DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/24/2025. Claims 1-5 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign application number JP: 2019-017444 filed on 02/01/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 and 07/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. patent Application No. 17/727,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that the claims cover substantially the same subject matter. The table below shows only a sample of how each of these claims is anticipated by claims such as claim 1 of U.S. patent application No. 17/727,409.
Instant Applicant
U.S. patent application No. 17/727,409
Claim 1: A video decoding method, applied to a video decoding device, comprising: decoding a motion vector difference absolute value from a coded data; deriving a difference motion vector by using the motion vector difference absolute value; decoding a flag, from the coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero; determining, by using the flag, a shift value used for a rounding process of a motion vector; generating a prediction image by using the motion vector based on the difference motion vector; and decoding a coding target image by adding a residual image to the prediction image or subtracting the residual image from the prediction image.
Claim 1: A prediction image generation device for generating a prediction image, the prediction image generation device comprising: an inter-prediction parameter decoding control circuitry that derives a difference motion vector by using a motion vector difference value and that decodes a flag, from a coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the motion vector difference value is not equal to zero; and that decodes a prediction motion vector index; a prediction image generation circuitry that generates a prediction image by using a motion vector based on the difference motion vector and a prediction motion vector, wherein the inter-prediction parameter decoding control circuitry determines a shift value used for a rounding process of the prediction motion vector by using the flag and, the prediction motion vector is selected from a motion vector prediction list by using the prediction motion vector index.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 2013/0077886) in Suzuki (US 2004/0240550) and in further view of Tsukagoshi (US 2015/0172690).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses the following claim limitations: a video decoding method, applied to a video decoding device, comprising: decoding a motion vector difference absolute value from a coded data; deriving a difference motion vector by using the motion vector difference absolute value (Kondo, paragraphs 10 and 33 discloses the inter prediction process… a variable length decoding unit for decoding a coded stream to output a difference motion vector i.e. from motion information; claim 1 discloses an addition unit for adding the difference motion vector to the predictive motion vector to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded).
Kondo does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: determining, by using the flag, a shift value used for a rounding process of a motion vector; generating a prediction image by using the motion vector based on the difference motion vector; and decoding a coding target image by adding a residual image to the prediction image or subtracting the residual image from the prediction image decoding a flag, from the coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero.
However, in the same field of endeavor Suzuki discloses more explicitly the following: determining, by using the flag, a shift value used for a rounding process of a motion vector; generating a prediction image by using the motion vector based on the difference motion vector; and decoding a coding target image by adding a residual image to the prediction image or subtracting the residual image from the prediction image (Suzuki, paragraph 95 and Figures 9-12 illustrates using a two dimensional table including the flag and a parameter for a block and “"mv_shift" in the expression (1) is a value shown in a table 81 shown in FIG. 9. The expression (1) shows that a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a value calculated by subtracting a predictive motion vector component PMV from a motion vector component MV rightward by a number shown in mv_shift is a differential motion vector component MVD”; in addition paragraph 98 discloses MV=(MVD<<mv_shift)+PMV (2); in addition paragraph 99 discloses a value calculated by adding a predictive motion vector component PMV to a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a differential motion vector component MVD leftward by a number shown in mv_shift is a decoded motion vector component MV. The decoded differential motion vector component MVD varies from a multiple of 1 to a multiple (corresponding to MV-PMV in the coding apparatus) of 1<<mv_shift by the arithmetic left bit shift process. The decoded motion vector component MV is regenerated to a value of original accuracy by adding PMV to this value).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kondo with Suzuki to create the motion vector predictor of Kondo with switching the coding accuracy of a motion vector according to block size.
The reasoning being is to provide an efficient method for moving picture coding/decoding (Suzuki, paragraph 2).
Kondo and Suzuki do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: decoding a flag, from the coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero.
However, in the same field of endeavor Tsukagoshi discloses more explicitly the following: decoding a flag, from the coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero (Tsukagoshi, paragraph 93 discloses When the flag "constrained_to_half_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to 1/2 pixel accuracy. Further, when the "constrained_to_integer_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to integer pixel accuracy, also Tsukagoshi, paragraph59 discloses receiver 200 executes decoding processing for the video stream and obtains display image data; in addition Kondo in paragraph 33 discloses the difference motion vector value which is not to equal zero).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Kondo and Suzuki with Tsukagoshi to create the system of Kondo and Suzuki as outlined above with flag indicating accuracy of a motion vector.
The reasoning being is to facilitate obtainment of image data having a resolution suitable to own display capability in a receiver not supporting a super-high definition service in the case where image data of the super-high definition service is transmitted without scalable coding (Tsukagoshi, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, Kondo, Suzuki and Tsukagoshi discloses a video decoding device comprising: a prediction image generation device for generating a prediction image, the prediction image generation device comprising: an inter-prediction parameter decoding control circuitry that decodes a motion vector difference absolute value (Kondo, paragraphs 10 and 33 discloses the inter prediction process… a variable length decoding unit for decoding a coded stream to output a difference motion vector i.e. from motion information; claim 1 discloses an addition unit for adding the difference motion vector to the predictive motion vector to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded),
from a coded data and derives a difference motion vector by using the motion vector difference absolute value and that decodes a flag, from the coded data, specifying an accuracy of a motion vector, in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero (Tsukagoshi, paragraph 93 discloses When the flag "constrained_to_half_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to 1/2 pixel accuracy. Further, when the "constrained_to_integer_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to integer pixel accuracy, also Tsukagoshi, paragraph59 discloses receiver 200 executes decoding processing for the video stream and obtains display image data; in addition Kondo in paragraph 33 discloses the difference motion vector value which is not to equal zero),
and determines a shift value used for a rounding process of a motion vector by using the flag; and a prediction image generation circuitry that generates a prediction image by using the motion vector based on the difference motion vector, and an adder, for decoding a coding target image by adding a residual image to the prediction image or subtracting the residual image from the prediction image (Kondo, paragraph 23 discloses the block on a higher layer includes the block to be decoded and has a block size larger than that of the block to be decoded. The generated difference motion vector is added to the set predictive motion vector in order to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded; Suzuki, paragraph 95 and Figures 9-12 illustrates using a two dimensional table including the flag and a parameter for a block and “"mv_shift" in the expression (1) is a value shown in a table 81 shown in FIG. 9. The expression (1) shows that a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a value calculated by subtracting a predictive motion vector component PMV from a motion vector component MV rightward by a number shown in mv_shift is a differential motion vector component MVD”; in addition paragraph 98 discloses MV=(MVD<<mv_shift)+PMV (2); in addition paragraph 99 discloses a value calculated by adding a predictive motion vector component PMV to a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a differential motion vector component MVD leftward by a number shown in mv_shift is a decoded motion vector component MV. The decoded differential motion vector component MVD varies from a multiple of 1 to a multiple (corresponding to MV-PMV in the coding apparatus) of 1<<mv_shift by the arithmetic left bit shift process. The decoded motion vector component MV is regenerated to a value of original accuracy by adding PMV to this value). The same motivation that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Kondo, Suzuki and Tsukagoshi discloses a video coding method, performed by a video coding device, comprising: determining a difference motion vector (Kondo, paragraphs 10 and 33 discloses the inter prediction process… a variable length decoding unit for decoding a coded stream to output a difference motion vector i.e. from motion information; claim 1 discloses an addition unit for adding the difference motion vector to the predictive motion vector to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded),
determining a flag specifying an accuracy of a motion vector in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero (Tsukagoshi, paragraph 93 discloses When the flag "constrained_to_half_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to 1/2 pixel accuracy. Further, when the "constrained_to_integer_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to integer pixel accuracy, also Tsukagoshi, paragraph59 discloses receiver 200 executes decoding processing for the video stream and obtains display image data; in addition Kondo in paragraph 33 discloses the difference motion vector value which is not to equal zero),
determining by using the flag, a shift value used for a rounding process of the motion vector; generating a prediction image by using the motion vector based on the difference motion vector; and coding a residual of the prediction image and a coding target image, the flag and a motion vector difference absolute value corresponding to the difference motion vector (Kondo, paragraph 23 discloses the block on a higher layer includes the block to be decoded and has a block size larger than that of the block to be decoded. The generated difference motion vector is added to the set predictive motion vector in order to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded; Suzuki, paragraph 95 and Figures 9-12 illustrates using a two dimensional table including the flag and a parameter for a block and “"mv_shift" in the expression (1) is a value shown in a table 81 shown in FIG. 9. The expression (1) shows that a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a value calculated by subtracting a predictive motion vector component PMV from a motion vector component MV rightward by a number shown in mv_shift is a differential motion vector component MVD”; in addition paragraph 98 discloses MV=(MVD<<mv_shift)+PMV (2); in addition paragraph 99 discloses a value calculated by adding a predictive motion vector component PMV to a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a differential motion vector component MVD leftward by a number shown in mv_shift is a decoded motion vector component MV. The decoded differential motion vector component MVD varies from a multiple of 1 to a multiple (corresponding to MV-PMV in the coding apparatus) of 1<<mv_shift by the arithmetic left bit shift process. The decoded motion vector component MV is regenerated to a value of original accuracy by adding PMV to this value). The same motivation that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Kondo, Suzuki and Tsukagoshi discloses a video coding device comprising: a prediction image generation device for generating a prediction image, the prediction image generation device is configured to: determining a difference motion vector (Kondo, paragraphs 10 and 33 discloses the inter prediction process… a variable length decoding unit for decoding a coded stream to output a difference motion vector i.e. from motion information; claim 1 discloses an addition unit for adding the difference motion vector to the predictive motion vector to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded),
determining a flag specifying an accuracy of a motion vector in a case that the difference motion vector is not equal to zero (Tsukagoshi, paragraph 93 discloses When the flag "constrained_to_half_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to 1/2 pixel accuracy. Further, when the "constrained_to_integer_pixel_MV_ flag" is "1" as illustrated in FIG. 11, it is indicated that the accuracy of the motion vector MV is limited to integer pixel accuracy, also Tsukagoshi, paragraph59 discloses receiver 200 executes decoding processing for the video stream and obtains display image data; in addition Kondo in paragraph 33 discloses the difference motion vector value which is not to equal zero),
and determining by using the flag, a shift value used for a rounding process of the motion vector; and generating a prediction image by using the motion vector; and a coder, configured to code a residual of the prediction image and a coding target image, the flag and a motion vector difference absolute value corresponding to the difference motion vector (Kondo, paragraph 23 discloses the block on a higher layer includes the block to be decoded and has a block size larger than that of the block to be decoded. The generated difference motion vector is added to the set predictive motion vector in order to calculate the motion vector of the block to be decoded; Suzuki, paragraph 95 and Figures 9-12 illustrates using a two dimensional table including the flag and a parameter for a block and “"mv_shift" in the expression (1) is a value shown in a table 81 shown in FIG. 9. The expression (1) shows that a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a value calculated by subtracting a predictive motion vector component PMV from a motion vector component MV rightward by a number shown in mv_shift is a differential motion vector component MVD”; in addition paragraph 98 discloses MV=(MVD<<mv_shift)+PMV (2); in addition paragraph 99 discloses a value calculated by adding a predictive motion vector component PMV to a value calculated by arithmetically shifting a differential motion vector component MVD leftward by a number shown in mv_shift is a decoded motion vector component MV. The decoded differential motion vector component MVD varies from a multiple of 1 to a multiple (corresponding to MV-PMV in the coding apparatus) of 1<<mv_shift by the arithmetic left bit shift process. The decoded motion vector component MV is regenerated to a value of original accuracy by adding PMV to this value). The same motivation that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Kondo, Suzuki and Tsukagoshi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, enables the processor to perform the operations of the video encoding method of claim 3 to generate the bitstream (Suzuki, paragraph 149 discloses A right shift processor 103 shifts MV-PMV rightward. As a decoder executes processing reverse to the processing of an encoder, the memory 101 for storing a motion vector MV, a left shift processor 113 and an adder 112 are provided). The same motivation that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 5.
Conclusion
/JERRY T JEAN BAPTISTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481