DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 20-22, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Griffith et al. (US 2022/0360211).
Regarding claim 1, Griffith discloses a system (100), comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic modules (110) installed on a roof deck (see Figure 17),
wherein the roof deck is planar (it is disclosed the corrugation can be configured based on intended application to flat roofs or various angles and surfaces; [0085]; see Figure 17),
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes at least a first photovoltaic module (110A) and a second photovoltaic module (110B) (see Figure 8), wherein the first photovoltaic module and the second photovoltaic module are arranged in an array on the roof deck (see Figure 17), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules comprises:
a first end (left side in Figure 3), a second end opposite the first end (right side in Figure 3), and a first location between the first end and the second end (“A” in annotated Figure 3 below);
a first plurality of solar cells (305 first from the left in Figure 3);
a second plurality of solar cells (305 second from the left in Figure 3), wherein the first plurality of solar cells in in electrical connection with the second plurality of solar cells (electrically connected via electrical lines 345; [0051]);
an encapsulant layer (740), wherein the encapsulant layer encapsulates the first plurality of solar cells and the second plurality of solar cells ([0066]; see Figure 7);
a frontsheet (top layer 710), wherein the frontsheet is above an upper surface of the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7);
a backsheet (750), wherein the backsheet is below a lower surface of the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7); and
a first portion (see annotated Figure 3 below where the arrow is pointing) and a second portion (the remaining portion of the backsheet area), wherein the first portion is planar and extends between the first end and the first location (the first portion of the backsheet is planar, as set forth below), wherein the backsheet of the first portion contacts the roof deck (the backsheet of the first portion at least contacts the roof deck at the edge as shown in Figure 17 or is indirectly in contact with the roof deck through base 335), wherein the second portion extends between the first location and the second end (see annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the second portion includes a wireway (wiring 345), wherein the first plurality of solar cells is positioned within the first portion, and wherein the second plurality of solar cells is positioned within the second portion (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Griffith discloses a photovoltaic module (110) comprising:
a first end (left side in Figure 3), a second end opposite the first end (right side in Figure 3), and a first location between the first end and the second end (“A” in annotated Figure 3 below);
a first plurality of solar cells (305 first from the left in Figure 3);
a second plurality of solar cells (305 second from the left in Figure 3), wherein the first plurality of solar cells in in electrical connection with the second plurality of solar cells (electrically connected via electrical lines 345; [0051]);
an encapsulant layer (740), wherein the encapsulant layer encapsulates the first plurality of solar cells and the second plurality of solar cells ([0066]; see Figure 7);
a frontsheet (top layer 710), wherein the frontsheet is above the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7);
a backsheet (substructure 750),
wherein the backsheet is below a lower surface of the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7); and
a first portion (see annotated Figure 3 below where the arrow is pointing) and a second portion (the remaining portion of the backsheet area), wherein the first portion is planar and extends between the first end and the first location (the first portion of the backsheet is planar, as set forth below), wherein the second portion extends between the first location and the second end (see annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the first plurality of solar cells is positioned within the first portion, and wherein the second plurality of solar cells is positioned within the second portion (see Figure 3),
wherein the photovoltaic module is configured to be installed on a planar roof deck (see Figure 17), and
wherein the backsheet of the first portion is configured to contact the planar roof deck (the backsheet of the first portion at least contacts the roof deck at the edge as shown in Figure 17 or is indirectly in contact with the roof deck through base 335).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the backsheet comprises a polymer material (it is disclosed the substructure can be plastic; [0045]).
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the backsheet comprises at least one of a polyolefin elastomer (POE), a dielectric material, a thermoplastic polyolefin (TPO), or a continuous fiber tape (CFT) (plastic is a dielectric material).
Regarding claims 8 and 26, Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the first plurality of solar cells includes at least a first string (540A), wherein the second plurality of solar cells includes at least a second string (540B), wherein the first string extends in a first direction (vertical in Figure 5), wherein the second string extends in a second direction (horizontal in Figure 5), wherein the first direction is different than the second direction (see Figure 5).
Regarding claims 9 and 27, Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (see Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 23, 24 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffith et al. (US 2022/0360211) in view of Gaume et al. (US 2018/0331241).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the frontsheet can comprise various suitable transparent or translucent materials such as plastic, glass, or the like ([0045]), where some embodiments can include polymer and glass variants ([0075]), but the reference does not expressly disclose the frontsheet comprise a polymer layer, and a glass layer, wherein the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer.
Gaume discloses a photovoltaic module (1) comprising a front face (2) composed of glass and/or a polymer material such as ETFE ([0003], [0035], and [0042]-[0043]; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frontsheet of Griffith by utilizing a frontsheet composed of a polymer layer and a glass layer, as taught by Gaume, so that a thinner glass layer can be used and thus, reducing the overall weight of the photovoltaic module ([0104]).
While modified Griffith does not expressly disclose the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer, there is a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for the order of the polymer layer and the glass layer of the frontsheet in the device of modified Griffith, such that the order of the layers is either the polymer layer or the glass layer being juxtaposed to the encapsulant layer. Therefore, absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from the finite number of identified, predictable solutions disclosed above, where the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer in the device of modified Griffith, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, modified Griffith discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Gaume further discloses the polymer layer comprises at least one of an ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE) or a polyolefin elastomer (POE) (as set forth above).
As modified Griffith is not limited to any specific examples of polymer material and as ETFE as a frontsheet in a photovoltaic module were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Gaume above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable polymer material, including ETFE in the device of modified Griffith. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 32, Griffith discloses a system (100), comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic modules (110) installed on a planar roof deck (it is disclosed the corrugation can be configured based on intended application to flat roofs or various angles and surfaces; [0085]; see Figure 17),
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic modules includes at least a first photovoltaic module (110A) and a second photovoltaic module (110B) (see Figure 8), wherein the first photovoltaic module and the second photovoltaic module are arranged in an array on the roof deck (see Figure 17), wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic modules comprises:
a first end (left side in Figure 3), a second end opposite the first end (right side in Figure 3), and a first location between the first end and the second end (“A” in annotated Figure 3 below);
a first plurality of solar cells (305 first from the left in Figure 3);
a second plurality of solar cells (305 second from the left in Figure 3), wherein the first plurality of solar cells in in electrical connection with the second plurality of solar cells (electrically connected via electrical lines 345; [0051]);
an encapsulant layer (740), wherein the encapsulant layer encapsulates the first plurality of solar cells and the second plurality of solar cells ([0066]; see Figure 7);
a frontsheet (top layer 710), wherein the frontsheet is above an upper surface of the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7);
a backsheet (750), wherein the backsheet is below a lower surface of the encapsulant layer (see Figure 7); and
a first portion (see annotated Figure 3 below where the arrow is pointing) and a second portion (the remaining portion of the backsheet area), wherein the first portion is planar and extends between the first end and the first location (the first portion of the backsheet is planar, as set forth below), wherein the backsheet of the first portion contacts the planar roof deck (the backsheet of the first portion at least contacts the roof deck at the edge as shown in Figure 17 or is indirectly in contact with the roof deck through base 335), wherein the second portion is curved and extends between the first location and the second end (see annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the second portion includes a wireway (wiring 345), wherein the first plurality of solar cells is positioned within the first portion, and wherein the second plurality of solar cells is positioned within the second portion (see Figure 3).
Griffith further discloses the frontsheet can comprise various suitable transparent or translucent materials such as plastic, glass, or the like ([0045]), where some embodiments can include polymer and glass variants ([0075]), but the reference does not expressly disclose the frontsheet comprise a polymer layer, and a glass layer, wherein the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer.
Gaume discloses a photovoltaic module (1) comprising a front face (2) composed of glass and/or a polymer material such as ETFE ([0003], [0035], and [0042]-[0043]; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frontsheet of Griffith by utilizing a frontsheet composed of a polymer layer and a glass layer, as taught by Gaume, so that a thinner glass layer can be used and thus, reducing the overall weight of the photovoltaic module ([0104]).
While Griffith does not expressly disclose the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer, there is a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for the order of the polymer layer and the glass layer of the frontsheet in the device of Griffith, such that the order of the layers is either the polymer layer or the glass layer being juxtaposed to the encapsulant layer. Therefore, absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from the finite number of identified, predictable solutions disclosed above, where the glass layer is juxtaposed with the encapsulant layer in the device of Griffith, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Griffith does not disclose a first planar portion and a planar roof deck because the reference discloses solar panels that are corrugated adapted to align with corrugated roofs.
However, the claim has only required the first portion of the backsheet to be planar, which Griffith discloses, as set forth above, and Griffith discloses the roof can be a planar flat roof, as set forth above.
Additionally, Applicant argues any modification to Griffith would change the principle of operation of Griffith according to Figures 20a and 20b. However, the configuration of Griffith in Figures 20a and 20b is not the embodiment relied upon in the prior rejection, such that it is unclear how it is relevant. Further, Figure 17 of Griffith is the embodiment currently relied upon in the above Office Action.
Applicant also argues that Griffith does not teach the claimed subject matter in claims 5 and 32, and withdrawal of the 102 rejection is therefore requested.
However, claim 5 was not previously rejected under 35 USC 102 and claim 32 is new. Interestingly, claims 6, 23, and 24 were not mentioned by Applicant when they were all rejected together with claim 5 previously.
Applicant further argues that Gaume does not remedy the deficiencies of Griffith because it teaches solar elements rather than application of solar elements on a roof. However, it is unclear why Gaume is required to teach application of solar elements on a roof when Gaume was not relied upon to teach that feature since Griffith already teaches the feature. Gaume was relied upon only to teach the configuration of the frontsheet, which is irrelevant to whether or not the solar elements are applied to a roof. Further, Gaume discloses the invention can be used for many applications including on a roof of a building ([0002]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722