DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
This acknowledges that as of the date of this office action, no Information Disclosure Statement has been submitted by the applicant.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
A minor typo appears in the second sentence of P[0037], which reads “a voltage threshold setting.is configured…” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 19 and 20 include limitations which meet all three prongs of the three-prong test. Examples of limitations for each claim where the verbiage which meets Prongs A (“means”) and B (“for” combined with functional language) are underlined below:
Claim 19: “means for measuring a monitor voltage at a cover glass coating terminal;”
Claim 20: “means for delivering a monitor voltage signal to a conductive coating, wherein the conductive coating is in series with a pulldown resistor connected to a common electrical ground;”.
As claims 19 and 20 are directed to an apparatus, Prong C is evaluated to determine if there is sufficient structure within the limitations to support performing the claimed function. No limitations in either claim include sufficient structure, and therefore the limitations of claims 19 and 20 are given the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation in light of the specification. These “means” for measuring, comparing a value to thresholds and determining a logical outcome, and configuring a threshold setting are interpreted to be met by components such as CPUs, microprocessors, multimeters, ADCs, PMICs and microcontrollers which are known in the art of time-of-flight control systems, and as described in P[0037] – [0039].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20220021178 A1) in view of Bernardin et al. (hereinafter Bernardin, US 11511922 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Park teaches a method and apparatus, respectively, comprising:
measuring a monitor voltage at a cover glass coating terminal;
comparing the monitor voltage to a voltage threshold setting;
determining if the monitor voltage exceeds the voltage threshold setting ([0056], [0078] - [0083]; Figs. 5A, 5B, 8, where a voltage value measured by second detection system (517) is sent to the second comparator (531b), which determines whether the voltage from the second detection circuit (517), which may include a coating on the cover glass, is within the second set of voltage range and outputs to the control circuit (533));
and declaring a conductive fault condition in a cover glass of a laser time of flight (ToF) sensor ([0003], [0047] - [0051], [0074] - [0075]; Figs. 1, 2, 4B, where the electronic device (101) utilizes a camera module (180) for time-of-flight (ToF) schemes, where the camera may incorporate a light source module (310) and the light source module includes a window where the second detection circuit (460) is imbedded).
Park does not teach, but Bernardin teaches, a voltage monitoring circuit within a system which includes a voltage divider (Col. 14, line 50 - Col. 15, line 25; Fig. 6, wherein a resistance monitoring circuit monitors the resistance of a conductive trace (612, 614, 616) in series with a resistor (622, 624, 626) which monitors voltages and output signals when they drop below a threshold voltage, such as with a voltage divider, a comparator circuit or any suitable resistance circuitry, which sends signals to an ADC prior to a processor (505)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Park to incorporate the teachings of Bernardin to further incorporate a voltage divider within the threshold/voltage monitoring circuit with a reasonable expectation of success. Park discloses that the system monitors the resistance of the second detection circuit and may in place of, or additionally, use a resistance sensor unit with the first and second detection circuits ([0079], [0088]). Bernardin, which teaches use of the voltage/resistance monitoring circuitry for detecting breaks in a conductive filament on a container for tamper protection, further includes that voltage dividers, comparators and the like are utilized to compare output values to threshold values for detection of breaks in the conduction pathways (Col. 13, lines 20-40) which would readily be incorporated into break/fault detection of a ToF sensor’s glass cover.
Regarding claim 2, Park as modified above teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising
delivering a monitor voltage signal to a conductive coating, wherein the conductive coating is in series with a pulldown resistor ([0093]; Fig. 7, where the first detection circuit, the second detection circuit, and/or the first resistance circuit (719), which includes a known resistor connected to ground, may be connected in series) and is connected to a common electrical ground ([0056], [0078] - [0083]; Fig. 5A, where the monitor voltage signals are relayed between the second detection system (517) and the control circuit (533) which are both connected to ground).
Regarding claim 4, Park as modified above teaches the method of claim 2, wherein
the conductive coating is applied on the cover glass of the laser ToF sensor ([0074] - [0075]; Figs. 4B, where the second detection circuit may be a conductive film such as Indium Tin Oxide (ITO)).
Regarding claims 5-7, Park as modified above teaches the method of claim 4, wherein
the monitor voltage is measured with respect to the common electrical ground;
further comprising configuring the voltage threshold setting;
and the voltage threshold setting represents a detection level for a fault in electrical conductivity in the cover glass ([0078] - [0083]; Figs. 5A, 5B, 8, where a voltage value measured by second detection system (517) is sent to the second comparator (531b), which determines whether the voltage from the second detection circuit (517) is within the second set of voltage range compared to a 0-Volt baseline, and outputs to the control circuit (533) which is connected to a ground, and the range of second threshold values for the second detection circuit may be set based on resistance values of the detection circuit or based on other system specifications).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Park as modified above teaches the method of claim , wherein
the conductive fault condition is a result of a physical breakage in the cover glass;
and the conductive fault condition is a result of an absence of the cover glass ([0005], [0059]; wherein the system uses the first and/or second detection systems to determine a failure of the window such as cracks, damage, partial or full removal).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Park as modified above teaches the method of claim 6, wherein
the laser ToF sensor generates a coherent optical waveform;
and the laser ToF sensor receives the coherent optical waveform using a laser receiver ([0003], [0046] - [0051], [0074] - [0075]; Figs. 1, 2, 4B where the light source(s) (430) may be a laser or array of lasers, which emit coherent light, and where the image sensor (230) of the camera module (180) may be used for ToF/depth map generation).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches an apparatus comprising:
a cover glass including a first surface and a second surface;
a conductive anti-reflective coating on the first surface of the cover glass ([0003], [0047] - [0051], [0074] - [0075]; Figs. 4B, where the light source module (310) includes a window with two surfaces, where the second detection circuit (460) is imbedded on a first surface of the window (423), and wherein the second detection circuit may be an anti-reflective conductive film such as Indium Tin Oxide (ITO));
a pulldown resistor connected electrically in series to the conductive anti- reflective coating ([0093]; Fig. 7, where the first detection circuit, the second detection circuit, and/or the first resistance circuit (719), which includes a known resistor connected to ground, may be connected in series).
Park does not teach, but Bernardin teaches, a voltage/resistance monitoring circuit within a system which includes an analog to digital converter (ADC) electrically connected to the conductive anti- reflective coating (Col. 14, line 50 - Col. 15, line 25; Fig. 6, wherein a resistance monitoring circuit monitors the resistance of a conductive trace (612, 614, 616) in series with resistors (622, 624, 626) which monitors voltages and output signals when they drop below a threshold voltage, such as with a voltage divider, a comparator circuit or any suitable resistance circuitry, and which sends signals to an ADC prior to a processor (505)).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Park to incorporate the teachings of Bernardin to further incorporate a voltage divider within the threshold/voltage monitoring circuit with a reasonable expectation of success. Park discloses that the system monitors the resistance of the second detection circuit and may in place of, or additionally, use a resistance sensor unit with the first and second detection circuits ([0079], [0088]). Bernardin, which teaches use of the voltage/resistance monitoring circuitry for detecting breaks in a conductive filament on a container for tamper protection, further includes that voltage dividers, comparators and the like are utilized to compare output values to threshold values for detection of breaks in the conduction pathways (Col. 13, lines 20-40) which would readily be incorporated into break/fault detection of a ToF sensor’s glass cover. Inclusion of an ADC as taught by Bernardin would readily convert the analog signals from the voltage measurements into digital signals before being sent for further signal processing within the system of Park for emitter control.
Regarding claim 13, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising:
an electrical ground, wherein the electrical ground is electrically connected to the pulldown resistor and the ADC ([0056], [0078] - [0083]; Fig. 5A, where the second detection system (517) and the control circuit (533) are both connected to ground).
Regarding claim 16, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 13, further comprising:
a time of flight (ToF) sensor, wherein the ToF sensor includes a laser diffuser ([0003], [0047] - [0051], [0074] - [0075]; Figs. 1, 2, 4B, where the electronic device (101) utilizes a camera module (180) for time-of-flight (ToF) schemes, where the camera may incorporate a light source module (310) and the light source module includes a diffuser (450), such as a set of micro-lenses).
Regarding claim 17, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 16, further comprising:
the cover glass covers the laser diffuser to avoid physical injury to an organism skin ([0010], where the emission of the system may be halted due to outputs of the first and/or second detection systems to protect the safety of a user's eye).
Regarding claim 18, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 12, further comprising:
a processing engine coupled to the ADC, the processing engine configured to compare a monitor voltage of the conductive anti-reflective coating to a voltage threshold setting ([0078] - [0083]; Figs. 5A, 5B, 8, where a voltage value measured by second detection system (517) is sent to the second comparator (531b), which determines whether the voltage from the second detection circuit (517) is within the second set of voltage range and outputs to the control circuit (533)).
Regarding claim 20, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising:
Means for delivering a monitor voltage signal to a conductive coating, wherein the conductive coating is in series with a pulldown resistor ([0093]; Fig. 7, where the first detection circuit, the second detection circuit, and/or the first resistance circuit (719), which includes a known resistor connected to ground, may be connected in series) and is connected to a common electrical ground ([0056], [0078] - [0083]; Fig. 5A, where the monitor voltage signals are relayed between the second detection system (517) and the control circuit (533) which are both connected to ground);
and means for configuring the voltage threshold setting ([0056], [0078] - [0083]; Fig. 5A, where the monitor voltage signals are relayed between the second detection system (517) and the control circuit (533) which is connected to a ground, and the range of second threshold values for the second detection circuit may be set based on resistance values of the detection circuit or based on other system specifications).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20220021178 A1) in view of Bernardin et al. (hereinafter Bernardin, US 11511922 B1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Won et al. (hereinafter Won, “Transparent Electronics for Wearable Electronics Application”, Chem. Rev. (2023) 123 (16): 9982–10078).
Regarding claim 3, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 2, but is silent on relative resistances of the conductive anti-reflective coating and resistors which may be in series with the coating.
Won teaches a comprehensive look at the state of the art for wearable electronics which utilize transparent components such as for displays, contact lenses and augmented/virtual reality devices (pg. 10006), wherein a conductive coating, such as Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) is used as a transparent conductive coating (pg. 9985, Table 1; where a section of conductive film used on a ToF detector would have a small area, and the film material, such as ITO, has a sheet resistance of 4 Ohm/sq) and therefore where resistors in circuits which act as pull-down would have a resistance far greater than the conductive film itself.
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Park to incorporate the teachings of Won to relate the resistance of a conductive anti-reflective coating to other resistors within the system with a reasonable expectation of success. As resistors are well known components in electrical circuits such as resistance monitoring circuitry and voltage dividers, it would be obvious that the very low resistance of a conductive film, such as Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) which is taught by Park as an option for the conductive film ([0093]) is lower than that of standard resistors in the circuit at large, which tend to the
k
Ω
range.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 20220021178 A1) in view of Bernardin et al. (hereinafter Bernardin, US 11511922 B1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Valouch et al. (hereinafter Valouch, US 20190277703 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Park as modified above teaches the apparatus of claim 13, but is silent on the cover glass including a second anti-reflective coating on an opposite surface as the conductive anti-reflective coating.
Valouch teaches an optical detector, such as an object detector which includes at least one light emitter as an illumination source, and a receiver/sensor layer, where the detector may be protected by a glass cover ([0068]) which includes two surfaces, where an anti-reflective coating which is non-conductive is on the second surface of the cover glass ([0068], [0074], [0288], [0397]; Fig. 2, wherein a cover layer stack (156, 156') for ToF may be a glass or glass compound layer, which includes at least one layer of an anti-reflective layer, an encapsulating layer, and a conductive layer with additional electrical contacts (136, 136')).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Park to incorporate the teachings of Valouch to include a non-conductive anti-reflective coating on a second surface of a cover glass with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of anti-reflective coatings on optical component surfaces in time-of-flight (ToF) systems is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art to help reduce noise within a system due to emitters and environmental signals, and additionally as pointed out by Valouch AR coatings are useful to reduce the impact of different components’ index of refractions ([0054], [0074]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Bai et al. (US 20200004037 A1) teaches a laser projection module and a method for detecting fractures within components for use in a depth camera of an electronic device, where if a fracture or damage is determined based on a conductive path.
McCord et al. (US 20240094153 A1) teaches a system and method for determining optical component integrity in an optical system such as tablets, phones, and other systems outfitted with optical emitters and sensors.
Maeda (US 20210356569 A1) teaches a distance measurement apparatus and a detection method that allow for reliable detection of diffuser breakage.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645