DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/09/2026. Applicant canceled claims 6-20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. US 9154801 B2, US 9571860 B2, and US 12231642 B2 in view of KIRCHHOFFER et al. (US 20130051459 A1). See below the comparison table:
Instant application 19/024510
US 9154801 B2
US 9571860 B2
US 12231642 B2
1. A system comprising:
a receiver configurable to receive a bit stream including a one dimensional array of symbols representing a two dimensional array of transform coefficients scanned using a series of one directional diagonal scans in a fixed direction; and
processing circuitry coupled to the receiver and configurable to:
determine a context for a first binary symbol in the one dimensional array of symbols;
arithmetically decode binary symbols in the one dimensional array of symbols using the context for the first binary symbol;
debinarize the decoded binary symbols to produce a one dimensional array of transform coefficients; and
transform the one dimensional array of transform coefficients to produce a two dimensional array of transform coefficients.
1. A method of encoding video data comprising: providing a two dimensional array of transform coefficients representing a portion of video data;
determining a location of a last significant transform coefficient;
re-ordering at least a portion of the two dimensional array of transform coefficients to a one dimensional array of data by diagonally scanning the portion in at least two scan lines, each scan line directed in a single common diagonal direction;
generating a significance map comprising syntax elements indicating the location of the last significant transform coefficient and locations of additional non-zero transform coefficients in the one dimensional array;
representing at least a portion of the one dimensional array of data using a series of additional syntax elements;
coding the significance map syntax elements;
coding the series of additional syntax elements; and
transmitting the coded significance map syntax elements, and the arithmetic coded series of additional syntax elements.
5. The method of claim 1, coding the significance map syntax elements comprising: arithmetic coding the significance map syntax elements.
1. A method of decoding video data comprising: receiving a stream of encoded bits;
extracting a set of syntax elements from the encoded bits, the set of syntax elements comprising:
an array location of a last significant coefficient in a block of transform coefficients;
a significance map for the block of transform coefficients, the significance map representing the block of transform coefficients diagonally scanned in a fixed direction; and
a series of additional syntax elements representing values of significant transform coefficients diagonally scanned in fixed direction;
generating the block of transform coefficients using the extracted syntax elements; and
performing an inverse transform using the block of transform coefficients to generate picture data.
7. A method of decoding transform coefficients by a decoder including a digital processor, the method comprising: receiving, at the digital processor, a bit stream including a one dimensional array of symbols representing a two dimensional array of transform coefficients scanned using a series of one directional diagonal scans in a fixed direction;
determining, by the digital processor, a context using coefficients only in diagonal rows of the two dimensional array above and left of a scan of a diagonal row including a given coefficient;
arithmetically decoding, by the digital processor, a given symbol in the one dimensional array of symbols using the determined context;
debinarizing binary symbols including the decoded symbol to produce a one dimensional array of transform coefficients; and
transforming the one dimensional array of transform coefficients to produce a two dimensional array of transform coefficients.
KIRCHHOFFER et al. (US 20130051459 A1) discloses
determine a context for a first binary symbol in the one dimensional array of symbols (abstract, A higher coding efficiency for coding a significance map indicating positions of significant transform coefficients within a transform coefficient block is achieved by the scan order by which the sequentially extracted syntax elements. The first-type elements may be context-adaptively entropy decoded using contexts which are individually selected for each of the syntax elements dependent on a number of significant transform coefficients in a neighborhood of the respective syntax element);
arithmetically decode binary symbols in the one dimensional array of symbols using the context for the first binary symbol (abstract, The first-type elements may be context-adaptively entropy decoded using contexts; [0006] CABAC entropy coding (inherently, CABAC includes binary arithmetic coding));
debinarize the decoded binary symbols to produce a one dimensional array of transform coefficients ([0007] The non-binary syntax element coeff_abs_level_minus_one is first binarized, i.e., it is mapped onto a sequence of binary decisions (bins), and these bins are sequentially coded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine US 9154801 B2 or US 9571860 B2 with KIRCHHOFFER et al. (US 20130051459 A1), to implement the steps of CABAC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 22, 26, 29, 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, no support can be found in the original application publication US 20120082233 A1 (Application NO 13/250689) for “debinarize the decoded binary symbols to produce a one dimensional array of transform coefficients”.
Regarding claims 5 and 26, no support can be found in the original application publication US 20120082233 A1 (Application NO 13/250689) for “process the first diagonal scan and the second diagonal scan in parallel”. In [0007], applicant discloses enabling parallel processing for the significance map of transform coefficients utilizing context dependency simplification and changing coefficient scanning. In particular, in figure 4, [0028] applicant discloses parallel processing of context selection but not the diagonal scans.
Regarding claims 22, 29 and 32, no support can be found in the original application publication US 20120082233 A1 (Application NO 13/250689) for “the two dimensional array of transform coefficients is a 4x4 block of pixels in a picture”.
Regarding claim 35, no support can be found in the original application publication US 20120082233 A1 (Application NO 13/250689) for “the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction is performed through waveform processing of the two dimensional array of transform coefficients”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1-4, 21-25, 27-34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by KIRCHHOFFER et al. (US 20130051459 A1).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) KIRCHHOFFER discloses A system (abstract, coding a significance map) comprising:
a receiver configurable to receive a bit stream including a one dimensional array of symbols representing a two dimensional array of transform coefficients scanned using a series of one directional diagonal scans in a fixed direction (figure 3, [0061] transferred to the decoder side via bitstream 30; figure 5, figure 7, [0077] map/coefficient entropy decoder 250 sequentially decodes the syntax elements representing the significance map and the significant transform coefficient values; figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa); and
processing circuitry coupled to the receiver (figures 3, 5, 7, [0128] a field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein. Generally, the methods are performed by any hardware apparatus) and configurable to:
determine a context for a first binary symbol in the one dimensional array of symbols (abstract, A higher coding efficiency for coding a significance map indicating positions of significant transform coefficients within a transform coefficient block is achieved by the scan order by which the sequentially extracted syntax elements. The first-type elements may be context-adaptively entropy decoded using contexts which are individually selected for each of the syntax elements dependent on a number of significant transform coefficients in a neighborhood of the respective syntax element; [0007] A measure related to the probability for one of the two possible bin values is estimated for each context based on the values of the bins that have been already coded with the corresponding context. For several bins related to the transform coding, the context that is used for coding is selected based on already transmitted syntax elements or based on the position inside a block; [0016] contexts which are individually selected for each of the first-type syntax elements depending on a number of positions at which according to the previously extracted and associated first-type syntax elements significant transform coefficients are situated, in a neighborhood of the position with which a current first-type syntax element is associated);
arithmetically decode binary symbols in the one dimensional array of symbols using the context for the first binary symbol (abstract, The first-type elements may be context-adaptively entropy decoded using contexts; [0006] CABAC entropy coding (inherently, CABAC includes binary arithmetic coding));
debinarize the decoded binary symbols to produce a one dimensional array of transform coefficients ([0007] The non-binary syntax element coeff_abs_level_minus_one is first binarized, i.e., it is mapped onto a sequence of binary decisions (bins), and these bins are sequentially coded (debinarization is the inverse step at the decode side)); and
transform the one dimensional array of transform coefficients to produce a two dimensional array of transform coefficients (figure 7, [0077] associate these sequentially decoded syntax elements/values to the positions within the transform block 256).
Regarding claim 2. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction includes a series of up-right diagonal scans (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa).
Regarding claim 3. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein each entry in the one dimensional array of symbols indicates whether a non-zero transform coefficient exists at a position in the two dimensional array of transform coefficients ([0006] a binary-valued significance map is coded, which specifies which of the transform coefficient levels have non-zero values. And then, in a reverse scan order, the values of the non-zero transform coefficient levels are coded. The significance map is coded as follows. For each coefficient in the scan order, a binary syntax element significant_coeff_flag is coded, which specifies whether the corresponding transform coefficient level is not equal to zero).
Regarding claim 4. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction is not a zigzag scan (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa).
Regarding claim 21. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein to arithmetically decode the binary symbols in the one dimensional array of symbols, the processing circuitry is configurable to perform binary arithmetic decoding on the binary symbols in the one dimensional array of symbols (abstract, The first-type elements may be context-adaptively entropy decoded using contexts; [0006] CABAC entropy coding (inherently, CABAC includes binary arithmetic coding)).
Regarding claim 22. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 21, wherein the two dimensional array of transform coefficients is a 4x4 block of pixels in a picture (figure 8).
Regarding claim 23. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 24. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 25. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 27. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 21.
Regarding claim 28. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction includes a series of down-left diagonal scans (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa).
Regarding claim 29. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 22.
Regarding claim 30. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 31. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 32. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the two dimensional array of transform coefficients includes a two-dimensional transform significance map associated with transform coefficients in a 4x4 block of pixels in a picture (figure 5, figure 7, [0077] map/coefficient entropy decoder 250 sequentially decodes the syntax elements representing the significance map and the significant transform coefficient values; figure 8).
Regarding claim 33. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein each scan in the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction starts with a position in a top row or a position in a right-most column of the two dimensional array of transform coefficients (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa).
Regarding claim 34. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1, wherein each scan in the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction starts with a position in a bottom row or a position in a left-most column of the two dimensional array of transform coefficients (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5, 26 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KIRCHHOFFER et al. (US 20130051459 A1) in view of Bao et al. (US 20080013622 A1).
Regarding claim 5. (New) KIRCHHOFFER discloses The system of claim 1,
wherein the series of one directional diagonal scans in the fixed direction includes a first diagonal scan and a second diagonal scan (figure 8, [0093] Both scanning patterns 300 and 302 consist of a number of diagonal sub-scans for diagonals from bottom-left to top-right or vice versa), and
Bao discloses
wherein the processing circuitry is configurable to process fragments in parallel ([0007] The fragments may be entropy coded independently of one another using separate coding contexts so that multiple fragments may be simultaneously decoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the inventions of KIRCHHOFFER and Chang, to process the first diagonal symbol and the second diagonal symbol in parallel, in order to decode the bitstream more efficiently.
Regarding claim 26. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 35. (New) the same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488