DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/27/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Terminal Disclaimer filed on 07/27/2026 and approved on 08/05/2026
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 13-18, and 20 has been amended.
Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claim 21 has been newly added.
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending in Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2026 and 07/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Double Patenting rejection: Applicant’s filing and approval of the Terminal Disclaimer has overcome the Double Patent rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the Double Patent rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 101 rejection: Applicant’s requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101. Examiner would have to respectfully disagree. STEP 1: Claims are directed to one of the statutory categories. STEP 2A Prong One: The limitations identified by the Examiner below in the rejection shows that one of ordinary skilled in the art can mentally perform the limitations. The determination limitations can be indicated mentally regarding determining paths and whether a condition is met by matching. One of ordinary skilled in the art can determine information based on provided data. These limitations can be performed mentally; therefore these limitations are construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes. STEP 2A Prong Two: We analyze the judicial exception in integrate into a practical application. The rest of the claim limitations, receiving… and sending… are examined and conclude that they are mere gathering of data, which are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). The only additional elements states are computing device and electronic devices which are recited at a high level of generality. Generic computers performing generic computer functions, alone, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. STEP 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim does not actually perform to control or navigation aspects for the determined plurality of paths. The aftermath of the determination that includes the plurality of paths are not being implemented. The plurality of paths are just being sent to a device. Therefore, the claim is not integrated into a practical application and as such the 101 rejection for claims 1 and 3-20 and newly added 21 stands.
Regarding 102/103 rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
With respect to claims 1, 13, and 20.
Claims 1, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claims 1, 13, and 20 are directed to one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: the claim recites, inter alia:
“determining a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point and estimate time information of each path of the plurality of paths, responsive to receiving the first identification, the starting point, and the destination point": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally determine paths based on provided information. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
"determining whether a condition associated with a second electronic device of the user is satisfied, the second electronic device using a second identification matching the first identification of the first electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being authenticated in association with each other in the computing device, and the condition including identifying an authentication of the first identification and the second identification": A person of ordinary skill in the art can mentally determine satisfaction of a condition. Thus, this limitation is construed to be directed to the abstract idea of mental processes.
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mental processes concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The only limitations not treated above, “receiving, from a first electronic device of a user, a first identification indicating the user or the first electronic device, a starting point, and a destination point via a network” and “sending the plurality paths and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths to the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to present the plurality paths with the estimated time information to the user, the second electronic device separate from the first electronic device”, involves the mere gathering of data, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g). In particular, the claim only recites additional elements that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element of the “electronic devices” and “processors” are recited at a high level of generality, and comprises only a processor to simply perform the generic computer functions. Generic computers performing generic computer functions, alone, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The generic computer components in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer component performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tada (USPGPub 2005/0125149) in view of Halbherr et al. (USPGPub 2009/0282353). As per claim 1, Tada discloses a method performed by a computing device, comprising: receiving, from a first electronic device of a user, a first identification indicating the user or the first electronic device (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein the host ID for identifying the computer apparatus are added to the generated recommended-route information to generate route search information to be transmitted (step S2)), a starting point, and a destination point (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20, in accordance with the starting point and the destination which are indicated in the recommended-route generation instructions (step S1)) via a network (see at least paragraph 0033; wherein the navigation apparatus 20 enables to communicate with the computer apparatus 30 through a network 50); determining a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point, responsive to receiving the first identification, the starting point, and the destination point (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20); determining whether a condition associated with a second electronic device of the user is satisfied (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)); and responsive to determining that the condition is satisfied, sending to the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to present the path, the second electronic device separate from the first electronic device (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)). Tada does not explicitly mention determining a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point and estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths; the second electronic device using a second identification matching the first identification of the first electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being authenticated in association with each other in the computing device, and the condition including identifying an authentication of the first identification and the second identification; and sending the plurality of paths and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths. However Halbherr does disclose: determining a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point and estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502); the second electronic device using a second identification matching the first identification of the first electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being authenticated in association with each other in the computing device, and the condition including identifying an authentication of the first identification and the second identification (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein remote resource 520 may include exemplary elements 528-538 configured to support synchronization messaging, web browser access over an Internet connection, and sharing information amongst the users of remote resource 520 via wired and/or wireless communication. Initially connection to remote resource 520 may be controlled via authentication 522. This module may verify identification and/or security information for apparatuses, users, applications, etc. that attempt to connect to, or request information from, remote resource 520. Authentication 522 may, for example, verify the identity of entities connecting to synchronization server 528 via server synchronization 530, or from other apparatus 560 connecting to web server 524 using, for example, web browser 562); and sending the plurality of paths and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein map application (MA) 502 is an example of an user-configurable software interface for obtaining location and/or map information from, or for providing similar information to, remote resource 420 (e.g., www.ovi.com). For example, users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502. An exemplary request configuration may include a user setting parameters in a software interface in order to obtain a desired output. MA 502 may then access map operating services application programming interface (MOS API) 504 to compute maps, location, direction or other related informational tasks). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Halbherr with the teachings as in Tada. The motivation for doing so would have been to communication quality and device functionality, see Halbherr paragraph 0004. As per claim 3, Tada discloses wherein the condition further comprises detection of an event at the second electronic device (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71). As per claim 4, Tada discloses wherein the event comprises turning on of the second electronic device (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71).
As per claim 6, Tada discloses further comprising: storing an actual moving path of the user responsive to sending the plurality of paths to the second device; and responsive to receiving a subsequent request for a path to the destination point, determining the path by using at least the stored actual moving path (see at least paragraph 0083; wherein generated guidance history information is stored into the guidance history information storing section 92).
As per claim 8, Tada discloses further comprising: storing user data of the user, the user data considered in determining the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0083; wherein generated guidance history information is stored into the guidance history information storing section 92).
As per claim 12, Tada discloses wherein the first electronic device is a stationary device, and the second electronic device is a portable device (see at least Figure 1; items 20, 30). As per claim 13, Tada discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first electronic device of a user (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein the host ID for identifying the computer apparatus are added to the generated recommended-route information to generate route search information to be transmitted (step S2)), a starting point, a destination point (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20, in accordance with the starting point and the destination which are indicated in the recommended-route generation instructions (step S1)), from a computing device via a network (see at least paragraph 0033; wherein the navigation apparatus 20 enables to communicate with the computer apparatus 30 through a network 50), wherein the starting point and the destination point are set at a second electronic device, and wherein the path are determined by the computing device (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20, in accordance with the starting point and the destination which are indicated in the recommended-route generation instructions (step S1)); generating, by the first electronic device, a map including the starting point, the destination point (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)); and displaying the map on a screen of the first electronic device (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)). Tada does not explicitly mention a plurality of paths between the starting point to the destination point, and estimated time information of each of the plurality of paths; the first electronic device using a first identification and the second electronic device using a second identification being authenticated in association with each other in the computing device; and generating, by the first electronic device, a map including the starting point, the destination point, the plurality of paths, and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths. However Halbherr does disclose: a plurality of paths between the starting point to the destination point, and estimated time information of each of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502);
the first electronic device using a first identification and the second electronic device using a second identification being authenticated in association with each other in the computing device (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein remote resource 520 may include exemplary elements 528-538 configured to support synchronization messaging, web browser access over an Internet connection, and sharing information amongst the users of remote resource 520 via wired and/or wireless communication. Initially connection to remote resource 520 may be controlled via authentication 522. This module may verify identification and/or security information for apparatuses, users, applications, etc. that attempt to connect to, or request information from, remote resource 520. Authentication 522 may, for example, verify the identity of entities connecting to synchronization server 528 via server synchronization 530, or from other apparatus 560 connecting to web server 524 using, for example, web browser 562); and
generating, by the first electronic device, a map including the starting point, the destination point, the plurality of paths, and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein map application (MA) 502 is an example of an user-configurable software interface for obtaining location and/or map information from, or for providing similar information to, remote resource 420 (e.g., www.ovi.com). For example, users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502. An exemplary request configuration may include a user setting parameters in a software interface in order to obtain a desired output. MA 502 may then access map operating services application programming interface (MOS API) 504 to compute maps, location, direction or other related informational tasks). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Halbherr with the teachings as in Tada. The motivation for doing so would have been to communication quality and device functionality, see Halbherr paragraph 0004.
As per claim 14, Halbherr discloses further comprising: sending the first identification from the first electronic device to the computing device, the first identification indicating the first electronic device or the user, wherein the starting point, the destination point, the plurality of paths, and the estimated time information of each of the plurality of paths are sent from the computing device to the first electronic device responsive to the computing device determining that the first identification matches the second identification received from the second electronic device (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein remote resource 520 may include exemplary elements 528-538 configured to support synchronization messaging, web browser access over an Internet connection, and sharing information amongst the users of remote resource 520 via wired and/or wireless communication. Initially connection to remote resource 520 may be controlled via authentication 522. This module may verify identification and/or security information for apparatuses, users, applications, etc. that attempt to connect to, or request information from, remote resource 520. Authentication 522 may, for example, verify the identity of entities connecting to synchronization server 528 via server synchronization 530, or from other apparatus 560 connecting to web server 524 using, for example, web browser 562).
As per claim 19, Tada discloses wherein the first electronic device is a portable device, and the second electronic device is a stationary device (see at least Figure 1; items 20, 30).
As per claim 20, Tada discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to: receive, from a first electronic device of a user, a first identification indicating the user or the first electronic device (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein the host ID for identifying the computer apparatus are added to the generated recommended-route information to generate route search information to be transmitted (step S2)), a starting point, and a destination point (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20, in accordance with the starting point and the destination which are indicated in the recommended-route generation instructions (step S1)) via a network (see at least paragraph 0033; wherein the navigation apparatus 20 enables to communicate with the computer apparatus 30 through a network 50); determine a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point, responsive to receiving the first identification, the starting point, and the destination point (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20); determine whether a condition associated with a second electronic device of the user is satisfied (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)); responsive to determining that the condition is satisfied, sending path to the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to present the path, the second electronic device separate from the first electronic device (see at least paragraph 0085; wherein in the navigation apparatus 20, when the user gets in the vehicle 11 and the route guidance is started, a map corresponding to the recommended-route information is displayed on the image displaying section 71, and a recommended route corresponding to the received recommended-route information is superimposed on the map to give the user the route guidance (step S7). The traveling route recording section 66 generates traveling route information in accordance with traveling of the vehicle 11 (step S8)). Tada does not explicitly mention determine a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point and estimated time information of each paths of the plurality of paths; the second electronic device using a second identification matching the first identification of the first electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being authenticated in association with each other by the one or more processors, and the condition including identifying an authentication of the first identification and the second identification; and sending the plurality of paths and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths. However Halbherr does disclose: determine a plurality of paths between the starting point and the destination point and estimated time information of each paths of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502); the second electronic device using a second identification matching the first identification of the first electronic device, the first electronic device and the second electronic device being authenticated in association with each other by the one or more processors, and the condition including identifying an authentication of the first identification and the second identification (see at least paragraph 0065; wherein remote resource 520 may include exemplary elements 528-538 configured to support synchronization messaging, web browser access over an Internet connection, and sharing information amongst the users of remote resource 520 via wired and/or wireless communication. Initially connection to remote resource 520 may be controlled via authentication 522. This module may verify identification and/or security information for apparatuses, users, applications, etc. that attempt to connect to, or request information from, remote resource 520. Authentication 522 may, for example, verify the identity of entities connecting to synchronization server 528 via server synchronization 530, or from other apparatus 560 connecting to web server 524 using, for example, web browser 562); and sending the plurality of paths and the estimated time information of each path of the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0062; wherein map application (MA) 502 is an example of an user-configurable software interface for obtaining location and/or map information from, or for providing similar information to, remote resource 420 (e.g., www.ovi.com). For example, users may request information (e.g., directions, estimated time, traffic conditions, etc.) pertaining to a desired travel route by configuring a request using MA 502. An exemplary request configuration may include a user setting parameters in a software interface in order to obtain a desired output. MA 502 may then access map operating services application programming interface (MOS API) 504 to compute maps, location, direction or other related informational tasks). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Halbherr with the teachings as in Tada. The motivation for doing so would have been to communication quality and device functionality, see Halbherr paragraph 0004.
Claims 5, 7, 9-11, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tada (USPGPub 2005/0125149), in view of Halbherr et al. (USPGPub 2009/0282353), and further in view of Kurtti et al. (USPGPub 2010/0145601). As per claim 5, Tada discloses further comprising: receiving an actual moving path of the user responsive to sending the plurality of paths to the second electronic device (see at least paragraph 0081; wherein in the computer apparatus 30, when instructions to generate a recommended route is input through the data input section 84, the recommended-route generating section 88 generates recommended-route information indicating a recommended route which is to be displayed on the navigation apparatus 20). Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention responsive to detecting deviation of the actual moving path relative to the plurality of paths, determining an updated path reflecting the deviation; and sending the updated path to the second electronic device. However Kurtti does disclose: responsive to detecting deviation of the actual moving path relative to the plurality of paths, determining an updated path reflecting the deviation (see at least paragraph 0041; wherein user (e.g., via mobile user device 110) may review, edit, refine, update, etc. user-defined path 520); and sending the updated path to the second electronic device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein server 130 may provide (e.g., when requested by mobile user device 110) user-defined path 520 and/or information 530 to mobile user device 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 7, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention receiving, from the first electronic device, at least one passing point to pass through between the starting point and the destination point, wherein the plurality of paths are updated to pass through the at least one passing point. However Kurtti does disclose: receiving, from the first electronic device, at least one passing point to pass through between the starting point and the destination point, wherein the plurality of paths are updated to pass through the at least one passing point (see at least paragraph 0069; wherein receipt of one or more intermediate points along the path). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 9, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention receiving selection of one of the plurality of paths from the second electronic device, responsive to sending the plurality of paths to the second electronic device; and sending the selected one of the paths to the second electronic device, responsive to receiving the selection. However Kurtti does disclose: receiving selection of one of the plurality of paths from the second electronic device, responsive to sending the plurality of paths to the second electronic device; and sending the selected one of the paths to the second electronic device, responsive to receiving the selection (see at least paragraph 0047; wherein the user may be presented with an option 610 to select a previous user-defined path and an option 620 to create a new user-defined path. If the user selects (e.g., via a selection mechanism, such as control buttons 330) option 610, the user may be presented with the user interface depicted in FIG. 6B. As shown in FIG. 6B, the user may be presented with one or more user-defined paths 630 (e.g., "User-defined path #1," "User-defined path #2," and "User-defined path #3") for selection. In one exemplary implementation, if the user selects one of user-defined paths 630, server 130 may provide the selected one of user-defined paths 630 (and associated information) to mobile user device 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 10, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention sending information on one or more points of interest to the second electronic device or the plurality of paths to the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to present the information on the one or more points of interest, the one or more points of interest having spatial relationships to the second electronic device or the plurality of paths. However Kurtti does disclose: sending information on one or more points of interest to the second electronic device or the plurality of paths to the second electronic device to cause the second electronic device to present the information on the one or more points of interest, the one or more points of interest having spatial relationships to the second electronic device or the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0015; wherein the user, via the mobile user device, may customize the calculated path by inputting intermediate points (e.g., locations to travel past that may be between a starting point and a destination point) and/or additional path information (e.g., utilize certain streets, highways, etc. between the starting and destination points)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 11, Kurtti discloses wherein the information comprises one or more of video, image, audio and text associated with the one or more points of interest (see at least paragraph 0015; wherein the user, via the mobile user device, may customize the calculated path by inputting intermediate points (e.g., locations to travel past that may be between a starting point and a destination point) and/or additional path information (e.g., utilize certain streets, highways, etc. between the starting and destination points)). As per claim 15, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention receiving selection of plurality of paths from a user at the first electronic device; sending the selection from the first electronic device to the computing device; and receiving the selected one of the plurality of paths from the computing device responsive to sending the selection. However Kurtti does disclose: receiving selection of one of the plurality of paths from a user at the first electronic device; sending the selection from the first electronic device to the computing device; and receiving the selected one of the plurality of paths from the computing device responsive to sending the selection (see at least paragraph 0047; wherein the user may be presented with an option 610 to select a previous user-defined path and an option 620 to create a new user-defined path. If the user selects (e.g., via a selection mechanism, such as control buttons 330) option 610, the user may be presented with the user interface depicted in FIG. 6B. As shown in FIG. 6B, the user may be presented with one or more user-defined paths 630 (e.g., "User-defined path #1," "User-defined path #2," and "User-defined path #3") for selection. In one exemplary implementation, if the user selects one of user-defined paths 630, server 130 may provide the selected one of user-defined paths 630 (and associated information) to mobile user device 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 16, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention detecting deviation of an actual moving path of the user from the plurality of paths; sending the deviation to the computing device responsive to detecting the deviation to cause the computing device to update the plurality of paths according to the deviation; and receiving the updated plurality of paths from the computing device. However Kurtti does disclose: detecting deviation of an actual moving path of the user from the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0041; wherein user (e.g., via mobile user device 110) may review, edit, refine, update, etc. user-defined path 520); sending the deviation to the computing device responsive to detecting the deviation to cause the computing device to update the plurality of paths according to the deviation (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein server 130 may provide (e.g., when requested by mobile user device 110) user-defined path 520 and/or information 530 to mobile user device 110); and receiving the updated plurality of paths from the computing device (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein server 130 may provide (e.g., when requested by mobile user device 110) user-defined path 520 and/or information 530 to mobile user device 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015. As per claim 18, Tada and Halbherr do not explicitly mention displaying one or more points of interest responsive to receiving the one or more points of interest from the computing device, the one or more points having spatial relationships to the first electronic device or the plurality of paths. However Kurtti does disclose: displaying one or more points of interest responsive to receiving the one or more points of interest from the computing device, the one or more points having spatial relationships to the first electronic device or the plurality of paths (see at least paragraph 0015; wherein the user, via the mobile user device, may customize the calculated path by inputting intermediate points (e.g., locations to travel past that may be between a starting point and a destination point) and/or additional path information (e.g., utilize certain streets, highways, etc. between the starting and destination points)). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the teachings as in Kurtti with the teachings as in Tada and Halbherr. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user to customize a calculated path with ease, see Kurtti paragraph 0015.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach displaying a graphical user interface element representing simulation of moving from the starting point to the destination point via the plurality of paths; and responsive to receiving selection of the graphical user interface, displaying simulation of moving along the plurality of paths by the first electronic device.
Claim(s) 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach responsive to sending the plurality of paths and the estimated time information to the second electronic device, receiving location information of the second electronic device; determining, using the location information of the second electronic device, whether the second electronic device is located on one path of the plurality of paths; and in accordance with a determination that the second electronic device is located on a first path among the plurality of paths, sending an updated path of the first path and an updated estimation time from the location of the second electronic device to the destination point along the first path.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHMOUD S ISMAIL whose telephone number is (571)272-1326. The examiner can normally be reached M - F: 8:00AM- 4:00PM.
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662