Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1-3, 9-16, 19 and 22
… and a distortion-to-quality mapping module…
Claim Objections
Listed claims are objected to for the informalities shown and maybe addressed with the suggested amendments:
Claim 13 : … wherein the apparatus is an apparatus according to claim [[14]] 1, and the distortion-to-quality mapping module is configured…
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 22, 25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbedo (Barbedo, Jayme & Lopes, Amauri. (2005). A new cognitive model for objective assessment of audio quality. Journal of the Audio Engineering Society. 53. 22-31).
With respect to claim 1, Barbedo teaches (Claim 1) An apparatus for quality determination of an audio signal, wherein the apparatus comprises: (Claim 25 ) A method for quality determination of an audio signal, wherein the method comprises: (Claim 27 ) A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for quality determination of an audio signal, wherein the method comprises:
wherein the apparatus comprises (Barbedo , see section 5 where experimentation and results are discussed, which inherently allude to having computer program, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, a system comprising a memory device for storing program code; and a processor device operatively coupled to the memory device for running the program code.):
a perceptual model for receiving the audio signal and for determining distortion information for each of one or more distortion metrics, wherein each distortion metric of the one or more distortion metrics depends on a comparison between a feature of the audio signal and of a corresponding feature of reference information, and a distortion-to-quality mapping module for determining a quality of the audio signal depending on the distortion information for each of the one or more distortion metrics and depending on information on one or more cognitive effects (Barbedo ¶Section 2 Para 1 Fig. 1 [Fig. 1 shows reference and test signals] shows the basic scheme of PEAQ. The processing of PEAQ can be divided into four main stages: 1) Psychoacoustic Model It models some of the main features of human hearing (such as masking effects, internal noise) and was implemented in two distinct versions, with the difference lying in the tool used to perform the time-frequency decomposition, namely, discrete Fourier transform (DFT) and filter bank. 2) Preprocessing of Excitation Patters This consists of several intermediary steps aiming at preparing the patterns resulting from the psychoacoustic model for the next stage. 3) Model Output Variables (MOVs) [distortion metric] These parameters aim to extract information from the signal being tested. The MOVs are based on some cognitive features involved in the perception of sound. Each psychoacoustic model leads to a different type of MOV. 4) Multilayer Perceptron Neural Network (MI.PNN) This network is used to map the MOVs into a single value representing the basic audio quality [quality of the audio signal] of the signal being tested. PEAQ has two versions. The basic version uses only MOVs extracted from the DFT-based psychoacoustic model. The advanced version uses MOVs extracted from both DFT- and filter-bank-based models. The advanced version was designed to achieve better performance, but at a greater computational cost. Channels of stereo signals are processed independently until the extraction of the MOVs. The values obtained for each channel are then combined using a simple arithmetic average.).
With respect to claim 22 Barbedo teaches wherein the a distortion-to-quality mapping module is implemented as a cognitive salience model (Barbedo ¶ Section 1para3 ¶ Model Output Variables (MOVs) These parameters aim to extract information from the signal being tested. The MOVs are based on some cognitive features involved in the perception of sound. Each psychoacoustic model leads to a different type of MOV.); or wherein the distortion-to-quality mapping module is implemented as a multivariate-regression.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18 and 26 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbedo in further view of Disch (US 20210082447 A1)
With respect to claim 17 Barbedo teaches wherein each distortion metric of the plurality of distortion metrics depends on a comparison between a feature of the audio signal and of a corresponding feature of the reference signal (Barbedo ¶Section 2 Para 1 Fig. 1 [Fig. 1 shows reference and test signals] shows the basic scheme of PEAQ. The processing of PEAQ can be divided into four main stages: 1) Psychoacoustic Model It models some of the main features of human hearing (such as masking effects, internal noise) and was implemented in two distinct versions, with the difference lying in the tool used to perform the time-frequency decomposition, namely, discrete Fourier transform (DFT) and filter bank. 2) Preprocessing of Excitation Patters This consists of several intermediary steps aiming at preparing the patterns resulting from the psychoacoustic model for the next stage. 3) Model Output Variables (MOVs) [distortion metric] These parameters aim to extract information from the signal being tested. The MOVs are based on some cognitive features involved in the perception of sound. Each psychoacoustic model leads to a different type of MOV. 4) Multilayer Perceptron Neural Network (MI.PNN) This network is used to map the MOVs into a single value representing the basic audio quality [quality of the audio signal] of the signal being tested. PEAQ has two versions. The basic version uses only MOVs extracted from the DFT-based psychoacoustic model. The advanced version uses MOVs extracted from both DFT- and filter-bank-based models. The advanced version was designed to achieve better performance, but at a greater computational cost. Channels of stereo signals are processed independently until the extraction of the MOVs. The values obtained for each channel are then combined using a simple arithmetic average.).
Barbedo does not explicitly disclose however Disch teaches wherein the reference information comprises information on a reference signal (Disch ¶ [0138] Optionally, the reference modulation information 182a-182c may be obtained using an optional reference modulation information determination 190 on the basis of a reference audio signal 192. The reference modulation information determination may, for example, perform the same functionality like the envelope signal determination 120 and the modulation information determination 160 on the basis of the reference audio signal 192.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distortion determination of Barbedo to include reference information of Disch in order to minimize compression distortion and measure perceptual loss.
With respect to claim 18 Disch further teaches wherein the reference signal is an original audio signal, and wherein the audio signal is a decoded signal resulting from a decoding of an encoded audio signal, wherein the encoded audio signal encodes the original audio signal (Disch ¶[0070] Another embodiment according to the invention creates an audio encoder [encoder] for encoding an audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to determine one or more coding parameters (for example, encoding parameters or decoding parameters, [parameter] which are advantageously signaled to an audio decoder [decoder] by the audio encoder) in dependence on an evaluation of a similarity between an audio signal to be encoded and an encoded audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to evaluate the similarity between the audio signal to be encoded and the encoded audio signal (for example, a decoded version thereof) using an audio similarity evaluator as discussed herein (wherein the audio signal to be encoded is used as the reference audio signal and wherein a decoded version of an audio signal encoded using one or more candidate parameters is used as the input audio signal for the audio similarity evaluator).
With respect to claim 26, Barbedo teaches [[wherein the quality determination of the audio signal is conducted by determining a quality of a decoded signal]],
wherein the reference information comprises information on a reference signal,
wherein each distortion metric of the plurality of distortion metrics depends on a comparison between a feature of the audio signal and of a corresponding feature of the reference signal, wherein the reference signal is an original audio signal effects (Barbedo ¶Section 2 Para 1 Fig. 1 [Fig. 1 shows reference and test signals] shows the basic scheme of PEAQ. The processing of PEAQ can be divided into four main stages: 1) Psychoacoustic Model It models some of the main features of human hearing (such as masking effects, internal noise) and was implemented in two distinct versions, with the difference lying in the tool used to perform the time-frequency decomposition, namely, discrete Fourier transform (DFT) and filter bank. 2) Preprocessing of Excitation Patters This consists of several intermediary steps aiming at preparing the patterns resulting from the psychoacoustic model for the next stage. 3) Model Output Variables (MOVs) [distortion metric] These parameters aim to extract information from the signal being tested. The MOVs are based on some cognitive features involved in the perception of sound. Each psychoacoustic model leads to a different type of MOV. 4) Multilayer Perceptron Neural Network (MI.PNN) This network is used to map the MOVs into a single value representing the basic audio quality [quality of the audio signal] of the signal being tested. PEAQ has two versions. The basic version uses only MOVs extracted from the DFT-based psychoacoustic model. The advanced version uses MOVs extracted from both DFT- and filter-bank-based models. The advanced version was designed to achieve better performance, but at a greater computational cost. Channels of stereo signals are processed independently until the extraction of the MOVs. The values obtained for each channel are then combined using a simple arithmetic average.)
Barbedo does not explicitly disclose, however Disch teaches wherein the quality determination of the audio signal is conducted by determining a quality of a decoded signal (Disch ¶[0070] Another embodiment according to the invention creates an audio encoder [encoder] for encoding an audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to determine one or more coding parameters (for example, encoding parameters or decoding parameters, [parameter] which are advantageously signaled to an audio decoder [decoder] by the audio encoder) in dependence on an evaluation of a similarity between an audio signal to be encoded and an encoded audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to evaluate the similarity between the audio signal to be encoded and the encoded audio signal (for example, a decoded version thereof) using an audio similarity evaluator as discussed herein (wherein the audio signal to be encoded is used as the reference audio signal and wherein a decoded version of an audio signal encoded using one or more candidate parameters is used as the input audio signal for the audio similarity evaluator),
wherein the audio signal is a decoded signal resulting from a decoding of an encoded audio signal, wherein the encoded audio signal encodes the original audio signal, wherein the method comprises receiving an original signal as the reference signal, wherein the decoded signal results from a decoding of an encoded audio signal, wherein the encoded audio signal encodes the original audio signal, and wherein the method comprises determining one or more coding parameters depending on a quality of the decoded audio signal (Disch ¶[0070] Another embodiment according to the invention creates an audio encoder [encoder] for encoding an audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to determine one or more coding parameters (for example, encoding parameters or decoding parameters, [parameter] which are advantageously signaled to an audio decoder [decoder] by the audio encoder) in dependence on an evaluation of a similarity between an audio signal to be encoded and an encoded audio signal. The audio encoder is configured to evaluate the similarity between the audio signal to be encoded and the encoded audio signal (for example, a decoded version thereof) using an audio similarity evaluator as discussed herein (wherein the audio signal to be encoded is used as the reference audio signal and wherein a decoded version of an audio signal encoded using one or more candidate parameters is used as the input audio signal for the audio similarity evaluator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distortion determination of Barbedo to include reference information of Disch in order to minimize compression distortion and measure perceptual loss.
Claim(s) 20 is (are) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbedo in further view of Murabayashi ( US 20050084244 A1 ).
With respect to claim 20 Barbedo does not explicitly disclose however Murabayashi teaches wherein the reference information comprises a plurality of parameters which depends on a listener preference (Murabayashi ¶[ 0041] The information signal processing system and the information signal processing method of the present invention allow the user to set parameter data for playing back a digest according to the user's desired preference, thus allowing the user to perform a more efficient digest playback operation that satisfies the user's requirement.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distortion determination of Barbedo to include parameters of Murabayashi in order to align sound output with subjective user preferences.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if written in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 2 recites “… wherein the one or more cognitive effects comprise at least one of informational masking information and perceptual streaming information, and wherein the distortion-to-quality mapping module is configured to determine the quality of the audio signal depending on the distortion information for each of the one or more distortion metrics and depending on at least one of the informational masking information and the perceptual streaming information”
The closest prior art of record to the currently claimed limitations is Barbedo who teaches “The concepts of perceptual streaming and informational masking have been used here to generate an original parameter, which is not present in any of the other methods for objective audio quality assessment mentioned in this paper. This new parameter is obtained by mixing both concepts, as described in the following.…”
Deng (US 20150104022 A1 ) teaches “¶[0043] Psychoacoustic studies have shown that speech intelligibility is affected significantly by energetic masking effect and informational masking effect of background signals to the target signals. Energetic masking effect relates to energy overlap between different speech signals in the same frequency band. Informational masking effect relates to listener's confusion caused by spatial and/or temporal overlap between different speech signals, ¶[0064] On the other hand, suppressing some sub-bands of an audio signal implies the audio quality will be degraded to some extent, and a proper allocation scheme shall be assured to avoid significant degradation of audio quality. For example, it is preferred to make each audio signal cover both low frequency sub-bands and high frequency sub-bands. Another example, if the number of speakers/audio signals to be separated is too large, it might be improper to allocate to each audio signal too few or too narrow reserved sub-bands. In such a situation, the reserved sub-bands for different audio signals may be allowed to overlap each other (as shown in FIG. 6(b), wherein "1" indicates sub-bands for audio signal 1, and "2" indicates sub-bands for audio signal 2), but as little as possible; or, some audio signals, especially those relatively important audio signals, may be allocated to significantly broader sub-bands (as shown in upper line in FIG. 7, wherein audio signal 1 is more important than audio signal 2), even the full band if the audio signal is the most important (as shown in lower line in FIG. 7: audio signal 3 is the most important).
However, Barbedo and Deng individually or in combination do not teach, suggest or render obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, at least the specific limitations as recited above. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 2-16, 19, 21, 23 and 24 are allowable.
Conclusion
/ATHAR N PASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657