DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 1/16/2025 and 6/24/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“mode switching unit” in claim(s) 1 and 24.
“control unit” in claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-14, 16-18 and 24.
“reproduction control unit” in claim(s) 3.
“setting unit” in claim(s) 4.
“selection unit” in claim(s) 4 and 6.
“imaging unit” in claim(s) 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “wherein when the reproduced content is reduced, the control unit increases the reproduced contents in a case where the reproduced content is not enlarged and displayed, and reduces the reproduced content in a case where the reproduced content is enlarged and displayed” which needs further clarification. It is not clear what is being claimed. There are two unclear sub-features (hereinafter “reproduced content” as “X”) are performed when X is reduced:
“the control unit increases the reproduced contents in a case where the reproduced content is not enlarged and displayed” => increase X’s in a case X is reduced => this results in X remaining the same. It is not clear what the purpose of performing this feature is.
“reduces the reproduced content in a case where the reproduced content is enlarged and displayed” => reduce X in a case X is enlarged/increased=> this results in X remaining the same. It is not clear what the purpose of performing this feature is.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the image capture apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-13, 15-17 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu (US 20230333675 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches An image capture apparatus comprising:
a mode switching unit that switches to any of a plurality of operation modes including a shooting mode and a reproduction mode (para. 0043); and
a control unit that controls setting information concerning a display characteristic of content, which is set in the image capture apparatus and a display apparatus connected to the image capture apparatus (para. 0043: “In the reproduction mode, when an enlargement button 207 is pressed in a state where one image is displayed on the display unit 111, the image displayed on the display unit 111 can be displayed in an enlarged manner, and when the enlargement button 207 is pressed a plurality of times, an enlargement magnification of the image increases in accordance with the number of presses”),
wherein when the operation mode of the image capture apparatus is switched from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode,
in a case where the number of reproduced contents in the reproduction mode is one, the control unit controls to change the setting information in accordance with the reproduced content (para. 0043: “In the reproduction mode, when an enlargement button 207 is pressed in a state where one image is displayed on the display unit 111, the image displayed on the display unit 111 can be displayed in an enlarged manner, and when the enlargement button 207 is pressed a plurality of times, an enlargement magnification of the image increases in accordance with the number of presses”), and
in a case where the number of reproduced contents in the reproduction mode is plural, the control unit controls not to change the setting information in accordance with the reproduced contents (para. 0043: “When the reduction button 208 is pressed in a state in which one image is displayed on the display unit 111, so-called index reproduction in which a plurality of reduced images are displayed at once on the display unit 111 is performed. When the reduction button 208 is pressed a plurality of times, the number of images to be displayed at a time increases in accordance with the number of presses” => the magnification of the reproduced images is not changed, but is maintained at the current set setting when the reduction button 208 is not pressed).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where the number of reproduced contents in the reproduction mode is plural, the control unit maintains the already set setting information (para. 0043; the magnification of the reproduced images is not changed or maintained at the current set setting when the reduction button 208 is not pressed).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a reproduction control unit that controls the content reproduced in the reproduction mode, wherein in a case where the operation mode of the image capture apparatus is switched from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode, the reproduction control unit controls to reproduce contents the number of which is equal to the number of reproduced contents at an end of a previous reproduction mode (Fig. 3; para. 0051; S304; maintain the number of displayed items).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a setting unit that sets the number of reproduced contents; and a selection unit that selects the reproduced content (Fig. 3; S304-S308).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the control unit changes the setting information to setting information suitable for the reproduced content in a case where the number of reproduced contents is changed from plural to one in the reproduction mode, and maintains the already set setting information in a case where the number of reproduced contents is changed from one to plural (Fig. 3; paras. 0043, 0051; S304; maintain the number of displayed items when stopping changing it).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein when the reproduced content is changed by the selection unit in the reproduction mode, the control unit changes the setting information to setting information suitable for the reproduced content in a case where the number of reproduced contents is one, and maintains the already set setting information in a case where the number of reproduced contents is plural (Fig. 3; paras. 0043, 0051; S304; maintain the number of displayed items when stopping changing it).
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the control unit transitions to the reproduction mode upon power-on of the image capture apparatus by a predetermined operation member, and controls the setting information in accordance with the reproduced content (Fig. 3; paras. 0030, 0043).
Regarding claim 8, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the predetermined operation member is an operation member that switches the operation mode of the image capture apparatus to the reproduction mode (Fig. 3; paras. 0030, 0043).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the control unit transitions to the reproduction mode upon power-on of the image capture apparatus, and controls the setting information in accordance with the reproduced content (Fig. 3; paras. 0030, 0043).
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the reproduced content is enlarged, the control unit decreases the reproduced contents in a case where the number of reproduced contents is plural, and enlarges the reproduced content in a case where the number of reproduced contents is one (Fig. 3; para. 0043).
Regarding claim 12, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein when the reproduced content is reduced, the control unit increases the reproduced contents in a case where the reproduced content is not enlarged and displayed, and reduces the reproduced content in a case where the reproduced content is enlarged and displayed (Figs. 3, 5; para. 0043).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where the number of reproduced contents is plural and the contents are images, the control unit outputs thumbnails of the images to the display apparatus, and in a case where the number of reproduced contents is one and the content is an image, the control unit outputs the image to the display apparatus (Figs. 3, 5; paras. 0043, 0059).
Regarding claim 15, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the controls unit controls to display, for the reproduced content, information indicating whether the setting information is setting information suitable for the reproduced content (Figs. 3, 5; display a list of images as shown in figs. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
an imaging unit (106) configured to capture an image (Fig. 1),
wherein the control unit outputs the image captured by the imaging unit to the display apparatus in the shooting mode (Figs. 5; paras. 0030-0032).
Regarding claim 17, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the operation mode of the image capture apparatus includes a menu mode of changing settings of the image capture apparatus (para. 0037),
when the operation mode of the image capture apparatus is switched from the menu mode to the reproduction mode, in a case where the number of reproduced contents is one, the control unit changes the setting information in accordance with the reproduced content (para. 0043: “A reproduction button 206 can switch between the camera's image shooting mode and reproduction mode”; “In the reproduction mode, when an enlargement button 207 is pressed in a state where one image is displayed on the display unit 111, the image displayed on the display unit 111 can be displayed in an enlarged manner, and when the enlargement button 207 is pressed a plurality of times, an enlargement magnification of the image increases in accordance with the number of presses”), and
in a case where the number of reproduced contents is plural, the control unit controls not to change the setting information in accordance with the reproduced content (para. 0043: “When the reduction button 208 is pressed in a state in which one image is displayed on the display unit 111, so-called index reproduction in which a plurality of reduced images are displayed at once on the display unit 111 is performed. When the reduction button 208 is pressed a plurality of times, the number of images to be displayed at a time increases in accordance with the number of presses” => the magnification of the reproduced images is not changed, but is maintained at the current set setting when the reduction button 208 is not pressed).
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason above. In addition, Shimizu teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as the image capture apparatus (Fig. 1; paras. 0046, 0106) comprising: (corresponding features as taught in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20230333675 A1) in view of Harumi et al (JP-2842594-B2).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit transitions from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode
But fails to teach
the control unit transitions from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode in response to connection of the display apparatus to the image capture apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor Harumi teaches
the control unit transitions from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode in response to connection of the display apparatus to the image capture apparatus (page 22, line 30: “When the AV connector of the external device is simply connected to the output connector 26, the mode is automatically switched to the reproduction mode. When the AV connector is disconnected, the mode is switched to the recording mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Harumi in Shimizu to have the control unit transitions from the shooting mode to the reproduction mode in response to connection of the display apparatus to the image capture apparatus for automatically shifting to the reproduction mode when connection of the external display is detected improving user experiences yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20230333675 A1) in view of Ishihara et al (US 20170332019 A1) or Nishiguchi et al (US 20190199904 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Shimizu teaches everything as claimed in claim 13. In addition, Shimizu teaches
wherein the image includes one of a still image and a moving image, and
in a case where the number of reproduced contents is one and the content is a still image, the control unit outputs the still image to the display apparatus (para. 0043), and
but fails to teach
in a case where the reproduced content is a moving image, the control unit outputs a first frame of the moving image to the display apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ishihara/Nishiguchi teaches
wherein the image includes one of a still image and a moving image,
in a case where the reproduced content is a moving image, the control unit outputs a first frame of the moving image to the display apparatus (Ishihara: Figs. 2, 6c; para. 0051: “generates a moving image thumbnail (step S113) based on the image data for a first frame among the image data of a plurality of frames constituting the moving image data”; para. 0066: “display controller 76 displays a moving image thumbnail for the short movie (for example, refer to FIG. 6(c)) on the display unit 3 (step S124)” during playback mode; Nishiguchi: fig. 4; paras. 0081-0082: “In S408, the system control unit 50 reads a moving image to be reproduced from the recording medium 200, and displays the first frame of this moving image on the display unit 28”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Ishihara/Nishiguchi in Shimizu to have wherein the image includes one of a still image and a moving image, in a case where the reproduced content is a moving image, the control unit outputs a first frame of the moving image to the display apparatus for making it possible to further intuitively grasp the content and type of the produced content yielding a predicted result.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US 20230333675 A1) in view of Nishiguchi et al (US 20190199904 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Shimizu teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein in a case where the display apparatus is not connected to the image capture apparatus, the control unit outputs the reproduced content to a display unit provided in the image capture apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor Nishiguchi teaches
wherein in a case where the display apparatus is not connected to the image capture apparatus, the control unit outputs the reproduced content to a display unit provided in the image capture apparatus (Figs. 3-4; paras. 0073-0084).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Nishiguchi in Shimizu to have wherein in a case where the display apparatus is not connected to the image capture apparatus, the control unit outputs the reproduced content to a display unit provided in the image capture apparatus for enabling external display when needed improving reproduction functionalities of the camera yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 19, Shimizu teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein a screen of the display apparatus is set in a blackout state while the setting information is changed.
However, in the same field of endeavor Nishiguchi teaches
wherein a screen (1820) of the display apparatus is set in a blackout state while the setting information is changed (Fig. 18A; paras. 0256-0262).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Nishiguchi in Shimizu to have wherein a screen of the display apparatus is set in a blackout state while the setting information is changed for providing a shifting screen allowing the user to grasp what is going on between different states yielding a predicted result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637