DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to communications received January 17, 2025. Claim(s) 1 has been canceled. No Claims have been amended. New claims 2-21 have been added. Therefore, claims 2-21 are pending and addressed below.
Priority
Application No. 19/024,268 filed 01/16/2025 is a Continuation of 18514167 , filed 11/20/2023 ,now U.S. Patent # 12243100 18514167 is a Continuation of 17569411 , filed 01/05/2022 ,now U.S. Patent # 11869081 17569411 is a Continuation of 16912129 , filed 06/25/2020 ,now U.S. Patent # 11250511 16912129 is a Continuation of 14163030 , filed 01/24/2014 ,now U.S. Patent # 10740839 and having 3 RCE-type filing therein 14163030 is a Continuation of 13666431 , filed 11/01/2012 ,now U.S. Patent # 8682781
Assignee/Applicant Name: Trading Technologies International, Inc
Inventor(s): Messina, Patricia
Claim Interpretation
With respect to the term “lean leg”, the examiner is broadly interpreting the term by its ordinary meaning in the art -A “lean leg” simply means one of those individual legs in a spread, and it can be either the long or short side of the trade.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the instant application is directed to non-patentable subject matter. Specifically, the claims are directed toward at least one judicial exception without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is in accordance with the guidelines of USPTO, applies to all statutory categories, and is explained in detail below.
In reference to Claim(s) 2-11:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a computer readable medium, as in independent Claim 2 and the dependent claims. Such mediums fall under the statutory category of "manufacture." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The executed instructions of manufacture claim 1 recites a instructions (1) submit order message for tradable object (2) maintains an order queue (3) monitor an available quantity of second tradable object in lean leg of strategy (4) detecting an occurrence of adjustment condition (5) prevent execution of adjustment of order for first tradable object (6) maintain order queue position of order for first tradable object (7) initiate confirmation period having number of market updates to be received (8) evaluate an adjustment condition based on available quantity of second tradable object (9) terminate confirmation period (10) if adjustment condition no longer satisfied upon termination of confirmation period, prevent adjustment of order for first tradable object (11) if adjustment condition satisfied during confirmation period execute adjustment associated with order for quoting leg (12) sending a second order message to first electronic exchange.
The claimed limitations which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic algorithm and computer. That is, other than reciting computer readable medium instructions executed by a processor and the limitations “electronic exchange maintains an order queue to manage the order pending execution at an order queue position at the first electronic exchange” and “preventing execution of the adjustment maintains the order queue position of the order for the first tradeable object in the order queue at the first electronic exchange”, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from being reasonably performed using mental processes.
The claimed physical structures (processors) are generic computer components and tools to perform the mental processes. Such processes that mimic mental concepts include “submit a first order message” which is analogous to the human mind audibly submitting order or via pen and paper. Additional processes include “monitor…available quantity of second tradable object” mimicking mental concepts of observation; “occurrence of the adjustment condition is detected when available quantity reaches predefined threshold” mimicking mental process of observation and analysis; “preventing execution of an adjustment of the order …by refraining from sending an order” mimics mental concepts of analysis and decision; “initiate a confirmation period” mimics mental concept of decision; “evaluate …adjustment condition” mimics mental concepts of analysis; “terminate confirmation period” mimics mental concept of decision; “if the adjustment condition is no longer satisfied upon termination of the confirmation period, prevent the adjustment of the order” mimics mental concept of analysis and decision; “if the adjustment condition continues to be satisfied during the confirmation period, execute the adjustment associated with the order…” mimics mental concept of analysis, decision and communication of decision.
The computer components are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates functions that could reasonable be performed using mental concepts, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea.
The steps recite steps that can easily be performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps of obtain data which mimics mental processes of observation. Therefore, the limitations, mimic human thought processes of observation, evaluation and opinion, and communication of result which, where the data interpretation is perceptible only in the human mind. See In re TLl Commc'ns LLC Patent Litig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. latric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
The specification discloses the focus of the invention is spread trading strategy to capitalize on changes/movements in relationships between items in trading strategies (para 0003). The specification describes providing trading tools to enable adjustment of aspects for a spread with the ability to adjust the quantity of the quoting leg in response to conditions associated with available quantity. (para 0014). Accordingly, the claim limitations in light of the specification, when considered as a whole the claimed subject matter is directed toward a trading process. Such concepts can be found in the abstract category of commercial interactions and marketing. These concepts are enumerated in Section I of the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance published in the federal register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019) is directed toward abstract category of mental processes mathematical concepts and methods of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims fail to provide indications of patent eligible subject matter that integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include “computer readable medium having stored therein instructions executable by a processor”, “electronic exchange”, “quantity calculation component”, “comparator component”, “parameter identifier component” and “second electronic exchange”.
The claimed processor of the computer readable medium applied to execute instructions to “submit first order message”, “maintains an order queue to manage the order pending execution at an order queue”, “monitor…available quantity of… tradable object”, “maintains the order queue position of the order for the first tradeable object in the order queue at the first electronic exchange” and “sending …order message …”, which according to the courts have recognized the following computer functions are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) where technology is merely applied to perform the abstract idea or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log);
Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93
The claim limitations (submit, maintain, monitor and sending) are recited at a high level of generality without details of technical implementation and thus are insignificant extra solution activity.
The additional element processor of the computer readable medium applied to execute instructions “quantity calculation component” to perform the “adjustment condition is detected with available quantity reaches predefined threshold”, “evaluate…adjustment condition based on available quantity” which is merely analysis of trading data and not directed toward technology or technical process.
The additional element processor of the computer readable medium applied to execute instructions “comparable component” applied to “prevent execution of adjustment of the order of the tradable object”; the processor executing “parameter identifier component” instruction “initiate…confirmation period having/based on number of market updates…” and “terminate …confirmation period”.
The additional element computer readable medium applied to execute conditional instructions “if the adjustment condition is no longer satisfied upon termination of the confirmation period, prevent the adjustment of the order for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period”, and “if the adjustment condition continues to be satisfied during the confirmation period, execute the adjustment associated with the order for the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period” which are directed toward a trading process and not technology itself or a process rooted in technology. In Ubicomm LLC v. Zappos IP, Inc. No. 1-13-cv-01029 (d. Del. Nov. 13, 2013), the court found that conditional actions to be abstract. Like as found in UbiComm, the determining function simply describes a conditional action that is triggered based on a determine dependent nodes further comprise instructions to determine a dependent node that depends directly on a modified node. According to UbiComm, citing policy considerations of Mayo, a conditional action is a basic tool used in many disciplines from medicine to economics. The court found that if conditional actions should be protected as an abstract idea because patenting conditional actions would impede innovation. Therefore, the conditional action of the claim limitation is abstract.
The claim limitations when considered individually fail to provide any indications of patent eligible subject matter, according to MPEP guidance (see MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c), (e )-(h).
(i) an improvement to the functioning of a computer;
(ii) an improvement to another technology or technical field;
(iii) an application of the abstract idea with, or by use of, a
particular machine;
(iv) a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a
different state or thing; or
(v) other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the
use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
When the claims are taken as an ordered combination or as a whole, the combination of limitations, the combination of limitations 1-2 and 3-4 are directed toward applying a processor executing instructions for monitoring submitted orders that are maintained on an exchange to detect an occurrence of condition adjustment when available quality reaches a predefined threshold, which amounts to no more than executing instructions for a trading process. The combination of limitations 5-6 and 7-9 are directed toward preventing execution of order based on threshold determined of limitations 1-4 and initiating a confirmation period based on updates from second exchange evaluating second tradable market where the confirmation period is then terminated- which is directed toward a trading process and not technology. The combination of limitations 10-12 is directed toward conditional trading process based on threshold conditions of limitations 1-9 where based on a first condition the traded is prevented and based on second determined condition the trading is executed- directed toward a trading process and not technology
When considered as a whole or ordered combination the combination of limitations 1-12 is directed toward monitoring and analyzing submitted trade orders for trading conditions and based on condition satisfied/not satisfied preventing/executing orders- a transaction process. The combinations of parts is not directed toward any of the indications of patent eligible subject matter under step 2A prong 2, but instead a deposit transaction activity and risk mitigation to prevent fraud. MPEP guidance (see MPEP 2106.05 (a)-(c), (e )-(h). The claim limitations as a whole, as an ordered combination and the combination of steps not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as the claim process fails to impose meaningful limits upon the abstract idea. . This is because the claimed subject matter fails to provide additional elements or combination or elements that go beyond applying technology as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. The functions recited by the processor and executable instruction in the claims recite the concept of a financial activity. The claim limitations and specification lacks technical disclosure on what the technical problem was and how the claimed limitations provide a technical solution to a technical problem rather than a solution to a problem found in the abstract idea. Taking the claim elements separately, or as a combination, the operation performed by the mobile device processor and communication unit at each step of the process is purely in terms of results desired and devoid of implementation of details. Technology is not integral to the process as the claimed subject matter is so high level that any generic programming could be applied and the functions could be performed by any known means.
Furthermore, the claimed functions do not provide an operation that could be considered as sufficient to provide a technological implementation or application of/or improvement to this concept (i.e. integrated into a practical application).
The integration of elements do not improve upon technology or improve upon computer functionality or capability in how computers carry out one of their basic functions. The integration of elements do not provide a process that allows computers to perform functions that previously could not be performed. The integration of elements do not provide a process which applies a relationship to apply a new way of using an application. The limitations do not recite a specific use machine or the transformation of an article to a different state or thing. The limitations do not provide other meaningful limits beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The resource claimed performing the steps is merely a “field of use” application of technology. The instant application, therefore, still appears only to implement the abstract idea to the particular technological environments apply what generic computer functionality in the related arts. The steps are still a combination made to perform a financial activity and does not provide any of the determined indications of patent eligibility set forth in the 2019 USPTO 101 guidance. The additional steps only add to those abstract ideas using generic functions, and the claims do not show improved ways of, for example, an particular technical function for performing the abstract idea that imposes meaningful limits upon the abstract idea.
Moreover, Examiner was not able to identify any specific technological processes that goes beyond merely confining the abstract idea in a particular technological environment, which, when considered in the ordered combination with the other steps, could have transformed the nature of the abstract idea previously identified. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim provides no technical details regarding how the operations performed by the “processor”. Instead, similar to the claims at issue in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Financial Corp., 850 F.3d 1332 (Fed. Cir. 2017), “the claim language . . . provides only a result-oriented solution with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more.” Intellectual Ventures, 850 F.3d at 1342 (citing Elec. Power Grp. LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include “computer readable medium having stored therein instructions executable by a processor”, “electronic exchange”, “quantity calculation component”, “comparator component”, “parameter identifier component” and “second electronic exchange”.
The additional elements “quantity calculation component”, “comparator component” and “parameter identifier component” amounts to no more than mere instructions to “monitor…available quantity” by “quantity calculation component” and “evaluate …adjustment condition” and “detecting …occurrence” by “comparator component used to analyze data and “initiate confirmation period” and “terminate …confirmation period” by “parameter identifier component” used to perform transaction strategy process.
The additional limitations “submit first order message”, “maintains an order queue”, “monitor …available quantity” are insignificant extra solution activity recited at a high level performed by a processor are well understood use of technology.
The additional limitations implemented by processors” occurrence of the adjustment condition is detected when available quantity reaches a predefined threshold…prevent execution of adjustment of the order…maintains the order queue position for order” or “initiate a confirmation period …”, “evaluate an adjustment condition” and “terminate confirmation period in response to determining market updates received” are performed by a processor at a high level where the processor is merely “applied” to perform the transaction analysis process. The conditional actions “if the adjustment condition is no longer satisfied upon termination of the confirmation period, prevent the adjustment of the order for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period such that the order queue position of the first order is maintained in the order queue at the first electronic exchange” and “if the adjustment condition continues to be satisfied during the confirmation period, execute the adjustment associated with the order for the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period, wherein the adjustment includes sending a second order message to the first electronic exchange, wherein the second order message includes a modified quantity or a modified price for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg” are performed by a processor at a high level where the processor is merely “applied” to perform the conditional trading process. Referencing Alice who held, that it is not enough to qualify as “significantly more” when limitation include “apply it” (or an equivalent) with an abstract idea. The limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a processor or requiring no more than a generic computer components executed by a processor to perform generic computer functions that are well understood activities known to the industry. As a result, none of the hardware recited by the medium claims or the operations offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the method to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via computers. .. . The claim limitations do not recite that any of the “additional elements” perform more than a high level generic function ... . None of the limitations recite technological implementation details for any of these steps, but instead recite only results desired to be achieved by any and all possible means. .. . Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the computer at each step of the process is purely conventional
When the claims are taken as a whole, as an ordered combination, the combination of steps does not add “significantly more” by virtue of considering the steps as a whole, as an ordered combination. All of these computer functions are generic, routine, conventional computer activities that are performed only for their conventional uses. See Elec. Power Grp. v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Also see In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2011) Absent a possible narrower construction of the terms “submit”, “monitor”, “maintain”, “detecting”, “prevent”, “initiate”, “evaluate”, “terminate”, “execute” and “sending” ... are functions can be achieved by any general purpose computer processor without special programming". None of these activities are used in some unconventional manner nor do any produce some unexpected result. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions.
As to the data operated upon, "even if a process of collecting and analyzing information is 'limited to particular content' or a particular 'source,' that limitation does not make the collection and analysis other than abstract." SAP America, Inc. v. Invest Pic LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1168 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicant’s claimed functions add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The sequence of data reception-analysis modification-transmission is equally generic and conventional. See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (sequence of receiving, selecting, offering for exchange, display, allowing access, and receiving payment recited as an abstraction), Inventor Holdings, LLC v. Bed Bath & Beyond, Inc., 876 F.3d 1372, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of data retrieval, analysis, modification, generation, display, and transmission), Two-Way Media Ltd. v. Comcast Cable Communications, LLC, 874 F.3d 1329, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (sequence of processing, routing, controlling, and monitoring). The ordering of the steps is therefore ordinary and conventional. The analysis concludes that the claims do not provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims do not provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception.
According to 2106.05 well-understood and routine processes to perform the abstract idea is not sufficient to transform the claim into patent eligibility. As evidence the examiner provides:
The specification discloses:
[0027]… As another example, the trading device 110 may include a single or multi-core processor in communication with a memory or other storage medium configured to accessibly store one or more computer programs, applications, libraries, computer readable instructions, and the like, for execution by the processor.
[0032] A trading application may include computer readable instructions that are stored in a computer readable medium and executable by a processor. A computer readable medium may include various types of volatile and non-volatile storage media, including, for example, random access memory, read-only memory, programmable read-only memory, electrically programmable read-only memory, electrically erasable read-only memory, flash memory, any
combination thereof, or any other tangible data storage device. As used herein, the term non-transitory or tangible computer readable medium is expressly defined to include any type of computer readable storage media and to exclude propagating signals.
[0033] One or more components or modules of a trading application may be loaded into the computer readable medium of the trading device 110 from another computer readable medium. For example, the trading application ( or updates to the trading application) may be stored by a manufacturer, developer, or publisher on one or more CDs or DVDs, which are then loaded onto the trading device 110 or to a server from which the trading device 110 retrieves the trading application. As another example, the trading device 110 may receive the trading application ( or updates to the trading application) from a server, for example, via the Internet or an internal network. The trading device 110 may receive the trading application or updates when requested by the trading device 110 (for example, "pull distribution") and/or un-requested by the trading device 110 (for example, "push distribution").
[0058] The processor 312 may be operable to execute logic and other computer readable
instructions encoded in one or more tangible media, such as the memory 314. As used herein,
logic encoded in one or more tangible media includes instructions which may be executable by
the processor 312 or a different processor. The logic may be stored as part of software, hardware, integrated circuits, firmware, and/or micro-code, for example. The logic may be
received from an external communication device via a communication network such as the
network 340. The processor 312 may execute the logic to perform the functions, acts, or tasks
illustrated in the figures or described herein.
[0059] The memory 314 may be one or more tangible media, such as computer readable storage media, for example. Computer readable storage media may include various types of volatile and non-volatile storage media, including, for example, random access memory, readonly memory, programmable read-only memory, electrically programmable read-only memory, electrically erasable read-only memory, flash memory, any combination thereof, or any other tangible data storage device. As used herein, the term non-transitory or tangible computer readable medium is expressly defined to include any type of computer readable medium and to exclude propagating signals. The memory 314 may include any desired type of mass storage device including hard disk drives, optical media, magnetic tape or disk, etc.
[0060] The memory 314 may include one or more memory devices. For example, the memory 314 may include local memory, a mass storage device, volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof. The memory 314 may be adjacent to, part of, programmed with, networked with, and/or remote from processor 312, so the data stored in the memory 314 may be retrieved and processed by the processor 312, for example. The memory 314 may store
instructions which are executable by the processor 312. The instructions may be executed to perform one or more of the acts or functions described herein or shown in the figures.
[00110] Some of the described figures depict example block diagrams, systems, and/or flow diagrams representative of methods that may be used to implement all or part of certain embodiments. One or more of the components, elements, blocks, and/or functionality of the example block diagrams, systems, and/or flow diagrams may be implemented alone or in combination in hardware, firmware, discrete logic, as a set of computer readable instructions
stored on a tangible computer readable medium, and/or any combinations thereof, for example.
[00111] The example block diagrams, systems, and/or flow diagrams may be implemented using any combination of application specific integrated circuit(s) (ASIC(s)), programmable logic device(s) (PLD(s)), field programmable logic device(s) (FPLD(s)), discrete logic, hardware, and/or firmware, for example. Also, some or all of the example methods may be implemented manually or in combination with the foregoing techniques, for example.
The instant application, therefore, still appears to only implement the abstract ideas to the particular technological environments using what is generic components and functions in the related arts. The claim is not patent eligible.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 3-11 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 2. The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 2. Dependent claim 3 is directed toward duration of confirmation period configured by user – a transaction process. Dependent claim 4 is directed toward duration of confirmation period based on fixed amount of time- transaction rules. Dependent claim 5 is directed toward duration confirmation period set based on factor- transaction rule. Dependent claim 6 is directed toward confirmation period set based on second electronic exchange, strategy or market – transaction rules. Dependent claim 7 is directed toward adjustment condition evaluated at defined interval for confirmation period-transaction rules. Dependent claim 8 directed toward adjustment instructions to send cancellation message- transaction process. Dependent claim 9 is directed toward available quantity at price for tradable object associated with adjustment condition- transaction strategy and conditions. Dependent claim 10 is directed toward lean quantity based on order quantity- transaction rules. Dependent claim 11 is directed toward adjustment condition detected when order quantity at price associated with lean leg falls below threshold- trading strategies.
Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 3-11 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
In reference to Claim(s) 12-21:
STEP 1. Per Step 1 of the two-step analysis, the claims are determined to include a system, as in independent Claim 12 and the dependent claims. Such systems fall under the statutory category of "system." Therefore, the claims are directed to a statutory eligibility category.
STEP 2A Prong 1. The functions of system claim 12 corresponds to instructions of medium claim 12. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as being directed toward an abstract idea of the categories of concepts directed toward mental processes and methods of organizing human activity previously discussed with respect to claim 2.
STEP 2A Prong 2: The functions of system claim 12 corresponds to instructions of medium claim 12. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application, as previously discussed with respect to claim 2.
STEP 2B; The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to concepts of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea include “computer readable medium having stored therein instructions executable by a processor”, “electronic exchange”, “quantity calculation component”, “comparator component”, “parameter identifier component” and “second electronic exchange” are analogous to the additional elements discussed above with respect to claim 2.
The limitations of system claim 12 when considered individually and/or as a combination of part functions corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as failing to provide additional elements that amount to an inventive concept –i.e. significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Furthermore, as previously discussed with respect to claim 2, the limitations when considered individually, as a combination of parts or as a whole fail to provide any indication that the elements recited are unconventional or otherwise more than what is well understood, conventional, routine activity in the field.
The remaining dependent claims—which impose additional limitations—also fail to claim patent-eligible subject matter because the limitations cannot be considered statutory. In reference to claims 13-21 these dependent claim have also been reviewed with the same analysis as independent claim 12. The dependent claim(s) have been examined individually and in combination with the preceding claims, however they do not cure the deficiencies of claim 12. Dependent claim 13 is directed toward duration of confirmation period configured by user – a transaction process. Dependent claim 14 is directed toward duration of confirmation period based on fixed amount of time- transaction rules. Dependent claim 15 is directed toward duration confirmation period set based on factor- transaction rule. Dependent claim 16 is directed toward confirmation period set based on second electronic exchange, strategy or market – transaction rules. Dependent claim 17 is directed toward adjustment condition evaluated at defined interval for confirmation period-transaction rules. Dependent claim 18 directed toward adjustment instructions to send cancellation message- transaction process. Dependent claim 19 is directed toward available quantity at price for tradable object associated with adjustment condition- transaction strategy and conditions. Dependent claim 20 is directed toward lean quantity based on order quantity- transaction rules. Dependent claim 21 is directed toward adjustment condition detected when order quantity at price associated with lean leg falls below threshold- trading strategies.
Where all claims are directed to the same abstract idea, “addressing each claim of the asserted patents [is] unnecessary.” Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, Nat 7 Ass ’n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014). If applicant believes the dependent claims 13-21 are directed towards patent eligible subject matter, they are invited to point out the specific limitations in the claim that are directed towards patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 2 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,301,541 B1 by Monroe et al (Monroe) L-27 further in view of CA 2626935 A1 by Bauerschmidt et al. (Bauer)
In reference to Claim 2:
Monroe teaches:
(New) A computer readable medium having stored therein instructions executable by a processor ((Monroe) in at least Col 12 lines 40-49), including instructions executable to:
submit a first order message to a first electronic exchange for a first tradeable object in a quoting leg of a strategy, wherein the first order message includes an order for a quantity of the first tradeable object at a price ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 4; Col 7 lines 30-62), and wherein the first electronic exchange maintains an order queue to manage the order pending execution at an order queue position at the first electronic exchange ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 2; Col 6 lines 31-38, Col 7 lines 30-54);
monitor, by a quantity calculation component, an available quantity of a second tradeable object in the lean leg of the strategy for an occurrence of an adjustment condition at a second electronic exchange ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 2; Col 6 lines 39-46), wherein the occurrence of the adjustment condition is detected when the available quantity reaches a predefined threshold ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 4-5; Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 11 lines 23-49);
in response to detecting the occurrence of the adjustment condition by a comparator component, prevent execution of an adjustment of the order for the first tradeable object by refraining from sending an order message to the first electronic exchange to adjust the order for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg, and wherein preventing execution of the adjustment maintains the order queue position of the order for the first tradeable object in the order queue at the first electronic exchange ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 2, FIG. 4; Col 6 lines 31-38, Col 8 lines 11-52),
wherein determining whether to execute the adjustment ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 1, FIG. 4-5; Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 10 lines 58-Col 11 lines 1-22) includes:…
evaluate, by the quantity calculation component and the comparator component, an adjustment condition based on the available quantity of the second tradeable object ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 1, FIG. 4-5; Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 10 lines 58-Col 11 lines 1-22); …
wherein the adjustment includes sending a second order message to the first electronic exchange, wherein the second order message includes a modified quantity or a modified price for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 1, FIG. 4-5; Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 10 lines 58-Col 11 lines 1-22, Col 11 lines 23-49) .
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
initiate, by a parameter identifier component, a confirmation period having based on a number of market updates to be received from the second electronic exchange;
terminate, by the parameter identifier component, the confirmation period in response to determining the market updates received from the second electronic exchange equals the number of market updates associated with the confirmation period has been received;
if the adjustment condition is no longer satisfied upon termination of the confirmation period, prevent the adjustment of the order for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period such that the order queue position of the first order is maintained in the order queue at the first electronic exchange; and
if the adjustment condition continues to be satisfied during the confirmation period, execute the adjustment associated with the order for the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period,
Bauer teaches:
initiate, by a parameter identifier component, a confirmation period having based on a number of market updates to be received from the second electronic exchange ((Bauer) in at least para 0095-0096, para 00113, para 00119, para 0156-00157);
terminate, by the parameter identifier component, the confirmation period in response to determining the market updates received from the second electronic exchange equals the number of market updates associated with the confirmation period has been received ((Bauer) in at least para 0095-0096, para 00113, para 00115-00116, para 00119, para 00156-00157);
if the adjustment condition is no longer satisfied upon termination of the confirmation period, prevent the adjustment of the order for the first tradeable object in the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period such that the order queue position of the first order is maintained in the order queue at the first electronic exchange ((Bauer) in at least para 0095 section 2 part c; section 3 part d; para 00114 wherein the prior art teaches “the once the TTL elapses or otherwise expires, the associated DRFQ expires, i.e. the window of opportunity to receive actionable quotes in response to the request is closed…the expiration of the TTL may cause the server 118 to transmit cancellation notices to all of the market participants to which the associated DRFQ was sent…quotes received before expiration of the TTL, but not accepted before expiration may be either cancelled or accepted… Actionable quotes received after expiration of the TTL may be rejected…”; para 00115 wherein the prior art teaches “the TTL may be specified based on an event”), and
if the adjustment condition continues to be satisfied during the confirmation period, execute the adjustment associated with the order for the quoting leg upon determining the expiration of the confirmation period ((Bauer) in at least para 0095 section 4 part b-c; para 0096, para 0101, para 00113, para 00115, para 0118-00119)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation of applying time-to-live process in order to implement auto-cancel functionality when an order is entered in order to specify an absolution time of expiration based a time duration parameter, allowing orders received during the TTL to be kept alive and received after expiration of TTL to be cancelled/closed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include applying TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation of applying time-to-live process in order to implement auto-cancel functionality when an order is entered in order to specify an absolution time of expiration based a time duration parameter, allowing orders received during the TTL to be kept alive and received after expiration of TTL to be cancelled/closed
In reference to claim 3:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 3
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is configurable by a user.
Bauer teaches:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is configurable by a user.((Bauer) in at least para 0095 section 2 part a; section 3 part c; para 0104)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation of the requester setting the time-to-live window for processing in order to allow the requestor to set the duration of the TTL, for example the request wants a short or long TTL. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include requestor set TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation of the requester setting the time-to-live window for processing in order to allow the requestor to set the duration of the TTL, for example the request wants a short or long TTL and teaches the motivation applying time-to-live process in order to implement auto-cancel functionality when an order is entered in order to specify an absolution time of expiration based a time duration parameter, allowing orders received during the TTL to be kept alive and received after expiration of TTL to be cancelled/closed
In reference to claim 4:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 4
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is further based on a fixed amount of time.
Bauer teaches:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is further based on a fixed amount of time.((Bauer) in at least para 0095 section 2 part a wherein the prior art teaches TTL automatically generated; para 0096, para 0113)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being automatically specified time window such as a default TTL for processing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include requestor set TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being automatically specified time window such as a default TTL for processing and teaches the motivation applying time-to-live process in order to implement auto-cancel functionality when an order is entered in order to specify an absolution time of expiration based a time duration parameter, allowing orders received during the TTL to be kept alive and received after expiration of TTL to be cancelled/closed
In reference to claim 5:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 5
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is dynamically set based on a factor.
Bauer teaches:
wherein a duration of the confirmation period is dynamically set based on a factor. ((Bauer) in at least para 0096 wherein the prior art teaches TTL specified in order to account for transmission delays, para 0103 wherein the prior art teaches responses from parties may include different parameters including different TTL such as business requirements; para 0104 wherein the prior art teaches TTL based on “window of opportunity”; para 0105, para 00113, para 00115 wherein the prior art teaches TTL specified based on event)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being specified based on an event in order to mitigate exposure of the market participant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include event based TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being specified based on an event in order to mitigate exposure of the market participant.
In reference to claim 6:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 6
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Monroe dose not explicitly teach:
wherein the confirmation period is set based on the second electronic exchange, the trading strategy, or a market of one or more tradeable object associated with the trading strategy.
Bauer teaches:
wherein the confirmation period is set based on the second electronic exchange, the trading strategy, or a market of one or more tradeable object associated with the trading strategy. ((Bauer) in at least para 0096 wherein the prior art teaches TTL specified in order to account for transmission delays, para 0103 wherein the prior art teaches responses from parties may include different parameters including different TTL such as business requirements; para 0104 wherein the prior art teaches TTL based on “window of opportunity”; para 0105, para 00113, para 00115 wherein the prior art teaches TTL specified based on event)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being specified based on an event in order to mitigate exposure of the market participant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include event based TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation of the time-to-live window as being specified based on an event in order to mitigate exposure of the market participant.
In reference to claim 7:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 7
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
wherein the adjustment condition is evaluated at an interval defined for the confirmation period.
Bauer teaches:
wherein the adjustment condition is evaluated at an interval defined for the confirmation period. ((Bauer) in at least para 0096, para 00113, para 0116)
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation parameter specified relative to the TTL where the duration of the TTL is measured from a common reference an order to determine when responses are determined when received. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include event based TTL functionality as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation parameter specified relative to the TTL where the duration of the TTL is measured from a common reference an order to determine when responses are determined when received
In reference to claim 8:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 8.
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
Monroe does not explicitly teach:
wherein the adjustment further includes instructions executable to send a cancellation message to cancel the first order for the first tradeable object associated with the quoting leg.
Bauer teaches:
wherein the adjustment further includes instructions executable to send a cancellation message to cancel the first order for the first tradeable object associated with the quoting leg ((Bauer) in at least para 0095 section 3 part d; para 00113 wherein the prior art teaches “once the TTL elapses or otherwise expires, the associated DRFQ expires, i.e. the window of opportunity to receive actionable quotes in response to the request is closed”, para 0116-00117).
Both Monroe and Bauer are directed toward receiving orders that include quantity and price limits on buy/sell orders. Bauer teaches the motivation sending to the market participant a cancellation notification when the order is received after TTL expired in order to allow the market participant to cancel the order or rescind the previous quote or provide information of the order being properly cancelled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of orders received to include cancelling orders notification to market participants as taught by Bauer since Bauer teaches the motivation sending to the market participant a cancellation notification when the order is received after TTL expired in order to allow the market participant to cancel the order or rescind the previous quote or provide information of the order being properly cancelled
In reference to claim 9:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 9.
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
wherein the available quantity at the price for the tradeable object associated with the adjustment condition includes a lean on quantity at a lean on price for the second tradeable object. ((Monroe) in at least Fig. 4; Col 3 lines 65-Col 4 lines 1-9, Col 7 lines 30-54, lines 63-Col 8 lines 1-27, lines 37-47, lines 52-Col 9 lines 1-5, Col 10 lines 48-Col 11 lines 1-22)
In reference to claim 10:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of dependent claim 9. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above),
wherein the lean on quantity is based on the quantity of the order in the quoting leg. ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 1, FIG. 4-5; Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 10 lines 58-Col 11 lines 1-22, Col 11 lines 23-49)
In reference to claim 11:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 2. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 11.
(New) The computer readable medium of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above),
wherein the adjustment condition is detected when the available order quantity at the price for the second tradeable object associated with the lean leg falls below the predefined threshold. ((Monroe) in at least FIG. 1, FIG. 4-5; Col 6 lines 39-46, Col 7 lines 30-54, Col 8 lines 20-26, Col 10 lines 58-Col 11 lines 1-49)
In reference to claim 12:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12.
The functions of system claim 12 correspond to the executed instructions of medium claim 2. The additional limitations recited in claim 12 that go beyond the limitations of claim 2 include a system ((Monroe) in at least Fig. 3; Col 1 lines 13-20, Col 4 lines 50-55) to perform the functions that correspond executed instructions of medium to claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 2.
In reference to claim 13:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 13.
The functions of system claim 13 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 3.
In reference to claim 14:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 14.
The functions of system claim 14 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 4.
In reference to claim 15:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 15.
The functions of system claim 15 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 5.
In reference to claim 16:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 16.
The functions of system claim 16 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 6.
In reference to claim 17:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 17.
The functions of system claim 17 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 7
In reference to claim 18:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 18.
The functions of system claim 18 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 8.
In reference to claim 19:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 19.
The functions of system claim 19 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 9.
In reference to claim 20:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of dependent claim 19. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 20.
The functions of system claim 20 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 10.
In reference to claim 21:
The combination of Monroe and Bauer discloses the limitations of independent claim 12. Monroe further discloses the limitations of dependent claim 21.
The functions of system claim 21 corresponds to executed instructions of medium claim 11. Therefore, claim 21 has been analyzed and rejected as previously discussed with respect to claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 8,301,539 B2 by Furbush et al; US Patent No. 8,024,253 B2 by Peterffy et al; US Pub No. 2011/0145126 A by Rooney; US Pub No. 2010/0145875 A1 by Janowski; CA 2626935 A1 by Studnitzer; CA 2886805 A1 by Mintz
/MARY M GREGG/Examiner, Art Unit 3695