DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 12 recites the limitation "the container" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is “a container” in claim 10 line 2 and claim 1 lines 1-2.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is similarly rejected for inheriting the above discussed issue due to its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukahara (US 2020/0070533).
Regarding claim 1, Tsukahara teaches an ink liquid level height measuring apparatus (fig.1) that measures a liquid level height of ink in a container (7,8), the ink liquid level height measuring apparatus comprising:
a float (16,24 fig.1) that includes a magnet (17,25) and moves in association with a change in the liquid level height;
a Hall element (11,12 fig.1) that detects, as a continuous value, a change in magnetic flux density due to the magnet (17,25) that moves together with the float (16,24); and
at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2), wherein
the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2)
adjusts the liquid level height to a reference height (paragraphs 0027,0034,0037,0040,0042-0045), and
acquires an output value of the Hall element and corrects the liquid level height based on the output value, the output value being an output value when the liquid level height is the reference height (figs.1-3; paragraphs 0050-0067).
Regarding claim 7, Tsukahara further teaches wherein the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2) performs determination of a state of an ink supply path to the container (supply path to container/s 7, and/or 8 fig.1) based on the liquid level height with respect to the reference height or a rate of change in the liquid level height (figs.1,3; paragraphs 0027,0034,0037,0040,0042-0045,0050-0067. For instance, the state of the ink supply path is changed by the operation of for example pump 13 and/or valve 33 to adjust/change the liquid level in the container based on the liquid level determined/ liquid level state).
Regarding claim 8, Tsukahara further teaches wherein the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2), during the determination, adjusts the liquid level height to the reference height, and acquires an output value of the Hall element (11,12 fig.1) when the liquid level height is the reference height (figs.1, 3; paragraphs 0027,0034,0037,0040,0042-0045,0050-0067).
Regarding claim 9, Tsukahara further teaches wherein the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2) performs the determination of the state of the ink supply path based on the rate of change in the liquid level height in a case where the ink has been supplied to the container (7 and/or 8 fig.1) for a predetermined time (figs.3; paragraphs009-0012,0050-0067).
Regarding claim 10, Tsukahara further teaches an image forming apparatus (inkjet printer 1 fig.1), comprising: a container (9) that stores ink; an image former (inkjet head 2) that forms an image by using the ink supplied from the container; and the ink liquid level height measuring apparatus according to claim 1 (figs.1,2).
Regarding claim 11, Tsukahara further teaches wherein the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2), during an image formation by the image former, adjusts the liquid level height to the reference height, and acquires an output value of the Hall element (11,12 fig.1) when the liquid level height is the reference height (figs.1, 3; paragraphs 0050-0067).
Regarding claim 12, Tsukahara further teaches wherein the at least one hardware processor (21 fig.2) supplies the ink to the container, when the liquid level height of the ink in the container (7,8) becomes lower than the reference height due to the image formation by the image former, and stops supplying the ink, when the liquid level height reaches the reference height (figs.1-3; paragraphs 0027,0034,0037,0040, 0042-0045,0050-0067).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukahara (US 2020/0070533) in view of Berrill (US 7,793,200) and/or Oyama et al. (EP 0707195).
Regarding claim 2, Tsukahara substantially teaches the claimed invention including the Hall element (11,12 fig.1) which has a structure supporting/housing it.
Tsukahara does not teach wherein a housing of the Hall element includes a magnetic body.
However, Berrill teaches a Hall element (22 fig.1) used in a liquid level sensing device (10), wherein the Hall element (22) is housed in housing (fig.2) including a magnetic body (24)(col.2 lines 65-67, col.3 lines 1-3, 19-23).
Similarly, Oyama et al teaches a Hall element (3 figs.1,3,9) that can be used in a liquid level sensing device (col. 2 lines 22-26), wherein a housing of the Hall element (3) includes a magnetic body (2 figs.1,3,9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use housing having magnetic body to house the Hall element of Tsukahara based on the teachings of Berrill and/or Oyama et al in order to better concentrate magnetic flux to improve detection accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Asami et al. (US 2010/0194798), Nishizawa et al. (US 2020/0230971).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853