DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-017800, filed on 02/08/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naganuma et al. (US Patent Publication 2008/0115998) in view of Hara et al. (US 2020/0062135) and Amsz et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0281305).
a. Regarding claim 1, Naganuma teaches fuel cell electric vehicle 10 [As shown in FIG. 1, the fuel cell-equipped bus 10 [0031]] comprising frame 24 fixed on roof 10a [As shown in FIG. 2, the fuel cell-equipped bus 10 includes, on a roof 10 a in the upper portion, the seven hydrogen cylinders 18 fastened by metal belts 26, a roof cover 30 that forms a cylinder housing space that houses the hydrogen cylinders 18 [0032]] and gas fuel tank 18 mounted on frame 24 such that a longitudinal direction of gas fuel tank 18 lies along the vehicle width direction [fuel cell-equipped bus 10 includes seven hydrogen cylinders 18 as gas fuel tanks in an upper portion thereof [0031]; hydrogen cylinders 18 are cylindrical containers containing high pressure hydrogen gas of several ten MPa (for example, 35 MPa), and placed to span a pair of rails 24 and 24 extending in a longitudinal direction on the right and left of the roof 10 a [0033]], gas fuel tank 18 having valve unit 18a which is attached to an end, in the longitudinal direction, of gas fuel tank 18 [on-off valve 18 a of the hydrogen cylinder 18 is placed near the gaps 47 and 48 on the roadway side of the fuel cell-equipped bus 10 [0036]] and valve unit 18a protrudes further outward in the vehicle width direction than frame 24 [As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3].
Naganuma does not specifically teach a high voltage cable routed along the frame in the vehicle longitudinal direction.
Hara teaches high voltage cable 36 routed along frame 91 in the vehicle longitudinal direction [The power unit 34 is electrically connected to the fuel cell stack 92 by a power cable 36. The power cable 36 is disposed along the vehicle longitudinal direction in the gap between the hydrogen tank case 91 and the center side member 14A (see FIG. 3) [0037]] for the purpose of providing a fuel cell vehicle power cable connecting the power unit and fuel cell along an available longitudinal space adjacent the hydrogen fuel tank support structure, while efficiently using the rooftop space and protecting the cable from interference with the tanks.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma to include a high voltage cable routed along the frame in the vehicle longitudinal direction as taught by Hara because doing so would have provided a fuel cell vehicle having hydrogen tanks on a roof with a power cable connecting the power unit and fuel cell disposed along the vehicle longitudinal direction in a gap between the frame that houses the hydrogen tanks so that the devices that generate, control, and use electric power are disposed along the flow of the electric current.
Naganuma in view of Hara does not specifically teach a high voltage cable routed in the vehicle longitudinal direction, a bracket attached to the frame extending outward in the vehicle width direction from the frame and configured to support the high voltage cable at the outside of the frame; the bracket is bent and deformed toward the inside in the vehicle width direction when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, to store the high-voltage cable in a region located inward of an outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction.
Amsz teaches high voltage cable 13, 14 routed along in the vehicle longitudinal direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed; lines 13, 14 here extend substantially in the vehicle longitudinal direction (x-direction) [0022]] bracket 11 attached to frame 8 extending outward in the vehicle width direction from frame 8 and configured to support high voltage cable 13, 14 at the outside of frame 8 [holding installation 11 with at least one holding element by which a construction element in the form of an electrical line 13, 14 in the region of the crash zone is held in a fixed position between a rocker panel 1 and an energy-store installation 8 disposed inwardly from the latter [0019]], bracket 11 is bent and deformed toward the inside in the vehicle width direction when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, to store high-voltage cable 13, 14 in a region located inward [FIG. 2 in a further fragmented and schematic sectional view analogous to that of FIG. 1 shows the component assembly of the respective lines or construction elements 13, 14, respectively, in the region of the crash zone C within the rocker panel 1 that in the present case, as a result of a side impact, a bollard impact or the like, has been deformed, and in particular deformed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) while absorbing impact energy [0026]; It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 [0027]] for the purpose of providing for preventing damage to the cable when a load is applied to the cable from one of the longitudinal directions of the fuel cell vehicle due to a collision by means of a bracket that deforms upon impact to permit the cable to escape into an internal space that still remains after the collision.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara to include a high voltage cable routed in the vehicle longitudinal direction, a bracket attached to the frame extending outward in the vehicle width direction from the frame and configured to support the high voltage cable at the outside of the frame; the bracket is bent and deformed toward the inside in the vehicle width direction when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, to store the high-voltage cable in a region located inward of an outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided protection of a high-voltage cable during deformation of a bracket deliberately configured to plastically bend inward under a laterally applied impact so that the bracket bends and absorbs collision loading to permit the high voltage cable to escape into an internal space that still remains after the collision.
Because Naganuma’s valve unit 18a defines a laterally projecting rigid component at the outer side of the rooftop assembly, the predictable protected direction for cable displacement is inward, away from a laterally applied impact and behind the valve unit’s outermost surface. Configuring the bracket’s deformation direction and bending geometry so that the supported cable moves inward of the outer end surface of valve unit 18a would have amounted to selecting the known controlled yield direction taught by Amsz according to Naganuma’s rooftop tank assembly.
b. Regarding claim 2, Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz teaches (references to Naganuma) the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 1 wherein gas fuel tank 18 is mounted on frame 24 fixed on roof 10a [As shown in FIG. 2, the fuel cell-equipped bus 10 includes, on a roof 10 a in the upper portion, the seven hydrogen cylinders 18 fastened by metal belts 26, a roof cover 30 that forms a cylinder housing space that houses the hydrogen cylinders 18 [0032]] and valve unit 18a attached to an end in the longitudinal direction of gas fuel tank 18 [on-off valve 18 a of the hydrogen cylinder 18 is placed near the gaps 47 and 48 on the roadway side of the fuel cell-equipped bus 10 [0036]] protrudes further outward in the vehicle width direction than frame 24 [As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3].
Amsz teaches bracket 11 supports high voltage cable 13,14 [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed; lines 13, 14 here extend substantially in the vehicle longitudinal direction (x-direction) [0022]] and bracket 11 is bent and deformed toward the inside in the vehicle width direction when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, to store high voltage cable 13, 14 in the region located inward in the vehicle width direction [FIG. 2 in a further fragmented and schematic sectional view analogous to that of FIG. 1 shows the component assembly of the respective lines or construction elements 13, 14, respectively, in the region of the crash zone C within the rocker panel 1 that in the present case, as a result of a side impact, a bollard impact or the like, has been deformed, and in particular deformed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) while absorbing impact energy [0026]; It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 [0027]] for the purpose of providing for preventing damage to the cable when a load is applied to the cable from one of the longitudinal directions of the fuel cell vehicle due to a collision by means of a bracket that deforms upon impact to permit the cable to escape into an internal space that still remains after the collision.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified bracket taught by Naganuma, Hara, and Amsz so that, upon inward deformation and collision-induced cable movement taught by Amsz, the high-voltage cable is relocated into the protected space available within the rooftop tank structure above rails 24, inward of valve unit 18a, and below the lower end of valve unit 18a because doing so merely places the cable in the available protected space thereby reducing the likelihood that the cable will contact the projecting valve during a side impact.
c. Regarding claim 3, Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz teaches teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 1.
Amsz teaches bracket 11 comprises a fixing portion 16 fixed to an outer surface of frame 8 in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 in the present case comprises on the motor vehicle a holding region 16 which, as described above, is fastened to the external wall 15 of the storage housing 10 [0023]], a bent portion 19 bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an end of fixing portion 16 [regions 19, 20 that are in each case angular between the respective holding regions 16, 17 and the flexurally rigid central region 18 are presently designed in a correspondingly pliable manner [0023]], and an L-shaped cable support portion 17, 20 that is connected to an outer side of bent portion 19 in the vehicle width direction configured to hold high-voltage cable 13, 14 on an outer side in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]], and when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, cable support portion 17, 20 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about bent portion 19 to store high voltage cable 13, 14 in the region located inward in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Although the holding element of AMSZ is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the supported electrical lines and the supporting vehicle structure, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation. The holding element would continue to support the electrical lines while undergoing controlled deformation to relocate the lines during a collision.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the bracket fixing portion fixed to an outer surface of the frame in the vehicle width direction, a bent portion bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an upper end of the fixing portion, and an L-shaped cable support portion connected to an outer side of the bent portion in the vehicle width direction, that extends upward, and is configured to hold the high-voltage cable on an outer side in the vehicle width direction of an upper portion and when an impact force is applied from the outside the cable support portion is pivoted inwardly about the bent portion to store the cable inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
d. Regarding claim 4, Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz teaches teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 2.
Amsz teaches bracket 11 comprises a fixing portion 16 fixed to an outer surface of frame 8 in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 in the present case comprises on the motor vehicle a holding region 16 which, as described above, is fastened to the external wall 15 of the storage housing 10 [0023]], a bent portion 19 bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an end of fixing portion 16 [regions 19, 20 that are in each case angular between the respective holding regions 16, 17 and the flexurally rigid central region 18 are presently designed in a correspondingly pliable manner [0023]], and an L-shaped cable support portion 17, 20 that is connected to an outer side of bent portion 19 in the vehicle width direction configured to hold high-voltage cable 13, 14 on an outer side in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]], and when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, cable support portion 17, 20 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about bent portion 19 to store high voltage cable 13, 14 in the region located inward in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Although the holding element of AMSZ is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the supported electrical lines and the supporting vehicle structure, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation. The holding element would continue to support the electrical lines while undergoing controlled deformation to relocate the lines during a collision.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the bracket fixing portion fixed to an outer surface of the frame in the vehicle width direction, a bent portion bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an upper end of the fixing portion, and an L-shaped cable support portion connected to an outer side of the bent portion in the vehicle width direction, that extends upward, and is configured to hold the high-voltage cable on an outer side in the vehicle width direction of an upper portion and when an impact force is applied from the outside the cable support portion is pivoted inwardly about the bent portion to store the cable inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
5. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naganuma et al. (US Patent Publication 2008/0115998) in view of Hara et al. (US 2020/0062135), Amsz et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0281305), and Eichinger et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0379708).
a. Regarding claim 5, Naganuma in view of Hara, and Amsz teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 1.
Amsz teaches bracket 11 comprises fixing portion 16 fixed to an outer surface of frame 8 in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 in the present case comprises on the motor vehicle a holding region 16 which, as described above, is fastened to the external wall 15 of the storage housing 10 [0023]], bent portion 19 bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an end of fixing portion 16 [regions 19, 20 that are in each case angular between the respective holding regions 16, 17 and the flexurally rigid central region 18 are presently designed in a correspondingly pliable manner [0023]], L-shaped cable support portion 17, 20 connected to an outer side of bent portion 19 in the vehicle width direction configured to hold high voltage cable 13,14 on an outer side in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]], cable support portion 17, 20 comprises lateral plate 20 connected to bent portion 19 and extending in the vehicle width direction, and vertical plate 17 extending from lateral plate 20 [pliable region 19, 20 being connected with the respective holding region 16 on the motor vehicle and the holding region 17 on the construction element [0023]] and configured to hold high-voltage cable 13, 14 on an outer side portion in a vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]] and when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, the first half portion is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about a boundary between the first half portion and the second half portion, to store at least a portion of high-voltage cable 13, 14 between the surface of frame 8 and the end of the valve unit and in the region located inward in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Although the holding element of Amsz is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the supported electrical lines and the supporting vehicle structure, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation. The holding element would continue to support the electrical lines while undergoing controlled deformation to relocate the lines during a collision.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the bracket fixing portion fixed to an outer surface of the frame, a bent portion bent outwardly from an upper end of the fixing portion, an L-shaped cable support portion connected to an outer side of the bent portion extending upward and configured to hold the high voltage cable on an outer side of an upper portion, the cable support portion that comprises a lateral plate connected to the bent portion, a vertical plate extending upward from the lateral plate to hold the high-voltage cable on an outer side of an upper portion, and when an impact force is applied from the outside, the upper half portion is pivoted inwardly about a boundary between the upper half portion and the lower half portion, to store at least a portion of the high-voltage cable between the upper surface of the frame and the lower end of the valve unit and in the region located inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz does not specifically teach the thickness of the upper half of the vertical plate is smaller than the thickness of the lower half.
Eichinger teaches the thickness of upper half 4 of vertical plate 2 is smaller than the thickness of lower half 3 [FIG. 6 shows in a lateral view an alternative further embodiment of a motor vehicle battery 1 according to the invention, wherein the holder 2 there is presented, as in FIG. 5, in a starting state 32 and in a bent-over state 33 indicated by dotted line. As in the preceding exemplary embodiment, the holder 2 or the holding portion 5 of the holder 2 has a chamfer 27 on a free front portion 26 that is distant from the bending portion 3 facing away with respect to the side shell surface 12 of the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1. In contrast with the preceding exemplary embodiment, the present chamfer 27 however is realised by a wall thickness of the second holding portion 5 of the holder 2 decreasing from the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1 towards the front portion 26. Thus, this holding portion 5 is thinner at its free end than at its housing-side root [0039]] for the purpose of providing a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the thickness of the upper half of the vertical plate that is smaller than the thickness of the lower half as taught by Eichinger because doing so would have provided a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
b. Regarding claim 6, Naganuma in view of Hara, and Amsz teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 2.
Amsz teaches bracket 11 comprises fixing portion 16 fixed to an outer surface of frame 8 in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 in the present case comprises on the motor vehicle a holding region 16 which, as described above, is fastened to the external wall 15 of the storage housing 10 [0023]], bent portion 19 bent outwardly in the vehicle width direction from an end of fixing portion 16 [regions 19, 20 that are in each case angular between the respective holding regions 16, 17 and the flexurally rigid central region 18 are presently designed in a correspondingly pliable manner [0023]], L-shaped cable support portion 17, 20 connected to an outer side of bent portion 19 in the vehicle width direction configured to hold high voltage cable 13,14 on an outer side in the vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]], cable support portion 17, 20 comprises lateral plate 20 connected to bent portion 19 and extending in the vehicle width direction, and vertical plate 17 extending from lateral plate 20 [pliable region 19, 20 being connected with the respective holding region 16 on the motor vehicle and the holding region 17 on the construction element [0023]] and configured to hold high-voltage cable 13, 14 on an outer side portion in a vehicle width direction [holding installation 11 having at least one holding element 12 by means of which in the present exemplary embodiment two construction elements in the form of electrical high-voltage lines and/or media lines for the energy-store installation 8 are disposed [0022]; lines 13, 14 in the present case are received in a receptacle 21 [0028]] and when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction, the first half portion is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about a boundary between the first half portion and the second half portion, to store at least a portion of high-voltage cable 13, 14 between the surface of frame 8 and the end of the valve unit and in the region located inward in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Although the holding element of Amsz is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the supported electrical lines and the supporting vehicle structure, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation. The holding element would continue to support the electrical lines while undergoing controlled deformation to relocate the lines during a collision.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the bracket fixing portion fixed to an outer surface of the frame, a bent portion bent outwardly from an upper end of the fixing portion, an L-shaped cable support portion connected to an outer side of the bent portion extending upward and configured to hold the high voltage cable on an outer side of an upper portion, the cable support portion that comprises a lateral plate connected to the bent portion, a vertical plate extending upward from the lateral plate to hold the high-voltage cable on an outer side of an upper portion, and when an impact force is applied from the outside, the upper half portion is pivoted inwardly about a boundary between the upper half portion and the lower half portion, to store at least a portion of the high-voltage cable between the upper surface of the frame and the lower end of the valve unit and in the region located inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz does not specifically teach the thickness of the upper half of the vertical plate is smaller than the thickness of the lower half.
Eichinger teaches the thickness of upper half 4 of vertical plate 2 is smaller than the thickness of lower half 3 [FIG. 6 shows in a lateral view an alternative further embodiment of a motor vehicle battery 1 according to the invention, wherein the holder 2 there is presented, as in FIG. 5, in a starting state 32 and in a bent-over state 33 indicated by dotted line. As in the preceding exemplary embodiment, the holder 2 or the holding portion 5 of the holder 2 has a chamfer 27 on a free front portion 26 that is distant from the bending portion 3 facing away with respect to the side shell surface 12 of the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1. In contrast with the preceding exemplary embodiment, the present chamfer 27 however is realised by a wall thickness of the second holding portion 5 of the holder 2 decreasing from the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1 towards the front portion 26. Thus, this holding portion 5 is thinner at its free end than at its housing-side root [0039]] for the purpose of providing a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara and Amsz to include the thickness of the upper half of the vertical plate that is smaller than the thickness of the lower half as taught by Eichinger because doing so would have provided a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
c. Regarding claim 7, Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 5.
Eichinger teaches upper half portion 4 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about the boundary between upper half portion 4 and lower half portion 3 when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction [FIG. 6 shows in a lateral view an alternative further embodiment of a motor vehicle battery 1 according to the invention, wherein the holder 2 there is presented, as in FIG. 5, in a starting state 32 and in a bent-over state 33 indicated by dotted line. As in the preceding exemplary embodiment, the holder 2 or the holding portion 5 of the holder 2 has a chamfer 27 on a free front portion 26 that is distant from the bending portion 3 facing away with respect to the side shell surface 12 of the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1. In contrast with the preceding exemplary embodiment, the present chamfer 27 however is realised by a wall thickness of the second holding portion 5 of the holder 2 decreasing from the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1 towards the front portion 26. Thus, this holding portion 5 is thinner at its free end than at its housing-side root [0039]] for the purpose of providing a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
Although the bracket of Eichinger is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the upper and lower half portions, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger to include the upper half portion pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about the boundary between upper and lower half portions when an impact force is applied from the outside as taught by Eichinger because doing so would have provided for ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Amsz teaches cable support portion 17, 20 including the lower half portion and lateral plate 20 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about bent portion 19 and high voltage cable 13, 14 is stored between the upper surface of frame 8 and the lower end of the valve unit in the region located inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Because Naganuma’s valve unit 18a defines a laterally projecting rigid component at the outer side of the rooftop assembly, the predictable protected direction for cable displacement is inward, away from a laterally applied impact and behind the valve unit’s outermost surface. Configuring the bracket’s deformation direction and bending geometry so that the supported cable moves inward of the outer end surface of valve unit 18a would have amounted to selecting the known controlled yield direction taught by Amsz according to Naganuma’s rooftop tank assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger to include the lower half portion and lateral plate pivoted inwardly about the bent portion and the high voltage cable stored between the upper surface of the frame and lower end of the valve unit inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
d. Regarding claim 8, Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger teaches the fuel cell electric vehicle according to claim 6.
Eichinger teaches upper half portion 4 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about the boundary between upper half portion 4 and lower half portion 3 when an impact force is applied from the outside in the vehicle width direction [FIG. 6 shows in a lateral view an alternative further embodiment of a motor vehicle battery 1 according to the invention, wherein the holder 2 there is presented, as in FIG. 5, in a starting state 32 and in a bent-over state 33 indicated by dotted line. As in the preceding exemplary embodiment, the holder 2 or the holding portion 5 of the holder 2 has a chamfer 27 on a free front portion 26 that is distant from the bending portion 3 facing away with respect to the side shell surface 12 of the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1. In contrast with the preceding exemplary embodiment, the present chamfer 27 however is realised by a wall thickness of the second holding portion 5 of the holder 2 decreasing from the housing 9 of the motor vehicle battery 1 towards the front portion 26. Thus, this holding portion 5 is thinner at its free end than at its housing-side root [0039]] for the purpose of providing a plate thickness variation such that the free end has a smaller thickness than the portion adjacent the bending portion, thereby ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique.
Although the bracket of Eichinger is oriented opposite to the claimed bracket with respect to the upper and lower half portions, reversing or inverting the orientation of the bracket constitutes merely a reversal of parts that does not change the bracket's structure or its principle of operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger to include the upper half portion pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about the boundary between upper and lower half portions when an impact force is applied from the outside as taught by Eichinger because doing so would have provided for ensuring bending at the desired location under an applied load and thereby improved protection of the supported high-voltage cable while achieving the predictable result of controlled crash deformation using a known structural technique and since it has been held that mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Amsz teaches cable support portion 17, 20 including the lower half portion and lateral plate 20 is pivoted inwardly in the vehicle width direction about bent portion 19 and high voltage cable 13, 14 is stored between the upper surface of frame 8 and the lower end of the valve unit in the region located inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit in the vehicle width direction [It can be seen from viewing FIGS. 1 and 2 in combination here that the respective holding element 12 as a result of the impingement by the force caused by the accident—by means of the collision force F—in the present case with the facilitation of the rocker panel 1 has been relocated from the fixed position according to FIG. 1 to the diverted position according to FIG. 2 in such a manner that the lines 13, 14, when viewed in the vehicle transverse direction (y-direction) are now situated at least substantially below the storage housing 10 and the energy-store installation 8 (or at least substantially in the installation space limits B) [0027]] for the purpose of providing controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Because Naganuma’s valve unit 18a defines a laterally projecting rigid component at the outer side of the rooftop assembly, the predictable protected direction for cable displacement is inward, away from a laterally applied impact and behind the valve unit’s outermost surface. Configuring the bracket’s deformation direction and bending geometry so that the supported cable moves inward of the outer end surface of valve unit 18a would have amounted to selecting the known controlled yield direction taught by Amsz according to Naganuma’s rooftop tank assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Naganuma in view of Hara, Amsz, and Eichinger to include the lower half portion and lateral plate pivoted inwardly about the bent portion and the high voltage cable stored between the upper surface of the frame and lower end of the valve unit inward of the outer end surface of the valve unit as taught by Amsz because doing so would have provided controlled deformation of the bracket to relocate and protect the supported high-voltage cable during an external impact.
Conclusion
/J. R. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612