DETAILED ACTION
Clarity of the Record - Claim Interpretation
Each claim has been reviewed for potentially invoking a 112(f) means plus function interpretation of the claims language. In this instance the term ‘terminal device’ is considered equivalent to a term such as ‘user equipment’ wherein the term has an understood association to one of ordinary skill in the art and is not attempting to invoke 112(f). MPEP 2181.
Clarity of the Record – Contingent Limitations
Each claim has been reviewed in light of MPEP 2111.04(II) and 2143.03 for the appropriate consideration and patentable weight with regards to contingent limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 11 and 15 of copending Application No. 19173014 (US Pub 20250240760) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the current claims indicated is encompassed in the scope of the co-pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is encompassed by claims 1 and 10 of the ‘014 application
Claim 11 is encompassed by claims 11 and 15 of the ‘014 application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keating (US Pub 20220295225).
Re claim 1, Keating discloses a position measurement method, comprising:
Starting (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154), by a terminal device (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 - UE), global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurement (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 -utilize GNSS to obtain a new location estimate) and/or a timer related to GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 111, 143, 151, 154 – validate timer) in a case that a GNSS position is invalid (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 – location has changed, location is determined to be invalid).
Re claim 11, Keating discloses a terminal device (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 - UE), comprising: a processor (Fig 2 el 120), configured to start GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 -utilize GNSS to obtain a new location estimate) and/or start a timer related to GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 111, 143, 151, 154 – validate timer) in a case that a GNSS position is invalid (Fig 4 el 218-222, Par 143, 151, 154 – location has changed, location is determined to be invalid).
Re claim 4, Keating discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the terminal device completes the GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218, 222-224; Par 143, 151, 154), transmitting, by the terminal device, a notification message (Fig 4 el 218, 222-224; Par 143, 151, 154), wherein the notification message is used to notify a network device that the terminal device has completed the GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218, 222-224; Par 143, 151, 154).
Re claim 14, Keating discloses the terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the terminal device further comprises: a transmitter, configured to transmit a notification message in a case that the terminal device completes the GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218, 222-224; Par 143, 151, 154), wherein the notification message is used to notify a network device that the terminal device has completed the GNSS measurement (Fig 4 el 218, 222-224; Par 143, 151, 154).
Re claim 10, Keating discloses the method according to claim 1,and further discloses wherein duration of the timer is configured by a network device (Fig 4 el 204; Par 111-112, 204 – PUR configurations include timer settings).
Re claim 20, Keating disclose the terminal device according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein duration of the timer is configured by a network device (Fig 4 el 204; Par 111-112, 204 – PUR configurations include timer settings).
Claim 5 is rejected in light of the rejection to claim 1, as claim 5 recites a contingent limitation that would not be required to perform the method in the scenario where the terminal starts a GNSS measurement procedure, and in giving weight to the ‘or’ limitation, does not start a timer. Therefore, limitations that require the start of the time as the active method step would not be necessary to complete the method as claimed. See MPEP 2111.04(II) and 2143.03
Claim 6 is rejected in light of the rejection to claim 1, as claim 6 [dependent from claim 5] recites a contingent limitation that would not be required to perform the method in the scenario where the terminal starts a GNSS measurement procedure, and in giving weight to the ‘or’ limitation, does not start a timer. Therefore, limitations that require the start of the time as the active method step would not be necessary to complete the method as claimed. See MPEP 2111.04(II) and 2143.03
Claim 8 is rejected in light of the rejection to claim 1, as claim 8 [dependent from claim 5] recites a contingent limitation that would not be required to perform the method in the scenario where the terminal starts a GNSS measurement procedure, and in giving weight to the ‘or’ limitation, does not start a timer. Therefore, limitations that require the start of the time as the active method step would not be necessary to complete the method as claimed. See MPEP 2111.04(II) and 2143.03
Claim 9 is rejected in light of the rejection to claim 1, as claim 9 recites a contingent limitation that would not be required to perform the method in the scenario where the terminal starts a GNSS measurement procedure, and in giving weight to the ‘or’ limitation, does not start a timer. Therefore, limitations that require the start of the time as the active method step would not be necessary to complete the method as claimed. See MPEP 2111.04(II) and 2143.03
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating (US Pub 20220295225) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of MediaTek (herein after MT)(NPL “Summary #7 of AI 8.15.1 Enhancements to time and frequency synchronization”, see IDS).
Re claim 3, Keating discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: releasing, by the terminal device, radio resource control (RRC) connection to return to an RRC idle state in a case that the timer has expired and the terminal device has not completed GNSS measurement.
This design is however disclosed by MT. MT discloses releasing, by the terminal device, radio resource control (RRC) connection to return to an RRC idle state (Page 9 “UE goes to RRC_idle…”) in a case that the timer has expired and the terminal device has not completed GNSS measurement (Page 9 “UE goes to RRC_idle…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Keating in order to incorporate the idle considerations of MT based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance returning the device to an idle state prevents prolonged resource consumption or communication attempts using outdated or incorrect data in the event that the system cannot reestablish updated and accurate data within the provided timing constraints.
Re claim 13, Keating discloses the terminal device according to claim 11, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to release radio resource control (RRC) connection to return to an RRC idle state in a case that the timer has expired and the terminal device has not completed GNSS measurement.
This design is however disclosed by MT. MT discloses wherein the processor is further configured to release radio resource control (RRC) connection to return to an RRC idle state (Page 9 “UE goes to RRC_idle…”) in a case that the timer has expired and the terminal device has not completed GNSS measurement (Page 9 “UE goes to RRC_idle…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Keating in order to incorporate the idle considerations of MT based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance returning the device to an idle state prevents prolonged resource consumption or communication attempts using outdated or incorrect data in the event that the system cannot reestablish updated and accurate data within the provided timing constraints.
Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating (US Pub 20220295225) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Han (CN 115175226(A), translation provided by applicant, see IDS).
Re claim 2, Keating discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: performing the GNSS measurement during running of the timer in a case that the terminal device starts the GNSS measurement and starts the timer.
This design is however disclosed by Han. Han discloses wherein the method further comprises: performing the GNSS measurement during running of the timer (Par 85 and 91) in a case that the terminal device starts the GNSS measurement and starts the timer (Par 85 and 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Han in order to incorporate the timer considerations of Han based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance applying a timing constraint to the measurement processing ensures a protection and efficient use of resources by allowing consideration and response to scenarios where a corrected position measurement cannot be adequately acquired in a reasonable or efficient amount of time.
Re claim 7, the combined disclosure of Keating and Han as a whole discloses the method according to claim 2, Han further discloses wherein a condition for starting the timer comprises at least one of following: the GNSS position is invalid (Par 28, 31, 75); or it is determined, based on a closed-loop timing advance (TA) adjustment mechanism (Par 107-110) and/or a closed-loop frequency offset adjustment mechanism (Par 107-110), that uplink out-of-synchronization occurs on the terminal device (Par 107-113).
Re claim 12, Keating discloses the terminal device according to claim 11, but fails however to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to perform the GNSS measurement during running of the timer in a case that the GNSS measurement and the timer are started.
This design is however disclosed by Han. Han discloses wherein the processor is further configured to perform the GNSS measurement during running of the timer (Par 85 and 91) in a case that the GNSS measurement and the timer are started (Par 85 and 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Han in order to incorporate the timer considerations of Han based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance applying a timing constraint to the measurement processing ensures a protection and efficient use of resources by allowing consideration and response to scenarios where a corrected position measurement cannot be adequately acquired in a reasonable or efficient amount of time.
Re claim 17, the combined disclosure of Keating and Han as a whole discloses the terminal device according to claim 12, Han further discloses wherein a condition for the processor to start the timer comprises at least one of following: the GNSS position is invalid (Par 28, 31, 75); or it is determined, based on a closed-loop timing advance (TA) adjustment mechanism (Par 107-110) and/or a closed-loop frequency offset adjustment mechanism (Par 107-110), that uplink out-of-synchronization occurs on the terminal device (Par 107-113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the above cited claims. Re claims 15 and 19 the prior art fails to disclose the specified timer functionality and the associated reception of a measurement command.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R NEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631