DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species c in the reply filed on 08/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending, claims 3 and 9-17 are withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 18-22 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 18, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. (U.S. 2016/0029875).
With respect to claim 1, Okada et al. teaches an endoscopic tool comprising:
a cap (3) configured to be attached to a distal end of a flexible tubular member, the cap having a channel extending longitudinally to accept the distal end of the flexible tubular member;
a guide hole (11) having an opening on an outer peripheral surface of the cap; and
a filament (4) extending through the guide hole such that the filament and the outer peripheral surface of the cap contact each other.
With respect to claim 2, Okada et al. teaches a grasper (15a) connected to the filament at a distal end portion of the grasper (FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 4, Okada et al. teaches the filament extends through the guide hole without an additional element around the guide hole (FIG. 2, 3).
With respect to claim 6, Okada et al. teaches the flexible elongate tubular member is an endoscope (2).
With respect to claim 8, Okada et al. teaches the filament contacts the cap in a state in which the filament is withdrawn proximally (FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 18, Okada et al. teaches a system comprising:
a flexible tubular member (2);
a cap (3) configured to be attached to a distal end of the flexible tubular member, the cap having a channel extending longitudinally to accept the distal end of the flexible tubular member;
a guide hole (11) having an opening on an outer peripheral surface of the cap; and
a filament (4) extending through the guide hole such that the filament and the outer peripheral surface of the cap contact each other.
With respect to claim 19, Okada et al. teaches the filament extends through the guide hole without an additional element around the guide hole (FIG. 2, 3).
With respect to claim 21, Okada et al. teaches the flexible elongate tubular member is an endoscope (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada et al. (U.S. 2016/0029875) in view of Kogiso et al. (U.S. 2016/0073859).
Okada et al. teaches an endoscope tool and system as set forth above. However, Okada et al. does not teach the filament extends outside the patient.
With respect to claim 5, Kogiso et al. teaches an analogous filament (138) wherein a proximal end of the filament outside the patient is configured to be withdrawn proximally by an operator (para [0154],[0156]-[0157]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Okada et al. to have the filaments extend outside the patient in the manner taught by Kogiso et al. in order to allow for multiple degrees of freedom of the grasper by decoupling the filament movement from the grasper longitudinal extension movement.
With respect to claim 7, Okada et al. as modified by Kogiso et al. teaches the grasper and the filament are movable longitudinally by pulling a proximal end of the filament extended outside the patient (para [0154],[0156]-[0157] of Kogiso et al.).
With respect to claim 20 Kogiso et al. teaches an analogous filament (138) wherein a proximal end of the filament outside the patient is configured to be withdrawn proximally by an operator (para [0154],[0156]-[0157]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Okada et al. to have the filaments extend outside the patient in the manner taught by Kogiso et al. in order to allow for multiple degrees of freedom of the grasper by decoupling the filament movement from the grasper longitudinal extension movement.
With respect to claim 22, Okada et al. as modified by Kogiso et al. teaches the grasper and the filament are movable longitudinally by pulling a proximal end of the filament extended outside the patient (para [0154],[0156]-[0157] of Kogiso et al.).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799