DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the application
This is a non-final rejection in response to the Applicant's remarks and amendment filed on 09/04/2025. Claim(s) 21, 23, 26, 29 and 35 is/are currently amended, claim(s) 22, 24-25, 27-28, 30-34 and 36-40 is/are previously presented. Accordingly claim(s) 21-40 is/are examined herein.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 21-40 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
Examiner notes that the recitation “the thermoplastic material” is considered as a material worked upon by the apparatus and it is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus.
Examiner further notes that the term “extruder” is interoperated as a structural component capable of extruding/dispensing materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oldani (US 2012/0090788) in view of Gifford (US 2015/0174824).
Regarding claim 21, Oldani teaches a fiber placement system (100) including positioner and a fiber delivery apparatus, the positioner moves the entire fiber delivery apparatus including a fiber placement head via at least three linear degrees of freedom (Abstract; Fig.1) and the fiber placement head is configured for dispensing fiber material layer-by-layer during a fiber lay-up process (see [0002] and [0013]); thus, the fiber placement system capable of being an additive manufacturing system, comprising:
a first support (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a second support (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
a gantry (102) extending between the first support and the second support (see annotated Fig. 1 below; [0045]);
an extruder (i.e. a creel assembly (104) includes an internal passage configured for dispensing/extruding materials such as fiber tows or thermoplastic to the fiber placement head) coupled to the gantry (102) (see annotated Fig. 1 below; [0045] and [0048]); and
an applicator head (a fiber delivery apparatus (103)) coupled to the gantry (102) (see annotated Fig. 1 below; [0046]), the applicator head comprising:
a first segment including an opening therethrough (see annotated Fig. 6 below);
a second segment connected to the first segment, wherein a material path (fiber tow path) extends through an internal bore of the second segment and through the opening of the first segment (see annotated Fig. 6 below; [0075] and [0078]);
articulating wrist apparatus (158) configured to pivotally move the second segment with respect to the first segment (see annotated Fig. 6 below;[0060] and [0069]).
However, Oldani does not explicitly teach a servomotor configured to pivotally move the second segment with respect to the first segment.
In the same field of endeavor, materials delivery apparatuses, Gifford teaches a print head (1910) having a nozzle (1940) for delivering building materials, comprises a firs segment, a second segment, a build material path extending between the first and second segment; and a motor (1970) configured to pivotally move the second segment with respect to the first segment (see annotated Fig. 19A below; [0075], [0175] and [0182]). Gifford discloses that the motor is operably to rotate the nozzle through the axis of the print head for controlling the delivery of printing materials (see [0090] and [0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Oldani in view Gifford of by incorporating a motor configured to pivotally move the second segment with respect to the first segment as such is known in the art of discharging devices given the discussion of Gifford above; and doing so is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of improving and/or automating control/orientation of the nozzle outlet for controlling the delivery of printing materials (see [0090] of Gifford).
Oldani in view Gifford further teaches a nozzle (i.e. a fiber placement head (105)) connected to the internal bore, the nozzle (the fiber placement head (105)) configured for dispensing/extruding materials such as fiber tows and capable for dispensing/extruding bead of thermoplastic material from the extruder (104)) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045], [0048] and [0050] of Oldani; furthermore, Gifford further discloses the nozzle (1940) for extruding a thermoplastic filament; see [0076] and [0083] of Gifford).
Regarding claim 22, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, further comprising a bracket (second bracket) attached to the second segment (see annotated Fig. 6 above of Oldani).
Regarding claim 23, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, further comprising a first bracket connected to the second segment and a second bracket extending down from the first bracket, wherein a roller (141) is connected to the second bracket (see annotated Fig. 6 above; [0050-0051] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 24, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, further comprising a shaft (196) providing a connection between the first segment and the second segment (see Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 6 above; [0068-0069] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 25, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, further comprising a carrier (i.e. ram (116)) supporting the applicator head (103), the carrier being moveable along the gantry between the first and second supports (see Fig. 1; [0046-0047] and [0053] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 27, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, wherein the second segment has a passageway passing defined by the internal bore (i.e. the passageway passing defined by the internal bore receives the fiber twos as depicted by Figs. 5-6 of Oldani) capable to receive any material such as fiber tows or thermoplastics material (see annotated Fig. 6 above; [0048] and [0050] of Oldani; and [0076] and [0083] of Gifford).
Regarding claim 28, Oldani in view Gifford further teaches the system, wherein the material path extends through upper and lower ends of the internal bore of the second segment (see annotated Fig. 6 above of Oldani).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oldani (US 2012/0090788) in view of Gifford (US 2015/0174824) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hamlyn (US 2011/0272126).
Regarding claim 26, Oldani in view Gifford teaches the system as discussed in claim 21 above.
Oldani in view Gifford does not teach the system further comprising a flexible conduit coupled to the first segment and the second segment, and through which the material path extends.
In the same field of endeavor, materials delivery apparatuses, Hamlyn teaches a fiber placement machine for producing composite material parts (Abstract), comprises a placement head (203) connected to a fiber storage means (204), a flexible conduit coupled to a first segment and a second segment, and through which a material path extends and connecting the placement head (203) connected to fiber storage means (204) (see annotated Fig. 12 below; [0006], [0062]). Hamlyn further teaches that the flexible tube being capable of receiving a fiber in its internal passage, wherein the flexible tube is suitable for external cooling, in mass, by conduction, so that its internal passage, as well as the fiber passing through its internal passage, are cooled (see [0015] and [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system as taught by Oldani in view Hamlyn with a flexible conduit coupled to the first segment and the second segment, and through which the material path extends as such is known in the art of fiber placement apparatus given the discussion of Hamlyn above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a flexible tube suitable for external cooling, in mass, by conduction, so that its internal passage, as well as the fiber passing through its internal passage, are cooled (see [0015] and [0048] of Hamlyn).
Claim(s) 29-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oldani (US 2012/0090788) in view of Khoshnevis (US 2010/0318222 - of record).
Regarding claim 29, Oldani teaches a fiber placement system (100) including positioner and a fiber delivery apparatus, the positioner moves the entire fiber delivery apparatus including a fiber placement head via at least three linear degrees of freedom (see Abstract; Fig.1) and the fiber placement head is configured for dispensing fiber material layer-by-layer during a fiber lay-up process (see [0002] and [0013]); thus, the fiber placement system capable of being an additive manufacturing system, comprising:
an extruder (i.e. a creel assembly (104) includes an internal passage configured for dispensing/extruding materials such as fiber tows or thermoplastic to the fiber placement head) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045]);
a proximal segment (first segment proximate/adjacent to the upper end) including an opening therethrough (see annotated Fig. 6 above);
a distal segment (second segment distal form the upper end) connected to the proximal segment, wherein a material path (fiber tows path) extends through (i) an internal bore of the distal segment (second segment), and (ii) the opening of the proximal segment (see annotated Fig. 6 above);
a nozzle (i.e. a fiber placement head (105)) capable to be configured to extrude a bead of thermoplastic material from the extruder (104) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045], [0048] and [0050] of Oldani). However, Oldani does not explicitly teach a first servomotor configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment; a second servomotor configured to cause movement of the extruder, the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the first servomotor.
In the same field of endeavor, discharging devices, Khoshnevis teaches nozzle assembly (101, 301) for discharging plastic material (see Figs. 1-3; [0011], [0022], [0079] and [0087]), comprises a proximal segment and a distal segment (see annotated Fig. 5 below); a first servomotor (501) configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment; a second servomotor (505) configured to cause movement of an extruder (519,521,523), the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the first servomotor (501) (see Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 5 below;[0093-0095]). Khoshnevis discusses the advantage of having servo motors (501,503) as orientation control mechanism to control the nozzle outlet to be pointed in almost any direction (see [0070] and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Oldani in view of Khoshnevis by incorporating a first servomotor configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment; a second servomotor configured to cause movement of the extruder, the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the first servomotor as such is known in the art of extrusion/discharging devices given the discussion of Khoshnevis above; and doing so is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results of effectively controlling the nozzle outlet to be pointed in almost any direction (see [0070] and [0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 30, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, wherein the distal segment is connected to the proximal segment via a joint, such that the first servomotor (501) is configured to change an angular orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment (see annotated Fig. 5 above;[0093-0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 31, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a gantry (102) supporting the extruder (104), the proximal segment (first segment), and the distal segment (second segment) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 32, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a gantry (102) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045] of Oldani), wherein the second servomotor (505) is configured to move the extruder (519,521,523), the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the first servomotor in a horizontal direction with respect to the gantry (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0093-0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 33, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a gantry (102) (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045] of Oldani), wherein the second servomotor (505) is configured to move the extruder (519,521,523), the proximal segment, the distal segment, and the first servomotor in a vertical direction with respect to the gantry (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0093-0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 34, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a controller (servo controller) configured to control the first servomotor (501) and the second servomotor (505) (see [0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 35, Oldani teaches a fiber placement system (100) including positioner and a fiber delivery apparatus, the positioner moves the entire fiber delivery apparatus including a fiber placement head via at least three linear degrees of freedom (see Abstract; Fig.1) and the fiber placement head is configured for dispensing fiber material layer-by-layer during a fiber lay-up process (see [0002] and [0013]); thus, the fiber placement system capable of being an additive manufacturing system comprising:
a proximal segment (first segment) including an opening therethrough (see annotated Fig. 6 above);
a distal segment (second segment) connected to the proximal segment, wherein a material path (fiber tows path) extends through an internal bore of the distal segment and through the opening of the proximal segment (see annotated Fig. 6 above; [0075] and [0078]);
a nozzle (i.e. a fiber placement head (105)) capable to be configured to extrude a thermoplastic material, wherein the nozzle is attached to the distal segment (see annotated Fig. 1 above; [0045], [0048] and [0050]). However, Oldani does not explicitly teach a servomotor connected to the proximal segment and the distal segment, the servomotor configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment.
In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, discharging devices, Khoshnevis teaches nozzle assembly (101, 301) for discharging plastic material (see Figs. 1-3; [0011] and [0022]), comprises a plurality of movable segments including a first segment (proximal segment) and a second segment (distal segment) (see annotated Fig. 5 above;[0093]); and a servomotor (503) connected to the first segment and configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment (see Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 5 above; [0093-0095]). Khoshnevis discusses the advantage of having servo motors (501,503) as orientation control mechanism to control the nozzle outlet to be pointed in almost any direction (see [0070] and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Oldani in view of Khoshnevis by incorporating a servomotor connected to the proximal segment and the distal segment, the servomotor configured to change an orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment as such is known in the art of extrusion/discharging devices given the discussion of Khoshnevis above; and doing so is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results of effectively controlling the nozzle outlet to be pointed in almost any direction (see [0070] and [0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 36, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a controller (servo controller) configured to control the servomotor (503) to change the orientation of the distal segment relative to the proximal segment (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0070] and [0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 37, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, wherein the distal segment (second segment) is connected to the proximal segment (first segment) via a pivot point (152) (see annotated Fig. above; [0060] of Oldani), such that the servomotor (503) is configured to change an angular orientation of the distal segment (second segment) relative to the proximal segment (first segment) (see annotated Fig. 5 above; [0093-0095] of Khoshnevis).
Regarding claim 38, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising an applicator head (a fiber delivery apparatus (103)) connected to the distal segment (second segment) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 6 above; [0045] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 39, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a second bracket extending down from a first bracket, wherein a roller (141) is connected to the second bracket (see annotated Fig. 6 above; [0050-0051] of Oldani).
Regarding claim 40, Oldani in view of Khoshnevis further teaches the system, further comprising a second bracket extending orthogonal to a first bracket (see annotated Fig. 6 above of Oldani).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 29 and 35 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,696.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are coextensive in scope.
Independent claims 21, 29 and 35 of the instant application reads on claims 1-20 of the patented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim objection(s), applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the objection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), applicant's amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s).
With respect to the claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claim(s) has/have overcome the claim rejection(s). Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Oldani (US 2012/0090788) and Gifford (US 2015/0174824). Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743