DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-8 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,233,612. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. The table below depicts that there are no differences in the instant claims and that of the claims of U.S. Patent 12,233,612.
Instant application 19/024,636
Prior U.S. Patent 12,233,612
Claim No.
Claim Language
Claim No.
Claim Language
1.
A display system comprising an optical system and a curved display disposed to emit light toward the optical system, the optical system comprising: a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis such that a light ray emitted by the display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted, wherein the optical system is rotationally symmetric about the optical axis with respect to light rays emitted by the display and making a smaller first, but not a greater second, incident angle with the optical axis and wherein for each of the first and second incident angles, a plurality of the light rays pass through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer.
1.
A display system comprising an optical system and a curved display disposed to emit light toward the optical system, the optical system comprising: a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis such that a light ray emitted by the display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted, wherein the optical system is rotationally symmetric about the optical axis with respect to light rays emitted by the display and making a smaller first, but not a greater second, incident angle with the optical axis and wherein for each of the first and second incident angles, a plurality of the light rays pass through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer.
2.
The display system of claim 1, wherein a first image ray emitted by the display for viewing by an eye of a viewer and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, and at least one second image ray emitted by the display for viewing by the eye of the viewer and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer.
2.
The display system of claim 1, wherein a first image ray emitted by the display for viewing by an eye of a viewer and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, and at least one second image ray emitted by the display for viewing by the eye of the viewer and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer.
3.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no more than one plane of symmetry.
3.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no more than one plane of symmetry.
4.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no planes of symmetry.
4.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no planes of symmetry.
5.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has opposing first and second major surfaces defined by respective different first and second equations each rotationally symmetric about the optical axis.
5.
The display system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has opposing first and second major surfaces defined by respective different first and second equations each rotationally symmetric about the optical axis.
6.
The display system of claim 5, wherein each of the first and second surfaces has an interior portion rotationally symmetric about the optical axis and a peripheral portion adjacent the interior portion rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis.
6.
The display system of claim 5, wherein each of the first and second surfaces has an interior portion rotationally symmetric about the optical axis and a peripheral portion adjacent the interior portion rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis.
7.
The display system of claim 1, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
7.
The display system of claim 1, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
8.
The display system of claim 1, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
8.
The display system of claim 1, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
Claims 9-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,233,612. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because every element as set forth in the examined claims are found, either expressly or inherently described, in the reference patent, i.e., the claims are anticipated by the reference patent claims. The table below depicts bolded text that highlights the differences in the claim language. Examiner notes the bolded text appears in the claim language of U.S. Patent 12,233,612, thus the patent claims are viewed to be a species of the genus of the instant application.
Instant application 19/024,636
Prior U.S. Patent 12,233,612
Claim No.
Claim Language
Claim No.
Claim Language
9.
A head-mounted display system comprising:
a curved display emitting an image for viewing by an eye of a viewer;
a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis, a first image ray emitted by the display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, at least one second image ray emitted by the display and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis, passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer.
9.
A head-mounted display system comprising
an optical system, and
a curved display emitting an image for viewing by an eye of a viewer
and disposed to emit light toward the optical system, the optical system comprising:
a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis, a first image ray emitted by the display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, at least one second image ray emitted by the display and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis, passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer,
wherein the optical system is rotationally symmetric about the optical axis with respect to light rays emitted by the display and making a smaller first, but not a greater second, incident angle with the optical axis.
10.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9 further comprising a second optical lens, wherein the first image ray passes through the second optical lens without being substantially refracted.
10.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9 further comprising a second optical lens, wherein the first image ray passes through the second optical lens without being substantially refracted.
11.
The head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no more than one plane of symmetry.
11.
The head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no more than one plane of symmetry.
12.
The head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no planes of symmetry.
12.
The head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no planes of symmetry.
13.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
13.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
14.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
14.
The head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
15.
A display system comprising:
a curved display;
a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis such that a light ray emitted by the curved display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted, the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis.
15.
A display system comprising
an optical system, and
a curved display
disposed to emit light toward the optical system, the optical system comprising:
a first optical lens; a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength; and a reflective polarizer substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state, the optical system having an optical axis such that a light ray emitted by the curved display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted, the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis,
wherein the optical system is rotationally symmetric about the optical axis with respect to light rays emitted by the display and making a smaller first, but not a greater second, incident angle with the optical axis.
16.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the display system is adapted for displaying an image to a viewer and a peripheral portion of the first optical lens has a contoured edge adapted to be placed adjacent an eye of the viewer and substantially conform to the viewer's face.
16.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the display system is adapted for displaying an image to a viewer and a peripheral portion of the first optical lens has a contoured edge adapted to be placed adjacent an eye of the viewer and substantially conform to the viewer's face.
17.
The display system of claim 15, wherein a first image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by an eye of a viewer and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, and at least one second image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by the eye of the viewer and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the curved display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer.
17.
The display system of claim 15, wherein a first image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by an eye of a viewer and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer, and at least one second image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by the eye of the viewer and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer, such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point, the curved display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer.
18.
The display system of claim 17 being configured to electronically alter an image content forming an altered image content, the altered image content adapted to a contoured edge of the first optical lens, an image emitted by the curved display comprising the altered image content.
18.
The display system of claim 17 being configured to electronically alter an image content forming an altered image content, the altered image content adapted to a contoured edge of the first optical lens, an image emitted by the curved display comprising the altered image content.
19.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
19.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens.
20.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
20.
The display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka (6,094,242) in view of Tanaka et al. (2016/0147069).
Regarding claim 9, Yamanaka discloses a head-mounted display system (at least Figure 10; col 5 lines 29-30) comprising: a display emitting an image for viewing by an eye of a viewer (for exemplary purposes, Figure 23c depicts 9j, liquid crystal display, emitting an image to a viewer); a first optical lens (1c, lens); a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength (2c, half-mirror coating; col 11 lines 35-36); and a reflective polarizer (3c, semitransparent mirror) substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state (col 11 lines 50-53 teach counterclockwise circularly-polarized light is transmitted) and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state (col 11 lines 40-43 teach 3c, semitransparent mirror, reflects with a reflection coefficient of 100% the clockwise circularly polarized light), the optical system having an optical axis (optical axis from 8c, back light, to E, eye), a first image ray emitted by the display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer (Examiner notes that "substantially refracted" has not been concretely defined, and thus views Fig. 10 to depict Li, light, to propagate along the optical axis, passing through 1c, lens, 2c, half-mirror coating, and 3c, semitransparent mirror, without being substantially refracted, to E, eye), at least one second image ray emitted by the display and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis, passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer (for exemplary purposes, Figure 23c, top image ray reflected by 2j, semitransparent plate, and 3j, semitransparent mirror), such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point (Figure 11, a straight light coincident with the oblique ray is viewed to intersect with the viewer's nose), the display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer (Examiner notes Table 4 depicts the thickness of the optical system to be 11.35 mm, which is viewed to be below the average nose protrusion size, thus 9c, liquid crystal panel, is viewed to be disposed between the nose and the eye).
Yamanaka fails to teach the display to be a curved display. Yamanaka and Tanaka are related because both teach a head-mounted display system.
Tanaka teaches a head-mounted display system comprising: a curved display ([0009, 0010] teach the image forming apparatus is curved in the X-direction and the Y-direction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Yamanaka to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and provide the display to be a curved display. Doing so would allow for a more compact design.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Yamanaka teaches the head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens (Tanaka: Figure 6A depicts 40, image forming apparatus, to be concave toward further optical components, thus interpreted in the modified Yamanaka to be concave toward 1c, lens).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Yamanaka teaches the head-mounted display system of claim 9, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes ([0009, 0010] teach the image forming apparatus is curved in the X-direction and the Y-direction).
Claims 10-12, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka (6,094,242) in view of Tanaka et al. (2016/0147069) in view of Okuyama et al. (2002/0015114).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Yamanaka teaches the head-mounted display system of claim 9 but fails to teach a second optical lens, wherein the first image ray passes through the second optical lens without being substantially refracted. The modified Yamanaka and Okuyama are related because each teach a head-mounted display system.
Okuyama teaches a heat-mounted display system comprising a second optical lens, wherein the first image ray passes through the second optical lens without being substantially refracted (at least Figure 3, 7, prism lens; Examiner notes that "substantially refracted" has not been concretely defined, and thus views 7, prism lens, to pass the image ray without being substantially refracted).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Yamanaka to incorporate the teachings of Okuyama and provide a second optical lens, wherein the first image ray passes through the second optical lens without being substantially refracted. Doing so would allow for a more compact design by allowing for a folded configuration while also correcting various aberrations.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Yamanaka teaches the head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no more than one plane of symmetry (Okuyama: at least [0064] teaches each surface of 7, prism lens, are rotationally asymmetric).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Yamanaka teaches the head-mounted display system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first and second optical lenses has no planes of symmetry (Okuyama: at least [0064] teaches each surface of 7, prism lens, are rotationally asymmetric).
Regarding claim 15, Yamanaka discloses a display system (at least Figure 10; col 5 lines 29-30) comprising: a display (for exemplary purposes, Figure 23c depicts 9j, liquid crystal display, emitting an image to a viewer); a partial reflector having an average optical reflectance of at least 30% for at least one desired wavelength (2c, half-mirror coating; col 11 lines 35-36); and a reflective polarizer (3c, semitransparent mirror) substantially transmitting light having a first polarization state (col 11 lines 50-53 teach counterclockwise circularly-polarized light is transmitted) and substantially reflecting light having an orthogonal second polarization state (col 11 lines 40-43 teach 3c, semitransparent mirror, reflects with a reflection coefficient of 100% the clockwise circularly polarized light), the optical system having an optical axis (optical axis from 8c, back light, to E, eye) such that a light ray emitted by the curved display and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted (Examiner notes that "substantially refracted" has not been concretely defined, and thus views Fig. 10 to depict Li, light, to propagate along the optical axis, passing through 2c, half-mirror coating, and 3c, semitransparent mirror, without being substantially refracted, to E, eye).
Yamanaka fails to teach wherein the display is a curved display; and a first optical lens; the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis. Yamanaka and Tanaka are related because both teach a head-mounted display system.
Tanaka teaches a display system comprising a curved display ([0009, 0010] teach the image forming apparatus is curved in the X-direction and the Y-direction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Yamanaka to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and provide the display to be a curved display. Doing so would allow for a more compact design.
The modified Yamanaka fails to teach a first optical lens; the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis. The modified Yamanaka and Okuyama are related because each teach a head-mounted display system.
Okuyama teaches a display system comprising: a first optical lens (Figure 3, 7, prism lens); the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis (at least [0064] teaches each surface of 7, prism lens, are rotationally asymmetric).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Yamanaka to incorporate the teachings of Okuyama and provide a first optical lens, wherein the first optical lens being rotationally asymmetric about the optical axis. Doing so would allow for a more compact design by allowing for a folded configuration while also correcting various aberrations.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Yamanaka discloses the display system of claim 15, wherein a first image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by an eye of a viewer and propagating along the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector and the reflective polarizer without being substantially refracted and passes through a pupil of the eye of the viewer (Examiner notes that "substantially refracted" has not been concretely defined, and thus views Fig. 10 to depict Li, light, to propagate along the optical axis, passing through 1c, lens, 2c, half-mirror coating, and 3c, semitransparent mirror, without being substantially refracted, to E, eye), and at least one second image ray emitted by the curved display for viewing by the eye of the viewer and making a first oblique angle with the optical axis passes through the first optical lens, the partial reflector, the reflective polarizer, and passes through the pupil of the eye of the viewer (for exemplary purposes, Figure 23c, top image ray reflected by 2j, semitransparent plate, and 3j, semitransparent mirror), such that a straight line coincident with the at least one second image ray intersects a facial feature of the viewer at an intersection point (Figure 11, a straight light coincident with the oblique ray is viewed to intersect with the viewer's nose), the curved display disposed between the intersection point and the eye of the viewer (Examiner notes Table 4 depicts the thickness of the optical system to be 11.35 mm, which is viewed to be below the average nose protrusion size, thus 9c, liquid crystal panel, is viewed to be disposed between the nose and the eye).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Yamanaka discloses the display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is concave toward the first optical lens (Tanaka: Figure 6A depicts 40, image forming apparatus, to be concave toward further optical components, thus interpreted in the modified Yamanaka to be concave toward 1c, lens).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Yamanaka discloses the display system of claim 15, wherein the curved display is curved about two orthogonal axes (Tanaka: [0009, 0010] teach the image forming apparatus is curved in the X-direction and the Y-direction).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka (6,094,242) in view of Tanaka et al. (2016/0147069) in view of Okuyama et al. (2002/0015114) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (2014/0049831).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Yamanaka discloses the display system of claim 15, wherein the display system is adapted for displaying an image to a viewer (at least col 3 lines 3-5).
The modified Yamanaka fails to teach a peripheral portion of the first optical lens has a contoured edge adapted to be placed adjacent an eye of the viewer and substantially conform to the viewer's face. The modified Yamanaka and Takeda are related because each teach a display system.
Takeda teaches a display system wherein a peripheral portion of the first optical lens has a contoured edge adapted to be placed adjacent an eye of the viewer and substantially conform to the viewer's face (Figure 2, [0232] teaches a curved shape of the reflecting section, which extends along the contour of the user's face; Examiner notes that the curved shape may be applied to the lens of the modified Yamanaka for the same purpose).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Yamanaka to incorporate the general teachings of Takeda and provide a peripheral portion of the first lens to have a contoured edge adapted to be placed adjacent an eye of the viewer and substantially conform to the viewer's face. Doing so would allow for a reduction of size of the optical system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka (6,094,242) in view of Tanaka et al. (2016/0147069) in view of Okuyama et al. (2002/0015114) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Pohl (2015/0379697).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Yamanaka teaches the display system of claim 17 but fails to teach electronically altering an image content forming an altered image content, the altered image content adapted to a contoured edge of the first optical lens, an image emitted by the curved display comprising the altered image content. The modified Yamanaka and Pohl are related because each teach a display system.
Pohl teaches a display system being configured to alter an image content forming an altered image content (Figure 5, [0046] teaches 70, processor, provides a corrected image), the altered image content adapted to a contoured edge of the first optical lens (Figure 5, 78, lens; [0046] teaches outputting the corrected image to the lens), an image emitted by the curved display comprising the altered image content (Figure 5, 84, display; [0046] teaches outputting the corrected image to the display).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Yamanaka to incorporate the teachings of Pohl and provide electronically altering an image content forming an altered image content, the altered image content adapted to a contoured edge of the first lens, the image emitted by the display comprising the altered image content. Doing so would allow for improved image quality with reduced distortions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited in PTO-892 disclose relevant display systems.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872