functional component configured to execute this step and is therefore inherently disclosed.) which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements (Paragraph [0063] describes how the “drive voltage” of the “drive element 111” is adjusted within the “setting adjusting step S40”.) based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion (Figure 7 displays how the “Setting adjusting step S40” is based on the “test pattern P” that is printed in “test printing step S20”.)
Hiramoto and Kato are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming systems. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming system taught by Hiramoto to also apply an adjustment processing portion which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion therein taught by Kato, for the purpose of correcting an image (Kato, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, the image forming system according to claim 1, Hiramoto further discloses wherein the reading processing portion (Figure 3 displays the “image reading unit 30” described in paragraph [0026].) reads a color of the adjustment image formed on the sheet using a chromometer (Paragraph [0089] describes how the “image reading unit 30” may include a “colorimeter” to read the colorimetric value data of the image.).
Regarding claim 7, an adjustment method (Figure 8 displays an “image quality adjustment method” described in paragraph [0063].) executed in an image forming system (Paragraph [0063] describes how the method is executed by the “inkjet recording apparatus 1” displayed in Figure 1.) including
a sheet conveying portion (Figure 1 displays the “conveyance unit 10” described in paragraph [0027]) which conveys a sheet (Paragraph [0027] describes how the recording “medium P” placed on the transport surface is moved in the conveying direction.),
a plurality of nozzles (Paragraph [0028] describes each “head units 21” include “nozzles”.) arranged along a width direction orthogonal to a conveying direction of the sheet by the sheet conveying portion (The plurality of nozzle openings of the “eight recording heads 211” are arranged in the width direction, as described in paragraph [0031], that is “perpendicular” to the transport direction, as described in paragraph [0028].), and
discharge elements (Figure displays the “head units 21” described in paragraph [0028].) which are respectively provided in correspondence with the nozzles (Paragraph [0031] describes how the “head units 21” include a “plurality of nozzle openings”) and cause ink (Paragraph [0028] describes how “yellow, magenta, cyan and black inks (plural colors)” are ejected.) to be discharged from the nozzles in accordance with an application of a driving voltage (Paragraph [0040] describes how the “recording head 211” discharges ink based on the “drive signals” from the “drive unit 27”.),
the adjustment method comprising (Figure 8 displays an “image quality adjustment method” described in paragraph [0063].):
an image forming step of forming (Figure 8 displays the “step S 121” where the “image forming unit 20” records an image on the “recording medium P” as described in paragraph [0064].), using a plurality of the discharge elements (Figure 1 displays the “head units 21” described in paragraph [0028].), an adjustment image that is based on predetermined adjustment image data on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying portion (Paragraph [0036] describes how the “control unit 40” also performs adjustments related to ink ejection based on the “test image” formed by the “image forming unit 20”.);
a reading step of reading the adjustment image formed on the sheet (Figure 8 displays the “step S 122” where the “image reading unit 30” is used to capture the image as described in paragraph [0064].); and
Hiramoto fails to teach an adjustment processing portion which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion.
However, Kato teaches an adjustment processing portion (Figure 7 displays a “Setting adjusting step S40” where the “drive voltage of the drive element 111” is adjusted described in paragraph [0064]. In order for this step to be performed, the “printing apparatus 1” necessarily includes the hardware, software, circuitry, or functional component configured to execute this step and is therefore inherently disclosed.) which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements (Paragraph [0063] describes how the “drive voltage” of the “drive element 111” is adjusted within the “setting adjusting step S40”.) based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion (Figure 7 displays how the “Setting adjusting step S40” is based on the “test pattern P” that is printed in “test printing step S20”.).
Hiramoto and Kato are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming systems. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming system taught by Hiramoto to also apply an adjustment processing portion which adjusts the driving voltage for each of the discharge elements or in a unit of the plurality of discharge elements based on the adjustment image read by the reading processing portion therein taught by Kato, for the purpose of correcting an image (Kato, paragraph [0005]).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hiramoto in view of Kato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuno (US 20140071504 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hiramoto and Kato teaches the image forming system according to claim 1.
Modified Hiramoto fails to teach wherein the adjustment image data is image data in a bitmap format, and the image forming system comprises an image generation processing portion which executes rasterization processing to generate the adjustment image data.
However, Kuno teaches wherein the adjustment image data is image data in a bitmap format, and the image forming system comprises an image generation processing portion which executes rasterization processing to generate the adjustment image data (Figure 1 displays the “print data generation unit 330” of the “multifunction peripheral 100” that converts/rasterizes data into “bitmap data” as described in paragraph [0105].).
Modified Hiramoto and Kuno are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming systems. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming system taught by Hiramoto to also apply wherein the adjustment image data is image data in a bitmap format, and the image forming system comprises an image generation processing portion which executes rasterization processing to generate the adjustment image data therein taught by Kuno, for the purpose of converting/rasterizing image data (Kuno, paragraph [0105].).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hiramoto and Kato teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, Hiramoto further discloses an image forming apparatus (Figure 1 displays the “inkjet recording apparatus 1” described in paragraph [0026].) including the sheet conveying portion (Figure 1 displays the “conveyance unit 10” described in paragraph [0027]), the plurality of nozzles (Paragraph [0028] describes each “head units 21” include “nozzles”.), and the plurality of discharge elements (Figure displays the “head units 21” described in paragraph [0028].); and an information processing apparatus (Figure 3 displays the “control unit 40” described in paragraph [0026]) which is communicably connected to the image forming apparatus (Figure 1 displays how the “image forming unit 20” and “control unit 40” are communicably connected to each other within the “inkjet recording apparatus 1”.).
Modified Hiramoto fails to teach the image generation processing portion.
However, Kuno teaches the image generation processing portion (Figure 1 displays the “print data generation unit 330” described in paragraph [0105].).
Modified Hiramoto and Kuno are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving image forming systems. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image forming system taught by Hiramoto to also apply the image generation processing portion therein taught by Kuno, for the purpose of converting/rasterizing image data (Kuno, paragraph [0105].).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the primary reason for allowance of claim 5 is the inclusion of “the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the image forming processing portion is set as a first image forming processing portion, the adjustment processing portion is set as a first adjustment processing portion, the first adjustment processing portion adjusts the driving voltage for each group constituted of the plurality of discharge elements respectively corresponding to the plurality of nozzles that are consecutive along the width direction, and the image forming system comprises: a second image forming processing portion which forms, after the adjustment of the driving voltage by the first adjustment processing portion, the adjustment image on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying portion using the plurality of discharge elements; a first acceptance processing portion which accepts, after the formation of the adjustment image by the second image forming processing portion, a selection operation to select either an end or continuance of the adjustment of the driving voltage; a second acceptance processing portion which accepts, when the continuance of the adjustment of the driving voltage is selected by the selection operation, an adjustment operation of the driving voltage for each of the groups; and a second adjustment processing portion which adjusts the driving voltage of each of the groups in accordance with the adjustment operation.”
Regarding claim 6, the primary reason for allowance of claim 6 is the dependency on claim 5 and the inclusion of “a third image forming processing portion which forms, when the continuance of the adjustment of the driving voltage is selected by the selection operation, a manual adjustment image including a specific image formed by each of the groups on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying portion using the plurality of discharge elements, wherein the specific image includes a concentration check image and identification information of the group, that are aligned in the conveying direction.
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853