DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the tether” in line 2, however it is unclear as to which tether this refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cureton (US 3 494 578).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Cureton discloses a plurality of kites connected via body connection points (as seen in Figs 2-7) in a separable manner (col 4, lines 22-50).
Regarding claim 4:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Cureton discloses the kites are mechanically connected (via tethers and/or joints, e.g. Fig 2A)
Regarding claim 6:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Cureton discloses the first kite connected to a mooring tether (50), and the body of the second kite is configured to utilize the tether as a guide during raising to a position of connection with the first kite (due to the connections).
Regarding claim 7:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Cureton discloses the kites connected via a tether (46) that is different from a mooring tether (50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cureton (US 3 494 578) in view of Miller (US 2017/0191467).
Regarding claims 2 and 3:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Cureton discloses a kite system with a mooring tether, but does not disclose multiple mooring tethers or a kite-mounted object.
Miller discloses multiple kites moored to mooring apparatuses (e.g. Fig 2a), and a kite-mounted object to measure the flight (sensor; [0111]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Cureton to use multiple tethers and an object as taught by Miller for the predictable advantage of ensuring connection to the ground in case of tether failure (e.g. fraying, foreign-object damage, high winds), and to measure and monitor the flight of the system to avoid further damage (e.g. entanglement, collision, etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619