DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 01/17/2025; 04/03/2025; 09/09/2025; 02/04/2026; 02/12/2026; 03/17/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—5, 10 & 11, 13—17, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea (Kea hereafter).
As per claim 1, Kea teaches:
A method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse (para [0061]), the method comprising: obtaining a used inflatable device (16-Fig.1; para [0061]), the used inflatable device comprising at least one connection mechanism (52-Fig.1; para [0042]) for coupling to a high-friction pad (18-Fig.1; para [0061]); and performing a replacement of an original high-friction pad that was used with the used inflatable device (para [0068]).
As per claim 2, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the replacement of the original high-friction pad comprises: removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device (para [0068]); and obtaining a replacement high-friction pad for coupling to the used inflatable device (para [0061]).
As per claim 3, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the at least one connection mechanism is a loop fastener (52-Fig.1; para [0042]).
As per claim 4, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the replacement high-friction pad further comprises a hook fastener configured to couple to the loop fastener (52-Fig.1; para [0042]).
As per claim 5, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device (para [0068]), removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device (62—Fig.2; para [0068]); obtaining a replacement body pad (para [0077]); placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device after removing the original body pad (62-Fig.2; para [0068]); and coupling the replacement high-friction pad to the used inflatable device after placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device (52-Fig.1; para [0062]).
As per claim 10, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device further comprises: detaching the original high-friction pad along a perforated separator (46-Fig.1; para [0062]) configured to divide the original high-friction pad into a first pad section and a second pad section (42 & 44-Fig.1; para [0062]).
As per claim 11, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein detaching the original high-friction pad along the perforated separator further comprises: rolling a patient onto a first side of the patient to expose the first pad section(66-Fig.14; para [0068]); detaching the first pad section from the second pad section along the perforated separator (para [0068]); rolling the patient onto a second side of the patient to expose the second pad section (66-Fig.13; para [0068]); and removing the second pad section (para [0068]).
As per claim 13, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing the replacement high-friction pad by strapping the replacement high-friction pad to a support via a strap coupled to the high- friction pad (13 & 52-Fig.9; para [0042]: strap secured to support 14 via element 13).
As per claim 14, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the replacement high-friction pad comprises a receiver along a lateral side of the replacement high-friction pad configured to receive the strap (54-Fig.1 para [0036]).
As per claim 15, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the strap is configured to couple to an anchor of the support (13-Fig.9; para [0036]).
As per claim 16, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device, removing an original body pad from the used inflatable device (62—Fig.2; para [0068]); obtaining a replacement body pad (para [0077]); placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device after removing the original body pad (62-Fig.2; para [0068]); and coupling the replacement high-friction pad to the used inflatable device after placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device (52-Fig.1; para [0062]); wherein removing the original high-friction pad from the used inflatable device further comprises: detaching the original high-friction pad along a perforated separator (46-Fig.1; para [0062]) configured to divide the original high-friction pad into a first pad section and a second pad section (42 & 44-Fig.1; para [0062]).
As per claim 17, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein detaching the original high-friction pad along the perforated separator further comprises: rolling a patient onto a first side of the patient to expose the first pad section (66-Fig.14; para [0068]); detaching the first pad section from the second pad section along the perforated separator (para [0068]); rolling the patient onto a second side of the patient to expose the second pad section (66-Fig.13; para [0068]); and removing the second pad section (para [0068]).
As per claim 19, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing the replacement high-friction pad by strapping the replacement high-friction pad to a support via a strap coupled to the high- friction pad (13 & 52-Fig.9; para [0042]: strap secured to support 14 via element 13).
As per claim 20, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 19, wherein: the replacement high-friction pad comprises a receiver along a lateral side of the replacement high-friction pad configured to receive the strap (54-Fig.1 para [0036]); and the strap is configured to couple to an anchor of the support (13-Fig.9; para [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6—9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of U.S Patent Application 2020/0360216 A1 to Larkin (Larkin hereafter).
As per claim 6, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising: before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the pad (para [0075]).
Kea does not teach, [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad in a second lateral direction opposite the first lateral direction.
Larkin teaches: further comprising: before placing the replacement body pad on the used inflatable device, unfolding the replacement body pad by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040]: pad moving in a z-fold in a first direction)
and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad in a second lateral direction opposite the first lateral direction (114-Fig.5; para [0040] pad moving in a z-fold in a second direction).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to A method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a foldable pad thereby producing a reduction in steps in a process of assembling the positioning system on the support table for a surgical procedure as taught in Larkin (para [0049]).
As per claim 7, Kea teaches: The method of claim 6.
Kea does not teach, wherein the replacement body pad comprises: a first connection mechanism on a bottom surface of the replacement body pad for coupling to the used inflatable device; and a second connection mechanism on the first z-fold and/or the second z-fold for coupling to the replacement high-friction pad, such that the replacement body pad is securely positioned between the used inflatable device and the replacement high-friction pad.
Larkin teaches, wherein the replacement body pad comprises: a first connection mechanism on a bottom surface of the replacement body pad for coupling to the used inflatable device (115-Fig.1; para [0037]); and a second connection mechanism on the first z-fold and/or the second z-fold for coupling to the replacement high-friction pad (146-Fig.1; para [0037]), such that the replacement body pad is securely positioned between the used inflatable device and the replacement high-friction pad (120 & 143-Fig.1: body pad positioned between two structures).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad with a first and second connection mechanism) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
As per claim 8, Kea teaches: The method of claim 7.
Kea does not teach wherein the first connection mechanism is a hook fastener configured to couple to a loop fastener of the used inflatable device.
Larkin teaches, wherein the first connection mechanism is a hook fastener (115-Fig.1; para [0037]) configured to couple to a loop fastener of the used inflatable device (115-Fig.1; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad with a first and second connection mechanism) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
As per claim 9, Kea (as modified) teaches: the method of claim 7.
Kea does not teach: wherein the second connection mechanism is a loop fastener configured to couple to a hook fastener of the replacement high-friction pad.
Larkin teaches, wherein the second connection mechanism is a loop fastener (146-Fig.1; para [0037]) configured to couple to a hook fastener of the replacement high-friction pad (146-Fig.1; para [0037]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Larkin (directed to [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad) and arrived at including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to operably connect the support table pad to the sheet assembly as taught in Larkin (para [0035]).
Claim(s) 12 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0353360 A1 to Kea in view of U.S Patent Application 2020/0360216 A1 to Larkin (Larkin hereafter).
As per claim 12, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing an arm of a patient by wrapping the arm in an arm wrap coupled to the replacement high-friction pad (48-Fig.3; para [0042])
Kea does not teach, the arm wrap including a foam section.
Humbles teaches, the arm wrap including a foam section (10—Fig.3; para [0011]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Humbles (directed to a patient support including a foam arm wrap) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad including a foam arm wrap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide cushioning effect for the patient's arms while securing them in place in a position which will not threaten a stretching injury to any nerves within the arm as taught in Humbles (para [0011]).
As per claim 18, Kea teaches:
The method of claim 17, further comprising: after replacing the original high-friction pad, securing an arm of a patient by wrapping the arm in an arm wrap coupled to the replacement high-friction pad (48-Fig.3; para [0042])
Kea does not teach, the arm wrap including a foam section.
Humbles teaches, the arm wrap including a foam section (10—Fig.3; para [0011]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Kea (directed to a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse) and Humbles (directed to a patient support including a foam arm wrap) and arrived at a method of preparing a patient positioning system for reuse including [unfolding the replacement body pad] by moving a first z-fold of the replacement body pad in a first lateral direction and a second z-fold of the replacement body pad including a foam arm wrap. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide cushioning effect for the patient's arms while securing them in place in a position which will not threaten a stretching injury to any nerves within the arm as taught in Humbles (para [0011]).
Conclusion
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 04/08/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673