DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not adequately describe the organization and operation of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 2017/0191467).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Miller discloses a plurality of kites (S1-S19) connected in a separable manner (via ropes 3, the kites are capable of being connected or removed).
Regarding claim 2:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Miller discloses multiple kites moored to mooring apparatuses (e.g. Fig 2a)
Regarding claim 3:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Miller discloses a kite having a mounted object (sensor; [0111]).
Regarding claim 4:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Miller discloses the kites are mechanically connected (via rope 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (‘467) in view of Magnell (US 2012/0212350).
Miller discloses a power generating system using tethers, but does not disclose an electromagnetic connection.
Magnell teaches a power generating system using electromagnetic tethers to provide power and/or data ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Miller to use an electromagnetic connection as taught by Magnell for the predictable advantage of supplying power and/or data (e.g. sensor data, software updates).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619