DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima et al. (US 2015/0131784) hereinafter known as “Tajima”, and further in view of Weisfield et al. (US 2020/0341156) hereinafter known as “Weisfield”.
With regards to claim 1 and 11, Tajima discloses a radiation imaging system (FIG. 5) and an operation method [0003] that includes
a plurality of pixels ([0082]; “ The pixels 40 include normal pixels 40a and measurement pixels 40b.”), with each pixel of the plurality of pixels including a conversion element configured to convert radiation or light ([0080]; The image detector 30 is.. an indirect conversion type having a scintillator…made of a phosphor.”) into an electric charge ([0081]; “…the pixel 40 is provided with a photoelectric converter for producing the electric charge (electron and positive hole pairs) upon entry of the visible light,…”) and to accumulate the electric charge ([0082]; “The normal pixels 40a are used to detect the X-ray image, and the electric charge accumulated in the normal pixels 40a is read out after completion of X-ray imaging.”)[0099]; “During the accumulation operation of the image detector 30, the TFTs are in an off state, and thus each of the normal pixels 40a accumulates the produced electric charge in the photoelectric converter.”), and a switching element configured to read an electrical signal corresponding to the electric charge ([0006]; “…the electric charge accumulated in each pixel is read out to a signal processing circuit through a switching element such as a TFT (thin film transistor).”)([0079][0081]; “…the pixel 40 is provided with a photoelectric converter for producing the electric charge…upon entry of the visible light, and the TFT being a switching element…”)[0083].
a bias power supply configured to supply a bias potential to the conversion element via a bias line ([0083]; “These bias lines are connected to a bias power source through one bus. Since application of a bias voltage by the bias power source produces an electric field in the semiconducting layer,…”);
a drive circuit configured to supply a control signal to a control electrode of the switching element via a drive line and to control the switching element; ([0085]; “The gate driver 44 performs an accumulation operation for accumulating the signal charge in the normal pixels 40a in accordance with the received X-ray dose, … by driving the TFTs under control by a controller 52…the gate driver 44 sequentially issues gate pulses P1 to Pn at predetermined intervals to activate the scan lines 42 one by one in a sequential manner. Thus, the TFTs of one row connected to the activated scan line 42 are turned into an on state.”);
a readout circuit ([0088]; integrating amplifiers 46, CDS 47, MUX 48, A/D 49) configured to read an electrical signal from the switching element via a signal line ([0085]; “…a readout (actual reading) operation for reading out the accumulated signal charge from the normal pixels 40a,… Upon turning on the TFTs, the electric charge accumulated in the normal pixels 40a is read out to the signal lines 43…”); and
a controller ([0085]; controller 52),
the system and method comprising:
measuring an amount of electric charge based on a current flowing through one of the signal line ([0086] “The measurement pixel 40b is used for measuring the X-ray dose, and has the same fundamental structure including the photoelectric converter and the like as the normal pixel 40a. …the electric charge produced by the photoelectric converter of the measurement pixel 40b flows into the signal line 43, ...”) [0089][0100]; the bias line [0083][0181], and the drive line [0085] while the switching element transitions from a non-conductive state to a conductive state or from a conductive state to a non-conductive state ([0086]; turn-on and -off of the TFT)[0100].
Tajima teaches that the controller reads out position data and a specific gate driver turns on the TFTs for measurement of the measurement pixels 40b [0180]. Tajima further teaches of a controller that performs control in accordance with a judgment result of said judging section (claim 2). The reference teaches that the controller controls and drives the TFTs [0085]. Finally, the reference teaches “… controller 52 applies various types of image processing including the offset correction, the sensitivity correction, and the defect correction to the X-ray image written to the memory 51. The offset correction eliminates fixed pattern noise caused by the individual difference of the signal processing circuit 45 or an imaging environment. The sensitivity correction corrects sensitivity variations among the photoelectric converters of the normal pixels 40a, variations in the output properties of the signal processing circuit 45, and the like. The defect correction performs linear interpolation of defect pixels identified beforehand, the measurement pixels 40b, and the normal pixels 40a arranged in the same column as the measurement pixel 40b, with the use of the pixel values in the vicinity thereof.” [0109]
Tajima do not disclose determining, by the controller, a characteristic of the switching element based on the measured amount of electric charge.
In the same field of endeavor, Weisfield discloses systems and methods for stabilizing the threshold voltages [0011] in TFTs [0012]. Weisfield teaches of utilizing a variety of circuits used to generate the threshold voltage in a transistor, wherein such circuits includes voltage sources, current sources, switches, voltmeters, ammeters, or the like to apply one or more voltages and/or currents to measure the threshold voltage [0029][0030]. Weisfield discloses a detector array 211 that includes a probe pixel [0037; 202]. The probe pixel is coupled to a control circuit 106 which is configured to generate control signals for the pixels 212, the probe pixel 202 and the transistors 216 of the said pixels 212 [0039]. Further, the switches SW (see FIG. 2C) may be used to place the probe pixel 202 into a diagnostic mode for the measurement of threshold voltage of the transistor 204 [0040]. Finally, the reference [0001] teaches “Some transistors have threshold voltages that shift over time when turned on. The shift of the threshold voltage may reduce the performance of the device and eventually render the device inoperable.”
In view of Weisfield, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Tajima to measure a characteristic (such as threshold voltage shift) of the switching element based on the measured amount of electric charge (such as measurements from a ammeter which can measures current from the transistors/switches).
With regards to claim 2 and 12, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 12, wherein the amount of electric charge is measured while the switching element provided in each pixel of the plurality of pixels transitions from the non- conductive state to the conductive state or from the conductive state to the non- conductive state (Tajima; [0085][0096]), and the characteristic of the switching element is determined based on the measured amount of electric charge in each pixel of the plurality of pixels (see the rejection of claim 1).
With regards to claim 3 and 13, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 11, wherein the amount of electric charge is measured after reset of the conversion element. (Tajima; [0089][0100][0103])
With regards to claim 4 and 14, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 11, further comprising:
measuring, in a case where the switching element is in the non-conductive state, a first amount of electric charge (Tajima; [0090][0096]; In the standby mode, the dark charge is produced in each pixel 40 of the image detector 30…”);
measuring, in a case where the switching element is in the conductive state, a second amount of electric charge (Tajima; [0096]; “Upon turning on the TFTs of the normal pixels 40a of one row, the dark charge accumulated in these normal pixels 40a is readout…”)(Weisfield; [0050][0051]; “When a predetermined level of a test voltage is applied to the transistors of the pixels 302, the measured “dark level” would be based on the threshold voltage of the transistors…”); and
obtaining a difference between the first amount of electric charge and the second amount of electric charge (Weisfield; [0055]; “…. when the transistors of the pixels 302 are in a state with a known threshold voltage or threshold voltage range, the dark level of the detector 300 may be generated ... Later, during operation, the prior dark level may be compared with a current dark level measured…”).
With regards to claim 5 and 15, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 11, wherein the switching element includes a channel layer that comprises an oxide semiconductor. (Weisfield; [0013][0018])
With regards to claim 6 and 16, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 11, wherein the characteristic of the switching element is determined by comparing the measured amount of electric charge with a predetermined reference value. (Tajima; [0030])(Weisfield; [0024]; reference threshold voltage)
With regards to claim 7 and 17, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1 and 11, wherein the characteristic of the switching element includes information concerning a threshold voltage of the switching element. (Westfield; [0024][0025])
With regards to claim 9 and 19, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 1, wherein the amount of electric charge is measured by amount of electric charge measurement unit. (Weisfield; [0029][0041]; ammeter)
With regards to claim 10 and 20, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 9 and 19, wherein the amount of electric charge measurement unit includes an integral amplifier. (Tajima; [0087]; integrating amplifiers 46)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 8 and 18, Tajima, in view of Weisfield, discloses the system and method according to claim 7 and 17, further comprising determining, by the controller, a state of the radiation imaging apparatus by comparing an allowable value with a number of switching elements whose information concerning the threshold voltage falls outside a predetermined range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sekine et al. (US 2017/0250214)
Nathan et al. (US 2010/0140455)
Rowland et al. (US 2006/0054835)
Tredwell et al. (US 2013/0001426)
Fish et al. (US 2022/0155248)
Lee (US 5,652,430)
/HUGH MAUPIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884