DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claim(s) 1—21 have been examined in this application. Claim(s) 21 have been newly added. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Remarks” filed 07/13/2026. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 004/24/2026; 06/09/2026; 08/03/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—5, 10 & 11, 13—15, 17 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea (Kea hereafter) in view of U.S Patent 5,787,523 A to Lindberg (Lindberg hereafter).
As per claim 1, Kea (as modified) teaches:
A method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse (para [0061]), the method comprising: obtaining a used inflatable device (16-Fig.1; para [0061]), the used inflatable device comprising at least one connection mechanism (52-Fig.1; para [0042]) for coupling to a high-friction pad (18-Fig.1; para [0061]);
performing a replacement of an original high-friction pad that was used with the used inflatable device (para [0068]), the replacement including removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device (para [0068]); after removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device(para [0068])
Kea does not teach, removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device; obtaining a replacement body pad; and placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device after removing the original body pad from the used inflatable device.
Lindberg teaches, removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device (2—Fig.1; Col 5 Lines 31—41: parts of replacement body pad 2 are used more than once i.e. replaceable); obtaining a replacement body pad(2—Fig.1; Col 5 Lines 31—41); and placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device after removing the original body pad from the used inflatable device (2—Fig.1: body pad positioned on surface 3 which may be an inflatable device).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide clean unsoiled replaceable body pad that are used more than once can be specially made of high friction parts for the patient as taught in Lindberg (Col 5 Lines 31—41).
As per claim 2, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the replacement of the original high-friction pad further comprises: obtaining a replacement high-friction pad for coupling to the used inflatable device (para [0061]).
As per claim 3, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the at least one connection mechanism is a loop fastener (52-Fig.1; para [0042]).
As per claim 4, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the replacement high-friction pad further comprises a hook fastener configured to couple to the loop fastener (52-Fig.1; para [0042]).
As per claim 5, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: coupling the replacement high-friction pad to the used inflatable device after placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device (52-Fig.1; para [0062]: high friction pad may be coupled to the inflatable device via element 52).
As per claim 10, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device further comprises: detaching the original high-friction pad along a perforated separator (46-Fig.1; para [0062]) configured to divide the original high-friction pad into a first pad section and a second pad section (42 & 44-Fig.1; para [0062]).
As per claim 11, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein detaching the original high-friction pad along the perforated separator further comprises: rolling a patient onto a first side of the patient to expose the first pad section(66-Fig.14; para [0068]); detaching the first pad section from the second pad section along the perforated separator (para [0068]); rolling the patient onto a second side of the patient to expose the second pad section (66-Fig.13; para [0068]); and removing the second pad section (para [0068]).
As per claim 13, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing the replacement high-friction pad by strapping the replacement high-friction pad to a support via a strap coupled to the high- friction pad (13 & 52-Fig.9; para [0042]: strap secured to support 14 via element 13).
As per claim 14, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the replacement high-friction pad comprises a receiver along a lateral side of the replacement high-friction pad configured to receive the strap (54-Fig.1 para [0036]).
As per claim 15, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the strap is configured to couple to an anchor of the support (13-Fig.9; para [0036]).
As per claim 17, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the replacement of the original high-friction pad
further comprises:
rolling a patient onto a first side of the patient to expose a first pad section of the original high-friction pad (66-Fig.14; para [0068]);
detaching the first pad section from a second pad section of the original high-friction pad such that a portion of the original body pad is exposed (para [0068] note removing the high friction pad would allow for another pad to be exposed); rolling the patient onto a second side of the patient such that a portion of the original body pad is exposed (66-Fig.13; para [0068] removing the high friction pad would allow for another pad to be exposed); and removing the second pad section (para [0068]).
As per claim 21, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the replacement of the original high- friction pad further comprises: before removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device (52—Fig.11; para [0068]), disengaging a strap coupled to the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device, the strap being configured to secure the original high-friction pad to the used inflatable device (52—Fig.1; para [0042]).
Claim(s) 6—9 , 16, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of in view of U.S Patent 5,787,523 A to Lindberg in further view of U.S Patent Application 2020/0360216 A1 to Larkin (Larkin hereafter).
As per claim 6, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising: before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the pad (para [0075]).
Kea (as modified) does not teach, [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad in a second lateral direction opposite the first lateral direction.
Larkin teaches: further comprising: before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the replacement body pad by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040]: pad moving in a z-fold in a first direction)
and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad in a second lateral direction opposite the first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040] pad moving in a z-fold in a second direction).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to A method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a foldable pad thereby producing a reduction in steps in a process of assembling the positioning system on the support table for a surgical procedure as taught in Larkin (para [0049]).
As per claim 7, Kea (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 6.
Kea does not teach, wherein the replacement body pad comprises: a first connection mechanism on a bottom surface of the replacement body pad for coupling to the used inflatable device; and a second connection mechanism on the first z-fold and/or the second z-fold for coupling to the replacement high-friction pad, such that the replacement body pad is securely positioned between the used inflatable device and the replacement high-friction pad.
Larkin teaches, wherein the replacement body pad comprises: a first connection mechanism on a bottom surface of the replacement body pad for coupling to the used inflatable device (115-Fig.1; para [0037]); and a second connection mechanism on the first z-fold and/or the second z-fold for coupling to the replacement high-friction pad (146-Fig.1; para [0037]), such that the replacement body pad is securely positioned between the used inflatable device and the replacement high-friction pad (120 & 143-Fig.1: body pad positioned between two structures).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad with a first and second connection mechanism) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
As per claim 8, Kea (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 7.
Kea does not teach wherein the first connection mechanism is a hook fastener configured to couple to a loop fastener of the used inflatable device.
Larkin teaches, wherein the first connection mechanism is a hook fastener (115-Fig.1; para [0037]) configured to couple to a loop fastener of the used inflatable device (115-Fig.1; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad with a first and second connection mechanism) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
As per claim 9, Kea (as modified) teaches: the method of claim 7.
Kea does not teach: wherein the second connection mechanism is a loop fastener configured to couple to a hook fastener of the replacement high-friction pad.
Larkin teaches, wherein the second connection mechanism is a loop fastener (146-Fig.1; para [0037]) configured to couple to a hook fastener of the replacement high-friction pad (146-Fig.1; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device)and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
As per claim 16, Kea (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 2.
Kea does not teach, further comprising before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the replacement body pad; bringing a first connection mechanism coupled to the replacement body pad into engagement with a portion of the used inflatable device; and bringing a second connection mechanism coupled to the replacement body pad into engagement with a portion of the replacement high-friction pad.
Larkin teaches, further comprising before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the replacement body pad (114-Fig.5; para [0040]: pad moving in a z-fold in a first direction); bringing a first connection mechanism coupled to the replacement body pad into engagement with a portion of the used inflatable device (115-Fig.1; para [0037]); and bringing a second connection mechanism coupled to the replacement body pad into engagement with a portion of the replacement high-friction pad (146 & 117-Fig.1; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to A method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a foldable pad thereby producing a reduction in steps in a process of assembling the positioning system on the support table for a surgical procedure as taught in Larkin (para [0049]).
As per claim 19, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: after bringing the second connection mechanism into engagement with the replacement high-friction pad, securing the replacement high-friction pad by strapping the replacement high-friction pad to a support via a strap coupled to the high- friction pad (13 & 52-Fig.9; para [0042]: strap secured to support 14 via element 13).
As per claim 20, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 19, wherein: the replacement high-friction pad comprises a receiver along a lateral side of the replacement high-friction pad configured to receive the strap (54-Fig.1 para [0036]); and the strap is configured to couple to an anchor of the support (13-Fig.9; para [0036]).
Claim(s) 12 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of in view of in view of U.S Patent 5,787,523 A to Lindberg in further view of U.S Patent Application 2005/0091749 A1 to Humbles (Humbles hereafter).
As per claim 12, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing an arm of a patient by wrapping the arm in an arm wrap coupled to the replacement high-friction pad (48-Fig.3; para [0042])
Kea does not teach, the arm wrap including a foam section.
Humbles teaches, the arm wrap including a foam section (10—Fig.3; para [0011]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Lindberg (directed to removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device) and Humbles (directed to a patient support including a foam arm wrap) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad including a foam arm wrap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide cushioning effect for the patient's arms while securing them in place in a position which will not threaten a stretching injury to any nerves within the arm as taught in Humbles (para [0011]).
As per claim 18, Kea (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 16, further comprising: after bringing the second connection mechanism into engagement with the replacement high-friction pad, securing an arm of a patient by wrapping the arm in an arm wrap coupled to the replacement high-friction pad (48-Fig.3; para [0042])
Kea does not teach, the arm wrap including a foam section.
Humbles teaches, the arm wrap including a foam section (10—Fig.3; para [0011]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Humbles (directed to a patient support including a foam arm wrap) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad including a foam arm wrap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide cushioning effect for the patient's arms while securing them in place in a position which will not threaten a stretching injury to any nerves within the arm as taught in Humbles (para [0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg.1—4, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1—5, 10, 11, 13—17, 19 and 20 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of U.S Patent 5,787,523 A to Lindberg.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 04/14/2026, the Applicant argues,
Regarding claim 1, The Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections.
Larkin was cited for teaching "before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the replacement body pad by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040]: pad moving in a z-fold in a first direction) and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad in a second lateral direction opposite the first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040] pad moving in a z-fold in a second direction)." Office Action, p. 9. However, Larkin was not cited for teaching, and does not appear to cure, the deficiencies of Kea with respect to claim 1, as established above. Humbles was cited for teaching a "patient support including a foam arm wrap." Office Action, p. 13. However, Humbles was not cited for teaching, and does not appear to cure, the deficiencies of Kea with respect to claim 1, as established above.
As recited above, the Applicant has amended independent claim 1 as discussed during the Interview. Neither Larkin nor Humbles cure the deficiencies of Kea with respect to independent claim 1. Claims 2-21 depend from claim 1 and are patentable for at least the same reasons as claim 1, even without regard to the further patentable features recited therein. Favorable reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of claims 6-9, 12, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is respectfully requested.
Regarding Claim 21 is new. Claim 21 depends from independent claim 1 and is patentable for at least the same reasons as claim 1, even without regard to the further patentable features recited therein. For example, Kea, Larkin, and Humbles do not appear to disclose or teach "before removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device, disengaging a strap coupled to the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device, the strap being configured to secure the original high-friction pad to the used inflatable device," as recited in claim 21. Favorable consideration and allowance of claim 21 is respectfully requested.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding claim 1, the examiner relies on the teachings of U.S Patent Application
2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of U.S Patent 5,787,523 A to Lindberg. The examiner
highlights that Lindberg teaches the recited body pad of amended claim 1. The examiner
notes that One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a
combination to provide clean unsoiled replaceable body pad that are used more than
once can be specially made of high friction parts for the patient as taught in Lindberg
(Col 5 Lines 31—41).
2) Regarding Claim 21 claim 21 is rejected as presented above.
3)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 09/19/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673