DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that element 41 of Rath does not constitute a “screw” and that element 41 is not “configured to couple the support portion to a receiver from which the barrel extends”. This is not persuasive in that a “screw” is defined as “a nail-shaped or rod-shaped piece with a spiral groove and a slotted or recessed head designed to be inserted into material by rotating and used for fastening pieces of solid material together” (merriam-webster.com). Applicant has not redefined the term and element 41 of Rath fits the definition of a “screw”, while the inside also performs as a gas transfer tube, element 41is a rod-shaped piece with a spiral groove (56) and a slotted or recessed head (60), designed to be inserted into material by rotating and used for fastening pieces of solid material together. (col. 4, lines 3-13) Element 41 has structure allowing it to couple the support portion to a receiver from which the barrel extends via elongated bar body 43.
Applicant further contends that Rath fails to disclose the claimed “stud” stating that element 62 is distinct from the claimed “stud”, however applicant’s arguments are narrower than the breadth of current claims. Claim 1 requires “a stud extending within the support portion, the stud extending substantially perpendicular to the screw”. Dictionary.com defines a “stud” as “a boss, knob, nail head, or other protuberance projecting from a surface or part, especially as an ornament” and “any of various projecting pins, lugs, or the like, on machines or other implements”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation element 62 of Rath fits the definition of a “stud”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rath (US 4,056,038). Rath discloses a firearm comprising:
a support portion (33) extending substantially parallel with a barrel of the firearm through which a projectile is fired;
a screw (41) extending within the support portion, the screw extending substantially parallel to the barrel, the screw configured to couple the support portion to a receiver from which the barrel extends; (Fig. 2) and
a stud (62) extending within the support portion, the stud extending substantially perpendicular to the screw.
2. The firearm of claim 1, wherein the stud includes a sling attachment portion (69) extending outside the support portion and configured to attach to a sling for carrying the firearm.
3. The firearm of claim 2, wherein the sling attachment portion of the stud is an opening in the stud. (Fig. 3)
4, The firearm of claim 1, wherein the screw extends through the stud such that the stud is prevented from moving in a direction that is perpendicular to the barrel or rotating. (Fig. 1-3)
5. The firearm of claim 4, further comprising a screw sleeve (40) configured to surround at least a portion of the screw.
6. The firearm of claim 5, wherein the screw sleeve is configured to be pressed against the stud to prevent rotation of the stud. (Fig. 2)
13. The firearm of claim 1, wherein the firearm further comprises a gap between the support portion and the barrel. (see Fig. 2)
16. The firearm of claim 1, wherein the stud comprises a cavity configured to receive the screw (via taper 63).
17. The firearm of claim 16, wherein the stud is received in a borehole of the support portion (Fig. 2).
18. The firearm of claim 17, wherein the stud is not threadably engaged with the borehole. (col. 4, line 41)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rath as applied to claim 1 above. Rath discloses the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose the support portion comprising solid wood or synthetic material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the claimed solid wood or synthetic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice and solid woods and synthetic materials for gun stocks are well-known in the art of gun stocks.
8. Rath discloses the firearm of claim 7, wherein the screw and the stud extend within boreholes in the support portion. (Fig. 1 and 2)
9. Rath discloses the firearm of claim 7, wherein the support portion comprises a trough to extend around the barrel. (Fig. 1 and 2)
10. Rath discloses the firearm of claim 9, wherein the trough is configured with a depth such that there is a gap between the trough and the barrel. (Fig. 1 and 2)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 14, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE CLEMENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641