DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-4 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim of priority for foreign application JP2024-017857, filed 02/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang of KR20160099261A, published 08/22/2016, hereinafter “Yang”, in view of Oremus of DE 102016012465 A1, published 05/04/2017, hereinafter “Oremus”.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches:
A displaying control apparatus comprising an electronic control unit which displays an economy level image by a displaying device (See at least Figs. 2-3 & [0015]: “…an eco guide display device within a vehicle cluster…”)
the economy level image indicating an economy level showing a level of a low energy consumption to move an own vehicle, (See at least [0020-0021]: “Here, the eco section represents a section consisting of the ratio of the required power to the maximum power that the vehicle can produce. At this time, the maximum value of the eco section is preferably 30% as the initial setting value. That is, even if the distance between vehicles exceeds 100m, the eco zone is maintained at 0 to 30%. This is as illustrated in Fig. 2. In Figure 2, '210' represents the eco section, '220' represents the normal section, and '230' represents the danger section. Here, the echo interval (210) represents an initial setting value (0 to 30%). In this case, '210' to '230' are referred to as eco guides.”)
the electronic control unit being configured to: (See at least [0023]: “Next, the distance measuring unit (20) can be implemented, for example, as a radar (radio detecting and ranging) sensor and measures the distance from a preceding vehicle traveling in the same lane”)
acquire an evaluation value corresponding to the acquired value of the at least one environmental parameter; (See at least [0026]: “In particular, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (30) to display an echo section corresponding to the distance between vehicles measured by the distance between vehicles measuring unit (20) based on a table stored in the storage unit (10)”)
acquire the economy level based on the acquired evaluation value; and (See at least Figs. 2-3 & [0031-0033]: “First, the storage unit (10) stores a table in which the echo sections for each vehicle distance are recorded (401). Afterwards, the distance measuring unit (20) measures the distance from the preceding vehicle traveling in the same lane (402). Afterwards, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (30) to display an echo section corresponding to the distance between vehicles measured by the distance between vehicles measuring unit (20) based on the table stored in the storage unit (10) (403)” & [0021]: “…In Figure 2, '210' represents the eco section, '220' represents the normal section, and '230' represents the danger section. Here, the echo interval (210) represents an initial setting value (0 to 30%)…”. See also [0028-0030] regarding changing the size of the eco section.)
display the economy level image indicating the acquired economy level by the displaying device, (See at least Figs. 2-3 & [0034]: “Afterwards, the display unit (30) displays an eco guide within the vehicle's cluster (404). In other words, it displays an eco guide with adjusted lengths for the eco section and the normal section.”)
wherein a first evaluation value which is the evaluation value corresponding to the value of the at least one environmental parameter which is equal to or smaller than a predetermined switching threshold, and a second evaluation value which is the evaluation value corresponding to the value of the at least one environmental parameter which is greater than the predetermined switching threshold, are different values, and (See at least [0028-0029]: “For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2” & [0031]: “First, the storage unit (10) stores a table in which the echo sections for each vehicle distance are recorded (401)”. See Table 1 below, in which there is a different eco section that corresponds with each distance and where the distance 50 is the predetermined switching threshold.)
the electronic control unit is configured to: when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold to a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold device until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches an increase side threshold greater than the predetermined switching threshold; and (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section and Table 1 below, in which the distance 100 is the increase side threshold.)
when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold to a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold while the electronic control unit executes the following moving control, display the economy level image indicating the economy level acquired based on the second evaluation value by the displaying device until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches a decrease side threshold smaller than the predetermined switching threshold. (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section and Table 1 below, in which the distance 30 is the decrease side threshold.)
Table 1:
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a following moving control that allows a distance between the own vehicle and a preceding vehicle to change within a set range, only measuring a distance to a vehicle ahead.
Oremus, however, teaches providing a driver with “feedback on how much fuel has been or could be saved by driving closely behind a vehicle in front” and “automatically controlling the vehicle so that it drives at a certain distance from a vehicle in front” (i.e., a following moving control) (See at least [0014-0015] & [0051-0053]).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to perform the teachings of Yang while performing the following moving control taught by Oremus. Doing so would be obvious since “the specific change in the air resistance acting on the vehicle as a function of the distance to a vehicle ahead” can be used “to control the speed of the motor vehicle in such a way as to reduce the air resistance”, which will “minimize the vehicle's energy consumption” (See [0027] of Oremus).
NOTE: For examination purposes, instances of the term “echo section” in Yang are treated the same as the term “eco section”, since “echo” appears to be a translation and/or spelling error.
Regarding claim 2, Yang and Oremus in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang additionally teaches:
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to: when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold value, exceeds the predetermined switching threshold value, and reaches the increase side threshold (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section according to Table 1, in which the distance 30 is the decrease side threshold, the distance 50 is the predetermined switching threshold value, and distance 100 is the increase side threshold.)
when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold value, falls below the predetermined switching threshold value, and reaches the decrease side threshold (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section according to Table 1, in which the distance 30 is the decrease side threshold, the distance 50 is the predetermined switching threshold value, and distance 100 is the increase side threshold.)
Although Yang does not explicitly teach a following moving control, Oremus, teaches providing a driver with feedback on decreasing fuel consumption while approaching and maintaining a distance to a vehicle in front, as discussed above (See at least [0014-0015] & [0051-0053] of Oremus).
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to perform the teachings of Yang while performing the following moving control taught by Oremus. Doing so would be obvious since “the specific change in the air resistance acting on the vehicle as a function of the distance to a vehicle ahead” can be used “to control the speed of the motor vehicle in such a way as to reduce the air resistance”, which will “minimize the vehicle's energy consumption” (See [0027] of Oremus).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Oremus and further in view of Sakuma of US 20230036783 A1, published 02/02/2023, hereinafter “Sakuma”.
Regarding claim 3, Yang and Oremus in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang and Oremus in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to: when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold to a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold while the electronic control unit executes the following moving control, correct the value of the at least one environmental parameter to a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches the increase side threshold, and
display the economy level image indicating the economy level acquired based on the evaluation value corresponding to the corrected value of the at least one environmental parameter by the displaying device; and
when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold to a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold while the electronic control unit executes the following moving control, correct the value of the at least one environmental parameter to a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches the decrease side threshold, and
display the economy level image indicating the economy level acquired based on the evaluation value corresponding to the corrected value of the at least one environmental parameter by the displaying device.
However, Oremus teaches adjusting a distance to a preceding vehicle to maintain a certain distance and displaying “a graph showing a decrease in fuel consumption achieved as a function of distance” (See at least [0014-0015] & [0058-0060]).
Sakuma teaches displaying images, in which “image switching is not performed until the amount of change relating to the travel state exceeds a predetermined threshold value” (See at least [0087] & [0089] of Sakuma). Sakuma further teaches that the amount of change relating to the travel state can be a “time elapsed since the travel state of the vehicle 12 was switched to the first mode,” in which the “first mode” belongs to an overall adaptive cruise control (ACC) function that maintains a distance to a preceding vehicle (See at least [0056-0057] & [0068-0071]).
Therefore, the combination of Oremus and Sakuma renders obvious correcting the value of the environmental value until it reaches a certain threshold and displaying the economy level image corresponding to the corrected value, which provides the benefit of preventing ““hunting”, in which a displayed image is frequently switched when the travel state of the vehicle is frequently switched… thereby enabling visibility for the occupant to be improved” (See [0087] of Sakuma).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Yang and Oremus’s apparatus with Sakuma’s technique of performing image switching when the change amount exceeds a threshold. Doing so would be obvious “since “hunting”, in which the display image of the third display section 26 is frequently switched in conjunction therewith, can be prevented, visibility for the occupant is improved” (See [0087] of Sakuma).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Oremus and further in view of Higuchi of US 20200384859 A1, published 12/10/2020, hereinafter “Higuchi”.
Regarding claim 4, Yang and Oremus in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Yang additionally teaches:
wherein the electronic control unit stores (See at least [0031]: “First, the storage unit (10) stores a table in which the echo sections for each vehicle distance are recorded (401)” & Table 1.)
the electronic control unit is configured to: when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold to a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold while the electronic control unit executes the following moving control, display the economy level image indicating the economy level acquired based on the evaluation value acquired from the second map using the value of the at least one environmental parameter as the argument by the displaying device until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches the increase side threshold; and (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section and Table 1 below, in which the distance 100 is the increase side threshold.)
when the value of the at least one environmental parameter changes from a value greater than the predetermined switching threshold to a value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold while the electronic control unit executes the following moving control, display the economy level image indicating the economy level acquired based on the evaluation value acquired from the second map using the value of the at least one environmental parameter as the argument by the displaying device until the value of the at least one environmental parameter reaches the decrease side threshold. (See at least [0027-0029]: “Additionally, the control unit (40) may control the display unit (30) to display an eco section corresponding to the calculated average distance between vehicles on the vehicle cluster after calculating the average distance between vehicles measured during a predetermined time (update time). For example, when the calculated average distance between vehicles is 50m, the control unit (40) controls the display unit (40) to display an eco guide as shown in FIG. 3. In FIG. 3, it can be seen that the eco section (310) is reduced by half compared to the eco section (210) of FIG. 2, and the normal section (320) is increased by twice compared to the normal section (220) of FIG. 2.” See also [0034] regarding adjusting the lengths for the eco section and normal section and Table 1 below, in which the distance 30 is the decrease side threshold.)
However, Yang and Oremus in combination do not explicitly teach a first map in which (i) the evaluation value for an environmental parameter value equal to or smaller than the predetermined switching threshold and (ii) the evaluation value for the environmental parameter value greater than the predetermined switching threshold, are set to the same values, or displaying an economy level image based on the evaluation value acquired from the first map.
Higuchi teaches a power consumption threshold value (Th_Pc) setting map in which the magnitude of Th_Pc is set at a constant when the vehicle speed is equal to or greater than V2 and changing the length of the eco-determination gauge based on Th_Pc (See at least Figs. 4A-4D, Fig. 8 & [0100-0103] of Higuchi). Therefore, the teachings of Higuchi render obvious a first map in which the evaluation value for environmental parameter values that fall in different ranges is the same value and displaying an economy level image based on the evaluation value from the first map, which provides the benefit of “the driver and so on in the vehicle cabin of the electric vehicle 100 can visually recognize at a glance the power meter 24, the eco-determination gauge 26, and the eco-level Ede displayed in the meter panel 20a” (See [0107] of Higuchi).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Yang and Oremus’s apparatus with Higuchi’s first map in which the evaluation value for environmental parameter values that fall in different ranges is the same value and displaying an economy level image based on the evaluation value from the first map. Doing so would be obvious so “the driver and so on in the vehicle cabin of the electric vehicle 100 can visually recognize at a glance the power meter 24, the eco-determination gauge 26, and the eco-level Ede displayed in the meter panel 20a” (See [0107] of Higuchi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20140176321 A1 is directed to providing eco-driving instructions for a vehicle.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nikki Molina whose telephone number is (571) 272-5180. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday and alternate Fridays, 7:30-4:30 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad, can be reached on (571) 270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIKKI MARIE M MOLINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662