DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,490,167 B2 to Gupta et al in-view US 8,904,457 B2 to Sood et al.
As to claim 1, Gupta discloses a meth33od comprising: managing access by a client device to content available on at least one server through a telecommunications network, said content being temporally segmented into a sequence of data chunks (see fig.15, col.21,ll.31-41), said managing being performed by the client device and comprising: receiving a file transmitted by said server the file associating time segments of the sequence of data chunks with data chunk identifiers (see fig.5,9; col.6,ll.64-col.7,ll.20;col.8,ll.21-61 and col.12,ll.13-col.col.13,ll.9).
Gupta fails explicitly discloses selecting by the client device an action among a generation by said client device within said file of at least one chunk identifier associated with a time segment of the sequence of data chunks and a transmission of a request towards said server to receive said file again.
Sood discloses selecting by the client device an action among a generation by said client device within said file of at least one chunk identifier associated with a time segment of the sequence of data chunks and a transmission of a request towards said server to receive said file again (see col10,ll.9-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta with the teaching as taught by Sood in order to controls to respond to user actions and manage playback of a live stream in a non-live mode by seeking to various locations in the manifest and requesting the appropriate media chunks.
As to claim 2, Gupta further discloses wherein the client device displays at least one of the data chunks; and said action is selected based on a comparison of a time interval between a current time and the time segment corresponding to the at least one data chunk being displayed with a threshold (see fig.9; col.11, ll.13-16).
As to claim 3, Gupta further discloses wherein said generation is performed periodically, for a number of time segments corresponding to said period (see col.2,ll.36-52).
As to claim 4, Gupta further discloses wherein said period corresponds to a constant duration of said time segments (see col.2,ll.36-52).
As to claim 5, Sood further discloses wherein the generated identifier is adapted to be determined by said client as not corresponding to said at least one server (see col10,ll.9-21).
As to claim 6, Gupta further discloses in response to the client device detecting the identifier that was generated by the client device within said file, during a preparation of a request for a data chunk, transmitting a request towards said server to receive said file again (see fig.5; col.8,ll.34-61).
As to claim 7, Gupta further discloses comprising the client device displaying a position indicator indicating a position of said time segment which is being displayed based on the chunk identifiers present within said file (see col.5,ll.18-28).
As to claim 8, Gupta further discloses wherein said content is live-streamed content (see fig.1; col.4,ll.41-56).
As to claim 9, Gupta discloses a client (see fig.15) comprising: a processor configured manage access by the client device to content available on at least one server through a telecommunication network said content being temporally segmented in to a sequence of data chuck (see fig.15, col.21,ll.31-41); receiving a file from a content server, the file associating time segment of the sequence of data chunk with data chunk identifiers (see fig.5 and 9; col.6,ll.64-col.7,ll.20; col.8,ll.21-61 and col.12,ll.13-col.col.13,ll.9).
Gupta fails explicitly discloses selecting an action among a generation within said file of at least one chunk identifier associated with a time segment of the sequence of data chunks and a transmission of a request towards said server to receive said file again.
Sood discloses selecting by the client device an action among a generation by said client device within said file of at least one chunk identifier associated with a time segment of the sequence of data chunks and a transmission of a request towards said server to receive said file again (see col10,ll.9-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta with the teaching as taught by Sood in order to controls to respond to user actions and manage playback of a live stream in a non-live mode by seeking to various locations in the manifest and requesting the appropriate media chunks.
As to claim 10, Gupta further discloses a non-transitory computer readable data storage medium on which at least one series of program code instructions has been stored for execution of the method according to claim 1(see fig.1, 14-15; col.4,ll.41-56, col.18,ll.60-col.19,ll.12 and col.21,ll.31-41).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424